Switch Theme:

Can a landraider move onto the board six inches?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Hardened Veteran Guardsman






near Reading, Berkshire

Just played (and lost) a game where my opponent moved his landraider onto the board from reserves. He claimed it was only a six inch move so fired all his guns. I claimed the move should be at least seven inches, because of the landraiders length, and he should only fire one (non defensive) weapon. We played it his way (he whinges more than I do) but what do you think?


MODQUISITION EDIT:
Gentlemen, at this point I shall be running this thread in accord with Dakka rules and the Dakka YMDC tenets as a test thread . Posts following the Notice below should abide by those tenets or be subject to modification.

PLease note both aspects if appropriate-"Play as" discussion vs. "RAW discussion"

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/09/02 13:41:28


 
   
Made in us
Focused Fire Warrior




Atlanta

There is no official ruling on this. The most accepted answer is from the INAT FAQ which states that you may move on to the board the 6" allowed at combat speed, and be hanging off the table, however any templates on your hull and off the table still count as hits, and passengers may not disembark from any point until the vehicle is fully on the table.

Victorious warriors win first and then go to war, while defeated warriors go to war first and then seek to win. -- Sun-tzu
The art of war is simple enough. Find out where your enemy is. Get at him as soon as you can. Strike him as hard as you can, and keep moving on. -- Ulysses S. Grant
Armies and records (w/l/d) (1v1 only)
Orks: ~8500pts -- 2009: 52/2/7 & 17/2/6 in RTTs -- Casual size 85% Painted
Empire: 7000pts -- 2009:19/6/11 & 3/1/5 in RTTs -- Casual size 50% Painted
Marines: 2000pts -- 2009: 4/2/0 -- 20% Painted
Kroot Mercenaries - ~1500pts -- 2009: 0/1/1
Vampire Counts: 1850pts -- 2009: 9/3/4 -- Paint? We're dead...
Skaven (Work in Progress) - ~4000pts -- 2012: 1/1/1 -- Unpainted
Tau (Work in Progress) - 1500pts -- 2012: 5/1/1 -- 20% Painted 
   
Made in us
Maddening Mutant Boss of Chaos





Pennsylvania

He could have also moved on 6" then pivoted so the whole of the vehicle was on the table.

Renegade Guardsmen 
   
Made in us
Sagitarius with a Big F'in Gun




Assuming the LR model is over 6" long:

I think he could sit with his LR hanging off the board and pivot sideways to fit on, thereby claiming a shorter move. However, he would be unable to easily move the LR away from the board edges in later turns as he would then be unable to pivot and move forward.
If he did that, he would be able to fire two weapons +all defensive the turn it comes on, per Machine Spirit rules. As you played it, he should still only have been able to fire that amount. If the move was greater than 6", it should have only shot one weapon.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







RaW, well there are no RaW

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Hardened Veteran Guardsman






near Reading, Berkshire

Came on straight, did not hang over the edge, fired 2 main and all defensive. Has he pivoted he would not have had the LOS he needed to shoot up my guard. LR model is at least 7" long. This makes him TFG in my book.
   
Made in us
Focused Fire Warrior




Atlanta

Let's not go so far as "TFG"... call it a misunderstanding unless you've got a lot more reasons behind that.

Victorious warriors win first and then go to war, while defeated warriors go to war first and then seek to win. -- Sun-tzu
The art of war is simple enough. Find out where your enemy is. Get at him as soon as you can. Strike him as hard as you can, and keep moving on. -- Ulysses S. Grant
Armies and records (w/l/d) (1v1 only)
Orks: ~8500pts -- 2009: 52/2/7 & 17/2/6 in RTTs -- Casual size 85% Painted
Empire: 7000pts -- 2009:19/6/11 & 3/1/5 in RTTs -- Casual size 50% Painted
Marines: 2000pts -- 2009: 4/2/0 -- 20% Painted
Kroot Mercenaries - ~1500pts -- 2009: 0/1/1
Vampire Counts: 1850pts -- 2009: 9/3/4 -- Paint? We're dead...
Skaven (Work in Progress) - ~4000pts -- 2012: 1/1/1 -- Unpainted
Tau (Work in Progress) - 1500pts -- 2012: 5/1/1 -- 20% Painted 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







General Mayhem wrote:Came on straight, did not hang over the edge, fired 2 main and all defensive. Has he pivoted he would not have had the LOS he needed to shoot up my guard. LR model is at least 7" long. This makes him TFG in my book.
5. Stick to discussing the rules, not the poster. Phrases like "Rules Lawyer", "Cheater" and "TFG" have no place in rules discussions. Don't depart from rules discussions by attaching value judgments to different interpretations.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Hardened Veteran Guardsman






near Reading, Berkshire

Just miffed cos I lost and getting shot to bits by a LR crusader was a major part of it. (that and Hestan Vulkan making all his meltas twin linked..choke..
   
Made in us
Sagitarius with a Big F'in Gun




I figured arc of fire might be an issue with pivoting. If he moved over 7", he moved over 7" and may only fire 1 weapon (and only then because it's a LR).
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







General Mayhem wrote:Just miffed cos I lost and getting shot to bits by a LR crusader was a major part of it. (that and Hestan Vulkan making all his meltas twin linked..choke..
Well to me it sounds like you are a sore loser. In any case, that is no excuse for breaking the forum rules.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Hardened Veteran Guardsman






near Reading, Berkshire

I went with his interpretation but thanks anyway
   
Made in gb
Sneaky Sniper Drone





Thames Valley, UK

The important question is, was the front of his hull more than 6" away from the table edge(assuming, as you say, he came on straight

Proud Member of the Dakka Dakka Casual Gamer Mafia - 'Our way is the only way!

Boris Johnson wrote:Voting Tory will cause your wife to have bigger breasts and
increase your chances of owning a BMW M3.


95% of teens would go into a panic attack if the jonas brothers were about to jump off the empire state building copy and paste this if you are the 5% who would pull up a lawn chair grab some popcorn and yell JUMP BITCHES!!!!!!!!!!!!! 
   
Made in us
Sagitarius with a Big F'in Gun




Yes, based on the description given.
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Did the extra distance make a game difference?

In keeping with the INAT FAQ, my usual preference in these situations is to allow the move, but make the LR hang off the board so as to avoid it getting more movement distance than it's entitled to.

If I did allow my opponent to move it entirely onto the board (say, to better ensure the model's safety/reduce likelihood of it falling off the table), I'd ask that distances be measured from where the guns would be if no part of the LR was more than 6" onto the table. No game advantage should accrue from moving the model too far. All distances (for shooting, disembarkation, movement next turn, etc.) should be as if it moved no more than 6" onto the table.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






This is something not really covered in the rules. Personally, if I'm planning on bring raiders in from reserve then I'll ask my opponent if they're okay with the ass hanging off the table when it comes on. No-one's ever refused.

I certainly wouldn't move it entirely on whilst claiming combat speed or allow someone to do that.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

I would use the INAT FAQ to address this situation. It covers it well.

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






The land of cotton.

A six inch move for the Land Raider would only allow one main weapon to fire and then Machine Spirit would allow another. Defensive weapons could fire of course.

He couldn't fire all his weapons if he moved at all. The only vehicles that can move and fire everything are Fast (which the Land Raider ain't).
   
Made in us
5th God of Chaos! (Yea'rly!)




The Great State of Texas

Gentlemen, at this point I shall be running this thread in accord with Dakka rules and the Dakka YMDC tenets. This is a test thread for that. Posts following this Notice should abide by those tenets or be subject to modification.

Posts after this thread may be reported if they violate a tenet-please cite the tenet if doing so for that reason, but be reasonable in that reporting. Thank you.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
So
As Played:
suggested: INAT FAQ (may move on to the board the 6" allowed at combat speed, and be hanging off the table, however any templates on your hull and off the table still count as hits, and passengers may not disembark from any point until the vehicle is fully on the table. )

or should it be that the vehicle must move at appropriate speed to get the vehicel completely on the board?

RAW: grey area or clear?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/09/02 13:43:35


-"Wait a minute.....who is that Frazz is talking to in the gallery? Hmmm something is going on here.....Oh.... it seems there is some dispute over video taping of some sort......Frazz is really upset now..........wait a minute......whats he go there.......is it? Can it be?....Frazz has just unleashed his hidden weiner dog from his mini bag, while quoting shakespeares "Let slip the dogs the war!!" GG
-"Don't mind Frazzled. He's just Dakka's crazy old dude locked in the attic. He's harmless. Mostly."
-TBone the Magnificent 1999-2014, Long Live the King!
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The RAW is clear: you are compelled to move onto the board, nowehere does it qualify this any further therefore any distance on is allowable.

Strictly the INAT FAQ is a muddle of the two: blast markers that scatter so the centre is beyond the edge of the table are an automatic miss, however it seems a reasonable compromise to avoid silly 1" on LR.
   
Made in us
Incorporating Wet-Blending





Houston, TX

Where are vehicles allowed to be "partially" on the table? The rules say on or off- there is no discussion of in between states. There are very specific rules for table edges and normally models cannot voluntarily leave a table edge by crossing that plane- things off the table do not exist for models on the table and allowing partial on table deployment opens up several new problems. Thus, the LR would need to move "on" to the table. If this requires more than siz inches of movement, then it requires more than a six inch move! So the LR can move on at cruising speed.

-James
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No, the rules say you must move ON, but where does it qualify this? I'd ask you to actually post rules rather than complain about it

IF I am asked to place something on the playing surface I can do two things:

1) Place the model entirely ont he table- rule satisfied
2) Place the model partially on the table, but still on the table - rule satisfied.

If you wish to disagree you must provide rules.

Finally - moving off the table is entirely different to moving on the table. Assuming reciprocity opens up even more problems than you suggest.
   
Made in us
Incorporating Wet-Blending





Houston, TX

Because it is a permissive rules sets and the rules have to allow it? The rules clearly allow models to be fully on the table. Please present the rules that allow a model to be partially on table. According to the rules, if any part of a model's base leaves the table edge, it is going off table. That seems to weigh against models being partially on, even if it is not 100% reciprocal.

No one is complaining- rather this is a rules discussion.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/02 14:46:59


-James
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

If you use the INAT FAQ it allows you to bring a tank partially onto the table. I think it is a good solution for an obvious oversight on the part of GW.

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







jmurph wrote:Because it is a permissive rules sets and the rules have to allow it? The rules clearly allow models to be fully on the table. Please present the rules that allow a model to be partially on table. According to the rules, if any part of a model's base leaves the table edge, it is going off table. That seems to weigh against models being partially on, even if it is not 100% reciprocal.

No one is complaining- rather this is a rules discussion.
The rules do not state that models have to be fully on the table at all.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




jmurph wrote:Because it is a permissive rules sets and the rules have to allow it? The rules clearly allow models to be fully on the table. Please present the rules that allow a model to be partially on table. According to the rules, if any part of a model's base leaves the table edge, it is going off table. That seems to weigh against models being partially on, even if it is not 100% reciprocal.

No one is complaining- rather this is a rules discussion.


Sigh - I've provided rules, you've provided nothing and are simply incorrect, and are furthermore making things up.

The rules literally state you must move ON.

Please point out where the words "fully", "entirelY" or ANY other qualifier are used. Like I asked previously. You mean it doesn't? Which means that any fulfillment of the criteria of "ON" is therefore permitted? Wow, who'd have thought

As I also stated - rules for going OFF do not equal rules for going ON the table. Again I would suggest you provide actual rules to back up your assertions. Reciprocity is never given in the ruleset for moving off the table, which is what you would need to prove your point. It does not weigh *anything* into the rules for moving on, you're just making bald assertions.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/02 15:18:47


 
   
Made in us
Focused Fire Warrior




Atlanta

"Fully", "Entirely", and similar qualifiers stating completeness are pretty much implied by any appropriate statement in the English language. If you were to ask to buy a Land Raider to test this theory out, and the shop keeper asked you for $60, you'd have to give them $60. You can't pull it halfway out of your pocket, or give them a percentage, because until you've given them all $60, you haven't given them $60 yet, so you haven't satisfied the condition, and you're not getting your model until you do.

While there are a lot of weird statements that can be misinterpreted in the GW rulesets, this isn't one of them. This argument of "I can partially do it and that counts" is nothing more than conjuring up loopholes to pretend that the rules work (which is an odd change of pace I might add). While a partial move on may be the proper solution for a fun game, by the RAW it doesn't work (without the aforementioned pivot). So either move on at cruising speed, or accept the INAT FAQ version, but don't give credit to GW for leaving a way to satisfy this rule at combat speed where there isn't one.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/09/02 15:26:52


Victorious warriors win first and then go to war, while defeated warriors go to war first and then seek to win. -- Sun-tzu
The art of war is simple enough. Find out where your enemy is. Get at him as soon as you can. Strike him as hard as you can, and keep moving on. -- Ulysses S. Grant
Armies and records (w/l/d) (1v1 only)
Orks: ~8500pts -- 2009: 52/2/7 & 17/2/6 in RTTs -- Casual size 85% Painted
Empire: 7000pts -- 2009:19/6/11 & 3/1/5 in RTTs -- Casual size 50% Painted
Marines: 2000pts -- 2009: 4/2/0 -- 20% Painted
Kroot Mercenaries - ~1500pts -- 2009: 0/1/1
Vampire Counts: 1850pts -- 2009: 9/3/4 -- Paint? We're dead...
Skaven (Work in Progress) - ~4000pts -- 2012: 1/1/1 -- Unpainted
Tau (Work in Progress) - 1500pts -- 2012: 5/1/1 -- 20% Painted 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Malecus wrote:"Fully", "Entirely", and similar qualifiers stating completeness are pretty much implied by any appropriate statement in the English language.
I Take a Plank of Wood, I place half of it on table and half hanging off so it stays on the table.

Is it On or Off the Table?

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Erm, no. "on" is nothing like "entirely" and completely different to "fully" - in this context they are qualifiers to "on" and it is those qualifiers that is missing.

"On" has a fairly sensible meaning in the English language. By placing the model on the table, you filfill this - whether this is partially or not. That is why it would need a qualifier.

As you cannot show this requirement except with apples and oranges examples (really, a transaction is nothing like the example precisely because in a non barter axiom system there is no requriement for a qualifer: it is binary. "On" is not binary in this context) I suggest you provide some rules to back up your incorrect assertions.
   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







There is no RaW but my view on the RaI is if possible it should be moved all the way onto the board and counts as moving that far.
Also if it moved more then 6" that's not combat speed, its cruising speed so only one gun from PotMS.

Personally I wish GW had written the rule as "Vehicles coming in from reserves are place touching the table and count as moving at combat speed. They may not move further this turn (walkers may still run and assault if possible). "

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/02 15:37:02


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: