Switch Theme:

Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit  [RSS] 

GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/03 18:57:18


Post by: Da-Rock


I have seen several people state that the Dreadknight fitted with a teleporter and handed the Scouts USR can shunt 30" in the Scout move, but looking at the rule book it states Scouts = any scouts may make a "normal" move. Wouldn't a normal move follow the established 6" move, combat speed, Cruising speed, flat out/turbo boost - personal teleporters are NOT "Normal" forms of movement and can only be performed once per game.

Watcha think?


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/03 19:00:58


Post by: AlmightyWalrus


It is normal for a model equipped with a personal teleporter to be able to move 30" once per game. What's the problem?


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/03 19:11:28


Post by: nosferatu1001


I think that this is the 3rd thread in as many days which repeates an invalid argument

You can shunt in the scout move perfectly fine. In the same way that a TB is NORMAL for a bike, a Shunt is NORMAL for a teleporter equipped model.

/thread, mods please lock / point to the other threads...


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/03 19:17:54


Post by: Markillius08


Da-Rock wrote:I have seen several people state that the Dreadknight fitted with a teleporter and handed the Scouts USR can shunt 30" in the Scout move, but looking at the rule book it states Scouts = any scouts may make a "normal" move. Wouldn't a normal move follow the established 6" move, combat speed, Cruising speed, flat out/turbo boost - personal teleporters are NOT "Normal" forms of movement and can only be performed once per game.

Watcha think?


From the GW FAQ - http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m1620222a_40k_Rulebook_version_1_2.pdf

Q: Can bikes Turbo Boost during their Scout move? (p76)
A: Yes they now can, but remember that they have to
remain more than 12” away from the enemy as they move

Essentially this same logic would apply to the DreadKnight's Teleporter. If they could use the Move (IE - shunt 30in) in a standard movement phase, it is allowed. At least that's how it sounds to me.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/03 19:18:38


Post by: FlingitNow


yeah in total agreement with Nos on this one. Turboboost is a USR not a "normal move" but its allowed because you can do it whenever you can normally move. Just like the shunt. Not just the dreadknight but interceptors can do this too.

I think thats why they moved Interceptors to FA rather than being an upgrade for troops otherwise you could take 2 GMs and assault with your entire army turn 1...


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/03 20:37:31


Post by: Brother Ramses


Blah blah blah,

Shunt is done instead of moving. Because it is done instead of moving, it clearly is not a normal move for a model equipped with a persoanl teleporter. It is an ability given to a model equipped with a personal teleporter that they can do instead of moving.

As such, until a FAQ is relased that allows it to be done during the Scout move, it is not allowed. See BA FAQ that allows Baals to perform a non-movement action during the Scout move, aka smoke launchers.



GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/03 20:44:49


Post by: nosferatu1001


Blah blah blah, youre missing the part about "make a move" that is in the codex. Nice try at ignoring the rules though

It is a move they can normally perform once per game. Guess that means they can do it in the scout moves part of the game then.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/03 21:08:00


Post by: Brother Ramses


And you insist on ignoring that it specifically is done INSTEAD of moving.

If something is done instead of moving, that means it isn't moving. If a unit runs instead of shooting, it isn't shooting. Scout moves allow a normal move to be made. How are you claiming to be able to do something that is clearly done instead of moving?

Shunt is not a normal move or even a move as defined in the World of Warhammer 40k. It is an ability granted by personal teleporters that is done instead of moving.

Answer this Nos, if I had a unit of Grey Hunters run instead of shooting, would you say that they shot?

Running instead of shooting is an action that is allowed in lieu of shooting. Shunting is exactly the same thing. Yes the model has physically been moved 30", but it did not move per Warhammer 40k rules, instead it shunted 30".


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/03 21:18:22


Post by: FlingitNow


And you're ignoring that they FaQ'd smoke launchers to be usable which (unlike shunting) certainly isn't moving. Can I normally make this move in the movement phase? If I can then i'm allowed to do it as a scout move.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/03 21:27:06


Post by: Jidmah


Turbo Boost is not a normal move or even a move as defined in the World of Warhammer 40k. It is an ability granted by a bike or jet bike that is done instead of moving.

Running instead of shooting is an action that is allowed in lieu of shooting. turbo boosting is exactly the same thing. Yes the model has physically been moved 24", but it did not move per Warhammer 40k rules, instead it turbo boosted 24".

Silly enough?
The rule says you make a normal move that "is done exactly as in their Movement phase"(BRB pg. 76), so you can do anything you could do instead of your regular move in your movement phase, including turbo boost, jump movement, shunt, going flat out, funny psychic teleporting powers or declaring a tank shock. Good luck actually tankshocking anything while having to stay 12" away from it though.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/03 21:54:48


Post by: Brother Ramses


FlingitNow wrote:And you're ignoring that they FaQ'd smoke launchers to be usable which (unlike shunting) certainly isn't moving. Can I normally make this move in the movement phase? If I can then i'm allowed to do it as a scout move.


I am not ignoring the FAQ. In fact it is one of the cornerstones of my argument!

A FAQ was required to allow the non-moving action of smoke launchers, to be used during the Scout move. Do you have a FAQ that allows the non-moving action of shunting to be used during the Scout move? Until you do, like previously with smoke launchers, you cannot.

Jidmah wrote:Turbo Boost is not a normal move or even a move as defined in the World of Warhammer 40k. It is an ability granted by a bike or jet bike that is done instead of moving.

Running instead of shooting is an action that is allowed in lieu of shooting. turbo boosting is exactly the same thing. Yes the model has physically been moved 24", but it did not move per Warhammer 40k rules, instead it turbo boosted 24".

Silly enough?
The rule says you make a normal move that "is done exactly as in their Movement phase"(BRB pg. 76), so you can do anything you could do instead of your regular move in your movement phase, including turbo boost, jump movement, shunt, going flat out, funny psychic teleporting powers or declaring a tank shock. Good luck actually tankshocking anything while having to stay 12" away from it though.


You need to reread the Turbo-boosters rule on page 76 before you come into the argument.

When using their turbo-boosters they may move up to 24" in the Movement phase:


Notice that it isn't instead of moving the bikes may turbo-boost. In fact the entire turbo-boost entry does not mention instead. If we look at the movement entry for bikes we see that turbo-boosters special rule is inclusive to ther movement, not exclusive to ther movemnt

Bikes also have the "turbo-boosters" special rule (see page 76).





GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/03 22:02:15


Post by: FlingitNow


A FAQ was required to allow the non-moving action of smoke launchers, to be used during the Scout move.


? The FaQ clarified that you could do it all along. You do realise that is what FaQs do don't you? They clarify what the rules already are. The FaQ don't allow or deny anything ever they clarify what was allowed/denied all along. This clarification illustrates how the rules work. That you may do anything that you may normally do in the movement phase as your scout move.

Notice that it isn't instead of moving the bikes may turbo-boost.


And shunting isn't instead of moving it is instead of moving normally. It's still movement just not the normal 12" move of JI...


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/03 22:12:39


Post by: Jidmah


What does "instead" have to do with anything?

So, looked at page 76 again. Oh look, the chapter name is "Universal Special Rules"! You are claiming you may not shunt during scout movement because it is not a normal move. I just used your own words to show that turbo boosting is a special move, which miraculously is allowed while scouting.

So guess what? Turbo boosting is not a normal move. Jump infantry moving 12" is not a normal move. Using Smoke launchers is not a normal move. Shunt is not a normal move.
There is no rule preventing you from replacing a normal move with a special one. Actually there is no differentiation in any WH40k rules between normal and special moves whatsoever. Which means it doesn't exist, you simply made it up because you're afraid of dread knights.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/03 23:20:57


Post by: Brother Ramses


FlingitNow wrote:
A FAQ was required to allow the non-moving action of smoke launchers, to be used during the Scout move.


? The FaQ clarified that you could do it all along. You do realise that is what FaQs do don't you? They clarify what the rules already are. The FaQ don't allow or deny anything ever they clarify what was allowed/denied all along. This clarification illustrates how the rules work. That you may do anything that you may normally do in the movement phase as your scout move.

Notice that it isn't instead of moving the bikes may turbo-boost.


And shunting isn't instead of moving it is instead of moving normally. It's still movement just not the normal 12" move of JI...


Too bad what you think FAQ do and what GW thinks they do and also does with their FAQ are two different things.

The FAQ allowing smoke launchers to be used during the Scout move did one thing: Allowed smoke launchers to be used during the Sount move. You cannot read anything more into it then just that because then you are drifting from RAW to RAI.

Also the rule is instead of moving, not instead of moving normally. That means that shunting is an entirely different thing then moving. Unless there is a FAQ that allows this entirely different thing then moving, called shunting to be done during the Scout move like smoke launchers, then you cannot shunt.

Jidmah wrote:What does "instead" have to do with anything?

So, looked at page 76 again. Oh look, the chapter name is "Universal Special Rules"! You are claiming you may not shunt during scout movement because it is not a normal move. I just used your own words to show that turbo boosting is a special move, which miraculously is allowed while scouting.

So guess what? Turbo boosting is not a normal move. Jump infantry moving 12" is not a normal move. Using Smoke launchers is not a normal move. Shunt is not a normal move.
There is no rule preventing you from replacing a normal move with a special one. Actually there is no differentiation in any WH40k rules between normal and special moves whatsoever. Which means it doesn't exist, you simply made it up because you're afraid of dread knights.


The use of instead means that it isnt moving.

For bikes turbo-boosting is part of their normal movement. It is listed under bikes movement rules page 53. Same applies to Jump Infantry, page 52. Smoke launchers were FAQ'd to be allowed, check GW website.

Care to show me Shunt under the movement rules for Jump Infantry on page 52? Have a FAQ for Shunting during the Scout move? It wont be there because it is not moving, it is done INSTEAD of moving.

GK units with a personal teleporter are Jump Infantry, meaning they can choose to either move 12" or like infantry, 6". Once per game they can perform an ability INSTEAD of moving 12" like Jump Infantry or 6" like infantry. This ability is called a Shunt.

Scout move would let GK either move 12" like Jump Infantry or 6" like infantry.

Do the same exercise with bikes and turbo-boosting and you see how it is inherently different.




GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/03 23:50:16


Post by: FlingitNow


Too bad what you think FAQ do and what GW thinks they do and also does with their FAQ are two different things.

The FAQ allowing smoke launchers to be used during the Scout move did one thing: Allowed smoke launchers to be used during the Sount move. You cannot read anything more into it then just that because then you are drifting from RAW to RAI.


GW don't do anythig but clarify how the rules work do with their FaQs. The FaQ stating that you can use smoke launchers when scouting didn't allow anything the FaQs aren't rules they are explainations of rules and tell you how rules work. They can not by definition allow anything or change anything.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/04 00:54:32


Post by: Da-Rock


If you want simple then many explained it all early when they said this, "GW FAQ'd Turbo Boost to allow during Scouts moves". End of discussion, but maybe not how you think -

Turbo Boost was NOT allowed in Scouts until it was FAQ'd = Teleport is NOT allowed until GW FAQs it - have fun!


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/04 03:11:59


Post by: lucasbuffalo


Brother Ramses wrote:
Too bad what you think FAQ do and what GW thinks they do and also does with their FAQ are two different things.

The FAQ allowing smoke launchers to be used during the Scout move did one thing: Allowed smoke launchers to be used during the Sount move. You cannot read anything more into it then just that because then you are drifting from RAW to RAI.

Also the rule is instead of moving, not instead of moving normally. That means that shunting is an entirely different thing then moving. Unless there is a FAQ that allows this entirely different thing then moving, called shunting to be done during the Scout move like smoke launchers, then you cannot shunt.




"The FAQs on the other hand are very much 'soft' material. They deal with more of a grey area, where often there is no right and wrong answer - in a way, they are our own 'Studio House Rules'. They are, of course, useful when you play a pick-up game against someone you don't know, or at tournaments" - GW

FAQs don't "allow" or "disallow" anything. They set a standard for gaming that GW feels best suits the game to fix "grey areas" not completely change rules.
They FAQ'd something that other people see as suiting other, newly presented, situations. The FAQ can't read the future and predict problems (or YMDC wouldn't exist) so it's very reasonable that a person would apply the logic used in an FAQ rule to answer another very similar situation.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/04 03:23:58


Post by: em_en_oh_pee


Really? This argument again.

If you can Turbo-Boost and Smoke, likely you can Shunt. I would clear it with a TO before any tournaments, but otherwise, why argue anymore? This won't be 100% resolved until we see a FAQ.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/04 04:22:51


Post by: jdjamesdean@mail.com


Facepalm ^_^ why not be able to shunt. Ive yet to read definitive proof, smoke launchers push it to a firm yes not a no ... they need faqs for the people that have hissy fits ... simple as that ... so for now hold ur lil tantrums and deal with it ... shunt, legal nuff said


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/04 05:18:07


Post by: Galador


If people are really going to have that much trouble with the GK doing this, then you gaming ability is in much worse shape than worrying about what can be done during a Scout move.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/04 05:58:17


Post by: Da-Rock


Galador wrote:If people are really going to have that much trouble with the GK doing this, then you gaming ability is in much worse shape than worrying about what can be done during a Scout move.


Have you ever played a none cheese army? Play Tau and then talk to me about a Dreadknight standing 12" away from my lines on turn 1. Its simple for me - No..........it doesn't say you can so like every other rule we have to wait for this one will too.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/04 06:07:09


Post by: em_en_oh_pee


Da-Rock wrote:
Galador wrote:If people are really going to have that much trouble with the GK doing this, then you gaming ability is in much worse shape than worrying about what can be done during a Scout move.


Have you ever played a none cheese army? Play Tau and then talk to me about a Dreadknight standing 12" away from my lines on turn 1. Its simple for me - No..........it doesn't say you can so like every other rule we have to wait for this one will too.


That is just what Kroot are for, good sir. "Bubblewrap" is a useful strategy. Let him assault the Kroot all day, when they die (and they will!), you get plenty of chances to blow those NDKs apart. Don't try to look at the rule as broken or a problem, be a good player and adapt to the ever-changing game you play.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/04 06:10:45


Post by: Galador


Da-Rock wrote:
Galador wrote:If people are really going to have that much trouble with the GK doing this, then you gaming ability is in much worse shape than worrying about what can be done during a Scout move.


Have you ever played a none cheese army? Play Tau and then talk to me about a Dreadknight standing 12" away from my lines on turn 1. Its simple for me - No..........it doesn't say you can so like every other rule we have to wait for this one will too.


That I know of, I have never played a cheese army. I started back in RT with Space Marines, changed to Dark Eldar when they came out in 3rd, didn't play during 4th, then came back in during 5th, once again using Dark Eldar, and will probably continue to play as Dark Eldar for the rest of the time I play 40k. I'm sorry if you think the Dark eldar are , but I really couldn't tell you if we are or not, because the two people I have seen besides myself around here that play DE can't build a list to save their lives. And I'm not talking about a COMPETITIVE list, I'm talking about a list period. How does a guy come to play a game with 4 Ravagers and a 30 man wych horde??? What are we, Orks??? Yeah, so I have never seen a decent DE list except here on Dakka and whatever I make that I think is good.

So, if DE are to you, sorry. If Tau are going to have an issue with it, I'm sure you'll find a way to adapt, Sure seems like for the abundance of Tau players (compared to DE players) I have seen that its not like you all aren't multiplying


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/04 06:17:54


Post by: nosferatu1001


Brother Ramses - so your argument is that the shunt isnt a move?

Your argument is flat out, 100% wrong.

The rules for shunt, that you are ignoring, state that you make a MOVE of up to 30"

So, this IS a move according to the World of Warhammer 40,000 (so it obeys the normal rules for moving models, i.e. they cannot end up less than 1" away) and therefore IS a "normal" move for the Teleporter model.

Please address your fallacy (it is not a move) given the rules stating it IS a move.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/04 08:29:57


Post by: Jidmah


Your have failed to prove that the scout move must absolutely be a move defined in the BRB. You also seem to be suffering the illusion of BRB rules having a different priority than codex rules. Care to show me any of your units in your army in the BRB? Can't? I guess you are fielding an illegal army.

You have failed to prove that you may not do something instead of a regular move, if you are allowed to make a regular move exactly as if in your movement phase.

You have failed to prove that jump infantry and bikes are moving normally by your own definition. Bike and jump infantry movement rules are no more or less special than any rule in any codex.

You have failed to show that "instead" has any bearing on whether you can use it during your scout move. "Instead of moving normally" means nothing but two things: 1) You have to be able to move normal 2) You may not move normally if you use shunt.

You have failed to prove that turbo boost is any different from shunt, except for being printed in two different books and a slightly different wording. Any example of turbo boost or shunt you have given, the two are interchangeable without contradicting any rules.

You also have failed to notice that there is no GK FAQ at all, but even if there were, the absence of a FAQ does not prove anything in any way.

You have failed to prove your point.

Also note that it is a perfectly legal action to not move a scout at all, which contradicts the last one of your arguments, claiming a scout has to move.

Galandor: diary products have no bearing on rules whatsoever. If GW wants to prevent scout shunting they will errata it, until then it is a legal move.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/04 12:09:38


Post by: Brother Ramses


nosferatu1001 wrote:Brother Ramses - so your argument is that the shunt isnt a move?

Your argument is flat out, 100% wrong.

The rules for shunt, that you are ignoring, state that you make a MOVE of up to 30"

So, this IS a move according to the World of Warhammer 40,000 (so it obeys the normal rules for moving models, i.e. they cannot end up less than 1" away) and therefore IS a "normal" move for the Teleporter model.

Please address your fallacy (it is not a move) given the rules stating it IS a move.


The act of physically moving the model 30" does not fulfill the defintion of a move in Warhammer 40k, especially when the rule tells you that instead of moving you are shunting. Point in case? Pivoting a vehicle. The model is physically moved but per the BRB he vehicle is considered not to have moved.

Instead of shooting, the model can run.

Instead of moving, the model can shunt.

Shunting is not moving like running is not shooting. No matter how much you want to champion the fact that it tells you to physically move the model the model 30", in Warhammer World the model has performed a shunt, not a move.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/04 12:19:56


Post by: BSent


The argument here is about the word "normal". Units can turbo-boost while scouting because they have the ability to turbo-boost the entire game. Moving the standard length and a turbo-boost are normal moves for bikes and jetbikes.

However the teleport shunt can only be done once per game. If it can only be done once per game, then I don't think it counts as a normal move.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/04 12:37:42


Post by: Brother Ramses


That isn't even a valid argument either though Soulx since frequency of being allowed to do something is not a measure of normal or not.

The argument for turbo-boosting is easily explained in that it is included in the movement section of bikes.

If GW had written,

"Units with personal teleporters are Jump Infantry. In addition once per game they can teleport shunt up to 30"."

You would be golden. That alone would make the shunt inclusive to their normal Jump Infantry movement. However because it is instead of moving, it moves it outside the Jump Infantry movement and makes it its own ability, outside of normal movement.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/04 12:58:59


Post by: Jidmah


Brother Ramses wrote:
The act of physically moving the model 30" does not fulfill the defintion of a move in Warhammer 40k, especially when the rule tells you that instead of moving you are shunting. Point in case? Pivoting a vehicle. The model is physically moved but per the BRB he vehicle is considered not to have moved.

Instead of shooting, the model can run.

Instead of moving, the model can shunt.

Shunting is not moving like running is not shooting. No matter how much you want to champion the fact that it tells you to physically move the model the model 30", in Warhammer World the model has performed a shunt, not a move.


So I actually went through the trouble of getting a GK codex to quote from, and guess what:

"If making a a teleport shunt, the unit immediately makes a 30" move in any direction. This move cannot end up on top of a unit or in impassable terrain, but ignores intervening units, terrain and so on. A unit that moves via teleport shunt cannot assault on the same turn, although it can shoot and run as normal. The unit counts as having moved" GK codex, pg. 26 "Personal Teleporters"

Your invalid argument is invalid.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/04 13:01:40


Post by: nosferatu1001


BR - see Jidmah above

Your argument relies on the 30" move not actually being a move, however the quote above proves that, as far as 40k is concerned it IS a move.

The unit even "counts as having moved"

If you want to disagree, despite again being shown your argument is based on an invalid premise, please fnid a rules quote for your argument.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/04 16:58:44


Post by: Brother Ramses


A pivot with a vehicle is not considered moving despite the model being physically moved.

Counts as moving is exactly that, counts as moving, but is not moving, it is shunting. I won't even bother listing the myriad of examples of counts as, moves as, firs as, etc, etc. A hive tyrant with wings moves as jump infantry. Is the hive tyrant jump infantry?

Nice that you actually do not post up the stickler of the rule Jid. There a reason why you leave out, "INSTEAD OF MOVING" from your quote?

How about you answer this,

If Scout moves allow a normal move, why are you trying to do something that can only occur if you are not moving?

The rule specifically says instead of moving, you can shunt. How you physically make a shunt is moving the model, but it is not a normal move, it is an ability that takes place instead of moving that as Jid even points out counts as moving, but again, is not moving.

I point it out again,

Instead of shooting the model can run.

Instead of moving the model can shunt.

Are you going to tell me that a unit that ran is considered to have shot?

How about some of the DE arcane weapons that say, instead of firing, <insert action here> have fired?

As much as you want to champion WHAT shunting tells you to physically do with the model (move your model 30", etc, etc), per the BRB and the GK codex you did not move, you shunted and Shunting has not been FAQ'd yet to be allowed during the Scout move.

In 1-2 months you can possibly enjoy Scout shunting dreadknights, maybe not. As of right now, you can't.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/04 17:03:23


Post by: nosferatu1001


BR - yet you still, repeatedly, ignore the part where it tells you it is a MOVE

You make a *move* of up to 30".

Thats it. You have no argument, and posting a wall of text to try to convince people that youre right just isnt cutting it.

Currently we have scout shunting dreadknights, until and unless a FAQ changes the rules. Deal with it.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/04 17:13:34


Post by: Brother Ramses


And all you do is cling to the fact that the word "move" is part of the description of how a teleport shunt is implemented.

How about an easy question,

Are you Shunting 30" or are you moving 30"?


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/04 17:23:20


Post by: lucasbuffalo


Brother Ramses wrote:And all you do is cling to the fact that the word "move" is part of the description of how a teleport shunt is implemented.

How about an easy question,

Are you Shunting 30" or are you moving 30"?


"A unit that moves via a teleport shunt..." pg. 28

Sound like it's MOVING via a shunt to me.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/04 17:29:48


Post by: nosferatu1001


BR you are moving using the special movement mode "shunt"

This isnt difficult. Really, just read all the rules, note the use of the word "move" is repeatedly in there.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/04 17:35:48


Post by: Beast


Are the Mods asleep? I wish they would just pick one of these duplicate threads and lock the rest...


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/04 17:39:17


Post by: Jidmah


Brother Ramses wrote:A pivot with a vehicle is not considered moving despite the model being physically moved.

Any models count as moving if they are physically moved, unless stated otherwise. There is no exeption to the rule other than pivoting.
Counts as moving is exactly that, counts as moving, but is not moving, it is shunting. I won't even bother listing the myriad of examples of counts as, moves as, firs as, etc, etc. A hive tyrant with wings moves as jump infantry. Is the hive tyrant jump infantry?

Did you even bother to read the rule? Shunting is moving. It is a move. It says so three times in the rules text, before even telling you it counts as having moved.
Nice that you actually do not post up the stickler of the rule Jid. There a reason why you leave out, "INSTEAD OF MOVING" from your quote?

Yes, there is a reason. I had to write it down, get to a computer and type it off, as you quoted it like two tousand times, I guessed you knew that part.
How about you answer this,

If Scout moves allow a normal move, why are you trying to do something that can only occur if you are not moving?

The rule specifically says instead of moving, you can shunt. How you physically make a shunt is moving the model, but it is not a normal move, it is an ability that takes place instead of moving that as Jid even points out counts as moving, but again, is not moving.

So a shunt is a move, you have to move the model to shunt, it moves via teleport shunt by RAW. And you still insist on the model not moving? Don't know... do you need colorful pictures or something to help your reading comprehesion?
I point it out again,

Instead of shooting the model can run.

Instead of moving the model can shunt.

Are you going to tell me that a unit that ran is considered to have shot?

How about some of the DE arcane weapons that say, instead of firing, <insert action here> have fired?


Running replaces shooting with non-shooting.

Shunt replaces movement with movement.

Are you going to tell me that a unit shooting an arcane weapon instead of shooting a regular weapon has not shot? Can you say this in front of a mirror without feeling stupid?

Flawed logic everywere. Also no counterpoint to my previous definition of "instead". You are only required to be able use the action you want to replace, and may not take the replaced action. Nothing else has been proven by you.
Scout allows you make a normal move with no other restrictions but staying 12" away from any enemy. Shunt can be used any time you move normaly and replace that move.
As much as you want to champion WHAT shunting tells you to physically do with the model (move your model 30", etc, etc), per the BRB and the GK codex you did not move you shunted and Shunting has not been FAQ'd yet to be allowed during the Scout move.

In 1-2 months you can possibly enjoy Scout shunting dreadknights, maybe not. As of right now, you can't.

Bolded parts are in direct contradiction to codex rules for shunting. Also being arogant does not help you prove your point, rules do. You don't have any, just random made-up or irrelevant stuff.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/04 18:40:00


Post by: Brother Ramses


I never said the DE arcane weapon shot. Several of the arcane weapons force a characteristic test, but by your standard they have shot because it was done instead of shooting right? Nice logic there.

And your assertion is wrong;

Shunt replaces movement with shunting.

It doesn't matter that to shunt you must move your model. That is just the mechanic of shunting which does not qualify it for a Scout move.

As has been mentioned, smoke launchers had to be FAQ'd to be used during the Scout move. Turbo-boosters had to be FAQ'd to be allowed during the Scout move (despite the RAW of them being part of Bikes movement section). Shunt will need the same.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/04 18:47:55


Post by: Jidmah


Gotcha. You have no interest in rules actually written down in WH40k books, so this is not a WH40k rules debate. I'm out.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/04 18:56:04


Post by: Bloodhorror


Shunting is a move SURELY...

a Model with Wings can make a normal move of 6", a jump infantry move of 12" or if it can shunt (which i know nothing with wings can yet) can MOVE up to 30"

a move, is a move...

Whats the difference?


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/04 19:46:05


Post by: nosferatu1001


BR - shunting is a move. It tells you that *******3****** times

You can pretend that it isnt a move. doesnt alter really, really simple facts.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/04 19:46:11


Post by: Galador


So don't Scout move your Dreadknights on him, Just put them in reserve as Outflankers. Then when they come on on his flank during the game, they can cry that they can't outflank with a shunt because its not a normal move also, right??

You arguements hold no water. As much as my squishy DE troops and Vehicles will not like having a Dreadknight or 3 scout move into my face when they have turn 1, deal with it.

Nothing you have said holds water to the rules. the Scout rules states that they can make a normal move, which means anything that the unit does during its movement phase can be done, including smoke launchers. It didn't need to be FAQ'ed, they just needed to FAQ it for people who can't read in order and lack common sense. Turbo-boost didn't need to be FAQ'ed because it is also done in the movement phase and it is a move., but it was FAQ'ed for the same reason as smoke launchers.

If you really need this to not work when it is so simply stated within the rules of the BRB that it can, no matter what army you play, then maybe you should either learn some better tactics with your army, pick a different army, or stop playing, because I know that I personally would not want to play someone who can't read the rules and doesn't know what the word move means when used to describe what you do in the movement phase. And if you can do it in the movement phase normally, you can do it in the Scout move.

End of story, not here to debate. You don't like what I said, leave it, but your still wrong if you think you can't shunt during the Scout move.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/04 20:01:35


Post by: tgf


Why do people care, when you give him the teleporter he becomes jump infantry and losses his MC status along with relentless and all the cool other abilities he has.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/04 20:06:27


Post by: Galador


tgf wrote:Why do people care, when you give him the teleporter he becomes jump infantry and losses his MC status along with relentless and all the cool other abilities he has.


lets not open that argument up in this thread also.....


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/04 20:06:44


Post by: Brother Ramses


Galador wrote:So don't Scout move your Dreadknights on him, Just put them in reserve as Outflankers. Then when they come on on his flank during the game, they can cry that they can't outflank with a shunt because its not a normal move also, right??

You arguements hold no water. As much as my squishy DE troops and Vehicles will not like having a Dreadknight or 3 scout move into my face when they have turn 1, deal with it.

Nothing you have said holds water to the rules. the Scout rules states that they can make a normal move, which means anything that the unit does during its movement phase can be done, including smoke launchers. It didn't need to be FAQ'ed, they just needed to FAQ it for people who can't read in order and lack common sense. Turbo-boost didn't need to be FAQ'ed because it is also done in the movement phase and it is a move., but it was FAQ'ed for the same reason as smoke launchers.

If you really need this to not work when it is so simply stated within the rules of the BRB that it can, no matter what army you play, then maybe you should either learn some better tactics with your army, pick a different army, or stop playing, because I know that I personally would not want to play someone who can't read the rules and doesn't know what the word move means when used to describe what you do in the movement phase. And if you can do it in the movement phase normally, you can do it in the Scout move.

End of story, not here to debate. You don't like what I said, leave it, but your still wrong if you think you can't shunt during the Scout move.


You actually spent more time attacking GW FAQs and me then making anything resembling a valid point.

Cool story bro?


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/04 20:06:51


Post by: Jidmah


Because he has a weapons skill of more than 3, and any single model with WS4+ can murder 5000 points worth of tau in close combat.

Plus he can still punch tanks.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/04 20:09:02


Post by: Galador


Jidmah wrote:Because he has a weapons skill of more than 3, and any single model with WS4+ can murder 5000 points worth of tau in close combat.

Plus he can still punch tanks.


you don't need a 4+ to murder Tau in cc, even 5k pts of them..... you only need to show them that knives aren't for "bonding", they are for separating things!! Like separating arms, and fingers and toes and other things from the main body....


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/04 20:14:02


Post by: Jidmah


You're following dash's advice too much


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/04 20:17:34


Post by: lucasbuffalo


Just let Brother Ramses "win" the thread.
He clearly has no interest in logic or reason.
He argues the same points which have been proven wrong, so might as well just drop it and let the troll play.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/04 20:20:45


Post by: Galador


Jidmah wrote:You're following dash's advice too much


You seem to be a bit mistaken, we Dark Eldar follow noone.... we simply do what the Archon (Dash) wants until we see the golden opportunity to kill them and take their place.....


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/04 22:06:39


Post by: bwraith12


BR in your argument above you proved that a shunt move can be done in the scout phase. In the BRB scout move states that in the scout phase you may make a normal move, in the GK codex its states that instead of moving you may make a shunt move. Scout allows you to move and codex allows you to instead of moving your scout move shunt. Nowhere in the codex does it state what phase this has to be done with the only stipulation is that you have to be able to move so that you can replace said move with a shunt hell by that standard you could roll to run which would allow you to move at a minimum of 1 inch and as the rules states instead of moving use your shunt.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/04 22:12:52


Post by: nosferatu1001


BR's "argument" is that, despite the Shunt being referred to repeatedly as a "move" it isnt really a move, honest.

Its a poor argument.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/04 22:26:29


Post by: augustus5


Edit: Arguement removed because I don't care.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/04 22:57:42


Post by: Xca|iber


I'm going to have a mighty laugh when (I guess to be safe I should say if) this get's officially FAQ'd. People are gonna whine so hard.

I don't see anything wrong with shunting during scout moves. It's the same as turboboosting but you can only do it once. I think the argument that it should be treated the same way is pretty solid.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/05 03:54:17


Post by: mpangelu


I think primairly because it doesn't have the limitations that turboboosting has, not that it matters, even if it stays 12" away it will still be on them next turn. I can see pros and cons both ways, and frankly I don't care, I have my point of view on it, but whether or not its how it gets played out,meh, I just go with the flow. You want to throw 3 Dreadknights into my lines front and center.. enjoy if I seize the initiative (wait don't you guys have a guy that lets you re-roll that)... so jelous.. so jelous..


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/05 04:00:21


Post by: em_en_oh_pee


No one taking Shunt lists will have Coteaz, so don't fret. Steal that initiative and crush them.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/05 04:22:22


Post by: mpangelu


Haha, I"m not fretting, I'll go whichver way the faq says or if someone can give me a more persuasive argument then Because I say so, or smoke/tb I'll be glad to concede my opinion on it and change my mind


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/05 04:30:04


Post by: em_en_oh_pee


I just don't see how it can't be seen to work. No one has yet to provide a point of real contention. So, impasse it it.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/05 04:53:19


Post by: shank911


The Absloute closest thing to this case is the instead of shooting running case,

Turbo-Boost arguments are invalid, because TB is a normal move like it or not and was FAQed prove to me from the wording that it isnt a normal more where it stats instead of or the option to this over this, there is NONE.


TB is the name for a bike moving over 12", and a BIKES NORMAL MOVEMENT RANGE is 0"-24" all the time every-time, TB isnt forgoing it as i mentioned it is the move just different name.



Shunt is instead of moving right??

Running is instead of shooting right???





So if you can shunt in scout phae which is special permission to move then, why can i run when i get special permission to shoot from a Old DH Auspex?>?

I cant run when i use a auspex because is specifically states shooting there for i can only shoot.

Shunt is not a move on its on in the game sense,

Its mentions "move" when it says to move you models, otherwise some idiot is gonna say hes shunting and not pick them up.

Because if it said you shunt 30", then whats a shunt?

So they put move to make it idiot proof.



Shunt cant be used when special permission to move in the scout phase is given.



GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/05 04:56:39


Post by: em_en_oh_pee


Check the other thread, I think you are just missing the point entirely. Straw men don't make good arguments, so I quoted the BRB for you.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/05 05:01:04


Post by: mpangelu


Also,t he Smoke launcherr and Turbo Boosting, were faqed.. wait your time and it will probably be faqed as well. .. till then your short a faq... the ohter two arent...


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/05 05:04:30


Post by: em_en_oh_pee


Ignoring the precedent is displaying willful ignorance.

As my little A+B=C example shows, it is perfectly logical to allow Shunting in the Scout phase. To attempt to argue otherwise is just silly.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/05 05:06:19


Post by: lucasbuffalo


mpangelu wrote:Also,t he Smoke launcherr and Turbo Boosting, were faqed.. wait your time and it will probably be faqed as well. .. till then your short a faq... the ohter two arent...


This again?

Look, FAQs are used to explain an unclear rule, not to create new rules entirely.
As such, people shouldn't have to "wait on an FAQ" to make things work the way it makes sense for them to work.
The FAQs are guidelines, and based on those guidelines, (and the Smoke Launcher/Turbo Booster example) the Shunt should work.
If anything, it would take an FAQ contrary to this to make it NOT work.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/05 05:06:57


Post by: Brother Ramses


em_en_oh_pee wrote:Check the other thread, I think you are just missing the point entirely. Straw men don't make good arguments, so I quoted the BRB for you.


I would tell you to do the same and check the Movement rules for bikes. Turbo-boost is smack dab listed right there. It tells you to look under the Turbo-boosters USR, but it is listed as the bikes movement rules.

Even if you disregard that the shunt is done instead of moving, turbo-boosting required a FAQ to be allowed in the Scout move. Got a FAQ allowing a shunt during the Scout move? Then I guess you can't shunt during the Scout move till you get one.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/05 05:08:49


Post by: em_en_oh_pee


I don't need one, because the Codex spells it out pretty clearly. Thanks lucasbuffalo, that was well said.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/05 05:20:18


Post by: Brother Ramses


lucasbuffalo wrote:
mpangelu wrote:Also,t he Smoke launcherr and Turbo Boosting, were faqed.. wait your time and it will probably be faqed as well. .. till then your short a faq... the ohter two arent...


This again?

Look, FAQs are used to explain an unclear rule, not to create new rules entirely.
As such, people shouldn't have to "wait on an FAQ" to make things work the way it makes sense for them to work.
The FAQs are guidelines, and based on those guidelines, (and the Smoke Launcher/Turbo Booster example) the Shunt should work.
If anything, it would take an FAQ contrary to this to make it NOT work.


It is probably time to shut up this mistaken idea of FAQ's

http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m1620222a_40k_Rulebook_version_1_2.pdf

Go read the FAQ for turbo-boosting. The FAQ asks if bikes can turbo-boost in the Scout move and the answer is, yes, NOW THEY CAN. That means that before the FAQ, they were not able to and that after the FAQ they were able. Enough with the FAQ bashing when you don't even read them and see that FAQ have more then plenty of the time done far more then just clarify what can already be done.

Explain why Canis in the SW dex clearly has Rending in his special rules and then the FAQ singles him out by name to include that he cannot rend with his Wolf Claws. That is a clear outright change of the rules in the codex via a FAQ, not even an errata.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/05 05:25:46


Post by: em_en_oh_pee


Canis has Rending because that is part of his Thunderwolf. However, because he has a special weapon, that no longer applies. People probably saw it and weren't sure, hence the confusion. Thus, the FAQ cleared that up.

Plenty of folks were Turbo-Boosting before the FAQ was released and that is why it was included - as a rules clarification.

And, from the Shrine of Knowledge itself:

"The FAQs on the other hand are very much 'soft' material. They deal with more of a grey area, where often there is no right and wrong answer - in a way, they are our own 'Studio House Rules'. They are, of course, useful when you play a pick-up game against someone you don't know, or at tournaments (i.e. when you don't have a set of common 'house rules' with the other player). However, if you disagree with some answers and prefer to change them in your games and make your own house rules with your friends, that's fine. In fact we encourage you to shape the game around your needs and your taste. We firmly believe that wargaming is about two (or more!) people creating a gaming experience they are both going to enjoy. In other words, you might prefer to skip the FAQs altogether and instead always apply the good old 'roll a dice' rule whenever you meet a problematic situation."


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/05 05:36:11


Post by: lucasbuffalo


Brother Ramses wrote:
lucasbuffalo wrote:
mpangelu wrote:Also,t he Smoke launcherr and Turbo Boosting, were faqed.. wait your time and it will probably be faqed as well. .. till then your short a faq... the ohter two arent...


This again?

Look, FAQs are used to explain an unclear rule, not to create new rules entirely.
As such, people shouldn't have to "wait on an FAQ" to make things work the way it makes sense for them to work.
The FAQs are guidelines, and based on those guidelines, (and the Smoke Launcher/Turbo Booster example) the Shunt should work.
If anything, it would take an FAQ contrary to this to make it NOT work.


It is probably time to shut up this mistaken idea of FAQ's

http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m1620222a_40k_Rulebook_version_1_2.pdf

Go read the FAQ for turbo-boosting. The FAQ asks if bikes can turbo-boost in the Scout move and the answer is, yes, NOW THEY CAN. That means that before the FAQ, they were not able to and that after the FAQ they were able. Enough with the FAQ bashing when you don't even read them and see that FAQ have more then plenty of the time done far more then just clarify what can already be done.

Explain why Canis in the SW dex clearly has Rending in his special rules and then the FAQ singles him out by name to include that he cannot rend with his Wolf Claws. That is a clear outright change of the rules in the codex via a FAQ, not even an errata.


The Canis issue has already been addressed. In-game I have seen this treated as a choice... Either use the Claws, or use the Thunderwolves rending ability without them, though this is a house-rule.

"Now they can" does not say "now they can because this FAQ says so" or your argument would be pretty valid.
As is, "now they can" can mean "now they can in 5th edition" "now they can because this is how we always intended it but people were arguing it" "now they can because bikes are cooler in this version of the BRB than ever before" or a large amount of other things. Now they can doesn't imply that it's the FAQ itself that allows it by any means.



GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/05 05:37:00


Post by: Brother Ramses


Canis does not have TWM, he has a Fangir. The rules for Rending attacks not stacking with special close combat weapons is part of he TWM entry, not the Fangir entry.

So RAW, Canis has Rending Wolf Claws. The FAQ changed that RAW.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
lucasbuffalo wrote:
Brother Ramses wrote:
lucasbuffalo wrote:
mpangelu wrote:Also,t he Smoke launcherr and Turbo Boosting, were faqed.. wait your time and it will probably be faqed as well. .. till then your short a faq... the ohter two arent...


This again?

Look, FAQs are used to explain an unclear rule, not to create new rules entirely.
As such, people shouldn't have to "wait on an FAQ" to make things work the way it makes sense for them to work.
The FAQs are guidelines, and based on those guidelines, (and the Smoke Launcher/Turbo Booster example) the Shunt should work.
If anything, it would take an FAQ contrary to this to make it NOT work.


It is probably time to shut up this mistaken idea of FAQ's

http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m1620222a_40k_Rulebook_version_1_2.pdf

Go read the FAQ for turbo-boosting. The FAQ asks if bikes can turbo-boost in the Scout move and the answer is, yes, NOW THEY CAN. That means that before the FAQ, they were not able to and that after the FAQ they were able. Enough with the FAQ bashing when you don't even read them and see that FAQ have more then plenty of the time done far more then just clarify what can already be done.

Explain why Canis in the SW dex clearly has Rending in his special rules and then the FAQ singles him out by name to include that he cannot rend with his Wolf Claws. That is a clear outright change of the rules in the codex via a FAQ, not even an errata.


The Canis issue has already been addressed. In-game I have seen this treated as a choice... Either use the Claws, or use the Thunderwolves rending ability without them, though this is a house-rule.

"Now they can" does not say "now they can because this FAQ says so" or your argument would be pretty valid.
As is, "now they can" can mean "now they can in 5th edition" "now they can because this is how we always intended it but people were arguing it" "now they can because bikes are cooler in this version of the BRB than ever before" or a large amount of other things. Now they can doesn't imply that it's the FAQ itself that allows it by any means.



Hahaha, the FAQ flat out says now they can, which blasts holes in the statements that the FAQ do not change the rules, so now you apply your own additions to the FAQ to make your point?

Now they can signifies that before, "now" they couldn't. Nice try though. /picard





GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/05 05:46:08


Post by: lucasbuffalo


Brother Ramses wrote:Canis does not have TWM, he has a Fangir. The rules for Rending attacks not stacking with special close combat weapons is part of he TWM entry, not the Fangir entry.

So RAW, Canis has Rending Wolf Claws. The FAQ changed that RAW.



Q. Does a Thunderwolf Cavalry model with a special close
combat weapon (eg a thunder hammer) still have rending
attacks? (p34)
A. No. The description of the Thunderwolf mount on page
62 says that it ʻ… has the Rending special rule in close
combat with any attack that does not use a special close
combat weaponʼ. This applies to Thunderwolf Cavalry as
well (and Canis Wolfborn, for that matter).

This was a simple clarification that Canis Wolfborn is indeed a Thunderwolf Calvary HQ
Also, his wargear Fangir states:
"Fangir: Fangir is a monstrous Thunderwolf" and goes on to explain that Canis's improved profile is due to this.

Edit: Add "nice try though" sarcasm.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/05 05:52:00


Post by: Brother Ramses


Fluff isn't rules.

Canis is mounted on Fangir, not TWM or TWC.

The FAQ goes on to apply the TWM entry to TWC and Canis for that matter, meaning they added the TWM restriction to TWC, which did not have it and to Fangir, which did not have it. They did not clarify the TWM rule of non-rending special close combat rules, they added it via a FAQ to TWC and Fangir.

So much for the FAQ not adding rules and only clarifying.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/05 06:05:17


Post by: lucasbuffalo


"A character with a Thunderwolf Mount has the unit type "calvary", adds +1 Strength, +1 Toughness, and +1 attack to his profile, and has the rending special rule in close combat with any attack that does not use a special close combat weapon. Pg. 62 of the SW codex.

The Thunderwolf cavalry are obviously SW on Thunderwolf Mounts. The FAQ clarifies this fact. It's obvious that a "Thunderwolf Cavalry" is "cavalry" riding "Thunderwolves".
Again, the FAQ is clarifying something that might be unclear to people who don't like to apply blatantly obvious logic to a situation.

Also, how does Fangir saying it is a Thunderwolf make it not a Thunderwolf.
This argument is baffling.

But really, every argument you have is. You nit-pick small points you think are important while blindly ignoring the plethora of examples others provide to the contrary. You're determined that they can't use their teleporters. Awesome. But don't try to prove your point by stating things like the contrary of what the FAQ page itself clearly states it is.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/05 06:26:01


Post by: nosferatu1001


BR - RAW he has NEVER had Rending Wolf Claws. Have a look back at when the SW dex was released - this was one of the areas that was immediately picked up on.

UNlike Shrike he has *never* had permission to have both rending and (special claw ability)

So not only are you wrong on shunting MOVES occurring in the Scout phase but you are wrong on this. 0 for 2.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/05 08:49:15


Post by: Brother Ramses


Lucas, how about you check the wargear entry for TWC and point out the TWM of it and tell me how that works out.

How about this,

TWM can only join TWC and Fenrisian Wolves.

That means RAW, every single multi-thunderlord list joined together to make thunder wolf deathstar units are illegal. Thunderlord joining an Iron Priest on a TWM? Illegal,

It was not a clarification because RAW, when the codex came out, TWM were not TWC and Fangir was neither as well. Canis does not have TWM in his wargear entry and TWC does not have TWM in their wargear entry. GW didn't errata it as they should because it was an error, instead they backdoored a rules change with a FAQ.

And really Nos? You have been wrong on Shunts and on this, 0-2 for you.....duuuuuurrrr! That is like hopping into the thread at the third post, sayong it has been resolved, according to you, and then asking for a lock.

For someone that cannot tell the difference between game movement and the physical mechanic of moving a model you sure try and act witty.

"I am going to make a Scout move with an action that I do instead of moving even though my Scout move requires that I make a normal move!"

Haahahahahahahahahahahaha, classic!


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/05 08:55:21


Post by: nosferatu1001


Classy BR. Classy

Since you are unable to reconcile your "it isnt a move!!!!!" argument with the multiple mentions that it IS a move I guess you concede.

RAW, you cannot apply "rending" to a Special CCW unless the rule SPECIFICALLY states you can, like Shrikes. Canis didnt, so he *never* had rending. Nice try at ignoring rules though. Doing well.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/05 08:56:29


Post by: em_en_oh_pee


Brother Ramses wrote:"I am going to make a Scout move with an action that I do instead of moving even though my Scout move requires that I make a normal move!"

Haahahahahahahahahahahaha, classic!


So, what is a "normal" move as defined explicitly by the BRB? Got a page number I can reference to see the difference between "normal" and other types of movement?


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/05 09:08:18


Post by: Jidmah


Don't feed the troll.
His entire argument is based on a single word in a rule while he chosese to ignore four other words in the same rule. <removed after mod post> Either way he obviously does not care for actual written WH40k rules, so no point in discussing them with him.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/05 09:17:08


Post by: reds8n


I understand it can get frustrating, but please take a breath/count to 10 and then post. We can do without the flames, hyperbole and personal attacks. Ta.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/05 17:21:06


Post by: PsyberAngel


Just my two pennies,

At the end of the "Personal Teleporters" entry on page 28 of codex Grey Knights it states:

"The unit counts as having moved" so technically, wouldn't a shunt move count as a "Normal" move?

Psy.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/05 17:24:44


Post by: kirsanth


PsyberAngel wrote:At the end of the "Personal Teleporters" entry on page 28 of codex Grey Knights it states:

"The unit counts as having moved" so technically, wouldn't a shunt move count as a "Normal" move?
If you can figure out what move normally is, or if it had stated "The unit counts as having moved normally".

Until then it seems that anything that can ever occur in the movement phase is normal, and they had absolutely no need to write that word into the sentence other than deliberately attempting to confuse people.



GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/05 17:50:44


Post by: FlingitNow



Until then it seems that anything that can ever occur in the movement phase is normal, and they had absolutely no need to write that word into the sentence other than deliberately attempting to confuse people.


I doubt the word was needed the most likely reason the word is there is to clarify that the scout does not require its own movement rules and that you move as you would normally. That people cling to that word to discount "non-normal" movement (yet no such movement is ever defined or clarified and nothing else following that pattern is denied) syas more about them than GWs rules writing capabilities.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/05 17:58:53


Post by: kirsanth


FlingitNow wrote:That people cling to that word to discount "non-normal" movement (yet no such movement is ever defined or clarified and nothing else following that pattern is denied) syas more about them than GWs rules writing capabilities.
That people feel the need to passively insult folks who ask if the words written in the rules affect those rules tells more about them than it does about their ability to debate.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/05 18:19:34


Post by: sourclams


Don't be ridiculous. History has proven time and again that GW rules writing is not up to technical standards and while the intellectual exercise can be interesting, the "pure" RAW rarely follow any sort of common language and leave huge areas of interpretation and loopholes.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/05 18:23:32


Post by: kirsanth


sourclams wrote:the "pure" RAW rarely follow any sort of common language and leave huge areas of interpretation and loopholes.
And "pure" RAI leaves you playing Calvin-ball.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/05 18:45:51


Post by: liam0404


Just as an "what were they thinking?!?!"aside, who decided that a 30" free move with no scatter was a sensible thing to include in ANY codex?

That person needs a punch in the face.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/05 19:10:09


Post by: shank911


Was normal move ever used in 4th edition rulebook?

Or any preceding codex entry? or Rulebook?

Its in the FAQ quite a bit but not as a definite answer, although you could piece one together.


I see the FAQ coming saying you can scout move and shunt but that you still cant assault first turn.
my 2cents


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/05 19:41:23


Post by: nosferatu1001


Why would it prevent assaulting first turn?

You do realisae that first turn assaults have been around since 1998, yes?


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/05 19:48:48


Post by: Bloodhorror


can anyone point me or tell me if i give a Dreadknight a Jump Pack (making it Jump Infantry) Does it still count as an MC meaning it can't go in a Stromraven?

or can it now due to it being Jump Infantry?


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/05 19:55:34


Post by: shank911


No it cant, it doesnt lose MC status like a Daemon prince with wings---> MC with jump infantry movement.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/05 19:57:41


Post by: kirsanth


shank911 wrote:like a Daemon prince with wings
Probably a bad example as a daemon prince with wings is a MC that moves like Jump Infantry.

Daemon princes cannot have jump packs, which is what makes equiped units Jump Infantry.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/05 19:59:54


Post by: Pied_Piper11


ok, please correct me if i am wrong.
you can give the Dreadknight the personal teleporter. have him infiltrate within 18. scout move within 12. move 11. assault 1. and you save your shunt for later.

or

set up as far towards you opponent as possable (12 on pitched battle) scout move 12 (24 inches in) move 12 as JI (36 inches in) assault 6 (42 inches in). so unless your opponent has everything on the back 5 3/4 you can still do it.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/05 20:02:38


Post by: AlmightyWalrus


Pied_Piper11 wrote:ok, please correct me if i am wrong.
you can give the Dreadknight the personal teleporter. have him infiltrate within 18. scout move within 12. move 11. assault 1. and you save your shunt for later.

or

set up as far towards you opponent as possable (12 on pitched battle) scout move 12 (24 inches in) move 12 as JI (36 inches in) assault 6 (42 inches in). so unless your opponent has everything on the back 5 3/4 you can still do it.


Can't infiltrate it, you can only give it scouts by using the Grand Strategy special rule of a Grey Knight Grand Master, generic or named.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/05 20:05:38


Post by: Brother Ramses


At work, but Scout USR allows the unit to also Infiltrate iirc.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/05 20:07:48


Post by: kirsanth


Scout allows scout or outflank, not infiltrate.

Infiltrate allows infiltrate or outflank, not scout.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/05 20:08:02


Post by: em_en_oh_pee


Ninja'd


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/05 20:08:11


Post by: Pied_Piper11


yes scout USR allows for infiltrate or outflank and scout move


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/05 20:09:42


Post by: Brother Ramses


kirsanth wrote:Scout allows scout or outflank, not infiltrate.

Infiltrate allows infiltrate or outflank, not scout.


That is right. I knew there is like a little sentence at the end that it was Scout also confers <blank>.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Pied_Piper11 wrote:yes scout USR allows for infiltrate or outflank and scout move


Wait what now?


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/05 20:10:16


Post by: shank911


And it says interceptor squads only. So... yea this codex blows hard when it comes to someone having actual proof-read everything.

Come on who gets paid for this.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Hope the FAQ comes out before Saturday lol


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/05 20:31:44


Post by: AlmightyWalrus


shank911 wrote:And it says interceptor squads only. So... yea this codex blows hard when it comes to someone having actual proof-read everything.

Come on who gets paid for this.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Hope the FAQ comes out before Saturday lol


It says "Interceptor Squads only" because it's detailing Strike Squads and Interceptor Squads on the same page, as the only difference between them statswise is the teleporter pack. Doesn't take a genius to figure out...


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/05 20:32:29


Post by: Pied_Piper11


shank911 wrote:And it says interceptor squads only. So... yea this codex blows hard when it comes to someone having actual proof-read everything.

Come on who gets paid for this.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Hope the FAQ comes out before Saturday lol


it states(p94)

*may take a personal teleporter

*this works just like the interceptor squad personal teleporter(page 28)

(p28)

Personal Teleporter (Intercepter Squad only)
Units with personal teleporters are Jump Infantry. Once per game, the unit can elect to make a teleport shunt, the unit immediately makes a move of up to 30" in any direction. This move cannot end on top of units terrain and so on. A unit that moves via a teleport shunt cannot assault in the same turn, although it can shoot or run as normal. The unit counts as having moved.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/06 07:27:50


Post by: Jidmah


Pied_Piper11 wrote:yes scout USR allows for infiltrate or outflank and scout move


Scout does not allow you to infiltrate.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/06 12:19:40


Post by: Pied_Piper11


Jidmah wrote:
Pied_Piper11 wrote:yes scout USR allows for infiltrate or outflank and scout move


Scout does not allow you to infiltrate.


i misread it

you are correct.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/06 13:23:14


Post by: Homer S


shank911 wrote:No it cant, it doesnt lose MC status like a Daemon prince with wings---> MC with jump infantry movement.

Did you just make this up? Look below...

Pied_Piper11 wrote:
it states(p94)

*may take a personal teleporter

*this works just like the interceptor squad personal teleporter(page 28)

(p28)

Personal Teleporter (Intercepter Squad only)
Units with personal teleporters are Jump Infantry. Once per game, the unit can elect to make a teleport shunt, the unit immediately makes a move of up to 30" in any direction. This move cannot end on top of units terrain and so on. A unit that moves via a teleport shunt cannot assault in the same turn, although it can shoot or run as normal. The unit counts as having moved.

No where does this say that it keeps it's MC status. While RAI it should, RAW it does not.

Homer


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/06 13:46:16


Post by: Jidmah


Funny nitpick: only units with personal teleporters are Jump Infantry. the dread knight only has one


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/06 14:03:42


Post by: Pied_Piper11


Jidmah wrote:Funny nitpick: only units with personal teleporters are Jump Infantry. the dread knight only has one


but 1 is a unit.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/06 14:12:33


Post by: nosferatu1001


He is stating that you need to have teleporterS, and the DK only has A teleporter.


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/06 15:03:36


Post by: Pied_Piper11


can i take a unit of 3 dreadknights as 1 HS choice? that would be great. but you have 10 guys at +6 points each for the teleporterS and a MC gets it for +75. he must have many teleporterS attached to him for those point costs.(LOL)


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/06 16:04:21


Post by: Galador


Pied_Piper11 wrote: can i take a unit of 3 dreadknights as 1 HS choice? that would be great. but you have 10 guys at +6 points each for the teleporterS and a MC gets it for +75. he must have many teleporterS attached to him for those point costs.(LOL)


Or maybe just one REALLY big one??? It is about 10 times larger than a standard GK, so......


GK Personal Teleporters and the Dreadknight @ 2011/04/06 18:16:40


Post by: Jidmah


RAW it is only one teleporter!