Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/11 02:20:46
Subject: Eldar Jetbike Assault Move and Charging
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
My apologies if this is answered somewhere but I can't find the answer.
I'm sure I'm missing something here but would appreciate someone pointing out the error of my logic.
Can Eldar Jetbikes make their 2D6" Assault move as per BRB pg45, and still charge? This would effectively allow them to do the following in a single turn:
- move 6"
- shoot (assault weapons)
- "assault move" 2D6"
- charge 2D6"
I can't find anything to say that the Eldar Jetbike Assault Move is "Instead of" charging, nor can I find anything that prevents charging if the unit first makes a voluntary move in the Assault phase. I'm sure that this is not the case but I can't find where it is prevented.
Thanks in advance.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/11 02:21:11
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/11 02:39:47
Subject: Eldar Jetbike Assault Move and Charging
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
It's basically spelled out on pg 45.
"may move up to 2D6" in the Assault phase, even if they don't charge" PG 45 BGB
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/11 03:21:50
Subject: Re:Eldar Jetbike Assault Move and Charging
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Thanks for your response. I get it now.
Normally you can only move 2D6" in the assault phase if charging. Eldar Jetbikes can do so even when they don't charge. It is not an extra move in the assault phase as I was supposing, it is effectively the normal 2D6" assault phase charge move, just without a charge target.
Thanks. This was doing my head in.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/11 04:57:59
Subject: Eldar Jetbike Assault Move and Charging
|
 |
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation
Perth, Western Australia
|
Also, Eldar Jetbikes (in fact all bikes) move 12" in the movement phase, not 6" as stated in your first post.
Edit: In addition, as bikes are relentless, you are not limited to assault weapons in the shooting phase. You can fire Rapid Fire and Heavy Weapons (if they have them) and still charge in the Assault phase.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/11 05:02:16
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/25 16:00:22
Subject: Re:Eldar Jetbike Assault Move and Charging
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
I believe, while very poorly worded for what seems like obvious intent, that RAW *DOES* allow you to do this. Nothing in the rule on page 45 says that an Eldar Jetbike unit can't assault if it performs this move. You would have to make sure you don't turbo-boost, and thanks to the Assault phase order you'd have to perform the initial move before declaring any charges.
However, on page 47 we have a wording for Jetpacks that *does* specifically stop the move and assault. Emphasis mine:
A Jet Pack unit that is not locked in combat or charging can move up to 2D6" in the Assault phase
Why are the two rules worded differently if they're trying to accomplish the same thing? (Not including the fact that Jet Packs can Thrust after running, that is.)
|
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/25 20:22:36
Subject: Eldar Jetbike Assault Move and Charging
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
Eleihun (a few posts above) sums it up correctly. Normally you may move 2D6 in the assault phase if you declare a charge target and the distance rolled is sufficient to engage your models. Eldar bikes may move the 2D6 even if they declare no target. They don't get 2x2D6, or 4D6. Just 2D6, like everyone else.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/25 20:22:53
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/25 22:28:00
Subject: Re:Eldar Jetbike Assault Move and Charging
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
I think I see... it's the words "up to" that make it... making an assault move afterwards would be going over the 2D6 you're allowed. Thanks, that makes sense.
|
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
 |
 |
|