Switch Theme:

Njal's Lord of Tempest and new FAQ  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in se
Hurr! Ogryn Bone 'Ead!



Sweden

You can't apply Snap Shot to non-shooting weapons and attacks as it is a rule speciically for Shooting, be it from regular shooting attacks or PSAs. Read through the actual rules for Snap Shots on p. 13 of the rulebook. Nowhere does it say that this rule applies to non-shooting weapons and attacks.

"Rules are PERMISSIVE. They tell you what you CAN do.

Sure, the rules do not say that you CANNOT use Njal's power against a flier"


This is exactly what i've been saying now 3-4 times. I am given permission to choose " a single enemy model of your choice within 18" and nothing to deny me the choice of a flyer.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/09/11 11:59:37


 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block





Tjolle79 wrote:
You can't apply Snap Shot to non-shooting weapons and attacks as it is a rule speciically for Shooting, be it from regular shooting attacks or PSAs. Read through the actual rules for Snap Shots on p. 13 of the rulebook. Nowhere does it say that this rule applies to non-shooting weapons and attacks.

"Rules are PERMISSIVE. They tell you what you CAN do.

Sure, the rules do not say that you CANNOT use Njal's power against a flier"


This is exactly what i've been saying now 3-4 times. I am given permission to choose " a single enemy model of your choice within 18" and nothing to deny me the choice of a flyer.


Yea, and you read it out of context. I was showing how this sort of statement doesnt fit in a permissive ruleset.

   
Made in gb
Deranged Necron Destroyer




Okay, since you're clearly trying to pluck an argument out of thin air here, I'm not sure what to think. Are you just being deliberately perverse? I honestly can't tell. Once again, let me show you where your argument fails.

It says you can only use snap shots. You can only snap shot with shooting weapons. Therefore, only shooting attacks can harm flyers UNLESS you are explicitly permitted to do so - this was seen in the Vector Strike vs Sweep Attack ruling - Sweep attacks are not shooting and don't mention flyers, so don't hit flyers. Vector Strikes aren't shooting attacks, however they are explicitly permitted to hit flyers in their rules. The ruling doesn't mention shooting attacks, it covers ALL attacks. I quoted the entire question to prove that, so as far as "only using the text I want", that's simply wrong. Here, I'll post the ENTIRE thing here and demonstrate exactly where you've failed to read.

Q: How do maelstroms, novas and beams – or indeed any weapon that doesn’t need to roll To Hit or hits automatically – interact with Zooming Flyers and Swooping Flying Monstrous Creatures? (p13)
A: Only Snap Shots can hit Zooming Flyers and Swooping Flying Monstrous Creatures. Therefore, any attacks that use blast markers, templates, create a line of/area of effect or otherwise don’t roll to hit cannot target them. This includes weapons such as the Necron Doom Scythe’s death ray or the Deathstrike missile of the Imperial Guard, and psychic powers that follow the rule for maelstroms, beams, and novas.


So, let's see. First, the question:
Q: How do maelstroms, novas and beams – or indeed any weapon that doesn’t need to roll To Hit or hits automatically – interact with Zooming Flyers and Swooping Flying Monstrous Creatures? (p13)

So, as we are indisputably talking about a weapon, which I pointed out in my last post, this does indeed cover anything with S, AP and a method to resolve some amount of shots. Nowhere in this question does it mention any of the following:
-Shooting
-The phase in which the attack occurs
-How the attack is resolved
-The origin of the attack
This means that this is not an FAQ ruling restricted to shooting, it is in fact a broad stroke of the brush and covers all damage from any source.

A: Only Snap Shots can hit Zooming Flyers and Swooping Flying Monstrous Creatures.

Ding ding ding, we have a winner. Only Snap Shots can hit. What uses Snap Shots? Shooting weapons and psychic attacks. Not one of those? Then you cannot hit. Period. This is what stops the ability hitting.

Therefore, any attacks that use blast markers, templates, create a line of/area of effect or otherwise don’t roll to hit cannot target them.

This is clarification of the previous statement - notice it STILL hasn't specified shooting, so blasts, templates etc from non-shooting attacks cannot hit for any reason except an explicit allowance in the rules.

This includes weapons such as the Necron Doom Scythe’s death ray or the Deathstrike missile of the Imperial Guard, and psychic powers that follow the rule for maelstroms, beams, and novas.

These are examples and not a comprehensive list, hence the wording - "includes", not "exclusive to the following weapons". Again, this shows that if it doesn't roll to hit, it cannot. This has important implications (skyfire doesn't allow blasts or beams to harm flyers) but these are irrelevant for now.

So there you have it, a complete clarification of the ruling. It doesn't mention shooting, so is not restricted to shooting. If something comes along that can fire Snap Shots in a movement phase (say an interceptor non-skyfire gun) then this ruling allows that. It's actually very well worded as it cuts all corner cases and permits normal firing.

Now it's time to break down comments, in reverse chronological order:

This is exactly what i've been saying now 3-4 times. I am given permission to choose " a single enemy model of your choice within 18" and nothing to deny me the choice of a flyer.

You are given permission to choose a model. You may pick a flyer. However, thanks to the FAQ, you cannot hit it as you are not able to Snap Shot.

You can't apply a shooting rule (Snap Shot) to non-shooting attacks just because you feel it should be. Snap Shot ruling doesnt affect non-shooting hits. It has absolutely nothing to do with BS, nor is it a shooting attack or a PSA that hits automatically.

Wrong, only being allowed to hit with Snap Shots doesn't mean it only applies to shooting attacks. This is a straw man argument as it doesn't actually address the issue.

you are going to use quotes, use the entire text, not just the part you want. The entire text is dependent on the rest. The second sentence is in direct reference to the first, as a clarification of how to resolve shooting attacks that normally can't be resolved as Snap Shots.

I did quote it almost in full, spoon feeding you the relevant parts. Now I have included the full text, of which half isn't applicable. Once again, it says nothing about shooting.

Let me ask you this:

Can a Bomb Squig target a flyer?
According to the wording on the Bomb Squig, yes it can.
According to the Ork FAQ it can't.

Could it before this FAQ? Debatable. Can it now, even without the Ork FAQ? No, as it cannot be fired as a Snap Shot. The Ork FAQ is a clarification to quell absurd arguments such as this one.

If you were to remove that particular FAQ answer, what would happen? You could hit a flyer, because it isnt a shooting attack either, and you cant apply the Snap Shot FAQ answer about weapons and PSAs as its neither.

Doesn't mention shooting. Do you get it yet? Doesn't mention shooting. Nothing mentions shooting. The only one bringing shooting into this is you. As I said before, this ruling WOULD cover it, so you are wrong again.

Same thing for Terror from the deep. If you remove the Tyranid answer from their FAQ that it can't target flyers, it wouldnt fall under the Snap Shot FAQ reply either.

TftD would now fall under area of effect AND automatically hitting, on top of being unable to snap shot, so this would stop it 3 times over, so it couldn't hit flyers.

There's nothing, nowhere, that denies Njals and Imotekhs Storms from hitting. There is, in fact, a SW FAQ that says you can't even take Cover saves for Vehicles even if they're Obscured, because it isnt a shooting attack

Utterly irrelevant. Congratulations, it's not a shooting attack, we all already knew that. That doesn't help because THE FAQ DOESN'T MENTION SHOOTING.

You are wrong. There is no way to show you are correct because it is covered in full by the FAQ. You cannot hit flyers and everyone but you knows this by now. Still, I expect you'll reply with "but it's not shooting" AGAIN, then continue to claim that's somehow useful information. Come on, give it up.
   
Made in us
[MOD]
Solahma






RVA

Just a reminder to everyone that we only bother to discuss the rules of this miniatures game because doing so is fun. If you find yourself exasperated to the point of attributing bad faith to others then it's probably a good time to take a walk outside and get your mind off of this forum. Thanks!

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: