Switch Theme:

Couple of Rules Qs  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot






Hey guys, just a couple of Qs today:


1) Can Jetbikes (and eldar jetbikes) deep strike? I was under the impression that they could (and a sentence in the eldar etbikes designer's note says "even if they arrived by deep strike") - but I can't actually find permission for jetbikes to do this in the deep strike rules - can anyone help me out with a reference?

2) Say you have an independant character charging into a combat, and also a second unit with no characters in it. If a challenge is issued by the charged unit, is the IC forced to accept as there is no one else in his unit? Or does the presence of the other unit allow him to refuse? Really not sure on this one.

3) Had this debate on our local forum.

"Necrons over here are very tough to beat in this mission (the relic). A unit grabs the relic, jumps into a night scythe, which automatically crashes, sending the unit into reserve. This doesn't trigger any of the conditions for the unit to drop the relic, so it would seem that it goes into reserve with them.

Can anyone come up with a solid rules argument that prevents this, or is just another little boost for the tin men?"



So assuming that all the models dont die, the relic + model holding it goes back into reserve lol.


I disagree with the quote - I was under the impression that the relic had to be put into B2B with a model if that unit is not in a transport. Also, nothing expressly allows the relic to leave the table (or move back onto it either). But I'm finding it difficult to argue with the logic here. Any thoughts?

Thanks in advance Dakka.



Please check out my video battle report series! 50 games in 50 weeks!

Part 1: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLF20FCCD695F810C2&feature=edit_ok
Part 2: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL36388662C07B319B&feature=view_all
Part 3: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLrPdNlJMge2eUv55aJag2cMj4znP8YfOT&feature=view_all
Part 4: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JxrTKHXULnQ&list=PLrPdNlJMge2cN6_lo1RbXvbvFZbto5wXB

=====Begin Dakka Geek Code=====
DQ: 80+S+++G+++MB+I+Pw40k98#+D+++A++++/cWD-R+++T(G)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code======
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Iirc, Jet bikes cannot normally deepstrike. The brb just wanted to cover all it's bases with the deepstrike comment because there are all kinds of special scenarios where anything can deepstrike, like planet strike for example.

For number 2, the IC does have to accept as he is by himself and not attached to the unit that charged in with him.

For number 3, I never considered that and I have no idea.
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

If the unit that charged in with the IC has a character in it that character can take the challenge instead.

As for the teleport win, it seems that it is allowed but super broken. The rules don't seem to have an issue with it. HOWEVER, I would check and see if the model that is holding it has to survive the crash, if it must survive then there could be a chance the relic is left in b2b with the crashed ship.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




For number 3. A flyer can't zoom with the relic as it auto crashes. Crap was going to say, you can't put the relilc in the flyer because of that, but in this case it is a "good" thing to have happen.

I think the intent of the rule was to not let flyers be able to make this easier to when, and it backfired badly in this case.

I think you have to go to the last rule on the Relic mission and the rule about falling back for this. If the Relic is dropped in impassable terrain move it to the the closet point were it is not in impassable terrain. This would either be by the crashed flyer or the board edge, case could be made for both, since the Necron unit is nominally falling back (going in to reserve) and moving more than 6 inches it drops the relic .
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

For the challenged IC, note that he is only forced to accept because he hasn't yet formally joined the unit. If no challenge were issued, he would be able to refuse in his following turn.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 liturgies of blood wrote:
If the unit that charged in with the IC has a character in it that character can take the challenge instead.

As for the teleport win, it seems that it is allowed but super broken. The rules don't seem to have an issue with it. HOWEVER, I would check and see if the model that is holding it has to survive the crash, if it must survive then there could be a chance the relic is left in b2b with the crashed ship.


IF the model dies it does drop the relic, so that is at least one way it has to drop the relic.

Challenges are issued to a unit in assault. so in this case if the IC is not joined to the second unit before the charge the then the Character in that unit is unable to accept the challenge for the IC. Pg 64 under issuing and accepting challenges. the text is bolded in the BRB about it being a character in the unit challenged.
   
Made in au
Dakka Veteran





Challenges are issued to "the foe at large" (p64). In your scenario, only the IC is able to accept or refuse the challenge, since the 2nd unit has no characters. Since the IC is in a unit by himself "Heroic Stand" kicks in, and he must accept.
   
Made in gr
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




The use of the flyer-relic stunt is very limited, it's only a 1/6 chance the model will survive and be placed in reserves. 5 out of 6 times you would have lost a valuable flyer and a troop.
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

barnowl wrote:


IF the model dies it does drop the relic, so that is at least one way it has to drop the relic.

Challenges are issued to a unit in assault. so in this case if the IC is not joined to the second unit before the charge the then the Character in that unit is unable to accept the challenge for the IC. Pg 64 under issuing and accepting challenges. the text is bolded in the BRB about it being a character in the unit challenged.


Misread the OP and yes in that case the IC is going to have to challenge it up but to barnowl... NO.
As has been said challenges are issued in general, if I have a massive multi-assault mess on my table any the assaulting player may issue a challange and only 1 of the characters in the mess has to answer it. It doesn't matter if it's a grunt sergeant or Mephiston only 1. You cannot choose the character your opponent will accept the challenge with unless there is only 1 character.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






So - "so the model carrying the Relic cannot Run and can never
move more than 6" in any phase. If it is forced to do so, the
Relic is immediately dropped."

When a flyer zooms, even though it crashes the model was forced to move over 6" so the relic should be dropped.
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

 Super Ready wrote:
For the challenged IC, note that he is only forced to accept because he hasn't yet formally joined the unit. If no challenge were issued, he would be able to refuse in his following turn.


No he wouldn't. You can't join a unit that is locked in Combat, so while the combat is ongoing they will remain separate units. As long as a challenge is issued he will have to accept, provided no other character accepts before him.
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon





Pooler, GA

 liam0404 wrote:
2) Say you have an independant character charging into a combat, and also a second unit with no characters in it. If a challenge is issued by the charged unit, is the IC forced to accept as there is no one else in his unit? Or does the presence of the other unit allow him to refuse?
Page 64: CHALLENGES: Accepting a Challenge: 'If your opponent issued a challenge, you can now accept it - nominate one of the characters in your unit to be the challengee.'

Page 64: Heroic Stand: 'A unit that consists of only a single character cannot refuse a challenge.'

There is no requirement in a multiple combat to respond to a challenge with a unit that has a character. You can get around Heroic Stand, or Challenges for that matter, by responding with the unit that has no characters. I do not like this.

I don't write the rules. My ego just lives and dies by them one model at a time. 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





That's not true. You have to nominate a character to accept the challenge - if a unit has no characters you cannot elect to accept the challenge with it.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Bounding Assault Marine




Nocturne

 Kevin949 wrote:
So - "so the model carrying the Relic cannot Run and can never
move more than 6" in any phase. If it is forced to do so, the
Relic is immediately dropped."

When a flyer zooms, even though it crashes the model was forced to move over 6" so the relic should be dropped.


But does he drop it before or after he's put back into reserve? Which effect is resolved first, dropping the relic, the scythe exploding, or putting the embarked Necrons back in reserve? I know how I would play it (relic gets dropped, scythe explodes, remaining 'crons back in reserve) but I can't think of any kind of rules support for this conclusion, it's just the least broken.

Sun Tzu "All warfare is based on deception"

Into the Fires of Battle! Unto The Anvil of War!

2500 pts
1500 pts
 
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon





Pooler, GA

rigeld2 wrote:
That's not true. You have to nominate a character to accept the challenge - if a unit has no characters you cannot elect to accept the challenge with it.
In a single combat with two units, this would be true. I can find no requirement in the challenges section on pages 64-5 or the multiple combats on 27-8 that a player has to respond with a unit that has a character. If there is, please tell me.

I don't write the rules. My ego just lives and dies by them one model at a time. 
   
Made in us
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




Johnson City, NewYork

Actually the flying transport is prohibited from moving more than 6" so the relic would not in fact be dropped as it is not moving more than 6". It may be dropped for other reasons, such as death but it will in fact not move over 6 ".

ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.

You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

 Ghenghis Jon wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
That's not true. You have to nominate a character to accept the challenge - if a unit has no characters you cannot elect to accept the challenge with it.
In a single combat with two units, this would be true. I can find no requirement in the challenges section on pages 64-5 or the multiple combats on 27-8 that a player has to respond with a unit that has a character. If there is, please tell me.


That's because units don't respond. You choose your response first, accept or reject. If you reject the challenge, your opponent chooses one of your characters to hide. If you accept, you choose a character to accept. At no point do you nominate a unit as part of the response, so it's not possible to nominate a unit to accept and have it all fail because the unit has no character.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 Ghenghis Jon wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
That's not true. You have to nominate a character to accept the challenge - if a unit has no characters you cannot elect to accept the challenge with it.
In a single combat with two units, this would be true. I can find no requirement in the challenges section on pages 64-5 or the multiple combats on 27-8 that a player has to respond with a unit that has a character. If there is, please tell me.


4th paragrah, second line in bold on page 64, "nominate on of the characters in your unit.....", you do have to respond with a character as only characters can answer or decline challenges. However, it does indeed seen to indicated that you can respond with any character from any unit to a challenge.
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut




Actually for the relic it does not restrict the flyer from moving more then 6", it just says if the vehicle moves more them 6" it is dropped
   
Made in ca
Irked Necron Immortal





Edmonton Ab

 alienvalentine wrote:
 Kevin949 wrote:
So - "so the model carrying the Relic cannot Run and can never
move more than 6" in any phase. If it is forced to do so, the
Relic is immediately dropped."

When a flyer zooms, even though it crashes the model was forced to move over 6" so the relic should be dropped.


But does he drop it before or after he's put back into reserve? Which effect is resolved first, dropping the relic, the scythe exploding, or putting the embarked Necrons back in reserve? I know how I would play it (relic gets dropped, scythe explodes, remaining 'crons back in reserve) but I can't think of any kind of rules support for this conclusion, it's just the least broken.


Ub3rb3n wrote:
Actually for the relic it does not restrict the flyer from moving more then 6", it just says if the vehicle moves more them 6" it is dropped


It is clear in the section stating "Dropping the Relic" that if it is dropped whilst in a vehicle you place it 1" away from any access point so it would go like this: Move flyer, flyer moves more than 6', reaction: relic drops, reaction: being forced to stop --> wreck. as stated in "Moving with the relic"

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/11 05:20:14


Unkown/1500
My Necron Blog
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Ghenghis Jon wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
That's not true. You have to nominate a character to accept the challenge - if a unit has no characters you cannot elect to accept the challenge with it.
In a single combat with two units, this would be true. I can find no requirement in the challenges section on pages 64-5 or the multiple combats on 27-8 that a player has to respond with a unit that has a character. If there is, please tell me.

You quoted it in your rules. Units don't respond, characters do. You have no permission to "elect" a characterless unit to respond to (and decline) the challenge. The single character is required to accept because he's the only available target for the challenge.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Of course if you really want to start an argument, you could always claim that since the Necrons don't disembark from a crashed Nightscythe, they technically cannot user their special rule, and must be placed on the table. Definitely not RAI however.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Additionally, even if the relic went into reserves, if it is there when the game ends, then no one would control it, as the unit it is with is destroyed.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/11 11:32:06


Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: