Switch Theme:

Formations and dedicated transports  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ro
Regular Dakkanaut





Can units from a formation (assuming there is no special rule in the formation stating they can't) purchase dedicated transports as per their relevant Codex entries?

Eg:

Mephrit resurgence decurion. Could the 2 warrior and 2 immortal units grab ghost arks?

Thanks.
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

No, formations cannot buy or have less than the Units listed.

It's an "unchangeable" list, unless it has 0-3 Immortals type of wording, but that is still the limit.

You can ally Force Org charts though.

DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Yes they can.
If the units listed are not able to take dedicated transports, then it will be listed in Restrictions.
The Ork Green Tide Formation is a good example of this.
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

 grendel083 wrote:
Yes they can.
If the units listed are not able to take dedicated transports, then it will be listed in Restrictions.
The Ork Green Tide Formation is a good example of this.


Is that because the DT is part of the Unit's Options rather than a separate "battlefield Role" ?

DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 BlackTalos wrote:
 grendel083 wrote:
Yes they can.
If the units listed are not able to take dedicated transports, then it will be listed in Restrictions.
The Ork Green Tide Formation is a good example of this.


Is that because the DT is part of the Unit's Options rather than a separate "battlefield Role" ?
If it's a DT it takes on the Battlefield role of the unit it was purchased with.

Units can purchase any options listed, unless the restriction section says otherwise. A Trukk is a valid option same as a Power Klaw.
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

I understand, though being a separate Unit makes it seem like a formation of:

1 Ork Warboss
2 Units of Boyz

is not the same as:
1 Ork Warboss
2 Units of Boyz
2 Trukks

Even if they are "Troops" (Battlefield role).

But if The Ork Green Tide Formation is an example then that is enough to answer the OP question.
Just nitpicking to make sure I get it right...

DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in ro
Regular Dakkanaut





 grendel083 wrote:
Yes they can.
If the units listed are not able to take dedicated transports, then it will be listed in Restrictions.
The Ork Green Tide Formation is a good example of this.


Ah, I see, thanks.
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 BlackTalos wrote:
I understand, though being a separate Unit makes it seem like a formation of:

1 Ork Warboss
2 Units of Boyz

is not the same as:
1 Ork Warboss
2 Units of Boyz
2 Trukks

Even if they are "Troops" (Battlefield role).

But if The Ork Green Tide Formation is an example then that is enough to answer the OP question.
Just nitpicking to make sure I get it right...
True they are seperate units, but they are also purchased as part of a units options.
So in your example:

1 Ork Warboss
2 Units of Boyz with Trukks

Another example are the Space Wolf Formations, For example the Wolf Guard Thunderstrike.
It lists a Drop Pod in the Formation section, then informs you that it is taken as the units dedicated Transport. Otherwise the Wolf Guard could simply purchase another DP as their DT.
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

 grendel083 wrote:
Another example are the Space Wolf Formations, For example the Wolf Guard Thunderstrike.
It lists a Drop Pod in the Formation section, then informs you that it is taken as the units dedicated Transport. Otherwise the Wolf Guard could simply purchase another DP as their DT.


But that is sort of the point of my confusion: It lists the Drop Pod in the Formation (and then forces them to take it as DT).

So, in the same codex, the Formation of 5 Termies (Which must Deep Strike) are RaI to not have a D.Transport (if they deploy with it they cannot DS) but they could purchase a Land Raider.
Just as i'd say they can not buy a Land Raider (by RaI at least), i'd say a Necron formation with no DT listed could not add "another 2 Units" of Ghost Arks.

If we take examples:
FORMATION:
• 1 Necron Overlord
• 1 unit of Immortals
• 2 units of Necron Warriors
• 1 Ghost Ark
• 1 Doom Scythe
• 1 unit of Triarch Praetorians
• 1 Triarch Stalker
• 1 unit of Deathmarks
• 2 units of Canoptek Wraiths

FORMATION:
• Anrakyr the Traveller
• 1 unit of Immortals
• 2 units of Necron Warriors
• 1 Ghost Ark
• 1 Doom Scythe
• 1 unit of Deathmarks


These formations include Ghost Arks already. I'm not sure you could then add another 3 because of the Warriors/immortals. Sure give one of them the Ghost Ark as DT, but only the 1.




Automatically Appended Next Post:
TL : DR

I believe Formations have a listed number of Units which you cannot modify. (by adding more DT)

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/01/15 14:10:47


DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

I think we can all agree that the lack of consistency is a pain.

But if DT's can't be included, then there's no reason to add restrictions to certain Formations stating they can't take a DT.
   
Made in us
Focused Fire Warrior




San Antonio, TX

The formation lists of you can or cannot take a DT. Bad example of using the Green Tide as it specifically said they have to all walk...

   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

 grendel083 wrote:
I think we can all agree that the lack of consistency is a pain.

But if DT's can't be included, then there's no reason to add restrictions to certain Formations stating they can't take a DT.


I agree, but so many Formations out there (Including Adepta Sororitas - 6th Ed) contain the Transport options as part of the Formation that adding any "other" Units does not seem correct.
I mean, if we are allowing additional DT Units (which are still their own Battlefield role - matched to their Unit), then why can Formation not include Slot-less unlocks?

Eg can a Formation with Grey Hunters decide to add a Lone wolf to their Formation?

The Green tide Formation is just puzzling, because it specifically states "cannot take DT as an Option" which clearly infers that Formations "normally" can....?

ED:fixed

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/01/15 14:57:03


DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in us
Focused Fire Warrior




San Antonio, TX

Looking at the Green Tide formation right now, it 100%states under restrictions.... The entire formation must fight on foot - no dedicated transports allowed.

Formations are to give you special setups and rules and perks. Why do you need extras on top of that? Just take it how is written.

Sorry misread your does not as does... Apologies.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/01/15 14:49:48


   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

 grendel083 wrote:
I think we can all agree that the lack of consistency is a pain.

Seems like it is consistent to me. When you don't have a choice on the transport (either by taking one or not taking one), the rules specifically say which is required. When you do have the choice, they're not mentioned.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

 Ghaz wrote:
 grendel083 wrote:
I think we can all agree that the lack of consistency is a pain.

Seems like it is consistent to me. When you don't have a choice on the transport (either by taking one or not taking one), the rules specifically say which is required. When you do have the choice, they're not mentioned.


That's not clear to me. If a Unit has the choice of a DT it can add a Unit to the Formation?

DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Formations require us to take specific unit entrys, that may or may not have additional restrictions placed on them by the formation.

If purchasing a DT is an option for a unit, and not a separate unit entry there is no reason it is not allowed.

Saying it isn't allowed becaues the formation says you may only take ork boyz is incorrect, because the formation specifies unit entries you are required to take and not unit profiles.

Some formations actually specify that you -must- by the DT for the units in the formation and the formation itself does not list the transports in what unit entries can be taken- dark eldar codex formation.
   
Made in gb
Battleship Captain




Because the Wolf Guard Thunderstrike MUST take a drop pod, rather than merely having the option to do so.

By comparison, the St Tylus Battle Force specifically states the Tyrannic War Veteran Squads cannot take drop pods - but, that is not their only transport option; therefore implying they can take land raiders.

Termagants expended for the Hive Mind: ~2835
 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Check out the DE formation in their book. Note how the DTs are not included in the unit list but the restriction requires you to take them.

Formations layout specific datasheets to use. You are free to use any upgrades on those datasheets unless the Formation specifies otherwise. Thus you can take DTs unless the Formation says you can't. You can upgrade a guy to a Character (like a Mek or Nob or Klaivex) unless the formation says you can't. Heck you can upgrade Warriors to Trueborn changing their battlefield role as they share the same unit datasheet (again unless the Formation specifies you can't).

Permission to use a datasheet is permission to use any of its options. A dedicated transport is no more restricted by default than taking a flamer in a tactical squad or some extra guys in a unit or indeed any other upgrade.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: