Switch Theme:

Electrodisplacement - charge on turn arriving from Deep Strike?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Rampaging Furioso Blood Angel Dreadnought





Boston, MA

I realize normally units that arrive via deep strike, teleport, drop-pod etc cannot assault on the turn they arrive. But some rules/formations do override that - do the rules for Electrodisplacement override that also ?

You arrive from Deep Strike, then cast the power to switch places with another unit in charge range (or even already locked in combat) - the final line of the psychic power reads, "Unless locked in close combat, these units can charge in the same turn."

Which rule takes precedence?

Please check out my photo blog: http://atticwars40k.blogspot.com/ 
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

 Gunzhard wrote:
I realize normally units that arrive via deep strike, teleport, drop-pod etc cannot assault on the turn they arrive. But some rules/formations do override that - do the rules for Electrodisplacement override that also ?

You arrive from Deep Strike, then cast the power to switch places with another unit in charge range (or even already locked in combat) - the final line of the psychic power reads, "Unless locked in close combat, these units can charge in the same turn."

Which rule takes precedence?


Units that have come in from Reserves can't charge the turn they arrive on the board. There is no specific restriction against Deep Strike, Teleport, Drop-Pod, etc charges... you're just typically comeing in from Reserves when that happens. Did the models involved in an Electrodisplacement come in from Reserves? If not, why do you think they wouldn't be able to charge?

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






Whilst units arriving from reserves are disallowed from charging, Deep Strike also includes an additional "cannot charge" restriction. This is because even though most units using Deep Strike are coming in from reserves, some are not - such as units moved by the Gate of Infinity power. This second restriction is what Electrodisplacement refers to.

Say you had a unit in a Rhino in reserves. It arrives, disembarks and tries to charge. They are disallowed for two reasons - disembarked from a vehicle, and arrived from reserves.
If that unit is instead in a Land Raider, it removes one of the restrictions (due to Assault Vehicle), but is still disallowed from charging because it doesn't overcome the arriving from reserves restriction.

So, say you had a unit start on the board, and swapped it with another unit with Electrodisplacement - the unit would be able to charge, despite the restriction in Deep Strike, as Electro overrides it.
But if you had a unit arrive from reserves, and then swap with another unit, Electro only removes the Deep Strike restriction, not the arrived from reserves restriction.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/09/04 15:16:32


 
   
Made in us
Rampaging Furioso Blood Angel Dreadnought





Boston, MA

 Quanar wrote:
Whilst units arriving from reserves are disallowed from charging, Deep Strike also includes an additional "cannot charge" restriction. This is because even though most units using Deep Strike are coming in from reserves, some are not - such as units moved by the Gate of Infinity power. This second restriction is what Electrodisplacement refers to.

Say you had a unit in a Rhino in reserves. It arrives, disembarks and tries to charge. They are disallowed for two reasons - disembarked from a vehicle, and arrived from reserves.
If that unit is instead in a Land Raider, it removes one of the restrictions (due to Assault Vehicle), but is still disallowed from charging because it doesn't overcome the arriving from reserves restriction.

So, say you had a unit start on the board, and swapped it with another unit with Electrodisplacement - the unit would be able to charge, despite the restriction in Deep Strike, as Electro overrides it.
But if you had a unit arrive from reserves, and then swap with another unit, Electro only removes the Deep Strike restriction, not the arrived from reserves restriction.


Hmm... this seems very confusing. So a drop-pod arriving turn 1, is Deep Striking, but not coming in from reserves? ...and therefore, uhh what?
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






 Gunzhard wrote:
Hmm... this seems very confusing. So a drop-pod arriving turn 1, is Deep Striking, but not coming in from reserves? ...and therefore, uhh what?
A Drop Pod is both arriving from reserves, and also Deep Striking. But a unit moved by Gate of Infinity or Electrodisplacement is simply using the Deep Strike rules (i.e. place model, scatter, make concentric rings, etc.), it doesn't jump into reserves and then back out again (you don't roll for reserves, and cannot be Intercepted, for example).
   
Made in us
Rampaging Furioso Blood Angel Dreadnought





Boston, MA

Well I don't doubt that the drop-pod is still technically "reserves" although you don't roll for reserves; on turn 1 they just come in automatically.

Please check out my photo blog: http://atticwars40k.blogspot.com/ 
   
Made in us
Norn Queen






The book makes it clear (though poorly) that there are 2 separate reserves. Deep Strike Reserves and Reserves. The only difference being how you intend, and thus can, place the models on the table.Drop pods are in DSR.


These are my opinions. This is how I feel. Others may feel differently. This needs to be stated for some reason.
 
   
Made in ie
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller




You are never given permission to ignore restrictions.

It clarifies, If you use the power you may charge afterwards, but it never gives you permission to ignore restrictions such as deepstrike or reserves.

It would be like arguing that wulfen can assault from reserves because they can Charge the same turn they run, therefore, as long as they run the turn they come on, they can charge.

Or that models equipped with Assault weapons can charge after arriving by deepstrike.

They both have permission to charge in the same turn they run/shoot , but it doesn't remove the restriction from deepstrike or reserve.

Unless it specifically says "may assault even if it deepstruck" then it can't.

Only a specific permission can override a specific restriction
   
Made in us
Rampaging Furioso Blood Angel Dreadnought





Boston, MA

Ok thanks guys - that sounds pretty reasonable to me!

Please check out my photo blog: http://atticwars40k.blogspot.com/ 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: