Switch Theme:

New UK 40K GT FAQ published  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut







http://warhammerworld.typepad.com/warhammer_world_news/files/warhammer_40k_gt_heat_1_house_rules_10.10.07.pdf


Better than previous efforts and some interesting answers. Hopefully this one will be re-done though:

Q. Can a unit of Swooping Hawks Deep Strike, and Skyleap in the same turn?
A. Yes


Hodge-Podge says: Run with the Devil, Shout Satan's Might. Deathtongue! Deathtongue! The Beast arises tonight!
 
   
Made in us
Foul Dwimmerlaik






Minneapolis, MN

warhammerworld.typepad.com/warhammer_world_news/files/warhammer_40k_gt_heat_1_house_rules_10.10.07.pdf

Heh. Somehow I knew GW intentions for swooping hawks were like that.

In your face, Yakface!

But seriously though, its not an official FAQ for the armies, but its something, I guess.

I found these interesting:

Q. Can I assault an Eldar guardian weapons platform if it is the only model in range?
A. For the purposes of the Grand Tournament, use the platform as a marker determining
which of the guardian models is actually firing the gun. This guardian model will be
used for range purposes and the weapons platform will have no actual in-game
purpose.

Obvious typo here...*sigh*


Q. Are Eldar psychic powers subject to the shooting rules in the 40K rulebook (as stated
in the psychic powers section) or do they happen exactly as in the Codex?
A. As in the codex.

VERY interesting.

   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Some really useful answers in there though

Q. Is a model that moved with a Rapid Fire weapon allowed to fire only once at a target
within 12" instead of twice (say, to avoid "Gets Hot")?
A. Only if it remained stationary during the turn, otherwise, it must shot twice as per the
Rapid Fire rules.

Q. If a model armed with a 'gets hot' rapid fire weapon shoots suffers multiple get hot
results (e.g. shoots twice and rolls a 1 and a 2), does it make a single saving throw or
one for each get hot result? If it makes multiple saving throws does it suffer one
wound per failed save or one wound if any of the saves are failed?
A. It would make one armour save.

Q. Can you shoot at enemy units through the legs of a vehicle with a base such as a
sentinel, dreadnought, or monstrous creature?
A. No, as the base itself is used to determine what LoS is blocked, you would not be
able to shoot through the legs of a model.

Q. When a multiple-wound unit (that already contains a wounded model) suffers a
wound that will cause instant death, is the owning player compelled to put it on an
unwounded (whole?) model or can they choose to place it on the already wounded
model?
A. Yes, you must remove whole unwounded models where possible from an Instant
Death attack.

Q. When an Independent Character is joined to or part of unit, and that unit is wiped out
by shooting at what point does the character become independent, and can enemy
units that fired at the unit still assault the remaining character?
A. As soon as the last model in the unit is killed the character will return to being
independent. Units may still assault the character if they shot at the original unit.

Q. What constitutes the Deployment Zone board edge for the purposes of deploying
reserves for both Corner and Long Board Edge deployment missions?
A. Corner deployment - The table edges that make up the deployment table quarter (i.e.
2'+3' of table edge).
Long Board Edge deployment - The full long deployment table edge, plus both short
table edges that make up part of the deployment zone (i.e. 6'+12"+12" of table edge).

Q. If a unit with the Fleet ability Deep Strikes, can it then fleet instead of shooting?
A. No, units may not move on the turn they Deep Strike.

Q. Do the rulebook versions of the Universal Special Rules fully replace their codex
counter-parts, or do permissions and restrictions located within the rules text remain
in effect?
A. Only the actual rules are replaced ? permissions and restrictions remain in effect.

Q. Does the Veil of Tears power work against every weapon, even guess range
weapons and markerlight hits?
A. Every model targeting the Harlequin unit needs to test against the Veil if they with to
shoot at them, regardless of the weapon type.

Q. If a model has Rending Claws and also a Bio-Plasma attack, does the Bio-Plasma
attack count as Rending?
A. Yes

Q. Does this mean a model with a powerfist loses the double strength bonus when
attacking a monolith?
A. No, he will still receive the double strength bonus against a Monolith.

Q. Can Fire Prisms using the combined shot ability count the raised strength against a
Monolith?
A. Yes



Hodge-Podge says: Run with the Devil, Shout Satan's Might. Deathtongue! Deathtongue! The Beast arises tonight!
 
   
Made in us
Phanobi





Paso Robles, CA, USA

So how official are these? Are they officially official or unofficially official (like Jervis' DA FAQ)?

Ozymandias, King of Kings

My name is Ozymandias, King of Kings.
Look on My works, Ye Mighty, and despair.

Chris Gohlinghorst wrote:Holy Space Marine on a Stick.

This conversation has even begun to boggle my internet-hardened mind.

A More Wretched Hive of Scum and Villainy 
   
Made in gb
Daring Dark Eldar Raider Rider




Between a rock and a hard place

Q. If a model has Rending Claws and also a Bio-Plasma attack, does the Bio-Plasma
attack count as Rending?
A. Yes


What

The

Hell?!?!

Meh, at least no one uses Bio-plasma. But still, wtf?

"The Imperium looks at it this way. Your armor can either protect you from an anti-tank rocket, or a garden hose. But not both".
DragonPup

"I'd rather be drowned in options than parched in the desert of GW's production schedule."
Phryxis 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Striking Scorpion



In my happy place, I'm in my happy place...

So are they saying spirit stones don't matter for this?

Q. Can a Farseer target a carnifex with mind war and then a unit of gaunts with eldritch
storm.
A. No, he can only use one of those powers in the shooting phase per turn.


Orion
   
Made in us
Phanobi





Paso Robles, CA, USA

Also just noticed:

Q. When do you roll for reserves, and at what point do those models have to come onto
the board?
A. All reserve rolls are made at the start of the turn, before anything else. Once you
have determined which units will be available that turn, they may move on from the
table edge during your movement phase.


So I can scout and move my Ravenwing bikes and THEN bring in my DS'ing Deathwing? That's a lot more powerful.

Ozymandias, King of Kings

My name is Ozymandias, King of Kings.
Look on My works, Ye Mighty, and despair.

Chris Gohlinghorst wrote:Holy Space Marine on a Stick.

This conversation has even begun to boggle my internet-hardened mind.

A More Wretched Hive of Scum and Villainy 
   
Made in us
Foul Dwimmerlaik






Minneapolis, MN

Many of these make alot of sense (to me) and many, as Fourganger88 noted... WTF?

well, atleast GW does take note of these criticisms even if they wont reply to the thread.

I see alot of these rulings to be changed before the Heats.

   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Perrysburg, OH

Seeing as Mike and I got burned on this issue last year, the FAQ team did a horrible job addressing this issue.  How the hell is someone going to prepare appropriately based on a case by case basis?  :S

Page 37 of the rulebook says: "You may not move models within 1” of enemy models from any unit they are not charging." If two units are interspersed in a way that it is impossible to get into base contact with a model in either unit without coming within 1" of a model from the other unit (this is easily possible if all the models in both enemy units are in base contact with each other), can a single model or unit still initiate this charge?

A. For the purposes of the 40k Grand Tournament, this will be dealt with on a case by case basis.


- Greg



 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Striking Scorpion



In my happy place, I'm in my happy place...

Ozy as the scout move takes place before the 1st turn starts you have alsways been able to do this.

Orion
   
Made in us
Phanobi





Paso Robles, CA, USA

Orion, I knew that. This FAQ lets me make my scout move, roll for reserves, then move my bikes (or turboboost) and then deepstrike my terminators!

Ozymandias, King of Kings

My name is Ozymandias, King of Kings.
Look on My works, Ye Mighty, and despair.

Chris Gohlinghorst wrote:Holy Space Marine on a Stick.

This conversation has even begun to boggle my internet-hardened mind.

A More Wretched Hive of Scum and Villainy 
   
Made in be
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets



Right behind you...

Posted By Ozymandias on 10/10/2007 1:51 PM
Also just noticed:

Q. When do you roll for reserves, and at what point do those models have to come onto
the board?
A. All reserve rolls are made at the start of the turn, before anything else. Once you
have determined which units will be available that turn, they may move on from the
table edge during your movement phase.


So I can scout and move my Ravenwing bikes and THEN bring in my DS'ing Deathwing? That's a lot more powerful.

Ozymandias, King of Kings
Ahhh. I feel so vindicated...  Even though this isn't official for anything other than the GT...


Armies in my closet:  
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




United Kingdom

Posted By Ozymandias on 10/10/2007 2:32 PM
Orion, I knew that. This FAQ lets me make my scout move, roll for reserves, then move my bikes (or turboboost) and then deepstrike my terminators!

Ozymandias, King of Kings

uh - scout move is pre game, reserves are from turn 2 onwards, you have always been able to scout, normal move, roll for turn 2 reserves and deploy. To best of my knowledge you are still not able to scout move, roll for reserves (turn 1!!) then move,  then deploy. Am I missing something here.


[edit] never mind, realised your previous post was about deathwing!
   
Made in us
Sneaky Striking Scorpion



In my happy place, I'm in my happy place...

Holy crap Oz, I just reread that too, that is insane, "Yes my termies are starting on your board edge, they like it there"

 

Puree, Deathwing are special (like the short bus kind) and some get to come on in turn 1.

Orion

   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Q. If a Plasma Gun is carried by a biker, can it fire the full distance even if the model
moved?
A. Yes


UHhhhhhh... What?
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


I see they lifted several questions (and in some cases) answers directly from my FAQ. . .I guess its good to see that at least the UK events department has read my FAQ.


But just like last year people, this FAQ is compiled by the events organizer of the UKGT and is only official for the UKGT. The person writing it always seems to make some really, really bizarre rulings IMHO.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
!!Goffik Rocker!!





(THIS SPACE INTENTIONALLY LEFT BLANK)

I'm dissapointed they didn't cover the chaos lashwhip.

----------------

Do you remember that time that thing happened?
This is a bad thread and you should all feel bad 
   
Made in us
Rogue Daemonhunter fueled by Chaos






Toledo, OH

From the questions (Siren, infiltrating daemonic speed) they're answering questions from the old chaos book.

   
Made in us
[DCM]
GW Public Relations Manager (Privateer Press Mole)







Edited for my own stupidity~~


Adepticon TT 2009---Best Heretical Force
Adepticon 2010---Best Appearance Warhammer Fantasy Warbands
Adepticon 2011---Best Team Display
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Los Angeles

Posted By yakface on 10/10/2007 6:35 PM

I see they lifted several questions (and in some cases) answers directly from my FAQ. . .I guess its good to see that at least the UK events department has read my FAQ.

That's bittersweet.

"The last known instance of common sense happened at a GT. A player tried to use the 'common sense' argument vs. Mauleed to justify his turbo-boosted bikes getting a saving throw vs. Psycannons. The player's resulting psychic death scream erased common sense from the minds of 40k players everywhere. " - Ozymandias 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Los Angeles

"Do mystics allow free shots at the drop pod, the squad, both or not at all?

The unit may fire at the drop pod before the models inside have disembarked. The
drop pod counts as a vehicle that has travelled over 12?."

Is this normal? I thought most people either didn't let them fire, or only let them fire at the unit. But the pod, while the models are inside? Armor 12 Open-topped, and not a skimmer--maybe it's because I haven't played 40k in a while, but that just sounds like an accident waiting to happen.

"The last known instance of common sense happened at a GT. A player tried to use the 'common sense' argument vs. Mauleed to justify his turbo-boosted bikes getting a saving throw vs. Psycannons. The player's resulting psychic death scream erased common sense from the minds of 40k players everywhere. " - Ozymandias 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Los Angeles

"Where do you measure from to see if a necron is in 6" of a unit of the same type for
IBB rolls"

IBB rolls?  'I'll be back' rolls?






"The last known instance of common sense happened at a GT. A player tried to use the 'common sense' argument vs. Mauleed to justify his turbo-boosted bikes getting a saving throw vs. Psycannons. The player's resulting psychic death scream erased common sense from the minds of 40k players everywhere. " - Ozymandias 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Posted By bigchris1313 on 10/10/2007 10:21 PM
"Do mystics allow free shots at the drop pod, the squad, both or not at all?

The unit may fire at the drop pod before the models inside have disembarked. The
drop pod counts as a vehicle that has travelled over 12”."

Is this normal? I thought most people either didn't let them fire, or only let them fire at the unit. But the pod, while the models are inside? Armor 12 Open-topped, and not a skimmer--maybe it's because I haven't played 40k in a while, but that just sounds like an accident waiting to happen.



Nope. Most people play that you fire after the Drop Pod has landed and the unit inside has disembarked. The firing player then may choose to shoot at either the Drop Pod or the disembarked unit, but not both.

See the poll here:

http://www.dakkadakka.com/CommunityForums/tabid/56/forumid/15/postid/190026/view/topic/Default.aspx

 

 


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





In assembling the GT FAQ list I lifted the wording of a number of questions from the Adepticon FAQ, so I'm guessing they arrived there from the YakFAQ.

GW were aware of this (as I noted I was doing so in the orginal Heresy-Online thread) so it would certinaly be interesting if they cut'n'pasted there answers from the Adepticon or YakFAQ


Hodge-Podge says: Run with the Devil, Shout Satan's Might. Deathtongue! Deathtongue! The Beast arises tonight!
 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




Basingstoke, UK

http://warhammerworld.typepad.com/warhammer_world_news/files/warhammer_40k_gt_heat_1_house_rules_11.10.07.pdf

It's been updated again!

Poi

Honk if Pluto is a planet. 
   
Made in jp
[MOD]
Anti-piracy Officer






Somewhere in south-central England.

Typical. You wait months for an FAQ then two updates come at the same time.

I'm writing a load of fiction. My latest story starts here... This is the index of all the stories...

We're not very big on official rules. Rules lead to people looking for loopholes. What's here is about it. 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Colorado

?All reserve rolls are made at the start of the turn, before anything else. Once you
have determined which units will be available that turn, they may move on from the
table edge during your movement phase.?

This is a HUGE change to the way I've always played. For me, it's always been played that reserves must come on at the start of the movement phase, which means you can't move troops already in play before reserves come on.

If reserves can come on at any point 'during the movement phase', many armies I own will suddenly change. For instance, Demon Bomb just became competitive again. Apparently, you can roll for reserves, find out what you have coming on, you can then move your icon bearers forward and then summon the demons off them. Demons have around a 38? assault threat radius with turbo boosting bikes. Holy Crap!

This is a really big change in the way I've played. I have to ask, have I and the people I play with (most of Colorado) just always been doing this wrong? I was at Adepticon last year, and just checked their FAQ, and it wasn't played that way there either.

Are there people out there that have played this way before? Is this going to be the new standard? Wow!

While the wicked stand confounded
call me, with thy saints surrounded 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Posted By Ebon on 10/11/2007 6:40 PM
“All reserve rolls are made at the start of the turn, before anything else. Once you
have determined which units will be available that turn, they may move on from the
table edge during your movement phase.”

This is a HUGE change to the way I've always played. For me, it's always been played that reserves must come on at the start of the movement phase, which means you can't move troops already in play before reserves come on.

If reserves can come on at any point 'during the movement phase', many armies I own will suddenly change. For instance, Demon Bomb just became competitive again. Apparently, you can roll for reserves, find out what you have coming on, you can then move your icon bearers forward and then summon the demons off them. Demons have around a 38” assault threat radius with turbo boosting bikes. Holy Crap!

This is a really big change in the way I've played. I have to ask, have I and the people I play with (most of Colorado) just always been doing this wrong? I was at Adepticon last year, and just checked their FAQ, and it wasn't played that way there either.

Are there people out there that have played this way before? Is this going to be the new standard? Wow!


A couple things: First, some items like Daemon summoning and Teleport Homers specify that the model must be on the table at the start of the turn, so regardless of which way you play you won't be able to move units on from Reserve and then summon or Teleport homer to them.

Second: This FAQ is written by the UK events team and is not official outside of the UKGT.

 

 



I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Colorado


Yes, I understand that, but it certainly puts forward a question. How can such a fundamental concept of the game be interpreted so differently by the lead organizer of the biggest tournament in the founding country? This isn't just a little change, this changes a lot of army designs and the entire meta-game. Is this like when they changed ?And they shall know no fear? on us to say marines can't rally when within 6? and we all have just been playing it wrong?

Have we all just assumed the rule ?bring them onto the table as soon as they are available? to mean the start of the movement phase, and not at any point during the movement phase?

While the wicked stand confounded
call me, with thy saints surrounded 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Posted By Ebon on 10/11/2007 7:36 PM

Yes, I understand that, but it certainly puts forward a question. How can such a fundamental concept of the game be interpreted so differently by the lead organizer of the biggest tournament in the founding country? This isn't just a little change, this changes a lot of army designs and the entire meta-game. Is this like when they changed “And they shall know no fear” on us to say marines can't rally when within 6” and we all have just been playing it wrong?

Have we all just assumed the rule “bring them onto the table as soon as they are available” to mean the start of the movement phase, and not at any point during the movement phase?



I wouldn't say it is as big a deal as you make out mainly because stuff that would really gain a big advantage from this ruling (like Daemon Summoning and Teleport Homers) already have their own restriction so aren't affected by this ruling.

Also, take a look at this poll:

http://dakkadakka.com/Forums/tabid/56/forumid/15/view/topic/postid/104399/Default.aspx

You can see that about 20% of those polled already play the way that this FAQ ruled. Most people don't based on my poll (and his ruling isn't supported by the RAW either), so I personally don't play the same way he ruled, but there certainly is a contingent of people out there who already play exactly as he ruled.

 

As to why he rules the way he rules, who knows? I'm glad that someone is taking the time to address rules issues, but as I've said before I think his rulings are all over the place. At times he seems hell bent on sticking with the RAW and other places he randomly seems to wander off into his own personal preferences.

 

I'm just personally glad that:

A) I don't play in the UKGTs

B) This FAQ is not official outside of that GT.

The only thing that makes me sad is that since this is the "UK" GT FAQ many uninformed players assume that the FAQ is put out by the design studio and is therefore official even though the document is called "house rules" and clearly specifies that it isn't official outside of the event.

 

 

 


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
 
Forum Index » News & Rumors
Go to: