Switch Theme:

Flamers and Vehicles  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Space Marine Scout with Sniper Rifle




Somewhere in your closset o_O

This came up in a recent game and I wanted some clarification on it. Can you fire a template out of a transport, say a flamer out of a Rhino? We decided to say no sense you can't fire it without the template touching the vehicle.

So what do you guys think?

We was made ta fight and ta win! 
   
Made in jp
[MOD]
Anti-piracy Officer






Somewhere in south-central England.

What about a turret mounted template weapon?

I'm writing a load of fiction. My latest story starts here... This is the index of all the stories...

We're not very big on official rules. Rules lead to people looking for loopholes. What's here is about it. 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







RaW = No.
RaP = Yes.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Kilkrazy wrote:What about a turret mounted template weapon?
RaW = No
RaP = Yes

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/18 20:17:45


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Space Marine Scout with Sniper Rifle




Somewhere in your closset o_O

Gwar! wrote:RaW = No.
RaP = Yes.


RaP?

We was made ta fight and ta win! 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps






read* as played.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/18 20:24:52


 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Horst wrote:read* as played.
Rules as Played actually

It's a overly PC way of saying RaI, as RaI implies you are the Author as you know the intent.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/18 20:26:16


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps




Phoenix, AZ, USA

I have a different interpretation to RaW than most. Per RaW, when using a template weapon the template is placed so that it touches the firing model and does not touch any friendly models. Also per RaW, when shooting from a fire point, treat the weapon as coming from the vehicle with the attack originating at the fire point. And as there is no rule that specifically states that a model is friendly to itself or that the firer of a template weapon is hit by their own attack, a template originating from a fire point or turret on a vehicle is place per template weapon rules first and vehicle weapon rules second.

This means that you place the template so that it touches the firing model with the narrow end facing the weapon barrel or fire point and the wide end placed over as many enemy models as possible without being placed over a friendly model that is not the firer. This simple interpretation allows vehicles such as Heavy Flamer Razorbacks (ignores its own hull), Immolators (ignores its own hull), Hellhounds (ignores its own hull), Titans with carapace Inferno Cannons (ignores minimum range restrictions), and any transport with a fire point (ignores the transport’s hull) to be used as they always have previous to 5th edition while still using the rules as written in 5th edition.

Basically, use common sense to allow the system to work rather than using loop holes to limit how the system works.

SJ

“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
 
   
Made in us
Space Marine Scout with Sniper Rifle




Somewhere in your closset o_O

Is there any real definitive way to tell? Or are flamers on vehicles just stupid? Common sense and the fact that some vehicles, like the Razorback, can take flamers but can't fire them without touching a friendly model.

We was made ta fight and ta win! 
   
Made in ca
Gimlet-Eyed Inquisitorial Acolyte



Around Montreal

Aya wrote:This came up in a recent game and I wanted some clarification on it. Can you fire a template out of a transport, say a flamer out of a Rhino? We decided to say no sense you can't fire it without the template touching the vehicle.

So what do you guys think?


You can't fire on a Chimera or Immolator or whatever without the template touching the vehicle either and it's the vehicle's own weapon.
Hence Gwar!'s answer.

I like jeffersonian000's interpretation as well, but that might be more RAI than RAW.

Kill the Heretic! Burn the Witch! Purge the Unclean! Exterminate the Mutant! Eviscerate the Traitor! Pwn the Noobs! 
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






Same could be applied to any model at all - you place the template so that it touches the firing model with the small end. You cannot place the template so that it's touching any friendly models. Ergo, you cannot place a template at all, unless you're using a Hellhound.

So, by RAW, template weapons are as useless as a cup of coffee while underwater.

In practice, just ignore the model that the template is coming from and the game doesn't break.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Cheexsta wrote:Same could be applied to any model at all - you place the template so that it touches the firing model with the small end. You cannot place the template so that it's touching any friendly models. Ergo, you cannot place a template at all, unless you're using a Hellhound.

So, by RAW, template weapons are as useless as a cup of coffee while underwater
Actually, no. You place the flamer touching the model just fine. Models touched by the template are not hit. Models COVERED by the template are hit, which is why you cannot fire them from a Fire Point or a Turret, as it covers part of the hull.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






Actually, yes.

"...simply place the narrow end is touching the base of the model firing it and the rest of the template covers as many models as possible in the target unit without touching any friendly models." -BGB, p29.

Nothing in there about hitting friendly models; as long as the template touches a friendly model, it cannot be placed. And since you have to place the template so that it's touching a friendly model (ie, the model firing it), it cannot be placed.

You could argue that the model firing the template isn't friendly to himself, but then that's a problem with defining "friendly". If you consider "friendly" to be any model on your side, then templates are screwed.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/19 11:45:52


 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Cheexsta wrote:Actually, yes.

"...simply place the narrow end is touching the base of the model firing it and the rest of the template covers as many models as possible in the target unit without touching any friendly models." -BGB, p29.

Nothing in there about hitting friendly models; as long as the template touches a friendly model, it cannot be placed. And since you have to place the template so that it's touching a friendly model (ie, the model firing it), it cannot be placed.

You could argue that the model firing the template isn't friendly to himself, but then that's a problem with defining "friendly". If you consider "friendly" to be any model on your side, then templates are screwed.
What is your point? You cannot have it touching friendly models, but touching models does not hit them, they have to be covered.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






My point is that, by RAW, you can never use a Template weapon (except in special circumstances, like Hellhounds).

You must place the template so that it is touching the model firing it.

You cannot place the template so that it is touching any friendly model.

I don't know why you keep bringing up the word "covering".
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Cheexsta wrote:My point is that, by RAW, you can never use a Template weapon (except in special circumstances, like Hellhounds).

You must place the template so that it is touching the model firing it.

You cannot place the template so that it is touching any friendly model.

I don't know why you keep bringing up the word "covering".
Because the rule says models covered are hit, not models touching.

Try reading for once:

"...simply place the narrow end is touching the base of the model firing it and the rest of the template covers as many models as possible in the target unit without touching any friendly models." Just because it is not allowed to touch other friendly models, does not mean it cannot touch the firer.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






And try understanding for once.

Being hit or not has no bearing in this argument. All the template needs to do is touch any friendly model for it to be invalid.

You place the template so that it touches the model firing it. The model firing it is a friendly model. You cannot place the template so that it is touching a friendly model, so the template placement is invalid.

Again, "covering" or "hitting" models has nothing to do with it.

You also mention "other friendly models" in your argument - a word that does not come up at all in the rule. While I agree that is the intention, and the way everyone plays it, it just is not RAW.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Specific > General.

The order to touch the firing model is more specific than the order to not touch any friendly models.

Seriously, Lrn2RulesPlz

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






And finally, you've actually countered the point I was making and I'll concede.

Which also proves a RAW point for the original topic - the specific requirement to place a template touching the vehicle from which the template is coming overrides the general rule of not being able to touch friendly models.

And seriously, Lrn2NotBSnidePlz. I was merely making a point that not allowing flamers to fire from a vehicle is like saying you can't use flamers at all.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Cheexsta wrote:And finally, you've actually countered the point I was making and I'll concede.

Which also proves a RAW point for the original topic - the specific requirement to place a template touching the vehicle from which the template is coming overrides the general rule of not being able to touch friendly models.

And seriously, Lrn2NotBSnidePlz. I was merely making a point that not allowing flamers to fire from a vehicle is like saying you can't use flamers at all.
No, the rules for vehicles are different, it has to be placed touching the gun mount. It cannot then touch the hull, as it is a friendly model.

You cannot fire a Flamer from a Fire Point on a Rhino/Chimera etc, as the fire point is surrounded by hull, so there is no way to place a flamer template touching the fire point (allowed) without also covering the hull (forbidden).

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Burtucky, Michigan

Wait wait wait, so you are trying to say that you cant fire a flame weapon from within a vehicle because part of the template TOUCHES the some of the tank? Im sorry but thats just insane. Its a legal weapon, you can legally fire a weapon from a fire point. Im not seeing where you cannot do this
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







KingCracker wrote:Wait wait wait, so you are trying to say that you cant fire a flame weapon from within a vehicle because part of the template TOUCHES the some of the tank? Im sorry but thats just insane. Its a legal weapon, you can legally fire a weapon from a fire point. Im not seeing where you cannot do this
Note position of fire point. See that it it is recessed in the centre, with hull all around it.

Place Flamer Template touching the edge of the fire point.

See the problem now?

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





ok take a step back from the book and relax.

1) read the rules for transported units, they measure distances from the HULL of the vehicle not the fire point. thus a flamer fired from inside a vehicle places the template at the hull of the vehicle resolve accordingly. and as the flamer doesnt kill the model firing it, it doesnt hit the vehicle either.

2) vehilce measure range from the HULL of the vehicle not the weapon, they do check LOS from the weapon. the same as you measure to the hull of the vehicle.


   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







lixulana wrote:1) read the rules for transported units, they measure distances from the HULL of the vehicle not the fire point. thus a flamer fired from inside a vehicle places the template at the hull of the vehicle resolve accordingly. and as the flamer doesnt kill the model firing it, it doesnt hit the vehicle either.
You take a step back and read the rule again. For ranges OTHER THAN THE EMBARKED UNITS SHOOTING, use the hull. For their Shooting, you use a Fire point.

To Quote Page 66:
If the players need to measure a range involving the embarked unit (except for its shooting), this range is measured to or from the vehicle's hull.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2009/10/19 15:55:58


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




1) No they do not. They fire from fire points only by default, and all ranges are measured to the fire point.

You are confusing Open topped vehicles which have an EXEMPTION to allow the shots to come from anywhere on the hull.

2) Vehicles measure range from the barrel of the weapon. Checking the rulebook yourself would be a good idea.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







nosferatu1001 wrote:Checking the rulebook yourself would be a good idea.
OMG Ur being so Roodz!

No wait, my bad, it wasn't Gwar! who posted it

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Given the poster had rather rudely suggested that other people hadn't read the rules I thought it was appropriate enough
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Gotta love Irony

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Space Marine Scout with Sniper Rifle




Somewhere in your closset o_O

I swear... I leave you kids alone for two seconds and...

Well, thanks for the info. Kind of sucks that you can't use templates on vehicles. Sounds like another rule that GW screwed up >_<

We was made ta fight and ta win! 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

They work ON vehicles, just not so well FROM them.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
5th God of Chaos! (Yea'rly!)




The Great State of Texas

Aya wrote:I swear... I leave you kids alone for two seconds and...

Well, thanks for the info. Kind of sucks that you can't use templates on vehicles. Sounds like another rule that GW screwed up >_<

You can, even Gwar noted this was RAW not Rules as Played.

-"Wait a minute.....who is that Frazz is talking to in the gallery? Hmmm something is going on here.....Oh.... it seems there is some dispute over video taping of some sort......Frazz is really upset now..........wait a minute......whats he go there.......is it? Can it be?....Frazz has just unleashed his hidden weiner dog from his mini bag, while quoting shakespeares "Let slip the dogs the war!!" GG
-"Don't mind Frazzled. He's just Dakka's crazy old dude locked in the attic. He's harmless. Mostly."
-TBone the Magnificent 1999-2014, Long Live the King!
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: