Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/07 01:18:23
Subject: Why do instruments on summoned Daemons not bring in a unit from reserve?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Chicago, Illinois
|
I know that from a kind of rules perspective they don't but I'm at a loss right now on why.
Mainly because summoning a Daemon is treated as coming in from reserve for all rules purposes, but in order to come in from reserve you must make a successful roll. So what's the argument against this.
The only way to come in from reserve is with a successful reserve roll. Is this why you cannot bring in other units with other instruments because they did not make a reserve roll?
|
If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/07 01:20:43
Subject: Why do instruments on summoned Daemons not bring in a unit from reserve?
|
 |
The Daemon Possessing Fulgrim's Body
|
The effect triggers when a unit in DS reserve passes it's reserve roll.
If you summon a unit neither of these things applies.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/07 01:21:11
We find comfort among those who agree with us - growth among those who don't. - Frank Howard Clark
The wise man doubts often, and changes his mind; the fool is obstinate, and doubts not; he knows all things but his own ignorance.
The correct statement of individual rights is that everyone has the right to an opinion, but crucially, that opinion can be roundly ignored and even made fun of, particularly if it is demonstrably nonsense!” Professor Brian Cox
Ask me about
Barnstaple Slayers Club |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/07 01:23:31
Subject: Why do instruments on summoned Daemons not bring in a unit from reserve?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Chicago, Illinois
|
I thought that was the case, then abilities like Coteaz would trigger though as it is coming in from reserves for rules purposes, but it would not trigger another unit coming into play as that unit that was summoned did not make a reserve roll.
Also, I know how it works. I'm just pointing this out and getting rid of this argument before I add it to something I'm writing.
Here's my argument though, it says under reserves that in order to come in from reserves you have to roll.
|
If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/07 01:34:31
Subject: Why do instruments on summoned Daemons not bring in a unit from reserve?
|
 |
The Daemon Possessing Fulgrim's Body
|
Summoned units arrive via deep strike, I don't think that equates to arriving from reserve in any way, any more than a unit transported via Gate Of Infinity or any other similar mechanic.
That's off the cuff though, not checked.
Edit
Checked, you're right, considered as arriving from reserve, but was not in DS reserve, nor did it pass it's roll.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/07 01:36:12
We find comfort among those who agree with us - growth among those who don't. - Frank Howard Clark
The wise man doubts often, and changes his mind; the fool is obstinate, and doubts not; he knows all things but his own ignorance.
The correct statement of individual rights is that everyone has the right to an opinion, but crucially, that opinion can be roundly ignored and even made fun of, particularly if it is demonstrably nonsense!” Professor Brian Cox
Ask me about
Barnstaple Slayers Club |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/07 01:42:24
Subject: Why do instruments on summoned Daemons not bring in a unit from reserve?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
"...as having arrived from Reserves..." is not the same as "...coming in from Reserves..." but in any case it's talking about as far as restrictions on what they may do (move, shoot, etc...).
Likewise, if "coming in from reserves" is what allowed a unit with an instrument to bring a buddy along, then the unit brought along could also bring a buddy who could bring a buddy and so on down the line. No roll, however, means no free rider.
To your last point, if that were the exclusive case then you could not bring that second unit along with the Instrument's unit because the second unit did not roll. The conjuring rule, just liek the rule for the Instrument, grants an exception to the arrival from reserves rule.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/07 15:24:54
Subject: Why do instruments on summoned Daemons not bring in a unit from reserve?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Does an instrument even come with the summoned daemons?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/07 15:30:00
Subject: Why do instruments on summoned Daemons not bring in a unit from reserve?
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
If you have the appropriate models, then summoned Daemons may include musicians and standard bearers. The "cost" is already included in the WC.
|
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
 |
 |
|