Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
Times and dates in your local timezone.
Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.
2015/11/10 13:38:51
Subject: Holophoton Countermeasures: Consensus reached. Mod please lock
I did a search and did not see this topic so if it has come up please reference me to the thread.
HC rules states "Once per battle, in the enemy shooting phase, a model with HC can disrupt the targeting systems used by one enemy unit that is targeting it or the unit it belongs too." The rule goes on to simply state that the enemy unit can only snappier.
The way I read this a unit of three Ghostkeels can use this three times as it references a model uses it but the unit benefits. I know there was some debate when the rumors first came out but does anyone see this differently and if so why?
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/11/10 19:31:54
The bit that makes all 3 ghostkeel use them is the second sentence: "Declare that the unit will use the Holophoton Countermeasures after the enemy unit has chosen it as a target, but before any to hit rolls are made."
That sentence tells us who uses the gear, and when.
If it was "declare that the model..."; then you could use it 3 times, but as it stands now the unit uses the gear with no option of holding back some bearers.
That is the RAW; but HIWPI is that since the gear has an effect on the unit from 1 model, then each model may separately activate their own(it is not like you get a discount on additional suits, nor does multiple countermeasures provide further effects, so you are paying for a use per suit)
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
The bit that makes all 3 ghostkeel use them is the second sentence: "Declare that the unit will use the Holophoton Countermeasures after the enemy unit has chosen it as a target, but before any to hit rolls are made."
That sentence tells us who uses the gear, and when.
If it was "declare that the model..."; then you could use it 3 times, but as it stands now the unit uses the gear with no option of holding back some bearers.
That is the RAW; but HIWPI is that since the gear has an effect on the unit from 1 model, then each model may separately activate their own(it is not like you get a discount on additional suits, nor does multiple countermeasures provide further effects, so you are paying for a use per suit)
99% of people read it opposite of you. You missed the first part of the rule.
"Once per battle, in the enemy shooting phase, a MODEL equipped with holophoton countermeasures can disrupt the targeting systems used by one enemy unit that is targeting it or the unit it belongs to."
The MODEL uses the ability. You declare the UNIT will get the benefit of this ability
One single model activates the ability, and then the unit declares that it will use the ability. aka each model can use it once
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/11/10 16:25:07
notredameguy10 wrote: 99% of people read it opposite of you. You missed the first part of the rule.
"Once per battle, in the enemy shooting phase, a MODEL equipped with holophoton countermeasures can disrupt the targeting systems used by one enemy unit that is targeting it or the unit it belongs to."
The MODEL uses the ability. You declare the UNIT will get the benefit of this ability
One single model activates the ability, and then the unit declares that it will use the ability. aka each model can use it once
And where does that sentence tell you HOW it disrupts the enemy targeting systems? What you've quoted is basically fluff. The rule that tells us the HOW states that the unit will use its holophoton countermeasures, not individual models.
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
notredameguy10 wrote: 99% of people read it opposite of you. You missed the first part of the rule.
"Once per battle, in the enemy shooting phase, a MODEL equipped with holophoton countermeasures can disrupt the targeting systems used by one enemy unit that is targeting it or the unit it belongs to."
The MODEL uses the ability. You declare the UNIT will get the benefit of this ability
One single model activates the ability, and then the unit declares that it will use the ability. aka each model can use it once
And where does that sentence tell you HOW it disrupts the enemy targeting systems? What you've quoted is basically fluff. The rule that tells us the HOW states that the unit will use its holophoton countermeasures, not individual models.
Well by your logic then I could use this ability every single attack, since its the "fluff" section that actually mentions being able to only use this ability "once per battle"
Nope. The 'disrupts targeting systems' is pure fluff unless you can find a rule as to what 'targeting systems' are and what 'disrupts' does to them. Other than the 'once per battle' part, the entirety of the rules are in the last two sentences. The rule should literally be read as follows:
"Once per battle... declare that the unit will use the holophoton countermeasures after the enemy unit has chosen it as a target, but before any hit rolls are made. The enemy unit can only make Snap Shots in that shooting phase."
Your interpretation requires us to totally ignore the fact that it is the unit that declares they will use the holophoton countermeasures.
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
Ghaz wrote: Nope. The 'disrupts targeting systems' is pure fluff unless you can find a rule as to what 'targeting systems' are and what 'disrupts' does to them. Other than the 'once per battle' part, the entirety of the rules are in the last two sentences. The rule should literally be read as follows:
"Once per battle... declare that the unit will use the holophoton countermeasures after the enemy unit has chosen it as a target, but before any hit rolls are made. The enemy unit can only make Snap Shots in that shooting phase."
Your interpretation requires us to totally ignore the fact that it is the unit that declares they will use the holophoton countermeasures.
You cannot selectively choose which parts of the rule you want to call "fluff" and which you want to call "rule". The rule clearly says MODEL. Yes the unit uses the countermeasure. But that does not mean the unit can only use it once. It specifically says "once per battle... a MODEL". This means that each MODEL can activate the ability seperately and the UNIT receives the effect
To further prove my point, the rule states this ability targets "enemy unit that is targeting IT or the unit IT belong to". Meaning singular
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2015/11/10 17:59:39
I'm not selectively choosing. Provide us a rules meaning for 'targeting systems' and 'disrupts'. You however are selectively ignoring that you declare that the unit uses the countermeasures and not individual models.
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
Ghaz wrote: Nope. The 'disrupts targeting systems' is pure fluff unless you can find a rule as to what 'targeting systems' are and what 'disrupts' does to them. Other than the 'once per battle' part, the entirety of the rules are in the last two sentences. The rule should literally be read as follows:
"Once per battle... declare that the unit will use the holophoton countermeasures after the enemy unit has chosen it as a target, but before any hit rolls are made. The enemy unit can only make Snap Shots in that shooting phase."
Your interpretation requires us to totally ignore the fact that it is the unit that declares they will use the holophoton countermeasures.
Bearing in mind, I do not have access to the book at this time, is the part that states, "Once per battle, in the enemy shooting phase, a MODEL equipped with holophoton countermeasures can disrupt the targeting systems used by one enemy unit that is targeting it or the unit it belongs to" in italics in the codex, or regular type? If regular type, then it is rules, not fluff, and you cannot dismiss it just because it has a fluff angle on it.
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
Ghaz wrote: Nope. The 'disrupts targeting systems' is pure fluff unless you can find a rule as to what 'targeting systems' are and what 'disrupts' does to them. Other than the 'once per battle' part, the entirety of the rules are in the last two sentences. The rule should literally be read as follows:
"Once per battle... declare that the unit will use the holophoton countermeasures after the enemy unit has chosen it as a target, but before any hit rolls are made. The enemy unit can only make Snap Shots in that shooting phase."
Your interpretation requires us to totally ignore the fact that it is the unit that declares they will use the holophoton countermeasures.
Bearing in mind, I do not have access to the book at this time, is the part that states, "Once per battle, in the enemy shooting phase, a MODEL equipped with holophoton countermeasures can disrupt the targeting systems used by one enemy unit that is targeting it or the unit it belongs to" in italics in the codex, or regular type? If regular type, then it is rules, not fluff, and you cannot dismiss it just because it has a fluff angle on it.
It is regular type. There is a paragraph of fluff above in italics.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Ghaz wrote: I'm not selectively choosing. Provide us a rules meaning for 'targeting systems' and 'disrupts'. You however are selectively ignoring that you declare that the unit uses the countermeasures and not individual models.
I am not ignoring that. I have said MULTIPLE times that is true. I am saying that the first part of the rules says that each MODEL can use the ability once per battle. Not each unit. Once per battle, a model can activate their ability. You then declare the unit is using the ability.
And sorry, but you are the one choosing to ignore the entire first portion of the rule. Also ignoring all evidence that Ive presented including the use of "IT"
Its pretty simple, and Im sorry you cannot accept it. a MODEL activates the holographic counter measures and then the UNIT uses that ability. It can't be more clear than that
This message was edited 6 times. Last update was at 2015/11/10 18:22:39
Ghaz wrote: Nope. The 'disrupts targeting systems' is pure fluff unless you can find a rule as to what 'targeting systems' are and what 'disrupts' does to them. Other than the 'once per battle' part, the entirety of the rules are in the last two sentences. The rule should literally be read as follows:
"Once per battle... declare that the unit will use the holophoton countermeasures after the enemy unit has chosen it as a target, but before any hit rolls are made. The enemy unit can only make Snap Shots in that shooting phase."
Your interpretation requires us to totally ignore the fact that it is the unit that declares they will use the holophoton countermeasures.
Bearing in mind, I do not have access to the book at this time, is the part that states, "Once per battle, in the enemy shooting phase, a MODEL equipped with holophoton countermeasures can disrupt the targeting systems used by one enemy unit that is targeting it or the unit it belongs to" in italics in the codex, or regular type? If regular type, then it is rules, not fluff, and you cannot dismiss it just because it has a fluff angle on it.
It is not italicized, but GW does have a habit of mixing fluff in with the rules. If not, what are the rules for what 'targeting systems' and how do we 'disrupt' them and what happens when we do?
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
Ghaz wrote: Nope. The 'disrupts targeting systems' is pure fluff unless you can find a rule as to what 'targeting systems' are and what 'disrupts' does to them. Other than the 'once per battle' part, the entirety of the rules are in the last two sentences. The rule should literally be read as follows:
"Once per battle... declare that the unit will use the holophoton countermeasures after the enemy unit has chosen it as a target, but before any hit rolls are made. The enemy unit can only make Snap Shots in that shooting phase."
Your interpretation requires us to totally ignore the fact that it is the unit that declares they will use the holophoton countermeasures.
Bearing in mind, I do not have access to the book at this time, is the part that states, "Once per battle, in the enemy shooting phase, a MODEL equipped with holophoton countermeasures can disrupt the targeting systems used by one enemy unit that is targeting it or the unit it belongs to" in italics in the codex, or regular type? If regular type, then it is rules, not fluff, and you cannot dismiss it just because it has a fluff angle on it.
It is not italicized, but GW does have a habit of mixing fluff in with the rules. If not, what are the rules for what 'targeting systems' and how do we 'disrupt' them and what happens when we do?
Again, you are fixated on those words, ignore the other rules, and then say you are right. The rule literally explains later what "disrupt and what happens when we do it". Enemy unit can only snap fire.
Once per battle, a MODEL ACTIVATES their ability. The ability works against an enemy unit targeting THAT MODEL OR IT AND ANY OTHER MODELS IN THE UNIT. Then the UNIT chooses to use that ability.
You are just being purposefully dense because you don't want to admit you are wrong
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2015/11/10 18:27:43
Ghaz wrote: I'm not selectively choosing. Provide us a rules meaning for 'targeting systems' and 'disrupts'. You however are selectively ignoring that you declare that the unit uses the countermeasures and not individual models.
I am not ignoring that. I have said MULTIPLE times that is true. I am saying that the first part of the rules says that each MODEL can use the ability once per battle. Not each unit. Once per battle, a model can activate their ability. You then declare the unit is using the ability.
And sorry, but you are the one choosing to ignore the entire first portion of the rule. Also ignoring all evidence that Ive presented including the use of "IT"
Its pretty simple, and Im sorry you cannot accept it. a MODEL activates the holographic counter measures and then the UNIT uses that ability. It can't be more clear than that
Just because a model can only use it once per game doesn't change the fact that the unit is the one declaring the usage. Each model has to use their holophoton countermeasures because the unit declared their usage. You keep ignoring that.
The UNIT declares that they are using the countermeasures and each model in the unit activates them, not just one.
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/11/10 18:31:32
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
Ghaz wrote: I'm not selectively choosing. Provide us a rules meaning for 'targeting systems' and 'disrupts'. You however are selectively ignoring that you declare that the unit uses the countermeasures and not individual models.
I am not ignoring that. I have said MULTIPLE times that is true. I am saying that the first part of the rules says that each MODEL can use the ability once per battle. Not each unit. Once per battle, a model can activate their ability. You then declare the unit is using the ability.
And sorry, but you are the one choosing to ignore the entire first portion of the rule. Also ignoring all evidence that Ive presented including the use of "IT"
Its pretty simple, and Im sorry you cannot accept it. a MODEL activates the holographic counter measures and then the UNIT uses that ability. It can't be more clear than that
Just because a model can only use it once per game doesn't change the fact that the unit is the one declaring the usage. Each model has to use their holophoton countermeasures because the unit declared their usage. You keep ignoring that.
I can tell you are never going to change your mind even though you are incorrect and ITC says you are incorrect.
The unit "use their holophoton countermeasures" does not mean activate it. It means using the ability that has already been activated, which was activated by one model, not every model.
1.) Once per battle
2.) A MODEL can activate the ability when an enemy unit attacks it or it and it's unit
3.) The unit that model is in can USE that ability
4.) Enemies snap fire (Disrupt the targeting systems)
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/11/10 18:36:24
Ghaz wrote: Nope. The 'disrupts targeting systems' is pure fluff unless you can find a rule as to what 'targeting systems' are and what 'disrupts' does to them. Other than the 'once per battle' part, the entirety of the rules are in the last two sentences. The rule should literally be read as follows:
"Once per battle... declare that the unit will use the holophoton countermeasures after the enemy unit has chosen it as a target, but before any hit rolls are made. The enemy unit can only make Snap Shots in that shooting phase."
Your interpretation requires us to totally ignore the fact that it is the unit that declares they will use the holophoton countermeasures.
Bearing in mind, I do not have access to the book at this time, is the part that states, "Once per battle, in the enemy shooting phase, a MODEL equipped with holophoton countermeasures can disrupt the targeting systems used by one enemy unit that is targeting it or the unit it belongs to" in italics in the codex, or regular type? If regular type, then it is rules, not fluff, and you cannot dismiss it just because it has a fluff angle on it.
It is not italicized, but GW does have a habit of mixing fluff in with the rules. If not, what are the rules for what 'targeting systems' and how do we 'disrupt' them and what happens when we do?
While they do mix fluff in with the rules to a point, you are still just clipping out the contextual point.
If the full rule is, "Once per battle, in the enemy shooting phase, a model equipped with holophoton countermeasures can disrupt the targeting systems used by one enemy unit that is targeting it or the unit it belongs to. Declare that the unit will use the holophoton countermeasures after the enemy unit has chosen it as a target, but before any hit rolls are made. The enemy unit can only make Snap Shots in that shooting phase.", than if 3 have it, not all have to use it for the unit to benefit. The context of the paragraph does not support the clipping that you have performed.
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
Sounds like each model can activate the ability once per game. The unit can subsequently choose to use the ability after it has been selected as a target.
There doesn't appear to be any wording saying the unit can only choose to use the ability once per game... only that a given model can only activate the ability once per game. Each time a model chooses to activate the ability, the unit has the option to use it.
Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com
And ITC has been known to make house rules. No matter how you try and twist it, the rule clearly states that the unit uses its countermeasures. That means that each model in the unit activates them because that is how they use them.
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
Ghaz wrote: And ITC has been known to make house rules. No matter how you try and twist it, the rule clearly states that the unit uses its countermeasures. That means that each model in the unit activates them because that is how they use them.
Lol even though every single other person is against you, you still won't admit you are wrong or even acknowledge what I have said refutes that claim.
Read my step by step process above if you still don't get it.
ONCE PER GAME, A MODEL CAN ACTIVATE THE ABILITY
THE UNIT USES THAT ABILITY (that was activated by one single model, as the rule previously states)
That does NOT mean that every single model activates the ability when the unit uses it
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/11/10 18:42:49
Kriswall wrote: Yeah... I'm not seeing any wording saying that all models in the units have to activate their wargear at the same time.
Can someone post the full text of the rules?
"Once per battle, in the enemy shooting phase, a model equipped with holophoton countermeasures can disrupt the targeting systems used by one enemy unit that is targeting it or the unit it belongs to. Declare that the unit will use the holophoton countermeasures after the enemy unit has chosen it as a target, but before any hit rolls are made. The enemy unit can only make Snap Shots in that shooting phase."
Ghaz wrote: And ITC has been known to make house rules. No matter how you try and twist it, the rule clearly states that the unit uses its countermeasures. That means that each model in the unit activates them because that is how they use them.
Can you quote the portion that states that all models in the unit activate their once per game Wargear, or that this Wargear is activated once per game by the unit? You snipped out a bunch earlier, which loses context if one does not have the live copy to refer to.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
notredameguy10 wrote: "Once per battle, in the enemy shooting phase, a model equipped with holophoton countermeasures can disrupt the targeting systems used by one enemy unit that is targeting it or the unit it belongs to. Declare that the unit will use the holophoton countermeasures after the enemy unit has chosen it as a target, but before any hit rolls are made. The enemy unit can only make Snap Shots in that shooting phase."
If this is the rule, than it is stating that a model does the action, while the unit uses the action. I don't see where it states all models fire off the Wargear at the same time.
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2015/11/10 19:52:00
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
GW has been known to word rules very poorly sometimes. The key words here are model and unit. It says that a MODEL equipped with the countermeasures can activate them once per game when targeted by a shooting attack. Because it says model, each model in a unit with this special rule can use it once per game. If GW had intended for it to be the unit can only use it once and all models have to use them all at once, the rule would say UNIT here, not MODEL. It then goes on to say that the UNIT gains the benefit from the rule, which is necessary wording as if this wasn't written, only the activating model would get the snap shots only benefit. Because it specifies UNIT here, the entire unit, not just the activating model, gets the benefit of the rule.
The wording of the holophoton rule is perfectly clear. A model in the unit activates it, the unit gets the benefit. You have 3 models in a unit with the rule? You can activate it 3 times, congratulations. This is the exact same kind of rule as the PEN chip. A buffmander with the chip uses it to grant monster hunter. The buffmander is the activating model for the gear granting the special rule, but his entire unit gets the benefit. Same concept applies to holophoton countermeasures.
If you don't like the rule, feel free to houserule it. But, the wording is pretty darn clear, there is very little wiggle room to argue against the majority reading on this.
Mobile Assault Cadre: 9,500 points (3,200 points fully painted)
Is the unit using the holophoton countermeasures if only one models uses the holophoton countermeasures? The action allowed by the model is to "... disrupt the targeting systems used by one enemy unit that is targeting it or the unit it belongs to." which is not defined in the rules. What is a 'targeting system'? Where can we find its rules? Where can we find the rules for what happens when we 'disrupt' them? Its another case of GW mixing fluff in with the rules requiring us to read between the lines.
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
"Once per battle, in the enemy shooting phase, a model equipped with holophoton countermeasures can disrupt the targeting systems used by one enemy unit that is targeting it or the unit it belongs to. Declare that the unit will use the holophoton countermeasures after the enemy unit has chosen it as a target, but before any hit rolls are made. The enemy unit can only make Snap Shots in that shooting phase."
Seems pretty straightforward. Let's break it down, line by line. Let's assume that I have a unit of three Ghostkeels, nicknamed Manny, Moe and Jack.
"Once per battle, in the enemy shooting phase, a model equipped with holophoton countermeasures can disrupt the targeting systems used by one enemy unit that is targeting it or the unit it belongs to."
In this sentence, what is the subject? A model equipped with holophoton countermeasures. We'll say it's Manny. What can Manny do? He can disrupt the targeting systems used by one enemy unit that is targeting him or the unit he belongs to? What does this mean? It's explained later in the rule. How often can he do this, and when? He can do this once per game and only during the enemy shooting phase. This is interesting because it lets us know that Manny can't do this more than once and can't do it to disrupt targeting systems during an enemy Overwatch.
"Declare that the unit will use the holophoton countermeasures after the enemy unit has chosen it as a target, but before any hit rolls are made."
Wait a second... this is now internally inconsistent. The previous sentence told us that models can disrupt targeting systems. Now we're told that the way to signify that a model is using its holophoton countermeasures is by declaring that the unit will use the holophoton countermeasures? You know what? This is actually fine. Manny wants to disrupt the targeting systems of his enemies. The player lets Manny do this by declaring that the unit will use the holophoton countermeasures. If Moe subsequently wanted to disrupt the targeting systems of his enemies, the player would let Moe do so the same way... by declaring the the unit is using the holophoton countermeasures. Which ones? Moe's.
"The enemy unit can only make Snap Shots in that shooting phase."
Ah. Now we know what disrupting targeting systems actually means. It means that the enemies will make Snap Shots in that shooting phase.
So, when we put this all together we get the following...
Manny is allowed to force an enemy unit to make Snap Shots when he or his unit is targeted by having his owning players declare the use of holophoton countermeasures.
Moe is also allowed to force an enemy unit to make Snap Shots when he or his unit is targeted by having his owning players declare the use of holophoton countermeasures.
Jack is also allowed to force an enemy unit to make Snap Shots when he or his unit is targeted by having his owning players declare the use of holophoton countermeasures.
In the absence of any wording saying the all models in a unit have to disrupt the targeting systems of their enemies based on the same incoming targeting, we can safely assume that the only limiting factor - once per game - applies individually to each of the three Ghostkeels.
This is how I would play it and also how I believe the rules to be written. Yes, it gives an advantage to larger units of Ghostkeels... but these things are SUPPOSED to be near impossible to see well enough to shoot at. A unit of three being able to pop holophoton countermeasures three times in a game seems to match the background we've been provided on these new battlesuits. As such, I'm inclined to believe this is what the authors intended.
Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com
Ghaz wrote: Is the unit using the holophoton countermeasures if only one models uses the holophoton countermeasures? The action allowed by the model is to "... disrupt the targeting systems used by one enemy unit that is targeting it or the unit it belongs to." which is not defined in the rules. What is a 'targeting system'? Where can we find its rules? Where can we find the rules for what happens when we 'disrupt' them? Its another case of GW mixing fluff in with the rules requiring us to read between the lines.
Again, I have answered all of this previously and you choose to ignore it
"Disrupting targeting systems" makes the enemy unit snap fire. It literally says that in the rule.
its pretty simple wording and you seem to be the only person not understanding it
Is the unit using the holophoton countermeasures if only one models uses the holophoton countermeasures?
...Yes, that is exactly what the rule says. If a model equipped with holophoton countermeasures activates it, then the unit gets the benefit. You can't debate that, it clearly says so in the rules.
The action allowed by the model is to "... disrupt the targeting systems used by one enemy unit that is targeting it or the unit it belongs to." which is not defined in the rules. What is a 'targeting system'? Where can we find its rules? Where can we find the rules for what happens when we 'disrupt' them? Its another case of GW mixing fluff in with the rules requiring us to read between the lines.
Let's make this easier on everybody and end this argument. Post the entire rule. Not the little snippets you've posted thus far, post the entire rule, word for word. From there, break down the rule to show us how you think it supports your argument. Thus far the only thing you've done in your argument is pick out little descriptive words and try and paint them as if they are the defining words in the rule. It's the equivalent of the old 'models without eyes like tanks can never shoot because they can't draw LOS cause they don't have eyes so they can't see' thing that bounced around before. The little fluffy descriptive words you keep harping on have nothing to do with the ruling. The rule says that if a model in a unit activates the countermeasures, the shooting attack being made against said unit must be snap shots. Nothing else in the description of the rule matters beyond that part.
*EDIT* It seems Kriswall has beat me to this point and covered it perfectly, as I was.
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/11/10 19:09:32
Mobile Assault Cadre: 9,500 points (3,200 points fully painted)
"Once per battle, in the enemy shooting phase, a model equipped with holophoton countermeasures can disrupt the targeting systems used by one enemy unit that is targeting it or the unit it belongs to. Declare that the unit will use the holophoton countermeasures after the enemy unit has chosen it as a target, but before any hit rolls are made. The enemy unit can only make Snap Shots in that shooting phase."
Seems pretty straightforward. Let's break it down, line by line. Let's assume that I have a unit of three Ghostkeels, nicknamed Manny, Moe and Jack.
"Once per battle, in the enemy shooting phase, a model equipped with holophoton countermeasures can disrupt the targeting systems used by one enemy unit that is targeting it or the unit it belongs to."
In this sentence, what is the subject? A model equipped with holophoton countermeasures. We'll say it's Manny. What can Manny do? He can disrupt the targeting systems used by one enemy unit that is targeting him or the unit he belongs to? What does this mean? It's explained later in the rule. How often can he do this, and when? He can do this once per game and only during the enemy shooting phase. This is interesting because it lets us know that Manny can't do this more than once and can't do it to disrupt targeting systems during an enemy Overwatch.
"Declare that the unit will use the holophoton countermeasures after the enemy unit has chosen it as a target, but before any hit rolls are made."
Wait a second... this is now internally inconsistent. The previous sentence told us that models can disrupt targeting systems. Now we're told that the way to signify that a model is using its holophoton countermeasures is by declaring that the unit will use the holophoton countermeasures? You know what? This is actually fine. Manny wants to disrupt the targeting systems of his enemies. The player lets Manny do this by declaring that the unit will use the holophoton countermeasures. If Moe subsequently wanted to disrupt the targeting systems of his enemies, the player would let Moe do so the same way... by declaring the the unit is using the holophoton countermeasures. Which ones? Moe's.
"The enemy unit can only make Snap Shots in that shooting phase."
Ah. Now we know what disrupting targeting systems actually means. It means that the enemies will make Snap Shots in that shooting phase.
So, when we put this all together we get the following...
Manny is allowed to force an enemy unit to make Snap Shots when he or his unit is targeted by having his owning players declare the use of holophoton countermeasures.
Moe is also allowed to force an enemy unit to make Snap Shots when he or his unit is targeted by having his owning players declare the use of holophoton countermeasures.
Jack is also allowed to force an enemy unit to make Snap Shots when he or his unit is targeted by having his owning players declare the use of holophoton countermeasures.
In the absence of any wording saying the all models in a unit have to disrupt the targeting systems of their enemies based on the same incoming targeting, we can safely assume that the only limiting factor - once per game - applies individually to each of the three Ghostkeels.
This is how I would play it and also how I believe the rules to be written. Yes, it gives an advantage to larger units of Ghostkeels... but these things are SUPPOSED to be near impossible to see well enough to shoot at. A unit of three being able to pop holophoton countermeasures three times in a game seems to match the background we've been provided on these new battlesuits. As such, I'm inclined to believe this is what the authors intended.
So by that logic, a unit can Run (a unit based action) even if there is a model in the unit that can't. I see it this way:
1) Has the unit used its countermeasures if only one model has? No.
2) Has the model used his countermeasures if the whole unit has? Yes.
Which doesn't break any rules if the rule says that you declare that the unit is using holophoton countermeasures?
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/11/10 19:16:49
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim