Switch Theme:

Shadow in the Warp  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot






Greetings dakka!

So I attended tournament yesterday, and I was using my Eldar vs Tyranids. At one stage things got particularly hairy for me when I was surrounded by the Swarmlord + 3 Tervigons. I went to make one of my Psychic tests, but my opponent indicated that I had to roll an additional D6 for EACH synapse creature that was in range of my farseers. I wasn't quite sure about this, so I looked up the Tyranid FAQ:

Tyranid FAQ wrote:Page 33 – Shadow in the Warp, second paragraph.
Change to “Any enemy psyker within 12” of a Tyranid with the
Shadow in the Warp special rule must roll an extra dice when
taking Psychic tests, and will suffer a Perils of the Warp attack
on the roll of any double 1 or double 6.


I read this as saying if i'm within range of a creature (one or more) then i'd have the additional D6 penalty - my opponent argued that this means EACH creature. We weren't going to agree on this mid game, so we D6d it and I came out on top (went on to lose the game though). What i'd like to know is the correct way of playing this? Given that things like Eldar runes don't stack, i'd have thought that this would be the same?

Input appreciated Dakka!

Please check out my video battle report series! 50 games in 50 weeks!

Part 1: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLF20FCCD695F810C2&feature=edit_ok
Part 2: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL36388662C07B319B&feature=view_all
Part 3: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLrPdNlJMge2eUv55aJag2cMj4znP8YfOT&feature=view_all
Part 4: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JxrTKHXULnQ&list=PLrPdNlJMge2cN6_lo1RbXvbvFZbto5wXB

=====Begin Dakka Geek Code=====
DQ: 80+S+++G+++MB+I+Pw40k98#+D+++A++++/cWD-R+++T(G)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code======
 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

The criteria is met whether there is 1 or 6. You still only roll the single d6 extra.

   
Made in us
Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader




^^^^^^
This statement all the way. Shadows in the warp doesn't give you permission to stack its effects.
Would be really lame.
   
Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






No, it is not stackable with itself. But if another effect would make a 3d6 psyker roll, it would stack on that, hence the changed wording as per the FAQ.
   
Made in gb
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot






Well this is what I thought also, but my opponent was pretty convinced that it was the other way around. I can see his point to be fair, but yeah I definately think that it's not stackable.

Please check out my video battle report series! 50 games in 50 weeks!

Part 1: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLF20FCCD695F810C2&feature=edit_ok
Part 2: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL36388662C07B319B&feature=view_all
Part 3: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLrPdNlJMge2eUv55aJag2cMj4znP8YfOT&feature=view_all
Part 4: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JxrTKHXULnQ&list=PLrPdNlJMge2cN6_lo1RbXvbvFZbto5wXB

=====Begin Dakka Geek Code=====
DQ: 80+S+++G+++MB+I+Pw40k98#+D+++A++++/cWD-R+++T(G)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code======
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: