Switch Theme:

Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit  [RSS] 

Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/02 16:06:38


Post by: ChocolateGork


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts?

i Would think so Because a wolf guard with them can and it makes sense a highly trained Space wolf warrior of a higher rank could.

Also i says when a unit of wolf scouts outflanks it never says anything about them not being able to do this when an independent character is present.

An answer would be great as i would definitely take wolf scouts with a melta and two power swords with a wolf guard and a battle leader.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/02 17:18:02


Post by: Tsannik


Not a Battle Leader because he's an independent character.

A Pack Leader can, however.

Read the FAQ for more clarification.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/02 18:27:12


Post by: ChocolateGork


Q. Can a Wolf Scout Pack with a Wolf Guard
Pack Leader assigned to it deploy as Infiltrators,
make a move before the game begins because of
its Scouts ability, choose to outflank or use
Behind Enemy Lines?
A. Yes, to all of the above, because the Wolf Guard
Pack Leader is not an Independent Character and
therefore the fact he does not have the Infiltrate
or Scouts ability does not preclude the squad he
has joined from using those abilities.
GAMES WORKSHOP FAQ

But he DOES have infiltrate IF you give him saga of the hunter

So it doesn't matter if he is an independent character because the fact he has the ability means he doesn't stop the squad he
has joined from using those abilities.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/02 18:31:42


Post by: SonofTerra


No, no no, that is the Wolf Guard Pack leader.......just a regular wolf guard you assign to the wolf scouts, not the Battle leader.

Battle leaders can get saga of the hunter which gives them scout and outflank, not behind enemy lines though


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/02 18:34:49


Post by: ChocolateGork


I know that they are talking about the wolf guard pack leader

But they say that if he was an independent character then he would stop them from using the rule because he doesn't have it.

A WOLF GUARD BATTLE LEADER=Independent character but SAGA OF THE HUNTER=Infiltrate Special Rule





Automatically Appended Next Post:
Damn you snuck that post in

But they dont use Behind Enemy Lines its just happens when they use outflank


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/02 18:46:15


Post by: Burntbeard


Yes, thank you GW for making Saga of the Hunter COMPLETELY worthless! "Technically, RAW states that even though the WGBL has Outflank with Saga of the Hunter, he does not have Scout or Infiltrate and an IC joining a squad, the squad doesn't confer their rules to him... but to make it somewhat useful, I would say they can outflank normally... just not Behind Enemy Lines... so more or less DONT TAKE SAGA OF THE HUNTER.... damn GW :(( :((


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/02 18:54:35


Post by: nosferatu1001


Chocolate Gork - reread the Saga, the saga gives OUTFLANK, and not Infiltrate.

So as soon as you join the IC to the Scout unit you check accordingf to the USR what happens: as the Scout and Infiltrate USRs are lost if the IC doesnt have them, the Scouts lose both rules.

Meaning they cannot outflank, so no OBEL. The FAQ does not say anything about this.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/02 19:13:44


Post by: Slackermagee


So here's what we have: A special rule that is worthless, unless you want to outflank him as an individual (which is worthless).

Does that interpretation make functional sense? No.

What would be functional? Recognizing that both the Wolf Scouts and Wolf IC can outflank and allowing them to do so together.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/02 20:11:16


Post by: Brother Ramses


nosferatu1001 wrote:Chocolate Gork - reread the Saga, the saga gives OUTFLANK, and not Infiltrate.

So as soon as you join the IC to the Scout unit you check accordingf to the USR what happens: as the Scout and Infiltrate USRs are lost if the IC doesnt have them, the Scouts lose both rules.

Meaning they cannot outflank, so no OBEL. The FAQ does not say anything about this.


And read the Scout USR and Infiltrate USR. Both CONFER outflank to the Wolf Scouts. There is nothing RAW that then causes the Wolf Scouts to lose outflank, especially when a IC with Saga of the Hunter (that gives outflank) joins them. If you look at it, the outflank reference even then directs you to a page completely different from the USR page.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/02 20:42:05


Post by: Tsannik


So as soon as you join the IC to the Scout unit you check accordingf to the USR what happens: as the Scout and Infiltrate USRs are lost if the IC doesnt have them, the Scouts lose both rules.


There is nothing RAW that then causes the Wolf Scouts to lose outflank, especially when a IC with Saga of the Hunter (that gives outflank) joins them


Ah, isn't it the IC rules that would make this first quote true and the second quote false?


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/03 01:49:25


Post by: nosferatu1001


Brother Ramses.

Yes, they confer Outflank. However the unit HAS to have the rule in order to have Outflank. And what do they lose as soon as an IC without the rule(s) joins them?

If you dont have the rule (Scouts, Infiltrate) then you cannot have Outflank conferred by them.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/03 02:50:42


Post by: Slackermagee


R.A.W = No functionality for IC's with saga of the hunter when attached to wolf scout squads

Should we play this way? Or should we go with the, "You know, it just makes sense that this ought to work..."


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/03 03:31:08


Post by: ChocolateGork


Well thats not worth getting into trouble for trying to sidestep the dakka language filter over

The scouts have outflank but the scouts dont HAVE outflank.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/03 03:45:14


Post by: Chongara


Slackermagee wrote:R.A.W = No functionality for IC's with saga of the hunter when attached to wolf scout squads

Should we play this way? Or should we go with the, "You know, it just makes sense that this ought to work..."


People should play however is best for their group. That may be RaW, that may not be RaW. Fact is, silly or not the rules as they exist in the books mean Saga of the Hunter doesn't allow the IC to outflank together with scouts. If people want to play otherwise, that's a house rule and a very reasonable one. That doesn't mean we should pretend like the rules aren't what they are. There isn't any benefit to looking at something silly and just saying "Oh well we should do it differently...", since that just glosses over the problem: A lot of 40k is written terribly. If we stay brutally honest about that, maybe, just maybe there is some slight chance we'll get better written rules in the future.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/03 04:01:02


Post by: ChocolateGork


So saga of the hunter is the most useless thing in the wolf dex? YAY


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/03 04:20:32


Post by: Anpu42


[I will probably get intruble for this direct quote, but]

Try reading this way
Q. Can an Independent Character that has joined a Wolf Scouts pack outflank?
A. No he cannot.


Q: What about if he has the Saga of the Hunter?
A: He can only join an outflanking unit if he has the ability to outflank because of the Saga of the Hunter.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/03 05:03:03


Post by: dietrich


By the RAW, he causes the Scouts to lose Infiltrate, which means they can't Outflank. If you're not playing in a tourney, I would talk it over with your gaming group and see if they'd allow for the combo.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/03 05:07:28


Post by: Anpu42


But does not a specific override a general


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/03 05:37:47


Post by: dietrich


Saga of the Hunter just allows the model to Outflank. Wolf Scouts can only outflank when they enter from reserves because they have Infiltration. They lose Infiltration when the IC joins them.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/03 06:13:43


Post by: Anpu42


Q. Can an Independent Character that has joined a Wolf Scouts pack outflank?
A. No he cannot.
The Statement: Can an Independent Character that has joined a Wolf Scouts pack outflank?
This is a very Specific Answer: No
Q: What about if he has the Saga of the Hunter?
A: He can only join an outflanking unit if he has the ability to outflank because of the Saga of the Hunter.


The Statement: He can only join an outflanking unit if he has the ability to outflank because of the Saga of the Hunter.

The wording is very Specific in the Errata that He can only join an outflanking unit if he has the ability to outflank because of the Saga of the Hunter.

So:
1st Your Wolf Scouts must be put in Reserves to Outflank, this makes this an Outflanking Unit
2nd You then have your IC with Saga of the Hunter Join the Wolf Scouts

So either
1] This allows the whole unit to outflank

or

2] This now removes the Wolf Scouts from Reserves that makes it no longer an Outflanking Unit.

A IC joining a unit will prevent the use of an USR, but by the Statement, the Rule is already in use.



Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/03 08:26:59


Post by: ChocolateGork


Sooooooooo

Can he?

Cause if so its a pretty devastating close combat unit


Automatically Appended Next Post:
If ya want to be ridiculous about it

10xWolf Scouts-MeltaGun, 2xpower weapons, Mark Of the Wulfen-205
10xWolf Scouts-MeltaGun, 2xpower weapons, Mark Of the Wulfen-205
10xWolf Scouts-MeltaGun, 2xpower weapons, Mark Of the Wulfen-205

3xWolf Guard Battle Leader-Wolf Claw, Storm Shield, Hunter-390

3xWolf Guard-TDA, PFx3-129

The Enemy wont be sitting near any of their board edges



Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/03 13:46:52


Post by: Anpu42


The #1 problem with that list is only one model can have that Saga


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/03 14:15:45


Post by: ChocolateGork


oh yeah........ oh well thats alright the rest can do without


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/03 18:45:17


Post by: Ironhide


WG in TDA cannot join a unit of wolf scouts


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/03 18:56:03


Post by: Brother Ramses


nosferatu1001 wrote:Brother Ramses.

Yes, they confer Outflank. However the unit HAS to have the rule in order to have Outflank. And what do they lose as soon as an IC without the rule(s) joins them?

If you dont have the rule (Scouts, Infiltrate) then you cannot have Outflank conferred by them.


No. The Scout USR and Infiltrate USR do not say,

"As long as the Wolf Scouts can Scout or USR, they can also outflank."

So bought from the codex, the unit is conferred outflank. The BRB specifically tells you how to take away the Scout USR and Infiltrate USR, but the already conferred outflank remains UNLESS joined by an IC that does not have outflank. This is RAW per the BRB and further validated by the FAQ.



Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/03 19:12:23


Post by: Black Blow Fly


So basically this is an exercise in how to get around the rules so you can have an in game advantage.

G


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/03 19:23:36


Post by: Brother Ramses


Black Blow Fly wrote:So basically this is an exercise in how to get around the rules so you can have an in game advantage.

G


How is anyone getting around the rules for an in-game advantage? It is RAW which was then validated by the FAQ. Everyone trying to oppose this is taking a stance that Saga of the Hunter was included by the developers for absolutely no reason and that the developers of the FAQ decided to make a completely useless entry in regard to Saga of the Hunter.

