Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/03 14:57:38
Subject: Can a unit embarked on a Transport claim an Objective?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Basically what the title says.
If I drive a Battlewagon of Orks onto an Objective, can the embarked Boyz claim the objective? This can matter for the purposes of:
a) Objective Secured if an enemy is near an Objective as well, if the Boyz are in a normal CAD and have Objective Secured.
b) Taking advantage of certain Mysterious Objective bonuses, such as a Skyfire Nexus.
I couldn't find this in the rulebook. Thanks!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/03 15:06:12
Subject: Can a unit embarked on a Transport claim an Objective?
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
|
Murrdox wrote:Basically what the title says.
If I drive a Battlewagon of Orks onto an Objective, can the embarked Boyz claim the objective? This can matter for the purposes of:
a) Objective Secured if an enemy is near an Objective as well, if the Boyz are in a normal CAD and have Objective Secured.
b) Taking advantage of certain Mysterious Objective bonuses, such as a Skyfire Nexus.
I couldn't find this in the rulebook. Thanks!
Short Answer... yes.
For the purposes of measuring distances when embarked Units are involved, you measure to the Transport's hull (or Base in the case of something like a Morkanought). Hence, if the Battlewagon is within 3", the embarked Orks are ALSO within 3".
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/03 15:07:10
Subject: Re:Can a unit embarked on a Transport claim an Objective?
|
 |
Violent Space Marine Dedicated to Khorne
|
I would say yes the unit inside can indeed claim it as they are within 3 inches of the objective. It is not the battlewagon that is claiming it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/03 15:09:01
Subject: Re:Can a unit embarked on a Transport claim an Objective?
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
|
paramedicpirate wrote:I would say yes the unit inside can indeed claim it as they are within 3 inches of the objective. It is not the battlewagon that is claiming it.
All units are scoring units. The Battlewagon is ALSO controlling the objective.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/03 16:09:58
Subject: Can a unit embarked on a Transport claim an Objective?
|
 |
Fireknife Shas'el
Lisbon, Portugal
|
Only one unit controls the objective at a time. You need to choose between the Wagon and the peple inside.
If you took a transport as a DT for Troops in a CAD (or any other detachment with Obj Sec), the DT will be considered Troops as well and receives the Obj Sec rule. If not, the vehicle is just a normal scoring unit.
|
AI & BFG: / BMG: Mr. Freeze, Deathstroke / Battletech: SR, OWA / Fallout Factions: BoS / HGB: Caprice / Malifaux: Arcanists, Guild, Outcasts / MCP: Mutants / SAGA: Ordensstaat / SW Legion: CIS / WWX: Union
Unit1126PLL wrote:"FW is unbalanced and going to ruin tournaments."
"Name one where it did that."
"IT JUST DOES OKAY!"
Shadenuat wrote:Voted Astra Militarum for a chance for them to get nerfed instead of my own army. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/03 19:59:01
Subject: Can a unit embarked on a Transport claim an Objective?
|
 |
Storm Trooper with Maglight
Philly
|
I was under the impression that the unit had to be disembarked to control an objective. i.e., It needs to actually be on the table.
|
"It's bigger then all of us. Winston's in the air duct with a badger." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/03 20:03:35
Subject: Can a unit embarked on a Transport claim an Objective?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Cortez667 wrote:I was under the impression that the unit had to be disembarked to control an objective. i.e., It needs to actually be on the table.
IIRC, that was a rule in 6th edition, but has been removed in 7th.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/03 20:36:53
Subject: Can a unit embarked on a Transport claim an Objective?
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
Vector Strike wrote:Only one unit controls the objective at a time. You need to choose between the Wagon and the peple inside.
Do you have a reference for this? It matters because of things like Mysterious Objectives.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/03 20:41:23
Subject: Can a unit embarked on a Transport claim an Objective?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Cheexsta wrote: Vector Strike wrote:Only one unit controls the objective at a time. You need to choose between the Wagon and the peple inside.
Do you have a reference for this? It matters because of things like Mysterious Objectives.
I believe this is another 6th edition artifact. No such rule exists in 7th.
A unit can only control one objective, but there is no limit on the number of units that can control a single objective.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/03 21:03:08
Subject: Can a unit embarked on a Transport claim an Objective?
|
 |
Storm Trooper with Maglight
Philly
|
insaniak wrote: Cortez667 wrote:I was under the impression that the unit had to be disembarked to control an objective. i.e., It needs to actually be on the table.
IIRC, that was a rule in 6th edition, but has been removed in 7th.
Good to know.
|
"It's bigger then all of us. Winston's in the air duct with a badger." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/03 23:49:00
Subject: Can a unit embarked on a Transport claim an Objective?
|
 |
Fireknife Shas'el
Lisbon, Portugal
|
insaniak wrote: Cheexsta wrote: Vector Strike wrote:Only one unit controls the objective at a time. You need to choose between the Wagon and the peple inside.
Do you have a reference for this? It matters because of things like Mysterious Objectives.
I believe this is another 6th edition artifact. No such rule exists in 7th.
A unit can only control one objective, but there is no limit on the number of units that can control a single objective.
I was mistaken, indeed.
What happens if I have 2 ObjSec units near an objective and the enemy has 1 ObjSec unit near it as well? Does that singular unit 'cancel' one or both ObjSec units of mine?
|
AI & BFG: / BMG: Mr. Freeze, Deathstroke / Battletech: SR, OWA / Fallout Factions: BoS / HGB: Caprice / Malifaux: Arcanists, Guild, Outcasts / MCP: Mutants / SAGA: Ordensstaat / SW Legion: CIS / WWX: Union
Unit1126PLL wrote:"FW is unbalanced and going to ruin tournaments."
"Name one where it did that."
"IT JUST DOES OKAY!"
Shadenuat wrote:Voted Astra Militarum for a chance for them to get nerfed instead of my own army. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/04 00:16:16
Subject: Re:Can a unit embarked on a Transport claim an Objective?
|
 |
World-Weary Pathfinder
|
Yes, it does.
BRB Pg 134: You control an Objective Marker if there is at least one model from one of your scoring units, and no models from enemy scoring units, within 3" of it.
BRB Pg 122: Objective Secured: A unit with this special rule controls objectives even if an enemy scoring unit is within range of the objective marker, unless the enemy unit also has this special rule.
"Objective secured" modifies the "no models from enemy scoring units" portion of the rules for controlling an objective. However as soon as an enemy unit with "objective secured" comes within range of the objective both lose the benefits of "Objective secured"
In your scenario the single enemy unit with objective secured cancels both your objective secured units. Just as a non-objective secured unit would cancel any number of controlling non-objective secured units.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/04/04 00:17:24
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/04/04 08:49:55
Subject: Re:Can a unit embarked on a Transport claim an Objective?
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
Indeed; the rules for Objective Secured contain no concept of stacking so even one enemy unit will nullify the controlling effect of multiple friendly units.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/04/04 08:51:36
|
|
 |
 |
|