Switch Theme:

[How will you play it?] Do multiple Astropaths/Officers of the fleet stack?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Poll
Do multiple Astropaths/Master of the fleet stack?
Yes
No

View results
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in se
Dakka Veteran




Cant find any real reason why they shouldnt stack, but some people seem to thing they dont?

How will you be playing it?
   
Made in us
Awesome Autarch






Las Vegas, NV

How could you say they do not?

   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





San Francisco

There was a whole thread about it about a week ago. Believe it or not, some people think that math doesn't stack. I blame 40k rules being so poorly written that they encourage illogical thought.
   
Made in us
Battleship Captain





Perth

I can't find any language in the text of the rules to say it would do anything but stack.

Man, I wish there was a real Black Library where I could get a Black Library Card and take out Black Library Books without having to buy them. Of course, late fees would be your soul. But it would be worth it. - InquisitorMack 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





The thought goes as follows:

Each dude gives you -1 to enemy rolls.

Even if you have 2 of them, As soon as a single -1 is reached, it will satisfy the -1 requirement for each.

Since it doesnt say Specifically that they accumulate, they dont.

IE:
-1
-1
enemy gets -1 to his rolls, both -1's requirements are filled.

I think its stupid myself.

-1 + -1 = -2!

Simple math people.

   
Made in us
Awesome Autarch






Las Vegas, NV

That argument holds no water at all.

It is a huge semantical stretch to argue that point vs. the very easy conclusion that you get a stacked modifier per officer.

   
Made in au
Owns Whole Set of Skullz Techpriests






Versteckt in den Schatten deines Geistes.

There are two very big flaws with jp400's proposed argument:

1. That there's any sort of 'requirement' that needs to be 'filled' by the modifier. That's making language up right there.
2. "It doesn't say it does, therefore it doesn't" is not an argument. It doesn't say I can't have MANZ w/TL-Railguns at BS5 in my army either, but that doesn't mean I can have them.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/04/22 01:13:35


Industrial Insanity - My Terrain Blog
"GW really needs to understand 'Less is more' when it comes to AoS." - Wha-Mu-077

 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






I can see why some would have the "only -1" position.

I used to play the MechWarrior clicks game and they were very explicit about non-stacking modifiers. But they used wording similar to: "Add +1 to the unit's printed damage value."

And they even clearly spelled out in the rules that *most* modifiers don't stack unless explicitly stated that they do.

"Someday someone will best me. But it won't be today, and it won't be you." 
   
Made in us
Battleship Captain





Perth

Unfortunately, GW isn't nearly as explicit as many other games about whether modifiers stack or not...

Man, I wish there was a real Black Library where I could get a Black Library Card and take out Black Library Books without having to buy them. Of course, late fees would be your soul. But it would be worth it. - InquisitorMack 
   
Made in ie
Waaagh! Warbiker




Reecius wrote:That argument holds no water at all.
Actually, it does.

Until we get an official Errata we can argue about this till Ragnarok, so I would suggest killing this thread until then.
   
Made in us
Bane Knight






Tulsa, Ok, USA

You know this is the same argument I got at the FLGS store this weekend when I was doing a test run of the new codex. I had an infantry platoon in 4+ cover and gave them the Go to Ground order....my opponent tried to argue that they would not get a 2+ save....he argued the same thing that they allready get a modifier from being in cover so the +2 did not apply. This is after the guy called me and asked me to make a list so we could practice before our usual Wed. night games.....

The ability for some people to forget basic math amazes me sometimes...

Hordini wrote:A little pee came out when I saw that.


My Warmachine Blog:
http://burbspainting.blogspot.com/
4500 Tau Army 
   
Made in us
Awesome Autarch






Las Vegas, NV

Actually, it does.

Until we get an official Errata we can argue about this till Ragnarok, so I would suggest killing this thread until then.


How is that? I am curious to see how someone would argue this as it seems preposterous to me. And we may die of old age before this is FAQ'd so sticking our heads in the sand is not the best idea.

The rule says:

"Whilst the astropath is alive, you add 1 to any of your reserve rolls."

or

"Whilst the officer of the fleet is alive, your opponent must subtract 1 from all of his reserve rolls."

How in the blazes does anyone think that is not stackable? If two are alive, you subtract two or add two as the case may be. The language is simple in this case. What part of it makes anyone think they do not stack? If it said: The presence of an astropath causes -1 or +1 blah blah blah, I could see the argument, but here the ability is attributed to the model, each model. If it said while A astropath or officer of the fleet is alive, that would imply they did not stack.

I plan on only using one set of them anyway.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/04/22 02:35:45


   
Made in us
Agile Revenant Titan




Florida

Just food for thought as the following examples seem to be related.

Eldar FAQ allows 2 Autarchs to stack their bonuses to reserve rolls.

If one takes 2 Warbosses, it is commonly accepted that each one allows a Nob/Meganob unit to become a troop choice.

Personally, I'll allow the stacking unless GW FAQ's otherwise.

No earth shattering, thought provoking quote. I'm just someone who was introduced to 40K in the late 80's and it's become a lifelong hobby. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





H.B.M.C. wrote:There are two very big flaws with jp400's proposed argument:

1. That there's any sort of 'requirement' that needs to be 'filled' by the modifier. That's making language up right there.
2. "It doesn't say it does, therefore it doesn't" is not an argument. It doesn't say I can't have MANZ w/TL-Railguns at BS5 in my army either, but that doesn't mean I can have them.


Actually its not my argument at all, someone else (Who shall remain nameless) who argued with me until the mods closed the thread swears by this flawed logic.

Reecius I agree with you 100% on this. I say it stacks.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/04/22 03:16:10


 
   
Made in us
Awesome Autarch






Las Vegas, NV

Then we are forming a gang, and anyone who disagrees with us gets punched in the wiener!

   
Made in au
Owns Whole Set of Skullz Techpriests






Versteckt in den Schatten deines Geistes.

Let me get my brass knuckles...

Industrial Insanity - My Terrain Blog
"GW really needs to understand 'Less is more' when it comes to AoS." - Wha-Mu-077

 
   
Made in us
Awesome Autarch






Las Vegas, NV

hahaha, hell yeah!

Warrriorrrs, come out and plaaayyy!

Cue: wacky themed gangs of miscreants engage in brutal combat over that age old argument: to stack, or not to stack!

   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






The rule only says that while the officer is alive "Your opponent must subtract 1 from all his reserve rolls". It doesn't say that the new result after doing the subtraction becomes the reserve roll.

Therefore this rule just forces your opponent to perform basic maths, and does not alter the result of what he rolled for his reserves at all.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Morphing Obliterator




The Void

I agree with Reecius because of http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Occams_razor

Always 1 on the crazed roll. 
   
Made in us
Devastating Dark Reaper




Chicago

I would tend to agree with Sarigar. The precedent set by the Eldar Autarch FAQ and their Master Strategist ability stacking leads me to believe that the Astropath and Master of the Fleet abilities stack as well.

40k armies:
Fantasy: TK, Dwarfs, VC 
   
Made in us
Awesome Autarch






Las Vegas, NV

Our gang is growing! Soon we will push the bloods and cryps out of the racketeer and prostitution rackets!

But I agree, Occams razor is a very good application to this debate.

   
Made in au
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control




Australia

It's at 85%, I suggest to the 15% to stop playing otherwise.

109/20/22 w/d/l
Tournament: 25/5/5 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







onlainari wrote:It's at 85%, I suggest to the 15% to stop playing otherwise.
Yes, because DakkaDakka are the ultimate authority behind rules disputes... Oh wait!
I'll play it however I want thank you.

The argument for and against are both equally valid, and require clarification pre game with your opponent. Until GW errata it and fixes it, the argument will just go about in circles.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Morphing Obliterator




The Void

Gwar! wrote:
onlainari wrote:It's at 85%, I suggest to the 15% to stop playing otherwise.
Yes, because DakkaDakka are the ultimate authority behind rules disputes... Oh wait!
I'll play it however I want thank you.

The argument for and against are both equally valid, and require clarification pre game with your opponent. Until GW errata it and fixes it, the argument will just go about in circles.


I'm pretty sure that http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Occams_razor makes one more valid than the other.

Always 1 on the crazed roll. 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







No, not really.

Occams razor is good for 2 situations where one is far more ridiculous than the other. In this case, each situation is just as valid as the other, because the Rules do NOT specifically state they stack. Just because another codex has a similar effect that does has no bearing (after all, if it did then Dark Angels Deathwing would be a lot tougher to kill).

By claiming they stack, you are assuming that they do stack, even though there is nothing to state that they do. Occams Razor therefore says that they do not stack, because it doesn't say they do, and in 40k something must tell you what you CAN do rather than what you CANNOT do.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Agile Revenant Titan




Florida

Personally, I would have had it up for debate if GW hadn't set a precedence about stacking bonuses. Except for Gwar, everyone I've ever communicated with over the internet, in person or gamed with abides by the GW FAQ's. As a non IG player (but does play Eldar), I'll have no issues allowing stacking.

No earth shattering, thought provoking quote. I'm just someone who was introduced to 40K in the late 80's and it's become a lifelong hobby. 
   
Made in us
Dominar






Math says they stack.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Sarigar wrote:Personally, I would have had it up for debate if GW hadn't set a precedence about stacking bonuses. Except for Gwar, everyone I've ever communicated with over the internet, in person or gamed with abides by the GW FAQ's. As a non IG player (but does play Eldar), I'll have no issues allowing stacking.
OK firstly, your personal attacks are unwarranted. I actually do follow the FAQ's where they are actually clarifying something, just not when they change rules entirely (that is what errata are for)

Secondly, how many times must it be said that Precedents and what other codex's say have no bearing on anything? GW themselves have stated as much. If we did go on precedents and used other codex's to clarify things then we would have 3++ Storm Shields for all Marines and would have to buy 6 or 7 Codex's in order to play one army.
sourclams wrote:Math says they stack.
Gee, way to read the whole thread.

The issue is not the math. Of course "Math" says they stack. But we are not dealing with math, we are dealing with English, and the issue arises from the ambiguity of whether or not they stack (2 OotF = -2) or if they add redundancy (2 MotF gives a blanket -1 but you have to kill 2 of them to remove it)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/04/23 02:42:09


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Hurr! Ogryn Bone 'Ead!





Western pa

if others stack so does this one

The hardiest steel is forged in battle and cooled with blood of your foes.

vet. from 88th Grenadiers

1K Sons 7-5-4
110th PDF so many battle now sitting on a shelf
88th Grenadiers PAF(planet Assault Force)
waiting on me to get back

New army:
Orks and goblins
Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.
 
   
Made in us
Dominar






Gwar! wrote:The issue is not the math. Of course "Math" says they stack. But we are not dealing with math, we are dealing with English, and the issue arises from the ambiguity of whether or not they stack (2 OotF = -2) or if they add redundancy (2 MotF gives a blanket -1 but you have to kill 2 of them to remove it)


Neither English nor Math agree with you.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: