Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/20 14:55:45
Subject: Tricky Necron Questions
|
 |
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot
Within charging distance
|
Hey There, Dakkaites - been a while. A few questions that I hope are not too complex for the infinite knowledge (or at least opinions) available on these here Intarwebz...
Death Ray - if the 1mm line "crosses" over models on different levels of a ruin, can it hit all of them, or just the ones on a "targeted level" - as per the template rules? It's not a template, and the rules/faq just say "models underneath" or "passed over" by the line...
If the line crosses three models, are those specific three models hit, or can your opponent decide which models to remove, or is it the "nearest three" to the Doom Scythe?
Can you take a cover save from the death ray? I assume so, as it does not say "no cover saves allowed" - but it is coming down from above, so the true-line-of-sight rules make it a bit hazy...
If a character on a Catacomb Command Barge (chariot) has his barge wrecked under him before his initiative step, but he survives - is he still considered in close combat with the unit that destroyed the barge? Chariots can't be locked in combat, and this was the argument used to deny the character the ability to participate in the combat at his initiative step. Seemed reasonable, but I'm not sure it's correct.
Challenge and Mind Shackle Scarabs use virtually identical language to describe when they go off. We ended up rolling off each turn to see which one happened first, but I wondered if anyone had a clear argument one way or the other as to which really should the order of events in this case?
|
"Exterminatus is never having to say you're sorry." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/20 15:02:09
Subject: Tricky Necron Questions
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
If a character on a Catacomb Command Barge (chariot) has his barge wrecked under him before his initiative step, but he survives - is he still considered in close combat with the unit that destroyed the barge?
http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m3170233a_40K_RULEBOOK_v1.4_APRIL13.pdf
Q: If a Chariot is Wrecked or suffers an Explodes! result in close
combat, does the rider remain locked in combat with the unit they
were fighting? (p82)
A: No, they perform an Emergency Disembarkation.
Challenge and Mind Shackle Scarabs use virtually identical language to describe when they go off. We ended up rolling off each turn to see which one happened first, but I wondered if anyone had a clear argument one way or the other as to which really should the order of events in this case?
The player who's turn it is gets to choose the order they are resolved in.
|
Mandorallen turned back toward the insolently sneering baron. 'My Lord,' The great knight said distantly, 'I find thy face apelike and thy form misshapen. Thy beard, moreover, is an offence against decency, resembling more closely the scabrous fur which doth decorate the hinder portion of a mongrel dog than a proper adornment for a human face. Is it possibly that thy mother, seized by some wild lechery, did dally at some time past with a randy goat?' - Mimbrate Knight Protector Mandorallen.
Excerpt from "Seeress of Kell", Book Five of The Malloreon series by David Eddings.
My deviantART Profile - Pay No Attention To The Man Behind The Madness
"You need not fear us, unless you are a dark heart, a vile one who preys on the innocent; I promise, you can’t hide forever in the empty darkness, for we will hunt you down like the animals you are, and pull you into the very bowels of hell." Iron - Within Temptation |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/20 15:04:31
Subject: Tricky Necron Questions
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
1. You hit all non flyer models under the line
2. Normal wound allocation applies, so the nearest 3 to the doom scythe
3. Yes, you can take cover saves as normal
4. The overlord is not locked in combat, he just disembarks as normal.
5. The player that it's his turn to play, decides the order.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/20 15:06:48
Subject: Tricky Necron Questions
|
 |
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot
Within charging distance
|
Thanks, Avatar 720. That helps! Automatically Appended Next Post: Copper Talos - Re: 1&2
So, if the Doom Scythe is moving perpendicular to the line of the Death Ray, and inflicts three casualties, the furthest one touched by the line may be further away than other models in the same unit. So, you really ignore the line, using it only to determine the number of wounds to roll, and still take the nearest three - even though some of them were not touched by the line at all?
I just want to be sure I am understanding that correctly from a rules perspective.
Thanks!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/20 15:25:09
"Exterminatus is never having to say you're sorry." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/20 16:11:02
Subject: Tricky Necron Questions
|
 |
Beast of Nurgle
|
Yes. Exactly what you just said. Take away the nearest models, using the line to just establish wounds.
|
darkcloak wrote:
I don't give a damn about GW, their crap rules, their extortionist prices, hot models, limited edition books, Digital Release and spam in a box armies. I don't care about Forgeworld or their shoddy resin and their wacky unit rules or whether or not they're allowed. I don't care. I don't.
I love Warhammer 40000 and if you want to try to spoil that for me, or impose your own vision of it onto mine, then you can go suck a lemon. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/20 16:16:57
Subject: Tricky Necron Questions
|
 |
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot
Within charging distance
|
Gracias. Clear as a bell now.
|
"Exterminatus is never having to say you're sorry." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/20 17:06:11
Subject: Tricky Necron Questions
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
|
Do you have any Rules to back this one up?
Its a "Template" weapon, so surely you must nominate one level?
|
Grimtuff wrote: GW want the full wrath of their Gestapo to come down on this new fangled Internet and it's free speech.
A Town Called Malus wrote: Draigo is a Mat Ward creation. They don't follow the same rules as everyone else. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/20 17:12:48
Subject: Tricky Necron Questions
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Bloodhorror wrote:
Do you have any Rules to back this one up?
Its a "Template" weapon, so surely you must nominate one level?
Where is it listed as a "template" weapon?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/20 17:15:25
Subject: Tricky Necron Questions
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
|
You draw a line. Isn't that a sort of template just as Jaws of the World wolf is?
Or am i thinking of Fantasy and getting it confused with Cracks Call...?
|
Grimtuff wrote: GW want the full wrath of their Gestapo to come down on this new fangled Internet and it's free speech.
A Town Called Malus wrote: Draigo is a Mat Ward creation. They don't follow the same rules as everyone else. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/20 17:38:05
Subject: Tricky Necron Questions
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Getting confused with Fantasy.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/20 17:38:10
Subject: Tricky Necron Questions
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
JotWW and Death Ray are not templates.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/20 17:53:14
Subject: Tricky Necron Questions
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
Yea you're probably thinking of fantasy cannons.
|
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/20 17:57:49
Subject: Re:Tricky Necron Questions
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
|
|
Grimtuff wrote: GW want the full wrath of their Gestapo to come down on this new fangled Internet and it's free speech.
A Town Called Malus wrote: Draigo is a Mat Ward creation. They don't follow the same rules as everyone else. |
|
 |
 |
|