Which argument makes more sense? Completely useless rule and FAQ or IC with Saga of the Hunter can join Wolf Scouts and outflank/OBEL. RAW and common sense support the latter.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/03 19:38:16


Post by: nosferatu1001


Wrong.

Rereead page 94. It requiers that DURING DEPLOYMENT units with Scouts or Infiltrate can Outflank.

as soon as you join the IC to the unit they LOSE Scout and Infiltrate.

Sorry, you are 100% totally and unutterably wrong in this.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/03 21:08:50


Post by: Ragnar Blackmane


If GW says that an ICM with the Saga of the Hunter can join an outflanking unit he can do so, basta.
Codex>Rulebook and FAQs are in the end a part of the Codex itself.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/03 23:02:50


Post by: nosferatu1001


Wrong, specifc > general.

Stating "an iC gains Outflank" does not override the specific USR rules that state the Scouts lose Scouts and Infiltrate.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/03 23:18:11


Post by: MasterSlowPoke


Nos, the FAQ, which we use in YMDC, says that a WGBL can outflank with a squad if it has SotH. That is specific enough to override the standard IC and Infiltrator interaction. The Wolf Scouts will not be able to infiltrate, but they will be able to outflank. This is indisputable.

The question is if the Wolf Scouts still get to use Behind Enemy Lines, and that's not nearly as settled. I'd say no.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/03 23:32:06


Post by: nosferatu1001


And the point i was trying to make is that a FAQ is not sufficient, as it requires a change in the rules - which is what an errata is for.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/03 23:33:44


Post by: Tri


MasterSlowPoke wrote:Nos, the FAQ, which we use in YMDC, says that a WGBL can outflank with a squad if it has SotH. That is specific enough to override the standard IC and Infiltrator interaction. The Wolf Scouts will not be able to infiltrate, but they will be able to outflank. This is indisputable.

The question is if the Wolf Scouts still get to use Behind Enemy Lines, and that's not nearly as settled. I'd say no.
They would the IC wouldn't: since you can't split the unit up after you've decared they're outflanking together you'd have to use the normal rules. This way you break no rules.

and nodferatu when did you become gwar? FAQ are what we've got to play with: don't want to use them? Thats fine but most people will be using them whether they make sense or not.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/04 00:33:11


Post by: dietrich


Q. Can an Independent Character that has
joined a Wolf Scouts pack outflank? What about
if he has the Saga of the Hunter?
A. No he cannot. He can only join an outflanking
unit if he has the ability to outflank because of
the Saga of the Hunter.

Oops. Didn't realize this was in the FAQ.

I'll agree, it's not clear if the unit can OBEL, but if you're going with the INAT revision to Snikrot's Ambush, I would allow it.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/04 10:34:50


Post by: nosferatu1001


Tri - Im makling it clear why some people would have a problem with the FAQ, as it answered a question witrh a houserule, rather than doing what was the better option of actually changing the rules to make it work.

I know the effect they were trying to get with Hunter, however given the number of errata they had in SW one more wouldnt hurt...


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/04 21:36:08


Post by: Brother Ramses


Tri, the IC would be able to OBEL because the OBEL rule specifies when the Wolf Scout outflanks, they may OBEL. When the IC joins a Wolf Scout unit, he becomes part of that unit for a purposes except close combat.

So when a Wolf Scout unit (including an attached IC) chooses to outflank, they may OBEL.

Nos, our difference of opinion is based on the reading of the BRB. I already think that the BRB was suffiecient to allow an IC with Saga of the Hunter to outflank/OBEL with Wolf Scouts as written. The FAQ only further verified my opinion.

You think that the BRB did not allow it, thus a FAQ is insufficient and errata is required.

However, the writers/developers seems to agree with my opinion that BRB and codex were sufficient because they ONLY issued a FAQ and did not deem that an errata was necessary.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/04 22:23:40


Post by: Tri


nosferatu1001 wrote:Tri - Im makling it clear why some people would have a problem with the FAQ, as it answered a question witrh a houserule, rather than doing what was the better option of actually changing the rules to make it work.

I know the effect they were trying to get with Hunter, however given the number of errata they had in SW one more wouldnt hurt...
I don't think any one wouldn't like it if GW managed to errata every mistake but they've chosen to FAQ ... so most people have to live with it. While I understand that not every one will play with them I feel that it is not worth mentioning every time when there isn't a clear answer. Since the IC doesn't have infiltrate the scouts loose it and no one can out flank. This is clearly not ment to happen unless you feel he should be outflanking on his own.

Brother Ramses wrote:Tri, the IC would be able to OBEL because the OBEL rule specifies when the Wolf Scout outflanks, they may OBEL. When the IC joins a Wolf Scout unit, he becomes part of that unit for a purposes except close combat.

So when a Wolf Scout unit (including an attached IC) chooses to outflank, they may OBEL.

Nos, our difference of opinion is based on the reading of the BRB. I already think that the BRB was suffiecient to allow an IC with Saga of the Hunter to outflank/OBEL with Wolf Scouts as written. The FAQ only further verified my opinion.

You think that the BRB did not allow it, thus a FAQ is insufficient and errata is required.

However, the writers/developers seems to agree with my opinion that BRB and codex were sufficient because they ONLY issued a FAQ and did not deem that an errata was necessary.
Note behind enemy lines works on Wolf scouts units ... An IC with SotH is not a wolf scout. For more information please see page 48 Special rules: "... the units special rules are not conferred upon the character ...".


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/05 01:09:14


Post by: Ironhide


Unit special rules are not conferred onto independent characters. ICs without Infiltrate or Scout USR joining a unit with infiltrate or scouts, causes that unit to lose those special rules (BRB pg. 74). Saga of the Hunter does not give an IC infiltrate, it allows them to Outflank and use the Stealth USR (SW Codex pg. 64). IC special rules are not conferred onto the unit they join (BRB pg. 48)

So a WG Battle Leader with Saga of the Hunter will cause a Wolf Scout unit to lose Infiltrate and Scout USRs, thus not allowing the Wolf Scouts to outflank or use OBEL.

To summarize, it does not work.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/05 01:49:42


Post by: Gwar!


MasterSlowPoke wrote:Nos, the FAQ, which we use in YMDC.
We may use it in YMTC, but that doesn't stop it from being incorrect.

In short, an IC with the Saga cannot, RaW, join a unit of scouts and then outflank. IF you use the GW FAQs as Law, then they can. IF you are like me and enjoy playing the game by the actual rules, he cannot. YMMV of course etc etc *Boilerplate Disclaimer to not get banned again*

A WGBL can because he becomes a member of the unit and gets their special rules.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/05 03:43:58


Post by: MasterSlowPoke


It can't be incorrect. If you use the FAQ as rules, they are rules. It'd be like saying the codex is incorrect.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/05 06:28:37


Post by: Ironhide


Q. Can an Independent Character that has
joined a Wolf Scouts pack outflank? What about
if he has the Saga of the Hunter?
A. No he cannot. He can only join an outflanking
unit if he has the ability to outflank because of
the Saga of the Hunter.


Even by the FAQ he still cannot do it. Since going by the rules on pg. 74 of the BRB, the scouts lose the abilities to Infiltrate and Scout when the IC joins them. If the scouts lose the abilities to infiltrate and scout, then they cannot outflank; and hence the IC cannot outflank with them.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/05 06:45:10


Post by: nosferatu1001


BR - not a difference of opinion, you simply a) made up when Ouutflank is conferred (it is conferred AT deployment, not before, therefore you are wrong) and b) you ignore that the rules conferring Outflank are lost *before* you can declare the unit is outflanking together, as you must declare that the unit is joined together witht he IC before you can state the unit whole is performing X action.

the FAQ is a houserule, therefore states the normal rules dont allow this. Please reread the Shrine of Knowledge disclaimer on FAQ vs errata - you are wrong even in your final statement, as they do NOT believe it is part of the rules and so they made it a houserule.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/05 06:59:40


Post by: UltraPrime


Gwar! wrote:
MasterSlowPoke wrote:A WGBL can because he becomes a member of the unit and gets their special rules.


I think you mean a WGPL.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/05 13:21:32


Post by: Gwar!


Yes, I do mean a WGPL!

I blame the typo on the Rum!


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/05 13:50:50


Post by: dietrich


Gwar! wrote:IF you use the GW FAQs as Law, then they can. IF you are like me and enjoy playing the game by the actual rules, he cannot. YMMV of course etc etc *Boilerplate Disclaimer to not get banned again*

Didn't several posters just say that they were treating the FAQ as Rules? This provides nothing to the debate.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/05 14:00:03


Post by: Gwar!


dietrich wrote:
Gwar! wrote:IF you use the GW FAQs as Law, then they can. IF you are like me and enjoy playing the game by the actual rules, he cannot. YMMV of course etc etc *Boilerplate Disclaimer to not get banned again*

Didn't several posters just say that they were treating the FAQ as Rules? This provides nothing to the debate.
Nor does your post. What's your point?

And "Several Posters" does not equal everyone, so my post is meaningful for those other people.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/05 14:39:31


Post by: Kilkrazy


Can we just all take it as read that the majority of users are going to follow the GW FAQ, and base the argument around that position?

It does not help move the debate forwards to keep saying "if you don't count the FAQs as official" when most people do.

The GW documents generally get rolled into the INAT doc, which is the other widely used FAQ.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/05 15:39:51


Post by: Gwar!


Kilkrazy wrote:Can we just all take it as read that the majority of users are going to follow the GW FAQ, and base the argument around that position?

It does not help move the debate forwards to keep saying "if you don't count the FAQs as official" when most people do.

The GW documents generally get rolled into the INAT doc, which is the other widely used FAQ.
Yes, but as I pointed out, "most people" is not the same as "all people", myself being one of the ones who tend to ignore the FAQ when it ignores RaW.

I post for the benefit of ALL Dakkaites, not just the ones who follow the FAQs as though they are the Word of The Empra. That's why I make it very clear that my answers are following RaW as opposed to RaW ignoring FAQs.

But whatever, last 2 times I criticised GW I got 2 day bans, so I'll drop it.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/05 18:14:55


Post by: don_mondo


Brother Ramses wrote:Tri, the IC would be able to OBEL because the OBEL rule specifies when the Wolf Scout outflanks, they may OBEL. When the IC joins a Wolf Scout unit, he becomes part of that unit for a purposes except close combat.

So when a Wolf Scout unit (including an attached IC) chooses to outflank, they may OBEL.

Nos, our difference of opinion is based on the reading of the BRB. I already think that the BRB was suffiecient to allow an IC with Saga of the Hunter to outflank/OBEL with Wolf Scouts as written. The FAQ only further verified my opinion.

You think that the BRB did not allow it, thus a FAQ is insufficient and errata is required.

However, the writers/developers seems to agree with my opinion that BRB and codex were sufficient because they ONLY issued a FAQ and did not deem that an errata was necessary.


Show me where it says that Saga of the Hunter allows Behind Enemy Lines. It allows him to Outflank, that's it.
And as has been pointed out several times already, joining a Hunter IC to the Scouts kills off their ability to Outflank anyways, due to the USR rules.
Even the FAQ only says he can join a unit that is Outflanking, and yes, I know the Scouts are the only unit in the codex that can do so. Unless of course, you are running several characters with Hunter (which can be done by giving them other stuff to make them diffeent, right?).......

Bottom line, by RAW, you cannot join a Hunter IC to Scouts and have them Outflank, much less have them OBEL. The rules simply do not permit it.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/06 02:07:07


Post by: Ironhide


That's what I'm saying. don_mondo gets it.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/06 05:03:11


Post by: Bikeninja


Ok, I gotta get in on this one cause I have debated this on our group forum.

Behind Enemy Lines opens with the Wolf Scouts using their OUTFLANK ability. It is the same as everyone else using outflank, just different rolls.

Saga of the Hunter grants the special character OUTFLANK.

At best you could say that the Wolf Scouts would now have to roll using the Outflank rolls from the rulebook and not the Behind Enemy Lines rolls. That would be the only change.

The FAQ clearly states: Q. Can an Independent Character that has
joined a Wolf Scouts pack outflank? What about
if he has the Saga of the Hunter?
A. No he cannot. He can only join an outflanking
unit if he has the ability to outflank because of
the Saga of the Hunter.

Janurary 2010

To me they reference the Wolf Scouts as they are the only unit in the entire codex that can OUTFLANK.

This is a non-issue. This is one of the compromised rulings that the INAT has gotten right in my opinion. Is it worded well "No", but it is clear as to how it is supposed to work. Saying that an HQ with Saga of the Hunter cannot attach to Wolf Scouts is foolish. Anyone that says otherwise is nitpicky and wrong.

My 2 whole cents.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/06 16:24:22


Post by: Brother Ramses


nosferatu1001 wrote:BR - not a difference of opinion, you simply a) made up when Ouutflank is conferred (it is conferred AT deployment, not before, therefore you are wrong) and b) you ignore that the rules conferring Outflank are lost *before* you can declare the unit is outflanking together, as you must declare that the unit is joined together witht he IC before you can state the unit whole is performing X action.

the FAQ is a houserule, therefore states the normal rules dont allow this. Please reread the Shrine of Knowledge disclaimer on FAQ vs errata - you are wrong even in your final statement, as they do NOT believe it is part of the rules and so they made it a houserule.


Look at the Reserves rule and the order of operations:


During deployment, when declaring which units are left in reserve, the play must clearly explain the organization of his reserves to the opponent.

First he must specify to the opponent if any of his independent characters left in reserve are joining a unit, in which case they will be rolled for and will arrive together, or not in which case they will count as a separate unit when rolling for reserves.


So I declare to my opponent that my Wolf Scouts are in reserves and my WGBL w/Saga of the Hunter is in reserve. At that point the outflank rule is conferred to the Wolf Scouts. I then specify to my opponent that my WGBL w/Saga of the Hunter is joining my Wolf Scout unit. The Wolf Scouts lose their Scout USR and Infiltrate USR, but they keep their outflank because it was already conferred by being placed into reserves AND the WGBL has that special rule from Saga of the Hunter granting him outflank, thus adhering to RAW.

And my final statement is not wrong. You have the developers of the game telling you exactly how they are playing the rule. They are telling you they read the BRB, the codex, and came to this conclusion thus have FAQ'd the issue brought up by the player base. The developers are playing it in agreement to my reading of the rule per RAW, not the rule per your RAI.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/06 16:36:30


Post by: ChocolateGork


So you can outflank him but do you get BEL?


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/06 16:40:31


Post by: Gwar!


ChocolateGork wrote:So you can outflank him but do you get BEL?
You can outflank him fine. You can't put him in a unit of Wolf Scouts though.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/06 17:22:35


Post by: Brother Ramses


Yes he can OBEL because the OBEL specifies thay when the Wolf Scout unit uses outflank they OBEL. The IC is part of the Wolf Scout unit for all purposes except close combat where he is treated as a separate unit.


Edit: I had hit post twice from my Blackberry.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/06 17:30:43


Post by: Black Blow Fly


BR please stop repeating yourself. It lends no weight to your opinion. I agree with Gwar he can neither OBEL or join the squad of Wolf Scouts. Gwar has spelt it all quite clearly.

G


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/06 17:33:29


Post by: ChocolateGork


But the games workshop FAQ spells it out very clearly.

And i could of sworn we use their rules.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/06 17:42:00


Post by: Gwar!


ChocolateGork wrote:But the games workshop FAQ spells it out very clearly.

And i could of sworn we use their rules.
While This has been pointed out before, I feel it is neccisary to point it out again.

FAQs ≠ Rules.

By the RULES, The wolf lord cannot Outflank with the Scouts, as he does not Have Scouts or Infiltrate.

That being said, the Wolf Lord Doesn't have OBEL either, so even with the FAQ, he cannot join the Scouts and Outflank since Scouts MUST OBEL.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/06 17:48:11


Post by: Black Blow Fly


This is a case where Gwar actually agrees with what the rules say so I must disagree with you. It does happen from time to time.

G


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/06 17:48:31


Post by: Tri


Q. Can an Independent Character that has
joined a Wolf Scouts pack outflank? What about
if he has the Saga of the Hunter?
A. No he cannot. He can only join an outflanking
unit if he has the ability to outflank because of
the Saga of the Hunter.
So he may outflank ... this is not RAW as the moment he joins the unit they loose all the rules that let them out flank. Since the FAQ lets them outflank they may BUT nothing at all give the the IC access to behind enemy lines, in such situations we look to the rules on page 48 of the BGB. In short unless a special rules states that it effects character that join the unit (or vise-versa) the rule does not effect them: so a unit of scout may use "Behind Enemy Lines" it just won't do anything for the IC that's joined them.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/06 17:50:37


Post by: ChocolateGork


The FAQS do equal rules.

Or their will be a whole lot of sad ork players

And as a PP pointed out, He becomes part of the unit While still joined.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/06 17:54:14


Post by: Black Blow Fly


Do you understand how USRs work with characters joining units? This is a case where the character negates the squad's special rule.

G


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/06 17:55:13


Post by: ChocolateGork


And they only lose universal special rules.

Other wise just pop a lord in some thousand sons and no more slow and puposeful.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/06 17:58:16


Post by: Tri


ChocolateGork wrote:And they only lose universal special rules.

Other wise just pop a lord in some thousand sons and no more slow and puposeful.
Thousand sons are slow and puposeful this is a special rule without the "*" so is not lost when joined by IC without it (vise-versa) ... this does not effect the lord (see page 48) so he cannot move and shoot heavy weapons. The unit most move at the speed of the slowest model since the TS are S&P so the unit can only move as fast as they roll.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/06 18:15:45


Post by: Ironhide


"Behind Enemy Lines" does not work if the scouts cannot "Outflank". Scouts can only "Outflank" if they have "Infiltrate" or "Scouts" Universal Special Rules (USR). Scouts lose these two rules if an Independent Character joins them. The FAQ even says Saga of the Hunter works only if the unit he is joining is outflanking; however, they cannot outflank if he joins them.

It does not work.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/06 18:25:39


Post by: ChocolateGork


It has to work as the FAQ states he can outflank with them.

but they BEL when they outflank.

If he cant BEL then he cant outflank.

But he can outflank.

but has to work as the FAQ states he can outflank with them.

but they BEL when they outflank.

If he cant BEL then he cant outflank.

But he can outflank.

but has to work as the FAQ states he can outflank with them.

but they BEL when they outflank.

If he cant BEL then he cant outflank.

But he can outflank..........................


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/06 18:26:27


Post by: Brother Ramses


Black Blow Fly wrote:BR please stop repeating yourself. It lends no weight to your opinion. I agree with Gwar he can neither OBEL or join the squad of Wolf Scouts. Gwar has spelt it all quite clearly.

G


Excuse me? None of you naysayers have actually debunked what I have said other then trying to partially quote BS half truths and say it is RAW. Please Mighty BlowFly point out the error of my ways because I have used RAW to point out how the exact process plays out. Nothing you have tried to point out has any basis to stop an IC from not only outflanking with Wolf Scouts but also OBEL with them as well. Once again for those that cannot read a simple order of process per the BRB.

1. I declare that my Wolf Scouts and WGBL w/Saga of the Hunter are in reserve. The Scout USR and Infiltrate USR then confer the outflank rule to the Wolf Scouts. So the Wolf Scouts now have these rules Scout, Infiltrate, and outflank.

2. I then specify that the WGBL will be joining the Wolf Scouts. The Wolf Scouts lose Scout and Infiltrate. They do not lose outflank because the WGBL has outflank via Saga of the Hunter and outflank was conferred the moment they were placed into reserves.

Read the freaking rule, outflank is CONFERRED when the Wolf Scouts are placed into reserves. The only time from that point on that they can then lose outflank is if they are joined by an IC that does not have outflank. You and others believe that when they lose the Scout and Infiltrate USR, they also lose outflank but that is not RAW. Keeping the outflank rule is NOT conditional on keeping the Scout USR and Infiltrate USR. Yes GETTING the outflank rule is conditional on having Scout and Infiltrate, but not maintaining it.

Moving onto OBEL. The Wolf Scout rule specifically points out that when the Wolf Scout unit outflanks, they OBEL. The Wolf Scout UNIT. When an IC with Saga of the Hunter joins a Wolf Scout unit, he becomes part of that unit for all intents and purposes except close combat where he is treated as a separate unit.

Now, like I said Blowfly, point out where I am wrong. This is my entire argument based on RAW. Nos was more effective in pointing out my mistake regarding when outflank if conferred, however that only allowed me to research the reserve rules and reinforce the process in which units are placed in reserve and when IC join those units.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/06 18:30:49


Post by: Ironhide


No. The FAQ says he can outflank with an outflanking unit. When an IC joins a unit with Infiltrate or Scouts USRs, that unit loses those abilities. So if the IC joins the Wolf Scouts they lose the ability to outflank; and per the FAQ, if the unit he joins cannot outflank, then neither can he.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/06 18:33:10


Post by: solkan


Brother Ramses, the flaw that you're overlooking is:

1. Join the IC to the unit when you organize your reserves.
2. Now that the IC has joined the unit, if it had Scout it loses that rule according to the USR section.
3. When you go to declare that the combined unit is outflanking, you discover that they lost Outflank as part of losing Scout in step #2.

Being placed into reserved with the Scout rule doesn't confer Outflank. The possession of the Scout rule at all is what confers the ability to outflank, so there's no timing sequence for you to try to get around.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/06 18:39:36


Post by: ChocolateGork


Can an Independent Character that has
joined a Wolf Scouts pack outflank? What about
if he has the Saga of the Hunter?
A. No he cannot. He can only join an outflanking
unit if he has the ability to outflank because of
the Saga of the Hunter.

The FAQ SAYS IT!!

At first it states scouts then it says unit.

And if you read the codex you will find large and diverse range of units that can outflank.

Among them are WOLF SCOUTS, WOLF SCOUTS the unit called WOLF SCOUTS oh and dont forget WOLF SCOUTS


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/06 18:42:57


Post by: Brother Ramses


solkan wrote:Brother Ramses, the flaw that you're overlooking is:

1. Join the IC to the unit when you organize your reserves.
2. Now that the IC has joined the unit, if it had Scout it loses that rule according to the USR section.
3. When you go to declare that the combined unit is outflanking, you discover that they lost Outflank as part of losing Scout in step #2.

Being placed into reserved with the Scout rule doesn't confer Outflank. The possession of the Scout rule at all is what confers the ability to outflank, so there's no timing sequence for you to try to get around.


Please read the rule for both Infiltrate and Scout. The last sentence in both says that the rules confer outflank when the unit is placed into reserves. Then go an read the reserves rule. You declare which units are in reserve AND then you specify if an IC is joining a unit. The timing sequence is right there as plain as day if you would just read the freaking rule. The fact that you think it is JUST the Scout USR that confers outflank and not also Infiltrate shows that you haven't even read the rules for either and just going off of what you have heard from others.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/06 18:43:34


Post by: Ironhide


Because you must first tell your opponent if an IC is joining a unit, before you decide who is outflanking (See: BRB pg. 94). Once the IC joins them, they lose that ability because they no longer have infiltrate or scouts USRs (which gives them that ability).


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/06 18:47:29


Post by: ChocolateGork


Or we could just look at the faq that GW kindly supplied to us.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/06 18:50:16


Post by: Brother Ramses


Ironhide wrote:Because you must first tell your opponent if an IC is joining a unit, before you decide who is outflanking (See: BRB pg. 94). Once the IC joins them, they lose that ability because they no longer have infiltrate or scouts USRs (which gives them that ability).


No you don't. You declare what units are in reserve first. It is right there on page 94. The following paragraph you specify if any IC are joining a unit.

So when you declare that the Wolf Scout are in reserve, RIGHT THEN AND THERE, both the Scout and Infiltrate USR CONFER outflank to the Wolf Scouts. The Wolf Scouts have Scout, Infitrate, and outflank.

When you specify that the IC with Saga of the Hunter is joining the Wolf Scouts they lose Scout and Infiltrate because the IC does not have those USR. However the Wolf Scouts do not lose outflank because the IC has it via Saga of the Hunter.

That follows all the RAW for Reserves, and IC in reserves joining a unit, and IC and unit special rules.



Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/06 18:54:55


Post by: ChocolateGork


How can you keep arguing this. Between the actual rules and the faq. It is clear he can outflank and he can use BEL


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/06 18:55:16


Post by: kirsanth


Page 94 says
"First he must specify to the opponent if any of his independent characters left in reserves are joining a unit"

The "first" part makes it seem like that should happen. . . first.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/06 18:56:25


Post by: Ironhide


And later on, on the same page, it states that you must say which units with infiltrate and/or scouts are outflanking. If the IC is with them, they no longer have either of those USRs.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/06 19:03:49


Post by: Brother Ramses


kirsanth wrote:Page 94 says
"First he must specify to the opponent if any of his independent characters left in reserves are joining a unit"

The "first" part makes it seem like that should happen. . . first.


And read the paragraph right above that paragraph where it tells you to declare to your opponent what units are in reserve. Even the sentence you quoted above supports my claim with "...any of his independent characters left in reserves...". You had to declare prior that the IC was in reserves to be "left in reserves" and specify if he was joining a unit. How are you specifying that an IC is joining a unit in reserves before you declare that the IC and unit in question are even in reserves in the first place?


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/06 19:05:07


Post by: nosferatu1001


BR - you keep ignoring *first* and pretending it happens secnod.

Sorry, you are wrong on this. The FAQ provides permisison, however due to its "house rules " nature it really should have been an Errata to work.

in other words they *entirely* stuffed up when they created Hunter, and they should have changed the rules to reflect this. Why they did not do so, in a hard format at least, and copped out with a House Rule is anybody's guess - espeically given the VAST number of errata already


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/06 19:08:07


Post by: Brother Ramses


Ironhide wrote:And later on, on the same page, it states that you must say which units with infiltrate and/or scouts are outflanking. If the IC is with them, they no longer have either of those USRs.


Your right. They no longer have Scout or Infiltrate, but they still have outflank because it was conferred the moment they were placed into reserves. Once again, keeping outflank is not conditional on keeping Scout or Infiltrate.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/06 19:11:59


Post by: nosferatu1001


The last line of the USR rule requires that they are in reserve with the USR in order to gain Outflank. As soon as the IC joins the unit they no longer meet this criteria, therefore they do not have Outflank.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/06 19:13:50


Post by: Brother Ramses


nosferatu1001 wrote:BR - you keep ignoring *first* and pretending it happens secnod.

Sorry, you are wrong on this. The FAQ provides permisison, however due to its "house rules " nature it really should have been an Errata to work.

in other words they *entirely* stuffed up when they created Hunter, and they should have changed the rules to reflect this. Why they did not do so, in a hard format at least, and copped out with a House Rule is anybody's guess - espeically given the VAST number of errata already


Read the rule Nos. Explain to me how you can specify that an IC can join a unit in reserves if you have not declared that he and the unit are both in reserves. The rule is clear as day that tells you to declare what units are in reserve and then specify and IC "left in reserves" is joining a unit. I ask you, how could the IC be "left in reserves" if you had not declared him reserves beforehand?



Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/06 19:20:36


Post by: solkan


Brother Ramses wrote:
Ironhide wrote:Because you must first tell your opponent if an IC is joining a unit, before you decide who is outflanking (See: BRB pg. 94). Once the IC joins them, they lose that ability because they no longer have infiltrate or scouts USRs (which gives them that ability).


No you don't. You declare what units are in reserve first. It is right there on page 94. The following paragraph you specify if any IC are joining a unit.

So when you declare that the Wolf Scout are in reserve, RIGHT THEN AND THERE, both the Scout and Infiltrate USR CONFER outflank to the Wolf Scouts. The Wolf Scouts have Scout, Infitrate, and outflank.

When you specify that the IC with Saga of the Hunter is joining the Wolf Scouts they lose Scout and Infiltrate because the IC does not have those USR. However the Wolf Scouts do not lose outflank because the IC has it via Saga of the Hunter.

That follows all the RAW for Reserves, and IC in reserves joining a unit, and IC and unit special rules.



But it doesn't say "This rule grants the unit to Outflank when they are placed in reserve." It says "... confers a special outflank move to units of infiltrators that are kept in reserve (see page 94)" and "confers a special outflank move to units of scouts that are kept in reserve (see page 94)." See also page 94, "During deployment, players may declare that units with the 'scout' or 'infiltrate' special rules are attempting to outflank the enemy."

The rule gives them the ability WHILE they are in reserve. It confers a special move to units that "are kept in reserve." If you take away the rule, then they no longer have anything conferring them the ability. You know, in the same way that abilities granted when IC's join units don't last beyond the lifespan of the granting IC.



Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/06 19:23:04


Post by: nosferatu1001


BR - it has been explained to you now a number of times. You cling to the last line of the USR, and ignore that the USR is removed as soon as the unit has the IC hop in - which results in you NOT being able to declare Outflank as you no longer have the rule.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/06 19:53:02


Post by: ChocolateGork


And you for some reason ignore the rules of games.

The FAQ has the exact question in it.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/06 19:55:02


Post by: Black Blow Fly


Hey guys!

Haven't we been kicking this ball back and forth for the past two pages? I dont think either side is ready to step down at the moment. I suggest we give this one a rest. ChocolateGork will have to go elsewhere in the meantime to get an unanimous answer that satisfies his own personal requirement.

G


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/06 19:56:08


Post by: Gwar!


Agreed. This is going nowhere fast.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/06 19:57:23


Post by: kirsanth


Not quite, it just lists an apparently impossible requirement to be met.

If it COULD be met, however, it might be very helpful.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/06 20:43:47


Post by: Tri


If you read the FAQ their is a strong possiblity that he should be able to outlfank with them (though GW bumbled the rules). There is however no rules which grant him the use of 'Behind Enemy Lines' which would only effect the scouts units and he is not a scout.


Can the Space Wolf Battle Leader Use Behind Enemy Lines If Outflanking With A Group Of Wolf Scouts? @ 2010/07/06 20:54:39


Post by: insaniak


The FAQ certainly indicates that he's supposed to be able to outflank with them. Make of that what you will... this isn't going anywhere constructive.