| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/11/05 19:23:44
Subject: Teleport homers and Deep strike
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
this is an odd quesiton, so please forgive it and my situation. Im getting into the game, and my first choice of an army is Daemonhunters. I already have the BBB and the DH codex, anyway, here's my question: I've heard that in the case of Teleport homers (and other things), you default to the SM codex instead of the DH codex version of it's function. If i remember correctly, the DH version states that the model with the beacon is a starting point, and the player rolls as scatter die + a D6 for scatter distance, after that, the player places the deepstruck units in a ring around the first in BtB contact. the SM version as i've heard it (i don't have the SM codex.) Suggests that the deepstruck squad does not need to scatter, and infact just lands in a ring around the beacon-holding model. If im wrong, please let me know. Oh, and by extension, is there any other places where rules from one, more recent codex superceed older codecies? Like SM's 4th edition codex possibly overlapping with DH's 3rd edition vintage? Thanks.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/11/05 21:31:01
Subject: RE: Teleport homers and Deep strike
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
for space marines
the model with the homer must be on the table and if a squad teleporting in decides to deep strike within 6 inches of the model with the homer then they do not scatter
I am not sure about daemonhunters I don't have my codex handy
|
Brother Snafu |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/11/05 22:01:31
Subject: RE: Teleport homers and Deep strike
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
ah ha! you are correct, i remember that being the description.
Now my question is: when playing a DH army, would i use the DH beacon rules, or the SM beacon rules?
and by extension, would there be any other instance where the SM codex takes precedent of the DH codex, due to it being newer.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/11/05 22:33:47
Subject: RE: Teleport homers and Deep strike
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
I will have a look at my codex when I get home from work and see what I can find
|
Brother Snafu |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/11/05 22:36:34
Subject: RE: Teleport homers and Deep strike
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
There is a Wargear reference book which contains all the updated weapons, stats and wargear.
In the case of Teleport Homers and other pieces of wargear, they have been combined together into a single entry in the Wargear Book with icons on which armies use them (so for instance, the new SM teleport homer rules are now used for all Space Marines, Chaos Space Marines and Inquisitorial codexes).
In some cases, the wargear desrcriptions have remained seperate (Terminator armor for example), and in those cases the original DH codex version would take precdence.
So my suggestion would be to pick up a copy of the Wargear book if this kind of issue is really bothering you. Also, definitely check out the DH FAQ on the GW website although in some cases it can be a bit more confusing than helpful.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/11/06 05:28:10
Subject: RE: Teleport homers and Deep strike
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
the DH FAQ is outdated, the only thing it's good for is proving that DH assault cannons have rending, like everything else.
Alright, thanks! This book should have updated point costs for stuff as well, yes?
and one last question: the land-raider crusader: has that changed in point cost or equipment since the new SM codex was released? i heard it was.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/11/06 05:37:28
Subject: RE: Teleport homers and Deep strike
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Relating to telport homers, Can a squad with it move then the player rolls for deapstriking units? I always thought deepstriking was done before movement just like summoning or possesion?
|
The sword is a weapon for killing . . . . . . the art of the sword . . . . . .is the art of killing . . No matter what fancy word . . . . . you use . . . . . . or what titles . . . . .you put to it . . . . that is the only truth . . |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/11/06 06:57:27
Subject: RE: Teleport homers and Deep strike
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Posted By Shyft on 11/06/2006 10:28 AM Alright, thanks! This book should have updated point costs for stuff as well, yes? No, the Wargear book doesn't have points costs. They remain as printed in the codex. As for the Land Raider Crusader, yes, it has been updated, with the new Machine Spirit, Hurricane Bolter and Assault Cannon rules. Points cost remains as printed in the codex until errata says otherwise. Lost Boys: Deep Striking is indeed done at the start of the movement phase.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/11/06 13:48:03
Subject: RE: Teleport homers and Deep strike
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Deep Strike is rolled before the movement phase, so no a person wtih a homer cannot move his model then call down his deep strikers. Just wish they would make the summoning rules more like the deep strike ones
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/11/06 14:01:18
Subject: RE: Teleport homers and Deep strike
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Posted By rjames37 on 11/06/2006 6:48 PM Deep Strike is rolled before the movement phase, so no a person wtih a homer cannot move his model then call down his deep strikers. Just wish they would make the summoning rules more like the deep strike ones That is factually incorrect. Deep Strike is rolled for at the start of the turn which also happens to be the start of the movement phase. Luckily the Teleport Homer rules state that the model with the homer must begin the turn on the table in order for it to be used that turn.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/11/07 09:36:45
Subject: RE: Teleport homers and Deep strike
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
The drinking halls of Fenris or South London as its sometimes called
|
@ YAKFACE what happens if the model with the homer is on a bike and moves 24" then the termies deep strike? is that allowed as the model with the homer started on the table.
|
R.I.P Amy Winehouse
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/11/07 10:00:32
Subject: RE: Teleport homers and Deep strike
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
He already answered that: "Deep Strike is rolled for at the start of the turn which also happens to be the start of the movement phase."
You can't move anything else first. Deep Strike happens at the start of the Movement Phase.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/11/07 10:44:09
Subject: RE: Teleport homers and Deep strike
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
The drinking halls of Fenris or South London as its sometimes called
|
thanks for explaing that in laymans terms for me.
|
R.I.P Amy Winehouse
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/12/06 06:56:38
Subject: RE: Teleport homers and Deep strike
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
ok...so just to clarify...lets say its round 2 or 3, hypothetically, the start of my turn i have a model with the teleport homer ans i say ok 'my termies are coming on the board now'. as long as i do this AT THE BEGINNING of my turn its ok? (havent played in about 2-3 years and am looking for clarification myself on how this works)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/12/06 07:15:09
Subject: RE: Teleport homers and Deep strike
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
No that is not how it works. All the teleport homer does is prevent the deep striking models from scattering. Normal rolls for reserves still are in effect, just the chance of scattering into models/terrain is significantly reduced
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/12/06 07:30:40
Subject: RE: Teleport homers and Deep strike
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
ah!! ok thanks..but i follow the chart still for the turn of the game yes? like if its turn 3 or 4, as an example i wouldnt start the chart witht the first number needed to roll as on turn 2? (sorry i dont have the rulebook in front of me-im at work right now).
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/12/06 08:23:19
Subject: RE: Teleport homers and Deep strike
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Staring on turn two, yes you roll for reserves
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/12/06 12:12:32
Subject: RE: Teleport homers and Deep strike
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
yes..but i mean i DONT HAVE TO roll on turn 2 if i dont want to bring them on yet?...if i want to bring them on later, THEN i start to roll for them...but, if i start on say turn 3, would i roll the number needed on turn 3 as if i failed on turn 2 or roll the number for turn 2 since that would be the first turn im actually rolling?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/12/06 12:46:29
Subject: RE: Teleport homers and Deep strike
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
No, you don't get to choose when to start rolling. You roll on turn 2, and every successive turn, and must bring units on as soon as they become available.
The Reserves rules entry specifies that you roll for each unit each turn from turn 2. No option is given to choose not to roll.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/12/06 13:58:05
Subject: RE: Teleport homers and Deep strike
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
yes..ok just got my hands on my rulebook..ok fair enough..will be intersting with my templar crusader squad moving then teleporting a termie squad in....
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/12/06 21:58:37
Subject: RE: Teleport homers and Deep strike
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
The drinking halls of Fenris or South London as its sometimes called
|
You cant do that in the same turn.
|
R.I.P Amy Winehouse
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/12/07 00:45:46
Subject: RE: Teleport homers and Deep strike
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
The way it works is that at the START of your turn before movement phase has begun you roll for reserves. If your roll allows the unit that is deep striking to come in, then you place them on the board. After all of your reserve rolls are made (IE if you have 2 deep striking units, you would roll twice) then your movement phase begins.
Also note that in order for the homer to actually work, the model that has this peice of wargear must be on the board the turn you use the wargear. This just means that you cannot have this peice of wargear inside a vehicle or off the board. It has to be on the playing field the turn you want to use it
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/12/07 01:36:29
Subject: RE: Teleport homers and Deep strike
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Here's another interesting teleport homer titbit: You don't get to place the deepstriking model within 6" of it. You place the model, then if it happens to be within 6" it doesn't scatter. Otherwise it does. That of course assumes you play such that you can only measure what the rules allow you to measure.
|
"I've still got a job, so the rules must be good enough" - Design team motto. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/12/07 03:43:26
Subject: RE: Teleport homers and Deep strike
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Posted By mauleed on 12/07/2006 6:36 AM Here's another interesting teleport homer titbit: You don't get to place the deepstriking model within 6" of it. You place the model, then if it happens to be within 6" it doesn't scatter. Otherwise it does. That of course assumes you play such that you can only measure what the rules allow you to measure. huh? sorry you lost me there...so even with the tp homer they cant 'port in by the homing device?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/12/07 03:45:12
Subject: RE: Teleport homers and Deep strike
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Posted By btprelate on 12/06/2006 6:58 PM yes..ok just got my hands on my rulebook..ok fair enough..will be intersting with my templar crusader squad moving then teleporting a termie squad in.... ok what i meant was it will be fun to move them turn 1, then on turn 2 see if the termies 'port in, BEFORE i move, and hope the termies are in range of something to shoot the azz cannons at otherwise i can see what the enemy's priority target will be.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/12/07 04:00:39
Subject: RE: Teleport homers and Deep strike
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
What's confusing you? You place the model, if it happens to be within 6" you don't have to scatter. If you misjudged the 6", you scatter.
|
"I've still got a job, so the rules must be good enough" - Design team motto. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/12/07 04:21:16
Subject: RE: Teleport homers and Deep strike
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I believe what maulee is saying is that you do not get to premeasure when placing the model. IE kinda like old guess weapons
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/12/07 05:04:16
Subject: RE: Teleport homers and Deep strike
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Posted by moosifer on 12/07/06 12:21 PM I believe what maulee is saying is that you do not get to premeasure when placing the model. IE kinda like old guess weapons Actually you do not get to premeasure when you fire any type of weapon.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/12/07 06:51:58
Subject: RE: Teleport homers and Deep strike
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Unless you have 1 of 2 things 1.) A targeter peice of wargear 2.) A Basilisk
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/12/07 07:23:07
Subject: RE: Teleport homers and Deep strike
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
no pre-measure with basi. Actually, the indirect fire rules and the teleport homer rules that mauleed mentioned are pretty much a parallel.
1. Place Blast Templete/teleporting model. 2. Check for LOS and range from firer/Homer carrier to Blast Template/teleporting model
Although LOS isn't needed for the Homer if the item in question is out of range then "no soup for you!" The shot misses/ the teleporting model must roll for scatter.
I would just like to clarify something for myself here. I have always played that the center model is the only one that must be in range of the homer. In other words the steps are as follows: 1. Place teleporting model 2. Measure range 3. If in range place rest of unit around central model as described in BGB. If out of range roll for scatter, place model in new location, then place rest of unit.
After reading the rules though I suppose they might mean that the ENTIRE teleporting unit must be within 6" of the homer. This would make for some wacky in game effects though since you would place the entire squad THEN roll for the distance to the homer and if out of range pick the squad back up, roll for scatter, reposition the central model, and place the unit again.
Thoughts?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|