Switch Theme:

Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit  [RSS] 

Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/19 03:25:06


Post by: Avariel


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? Say you have a Grey Knight Strike Squad with attached Grandmaster. The Justicar casts hammer hand. The Grandmaster also casts Hammer hand. Is your unit Strength 6 because they stack or only Strength 5 because you can only get the benefit of a power once? This is potentially very nasty to multi wound units toughness 4 if you give the grandmaster rad grenades the enemy multi wound unit would be toughness 3 and subject to insta death by your strength 6 or does it not work that way?


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/19 06:35:40


Post by: nosferatu1001


They stack, as it is from two different sources and at two different stages.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/19 15:21:21


Post by: Avariel


If hammer hand does indeed stack to give you strength 6 do you insta kill nobs that are now toughness 3 from the grandmaster's rad grenades?


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/19 16:52:29


Post by: GCMandrake


There's nothing stopping you using Hammerhand twice on a unit. Couple with Rad grenades, and indeed you can be S6 vs T3 on T4 enemies. There aren't many T4 enemies with 2 or more wounds though, Nobs are the only that spring to mind.

Rad grenades however, do not stack.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/19 17:06:07


Post by: Culler


GCMandrake wrote:There's nothing stopping you using Hammerhand twice on a unit. Couple with Rad grenades, and indeed you can be S6 vs T3 on T4 enemies. There aren't many T4 enemies with 2 or more wounds though, Nobs are the only that spring to mind.


Tyranid warriors are probably the other prominent one. However, rad grenades specifically say they do not change the instant death threshold. So those nobs/warriors would be T3, but still only suffer instant death from things that are strength 8. You would ignore feel no pain with your non-power weapons though, so there's some benefit.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/19 18:34:13


Post by: Valkyrie


I thought Rad Grenades did change the ID threshold.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/19 18:36:18


Post by: Stavkat


Valkyrie wrote:I thought Rad Grenades did change the ID threshold.


They do, it is super explicit on this in the codex. Reading is fundamental.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/19 21:23:27


Post by: nosferatu1001


Culler wrote:
GCMandrake wrote:There's nothing stopping you using Hammerhand twice on a unit. Couple with Rad grenades, and indeed you can be S6 vs T3 on T4 enemies. There aren't many T4 enemies with 2 or more wounds though, Nobs are the only that spring to mind.


Tyranid warriors are probably the other prominent one. However, rad grenades specifically say they do not change the instant death threshold. So those nobs/warriors would be T3, but still only suffer instant death from things that are strength 8. You would ignore feel no pain with your non-power weapons though, so there's some benefit.


Please read the rule WAY more carefully next time. It explicitly states the exact opposite of what you just posted.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/21 18:19:15


Post by: jmurph


Wait, we are using it doesn't say it doesn't as logic now? Hammerhand nowhere says a unit can benefit from multiple sources of the same effect. It is binary- A unit affected by hammer hand has +1 str. Do it again? Still +1 str.

Rad grenades + HH should be enough with Force Weps most of the time anyway...


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/22 00:20:57


Post by: Stavkat


jmurph wrote:Wait, we are using it doesn't say it doesn't as logic now? Hammerhand nowhere says a unit can benefit from multiple sources of the same effect. It is binary- A unit affected by hammer hand has +1 str. Do it again? Still +1 str.

Rad grenades + HH should be enough with Force Weps most of the time anyway...


I approve of this message.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/22 02:54:24


Post by: DarknessEternal


jmurph wrote:Hammerhand nowhere says a unit can benefit from multiple sources of the same effect. It is binary- A unit affected by hammer hand has +1 str. Do it again? Still +1 str.

I can't fathom how people make this assumption which isn't based on a rule at all.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/22 12:05:30


Post by: nosferatu1001


jmurph wrote:Wait, we are using it doesn't say it doesn't as logic now? Hammerhand nowhere says a unit can benefit from multiple sources of the same effect. It is binary- A unit affected by hammer hand has +1 str. Do it again? Still +1 str.

Rad grenades + HH should be enough with Force Weps most of the time anyway...


No, not at all.

The unit chooses to cast HH and passes. They are now S5

The libby chooses to cast HH and passes, they are now S+1 == S5+1 == S6

They stack because they are not taken at the same time, and the strength modification applied applies to their profile.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/22 13:35:50


Post by: Homer S


If HH gives +1 and a second HH is cast, it already has +1, so no stacking. It does however kick in prior to doubling for Thunderhammers. So your S4 unit becomes S5 and then gets doubled. That is Instant Killing stuff.

Powers that stack are clearly labeled as such. Contrast HH with Might of Titan. So, HH + MoT gets you S6.

Also, Rad Grenades clearly state they lower ID threshold.

The book seems strong enough, quit hunting for Easter Eggs!

Homer


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/22 14:06:05


Post by: sourclams


I really don't think that Draigo, a Librarian, Terminators, and Justicar Thawn are going to be allowed to go running around at S9/I10 (Hammerhand, Hammerhand, MoT, Hammerhand, Hammerhand, Quicksilver) against -1T enemies in the assault phase.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/22 14:14:01


Post by: Target


sourclams wrote:I really don't think that Draigo, a Librarian, Terminators, and Justicar Thawn are going to be allowed to go running around at S9/I10 (Hammerhand, Hammerhand, MoT, Hammerhand, Hammerhand, Quicksilver) against -1T enemies in the assault phase.


When I read this I got an image of 40k whack-a-mole with the 4 guys running around franticly with hammers.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/22 14:26:13


Post by: Homer S


targetawg wrote:When I read this I got an image of 40k whack-a-mole with the 4 guys running around franticly with hammers.

LOL

Now I have that image in my head, with a big roll of tickets scrolling at their feet!

Homer


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/22 15:11:04


Post by: OverwatchCNC


GCMandrake wrote:There's nothing stopping you using Hammerhand twice on a unit. Couple with Rad grenades, and indeed you can be S6 vs T3 on T4 enemies. There aren't many T4 enemies with 2 or more wounds though, Nobs are the only that spring to mind.

Rad grenades however, do not stack.


Paladins are T4 two wounds. Most of the "lesser" MEQ HQ choices (librarians, Chaplains, Rune Priests, Wolf Priests, WGBL etc.)

As an aside I believe the wording is a unit affected by HH gains +1 str. +1 to the base str of the unit so casting it a second time would only give a +1 to the base str again meaning it doesn't stack. Rules that can stack clearly state it usually. Yet another thing we will be waiting for GW to FAQ I feel...


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/22 15:15:06


Post by: nosferatu1001


Homer - the first HH modifies your profile. The second modifies your already modified profile. Easy.

Sorry, it DOES stack currently. The same bonus from different sources has been repeated FAQ'd to Stack, e.g. Lictor and Hive Commander (exact same +1 bonus to reserves, different sources)


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/22 15:38:19


Post by: Nerrik


nosferatu1001 wrote:Homer - the first HH modifies your profile. The second modifies your already modified profile. Easy.

Sorry, it DOES stack currently. The same bonus from different sources has been repeated FAQ'd to Stack, e.g. Lictor and Hive Commander (exact same +1 bonus to reserves, different sources)


That's not a very good comparison. Lictor + Lictor does not stack and Hive Commander + Hive Commander does not stack. Lictor + Hive Commander are 2 different abilities that have a similar effect, not the exact same ability. That seems to be a point of contention in a lot of places, and while I don't really know the wording on Hammer Hand all that well, comparing it to Lictor and Hive Commander working together is not a fair comparison.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/22 15:39:49


Post by: Jidmah


Would anyone mind quoting the special rule in question?


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/22 15:50:05


Post by: nosferatu1001


It was pointing out the rule from different sources, at different steps. Reserves isnt great especially as they all occur simultaneously. Psychic powers are NOT cast simultaneously.

GK Dex, page 25 wrote:.....If the Psychic test is passed, all models in the unit (including Independent Characters) have +1 Strength until the end of the ASsault phase. Note that this strength bonus is applied before....


You pass 1 psychic test, your unit is at S4+1 = S5. Their profile now says S5

You cast it again, you now increase their strength by 1. Their strength is now S6, as it increases the strength on their statline (which has been modified) by 1

If you attempt to claim modifiers dont count, then a unit with I4(5) gaining furious charge still strikes at I5 with that logic, and ID would not need to change the rules to make it clear that modifiers to toughness dont count.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/22 16:02:08


Post by: Gitzbitah


This combo looks legal, and far more horrifying to an Ork player than S8 Rifleman dreads.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/22 16:09:11


Post by: Jidmah


Agree, seems perfectly fine. Stuff that is not supposed to stack is worded that way (Waaagh! banners for example).


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/22 17:14:48


Post by: sourclams


If Furious Charge from multiple sources doesn't stack, why would Hammerhand from multiple sources stack?


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/22 17:58:08


Post by: Jidmah


Because the rule says so? Any model with FC gets +1 I/S. If it has 42 instances of that USR it is still a model with Furious Charge.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/22 18:01:41


Post by: nosferatu1001


sourclams wrote:If Furious Charge from multiple sources doesn't stack, why would Hammerhand from multiple sources stack?


Because FC is not the same as Hammerhand?


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/22 18:15:27


Post by: Dracos


This is similar to the stealth issue. Long ago I postulated that since stealth gives the unit +1 cover saves, each model with stealth would add their bonus together. There is no real reason it doesn't, but no one plays it that it does. I expect hammerhand will be the same.

There is nothing saying it doesn't stack, but I somehow doubt anyone will allow it. I also expect it will be FAQ'd if it becomes an issue.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/22 18:18:47


Post by: nosferatu1001


Given the points cost investment in a unit that is required to get doublehammer hand, that doesnt seem to be an issue that needs resolving away from alllowing it.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/22 18:51:38


Post by: DarknessEternal


Nerrik wrote:
Lictor + Lictor does not stack and Hive Commander + Hive Commander does not stack.

And we know why. Because the book says they specifically do not stack.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/22 19:25:37


Post by: imweasel


nosferatu1001 wrote:
GK Dex, page 25 wrote:.....If the Psychic test is passed, all models in the unit (including Independent Characters) have +1 Strength until the end of the ASsault phase. Note that this strength bonus is applied before....


What's the last part say? Do you actually add the hammerhand bonus prior to doubling str as with a power fist or thunder hammer?


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/22 19:27:08


Post by: nosferatu1001


Yes you do. I didnt include it as it wasnt relevent to this question. Yes, they get S10 hammers, if htey pass a psychic test


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/22 19:38:24


Post by: imweasel


nosferatu1001 wrote:Yes you do. I didnt include it as it wasnt relevent to this question. Yes, they get S10 hammers, if htey pass a psychic test


Then that would lend credence to hammerhand affecting your stat line and not just 'giving a bonus' ala furious charge.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/23 16:33:33


Post by: DevianID


This is another rule that I am waiting for an FAQ on. Like imweasel says, hammerhand gives +1 str before further modifiers. Meaning you can get further modifiers. Is hammerhand one of those modifiers, though...

Now, if hammerhand wasnt on EVERYTHING maybe, but as it is if you take any independent character you get 2 hammerhands in a unit, meaning we do kinda need to know if it stacks.

Example: Grandmaster with troop terminators. You can cast 2 powers total, one from the grandmaster and one from the termies. You have hammerhand and force weapons as your only 2 assault powers. If the enemy does not have multiple wound models, like most models in the game, this leaves you with just 2 hammerhand powers as your only psychic powers, and hammerhand is written that 1 casting hits everything in the unit, ICs included. If it doesnt stack, then one power will be 'wasted' as it were each turn.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/23 18:00:54


Post by: Homer S


Jidmah wrote:Because the rule says so? Any model with FC gets +1 I/S. If it has 42 instances of that USR it is still a model with Furious Charge.

Can you provide a quote and/or page number stating that multiple castings of Hammerhand stack?

Homer


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/23 18:02:50


Post by: nosferatu1001


Homer - can you provide a quote showing they dont, and that contradicts the logic breakdown given multiple times already?

"we've" proven they do; you need to provide a rule showing they dont.

Devian - it gets more than that. Add Thawn and a librarian, and you are now S8....


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/23 18:04:29


Post by: Homer S


nosferatu1001 wrote:Homer - can you provide a quote showing they dont, and that contradicts the logic breakdown given multiple times already?

"we've" proven they do; you need to provide a rule showing they dont.

Devian - it gets more than that. Add Thawn and a librarian, and you are now S8....

Hmm,

Here I was thinking you had to show permission that is does stack. Haven't seen it yet.

Homer


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/23 18:06:08


Post by: nosferatu1001


It's been shown at least three times so far. The fact you've ignored the reasoning isnt exactly our problem.....

Go back, reread the thread, and respond to the points. It will help slightly


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/23 18:28:31


Post by: Homer S


I'm not ignoring it. Review of the thread shows almost as many points against as for.

They boil down to these for me:

When things stack, it is stated. See HH with MoT and Hive Commander with Lictor.
When things do not stack, it is stated. See Lictor x 2 and Hive Commander x 2.

I am convinced HH x2 is more like the latter than the former.

That was why I asked if a quote existed for them stacking, clearly one does not.
You have asked me if a quote exists for them not stacking, clearly it does not.
An assumption has to be made regarding the absence of permission to stack.

Therefore, no permission for stacking is given.

I'm waiting for an FAQ. In the absence of one, I would dice it with an opponent.

Homer


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/23 18:30:42


Post by: nosferatu1001


"Therefore, no permission for stacking is given"

Except I have shown the permission in the rules. Twice.

HH == S+1

HH' = (S+1)*+1

*As this is your new strength


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/23 19:28:20


Post by: Homer S


Alternately,

HH == S+1

HH' == S+1 == HH

HH says it applies "before any other" modifiers. HH' is not "any other" modifier, it is the same modifier.

How is this different to trying to stack 2 instances of Furious Charge? It grants +1 to S and I: S+1+1 is still S+2.

FYI, I hope you appreciate I'm not trying to be argumentative. I know tone does not carry well in forum discussions.

I really feel that if they explicitly wanted them to stack they would have said so. They did in other places in the book.

Having said that, I feel GW is just as likely FAQ it to stack as not.

Homer


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/23 19:47:52


Post by: Black Fiend


All psychic tests occur simultaneously thus they cannot stack. Simple really.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/23 20:12:47


Post by: AlmightyWalrus


Black Fiend wrote:All psychic tests occur simultaneously thus they cannot stack. Simple really.


Just what did you think when you read this? It just isn't true at all.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/23 20:14:22


Post by: nosferatu1001


Black Fiend wrote:All psychic tests occur simultaneously thus they cannot stack. Simple really.


Wrong. Please show me any rule for this, anywhere. Hint: its not in the rulebook


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/23 20:57:23


Post by: Black Fiend


Yes it is. When I am at home this evening I'll be able to quote the passage from the rulebook.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/23 21:37:40


Post by: DarknessEternal


Homer S wrote:
When things stack, it is stated. See HH with MoT and Hive Commander with Lictor.
When things do not stack, it is stated. See Lictor x 2 and Hive Commander x 2.

Autarch's Master Strategist's rule as applies to reserve rolls stacks with other Autarchs. It was not indicated in either direction in the codex, but was rule to do so in the FAQ.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/23 22:11:31


Post by: nosferatu1001


Black Fiend wrote:Yes it is. When I am at home this evening I'll be able to quote the passage from the rulebook.

No, it really isnt. nothing on Page 50, which describes the entirety of Psykers and how they work, states that ALL Psychic tests occur simultaneously. Any psychic shooting attacks made by one unit would be simultaneous, but NOT because they are psychic tests - but because all shooting from one unit is simultaneous.

You are even contradicted by the GK codex itself, under the Nemesis force weapons entry. There it specifies that you take the "force weapon" psychic test at the first I step a wound is caused at, combat by combat. Under your erroneous idea you would resolve attack A, and at I6 cause a wound and activate the power - and would then simultaneously "trigger" every other force weapon in squads B, C and D onwards, DIRECTLY contradicting the GK codex.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/23 22:40:54


Post by: Black Fiend


You have just explained yourself why they occur simultaneously. If you can't see that there is no point in my trying to convince you. It is very clear and simple.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/23 23:08:22


Post by: Surtur


Not all units shoot at the same time. All shots in a unit happen at the same time. A psyckic shooting attacks are made with the rest of the unit. Powers are used in specific phases. There is nothing about not powers happening at the same time as other powers.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/23 23:25:48


Post by: DevianID


Keep in mind, simultaneous events in 40k are resolved sequentially. This is not new.

Example. A Tz Daemonprince wants to cast 2 shooting powers. He has 1 wound left. First is Doombolt, second is gift of chaos. He perils on Doombolt, killing him. He DOES NOT get to attempt gift, as all shooting counts as simultaneous. This is because you resolve these things sequentially. He is dead from the perils before using his second power.

With hammerhand, you use it after assault moves but before blows are struck. If you have 2 seperate hammerhands you are absolutely allowed to try and cast both. You resolve both sequentially.

That said, it is possible that hammerhand does not stack. It is also possible that it will stack. The +1 is applied before other modifiers. So Hammerhand one makes you s5. Hammerhand 2 is now cast. If they stack, hammerhand 2 will now be applied before other modifiers, making you s5. Hammerhand 1 will also be in effect, now making you s6. If GW says they stack. Or if GW says they dont stack.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/24 00:12:15


Post by: Black Fiend


Simultaneous events cannot occur sequentially. At least in this universe. Ask any quantum mechanic - they will tell you the same in a relativistic manner.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/24 00:12:52


Post by: jmurph


Has GW allowed any stat modifying psyker power to stack in the past?


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/24 00:14:03


Post by: kirsanth


Black Fiend wrote:Simultaneous events cannot occur sequentially. At least in this universe. Ask any quantum mechanic - they will tell you the same in a relativistic manner.
Highlighted where you missed it.



Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/24 00:31:49


Post by: DevianID


Black Fiend, you did not see my example? You cant disagree with logic.

A tank with 1 weapon suffers 3 glances simultaneously. First one takes a weapon. Second one takes a weapon. Third one takes a weapon. Because simultaneous results are resolved sequentially in this game, the tank loses a weapon, gets immobilized, and is destroyed.

If you disagree with me, you are saying that 3 weapon destroyed results do not destroy the vehicle, they only destroy the same weapon 3 times. Is this your position? If it is, would you care to point to some evidence?


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/24 02:06:57


Post by: Afrikan Blonde


That is pointless in this particular example as others specific to this case. Generally speaking if a vehicle is destroyed then at the same point in time any lesser damage is completely inconsequential. It doesn't matter in your example since the final result of all three occur at the same time for all practical purposes. It changes nothing overall in terms of the final result. Basically you are arguing about simple semantics.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/24 04:55:27


Post by: DevianID


Afrikan Blonde, you misread my example. The vehicle suffers, at the same time, 3 weapon destroyed results. What happens to the vehicle.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/24 09:54:36


Post by: nosferatu1001


Black Fiend wrote:You have just explained yourself why they occur simultaneously. If you can't see that there is no point in my trying to convince you. It is very clear and simple.


Given I have shown the exact opposite, you need to explain your side as the rules of this forum require you to.

If you stand by your concept that ALL psychic powers occur simultaneously then you have huge problems playing this game, especially when you're told that Warp time occurs at a different point in time to Gift of Chaos, for two examples of how you are wrong.

The GK contradicts your notion rather forcefully with the Nemesis weapon rules, as my example showed. Do you truly believe that squad A triggering their force weapon rule at I6 also means Squads B, C and D, in different combats that *have not even been fought as yet* ALSO trigger their force weapons? Really? It would be news to a lot of players.

Devian has it right - even "simultaneous" events such as damage resolution can be resolved sequentially. HH gives you permission to make the attack "before any blows are struck" - it does not require you to perform the check "at the start of the assault phase", or anything else implying simultaneity.

IN summation: you need to support your argument, or retract it. PLease do so.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/24 10:05:03


Post by: Aramoro


Wait what? Psychic Powers are not simultaneous? I would love to see that quote from the rulebook you were going to pull out to prove that Black Fiend.

Hammerhand stacks, there's just nothing to suggest it won't. It's 2 different sources applying the same bonus, thus you get the bonus twice.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/24 12:54:35


Post by: Black Fiend


I should have been more clear. I apologize for the confusion. What I should have said is psychic tests for the same type powers occur simultaneously.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/24 13:02:19


Post by: nosferatu1001


Black Fiend wrote:I should have been more clear. I apologize for the confusion. What I should have said is psychic tests for the same type powers occur simultaneously.


No, no they dont. Please find a rule to support that, for the 3rd time of asking.

Or, explain how my proof that it is the exact opposite way round is "wrong"


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/24 13:10:32


Post by: DarknessEternal


jmurph wrote:Has GW allowed any stat modifying psyker power to stack in the past?

Yes. Psychic Communion, in the same codex.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/24 15:08:53


Post by: Daichallar


If Hammer Hand happens before all other modifiers and Hammer Hand is itself a modifier, how can they both happen before all other modifiers? One would have to happen after the other, and therefore would not be following the rules. The rule does not say it can happen at the same time as another modifier, it says it happens before all other modifiers. If you say they are both the same modifier, than they would not be modifying the stat line in time to modify it again.





Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/24 15:25:28


Post by: Black Fiend


That is one very good way to illustrate why you can't stack HH. Simply saying 'coz I said so' carries little weight in a legitimate discussion of the rules.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/24 15:28:27


Post by: Jidmah


Easy:
Hammerhand #1 is rolled for and adds +1 strength before all other modifiers.

order:
base
Hammerhand#1
Powerfist
Furious Charge(dunno if any GK can actually get is, replace with any other suitable strength bonus)

Hammerhand #2 is rolled for and adds +1 strenth before all other modifiers.

order:
base
Hammerhand#2
Hammerhand#1
Powerfist
Furious Charge


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/24 15:48:18


Post by: kirsanth


Would that not also read as follows?

base 5
Hammerhand#2 adjusts base 5 to base 6
Hammerhand#1 adjusts base 5 to base 6
Powerfist doubles to 10
Furious Change adds one to 10

Both adjust the base before any modifiers, in that case?


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/24 15:57:26


Post by: wyomingfox


GCMandrake wrote:There's nothing stopping you using Hammerhand twice on a unit. Couple with Rad grenades, and indeed you can be S6 vs T3 on T4 enemies. There aren't many T4 enemies with 2 or more wounds though, Nobs are the only that spring to mind.

Rad grenades however, do not stack.


Lictors, Warriors, Biovores, Pyrovores, Zoenthropes, Shrikes, Venomthropes, Ravenors (Tyranid units)


Automatically Appended Next Post:
nosferatu1001 wrote:Homer - the first HH modifies your profile. The second modifies your already modified profile. Easy.

Sorry, it DOES stack currently. The same bonus from different sources has been repeated FAQ'd to Stack, e.g. Lictor and Hive Commander (exact same +1 bonus to reserves, different sources)


True, but they are also two completly different rules . Two HT with Hive Commanders (two differnet sources; same rule) don't stack.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
nosferatu1001 wrote:It was pointing out the rule from different sources, at different steps. Reserves isnt great especially as they all occur simultaneously. Psychic powers are NOT cast simultaneously.

GK Dex, page 25 wrote:.....If the Psychic test is passed, all models in the unit (including Independent Characters) have +1 Strength until the end of the ASsault phase. Note that this strength bonus is applied before....


You pass 1 psychic test, your unit is at S4+1 = S5. Their profile now says S5

You cast it again, you now increase their strength by 1. Their strength is now S6, as it increases the strength on their statline (which has been modified) by 1

If you attempt to claim modifiers dont count, then a unit with I4(5) gaining furious charge still strikes at I5 with that logic, and ID would not need to change the rules to make it clear that modifiers to toughness dont count.


Yes, but a fairer comparison would be to look at Tyrant Guard under the effects of "rage" which gain Furious Charge (+1 Str +1 Init). Could a Swarm Large with its special rule grant the unit Furious Charge again (+2 Str and +2 Init combined). Same rule, different source, differnet phase.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
DarknessEternal wrote:
Homer S wrote:
When things stack, it is stated. See HH with MoT and Hive Commander with Lictor.
When things do not stack, it is stated. See Lictor x 2 and Hive Commander x 2.

Autarch's Master Strategist's rule as applies to reserve rolls stacks with other Autarchs. It was not indicated in either direction in the codex, but was rule to do so in the FAQ.


Very true, GW tends to be sporadic...which is why I wonder.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/24 16:34:32


Post by: Jidmah


kirsanth wrote:Would that not also read as follows?

base 5
Hammerhand#2 adjusts base 5 to base 6
Hammerhand#1 adjusts base 5 to base 6
Powerfist doubles to 10
Furious Change adds one to 10

Both adjust the base before any modifiers, in that case?


Huh, why should it do that? +1 S means increase strength by 1, how can that result in hammerhand#1 using the base again? It never says change the base strength in the rules that were quoted, it just says apply before other modifiers, overriding the way you handle modifiers in the BRB.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/24 16:35:33


Post by: Aramoro


Furious Charge is a poor example as things just give you Furious Charge, then when you check you have Furious Charge (as you can only have USR's once, you have them or you don't) and get +1S +1 I.

Hammerhand doesn't do that, it doesn't place a rule on the unit it just give a flat bonus, then later in the phase you can give them another flat bonus just the same.

Base S4
Hammerhand #1 S5
Hammerhand #2 S6
and so on

Effects always stack, if I put a wound on a model, then in the same phase put another wound on a model I don't get to discount it because things don't stack.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/24 17:00:34


Post by: Black Fiend


Effects do not always stack. Many examples of them not have already been provided.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/24 17:01:57


Post by: Aramoro


Black Fiend wrote:Effects do not always stack. Many examples of them not have already been provided.


And those always say that they do not stack, or have had to FAQ'd to not stack.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/24 17:08:08


Post by: Black Fiend


The FAQ will most likely address this one.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/24 17:33:33


Post by: Xca|iber


@Nos, I'm normally in agreement with you, and I would really like Hammerhand to stack, but IIRC, you argued awhile back that multiple Frost Weapons do not stack together (to grant S6, for example).

Because the wordings of the rules regarding the type of modification (Hammerhand & Frost Weapon) are very similar, I'd like to know what your argument is for why these are treated differently.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/24 17:39:00


Post by: kirsanth


Aramoro wrote:And those always say that they do not stack, or have had to FAQ'd to not stack.
Pheremone trail?

As opposed to Hive Commander, I mean.

Or are you counting INAT?


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/24 19:02:36


Post by: Daichallar


Jidmah wrote:Easy:
Hammerhand #1 is rolled for and adds +1 strength before all other modifiers.

order:
base
Hammerhand#1
Powerfist
Furious Charge(dunno if any GK can actually get is, replace with any other suitable strength bonus)

Hammerhand #2 is rolled for and adds +1 strenth before all other modifiers.

order:
base
Hammerhand#2
Hammerhand#1
Powerfist
Furious Charge


First question? Is Hammerhand a modifier? Second, do two applications happen at the same time? It has been said a few times in this thread they in fact, do not happen at the same time. How can you have a modifier that is required to go before all other modifiers go after another modifier?

As a caveat, I wouldn't be surprised if it does work that way, I am just arguing semantics. GW should just post new rules for some fan review before putting them in a codex. If there is a hole in the rule, it seems like the folks on this forum would gladly give free synopsis.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/24 20:20:24


Post by: DevianID


Daichallar, while I would like to say that hammerhand is a modifier, based on GW's ruling of thunderwolves, where their STR bonus is not a modifier it is a change to the base, this could be another example of GW using +1 as a change instead of a modifier. Despite using the modifier language.

To me, currently it is a modifier, just a unique kind of modifier. It doesnt make you S5, it gives you +1 str, which can be applied with other modifiers per the blurb. Does this mean other hammerhand modifiers? Not sure. However, since every character and every unit has hammerhand, if your character is in any grey knight unit you will have 2 hammerhands. So they really do need to clarify if you can use both or not.

(You can actually have 5 hammerhands in the same unit, as crazy as that is!)


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/24 22:27:27


Post by: Black Fiend


Actually it is not a modifier... a model using HH and armed with a daemonhammer would be S10.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/24 22:32:33


Post by: DevianID


Black Fiend, it says Hammerhand goes before other modifiers, so its possible that the 'other modifiers' means other than the Hammerhand modifier. Being s10 with a hammer and being a modifier are in no way exclusive.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/24 22:49:13


Post by: Jidmah


I can't find a definition for "modifier" in the BRB, so i guess increasing something by one is modifying it. My example was based on the asumtion that you cast psychic powers one after another, the same way IG issues orders for example. It seems to be common practice for eldar player to recast a failed fortune on eldrad.

A modifier does not force you to recalculate strength all the time and go back to already applied modifiers.
You pick the first Hammerhand and apply it before all other modifiers. Then you pick the second Hammerhand and apply it before all other modifiers, including the first Hammerhand. As Hammerhand#1 is already applied you don't need to go back to it und check if its still applied before all other modifiers. It matters even less as addition is commutative and can be applied in any order as you wish.

If you do try to go back to any applied modifier, you'll create an infinite loop and the game will not continue.

As for 5 Hammerhands in one unit... well, simply shoot it?


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/24 23:03:48


Post by: Addicted to Bleach


Furious Charge is a bad example, because the effect is that if a unit has furious charge then when they charge they have +1 str and int. Hammerhand adds one to str for the assault phase. If you add one twice you are essentially adding 2.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/24 23:10:10


Post by: Jidmah


As mentioned in my previous post, replace it with "random regular str +1"


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/24 23:28:43


Post by: Gavo


Black Fiend wrote:Actually it is not a modifier... a model using HH and armed with a daemonhammer would be S10.

Really? Well, this is terrifying. Helloo Daemonhammer Interceptors multi-assaulting parking lots.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/25 00:32:30


Post by: nosferatu1001


Black Fiend wrote:That is one very good way to illustrate why you can't stack HH. Simply saying 'coz I said so' carries little weight in a legitimate discussion of the rules.


Still waiting on your rules quote that "all psychic powers are resolved simultaneously"

Currently you are breaking the tenets of this forum, and have so far simply just said "coz I said so", despite being asked 3 times to support your argument.

Please do so, yes?

Xca|iber wrote:@Nos, I'm normally in agreement with you, and I would really like Hammerhand to stack, but IIRC, you argued awhile back that multiple Frost Weapons do not stack together (to grant S6, for example).

Because the wordings of the rules regarding the type of modification (Hammerhand & Frost Weapon) are very similar, I'd like to know what your argument is for why these are treated differently.


Mainly because you cannot use 2 frostblades. You can only ever use one CCW weapon at a time (another simply gives you a bonus attack, at best) - see page 42. So frostblades cannot stack because you cannot get the bonus from more than one CCW....

HH is different.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/25 13:44:08


Post by: Daichallar


Jidmah wrote:I can't find a definition for "modifier" in the BRB, so i guess increasing something by one is modifying it. My example was based on the asumtion that you cast psychic powers one after another, the same way IG issues orders for example. It seems to be common practice for eldar player to recast a failed fortune on eldrad.

A modifier does not force you to recalculate strength all the time and go back to already applied modifiers.
You pick the first Hammerhand and apply it before all other modifiers. Then you pick the second Hammerhand and apply it before all other modifiers, including the first Hammerhand. As Hammerhand#1 is already applied you don't need to go back to it und check if its still applied before all other modifiers. It matters even less as addition is commutative and can be applied in any order as you wish.

If you do try to go back to any applied modifier, you'll create an infinite loop and the game will not continue.

As for 5 Hammerhands in one unit... well, simply shoot it?


This sounds like a perfectly acceptable way to deal with this rule, except for the fact that it is not actually following any rules telling you to do it this way. The order of operations in this instance doesn't matter because math doesn't have rules for when you add things to an equation. This is a logic problem, not a math problem. Really, GW needs to spell it out after each spell like this, stackable or not.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/25 14:19:47


Post by: Jidmah


There is no rule at all telling you how to apply modifiers of the same type (multiplicative or additive). Of course does math have rules for adding things to an an equation, it's called algebra, and logic is nothing but algebra with a different notation.

Still none of this has anything to do with stacking, even if you'd roll off to see which hammerhand is applied first(RAW solution), the result would be the same.
Mark of Nurgle and bikes, Furious Charge and Big Choppas, autarch reserve rolls, damage results for melta shooting at open topped vehicles, attack squig and slugga/choppa... there are tons of examples of stuff stacking without an extra rule for doing so, I guess it's save to assume that modifiers stack unless stated otherwise.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/25 14:29:41


Post by: jmurph


DarknessEternal wrote:
jmurph wrote:Has GW allowed any stat modifying psyker power to stack in the past?

Yes. Psychic Communion, in the same codex.


Which specifically says it stacks, yes? Hammerhand does not say that....


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/25 14:42:15


Post by: Jidmah


Two Warpheads in the same unit rolling a Warpath stack.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/25 16:06:38


Post by: Daichallar


Jidmah wrote:There is no rule at all telling you how to apply modifiers of the same type (multiplicative or additive). Of course does math have rules for adding things to an an equation, it's called algebra, and logic is nothing but algebra with a different notation.

Still none of this has anything to do with stacking, even if you'd roll off to see which hammerhand is applied first(RAW solution), the result would be the same.
Mark of Nurgle and bikes, Furious Charge and Big Choppas, autarch reserve rolls, damage results for melta shooting at open topped vehicles, attack squig and slugga/choppa... there are tons of examples of stuff stacking without an extra rule for doing so, I guess it's save to assume that modifiers stack unless stated otherwise.


Unfortunately none of those things say they must be added before all other modifiers. Raw states that hammerhand must happen before all other modifiers, as far as I know that is unique, and this is why there is no rule for it.

Regardless, I think everyone can agree that GW needs to FAQ this, there really isn't any definitive answer.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/25 16:14:36


Post by: Jidmah


I still don't see how a timing issue prevents it from stacking.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/25 16:23:57


Post by: kirsanth


Jidmah wrote:I still don't see how a timing issue prevents it from stacking.
I read that idea like this:
If you add a modifier before you apply a modifier that must occur before all modifiers you break a rule.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/25 16:28:24


Post by: Aramoro


kirsanth wrote:
Jidmah wrote:I still don't see how a timing issue prevents it from stacking.
I read that idea like this:
If you add a modifier before you apply a modifier that must occur before all modifiers you break a rule.


So does the game just stop then, vanish up it's own arse in a rules blackhole?


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/25 16:32:40


Post by: kirsanth


I would call it a "Don't do that" bug.


Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/27 02:35:29


Post by: ChrisCP


"We told you guy to stop hitting reality with that thing how many times?"



Does 2 castings of hammer hand on the same unit stack so you can have strength 6? @ 2011/03/27 03:45:12


Post by: H3ct0r


I agree that Hammerhand should not work twice. It seems that the only way to apply one Hamerhand as a modifier before another would be to count "other modifiers" as other non-Hammerhand modifiers; this is closest to a RAI style of interpretation rather than a RAW style of interpretation.

Bear in mind though, that if Hammerhand is not counted as a modifier as DevianID suggested with reference to the Space Wolves FAQ (which I am not familiar with so I cannot be an accurate judge of its application to this issue) then it should work; but the use of the words "other modifiers" really seems to imply that Hammerhand is itself a modifier. "Other" references things in relation to annother thing, unlike words like "that" which can be used without allusion to anything else. For the Hammerhand rule to use the word "other" in relation to modifiers, it needs to be referencing something that is already a modifier; there is nothing else in the rule that I am aware of to fulfill this requirement, so it has to be referencing Hammerhand itself as a modifier --thus excluding it from the immunity that it could have garnered from a non-modifier status.

This is the best RAW reading I can make at this time.