Switch Theme:

Some help if you will. Regarding flamers.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Elite Tyranid Warrior






Birmingham UK

Hey everyone.
Some issues came up recently during games & I would just like to see what the general consensus is on the rules for these problems.
Firstly.
Senario 1.
I have free flamers on my Chimera.
The Chimera shoots a Multilaser at a unit say 20" away.
In front of the chimera is a unit of Orks. I know that the flamer template cannot hit the unit 20" away, but I still fire it at it anyway. During this process the Orks in front of the Chimera are hit by the flamer.
Now the problem is, can I actually do that? Although I know that the unit was out of reach, there is nothing that says I can't fire the flamer aimed at the targeted unit, but hit another unit by chance/mistake etc, etc.
What do ya'll think?
(I did not claim the extra hits in the interest of fair play).
Senario 2.
I have a group of Vets with Flamers in a Chimera.
I want to shoot out of the top of the Chimera but strictly speaking I can't because I have to shoot out of the hatch & the Template will touch the Tank.... Thoughts?
(my opponent let me do this in the interest of fair play)
Senario 3.
My opponent keeps bitching at me using my Hellhound & angling the flamer template to score maximum hits. All it says in the codex is the small end has to be closer than the large one. My opponent thinks I have to shoot it in a straight line..... Thoughts?
(I told him to go fish!)

Any thoughts would be great!

"If it Bleeds, we can kill it!"

 
   
Made in ca
Avatar of the Bloody-Handed God





Inactive


Scenario 1:

Flamer would still need to target something to fire ,
as its not a guess weapon you cant just randomly fire it and hit the ones infront.

Either way you have to aim at the same target , no exceptions.

Paused
◙▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
           ◂◂  ►  ▐ ▌  ◼  ▸▸
          ʳʷ   ᵖˡᵃʸ  ᵖᵃᵘˢᵉ  ˢᵗᵒᵖ   ᶠᶠ 
   
Made in gb
Elite Tyranid Warrior






Birmingham UK

Well that's my point. I was aiming at the same target, although it was too far away to hit. The guys in front of the Tank were just in the way!

"If it Bleeds, we can kill it!"

 
   
Made in ca
Avatar of the Bloody-Handed God





Inactive

Klueless wrote:Well that's my point. I was aiming at the same target, although it was too far away to hit. The guys in front of the Tank were just in the way!


Then you cant hit with the flamers as they are too far away.

Paused
◙▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
           ◂◂  ►  ▐ ▌  ◼  ▸▸
          ʳʷ   ᵖˡᵃʸ  ᵖᵃᵘˢᵉ  ˢᵗᵒᵖ   ᶠᶠ 
   
Made in gb
Elite Tyranid Warrior






Birmingham UK

Fair enough. Senario 2 & 3?

"If it Bleeds, we can kill it!"

 
   
Made in ca
Avatar of the Bloody-Handed God





Inactive

Klueless wrote:Fair enough. Senario 2 & 3?


scenario 2 = i dunno .

scenario 3 = The flame template should be at straight 90 degree angle from the turret nozzle , but you can probably swivel the turret / pivot the tank chasis for the haul flamer .
( here is a thread discussing exactly that: http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/264773.page )

( disclaimer , im not an active gamer. all ideas are just possibilities ( though the chance im wrong are higher than right! ) so wait for Gwar!

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/11/10 10:47:52


Paused
◙▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
           ◂◂  ►  ▐ ▌  ◼  ▸▸
          ʳʷ   ᵖˡᵃʸ  ᵖᵃᵘˢᵉ  ˢᵗᵒᵖ   ᶠᶠ 
   
Made in gb
Elite Tyranid Warrior






Birmingham UK

That does not exactly install much faith. Cheers for the thread though.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Also, you haven't really cleared up Senario 3 much. As it's a ranged template weapon, & as such doesn't touch the nozzle of the turret!
Thanks for posting though. I'll see what others have to say.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/11/10 11:00:12


"If it Bleeds, we can kill it!"

 
   
Made in au
Anti-Armour Swiss Guard






Newcastle, OZ

#3. As long as the narrow end is closer to the tank than the broad end, it doesn't matter if it is sideways. You are following the restrictions of the weapon.

They rotate turret to here, fire and backtrack, leaving a burning arc of fuel. Your friend should try playing by the rules instead of crying in his kool-aid.

Ninja edit: #1. If the hull flamer is out of range of the target unit, it misses automatically and doesn't fire at all. This is different from a situation where the target unit is 7" in front of you, where it can hit the same unit.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/11/10 11:31:47


I'm OVER 50 (and so far over everyone's BS, too).
Old enough to know better, young enough to not give a ****.

That is not dead which can eternal lie ...

... and yet, with strange aeons, even death may die.
 
   
Made in gb
Elite Tyranid Warrior






Birmingham UK

LoL! Love it! I've always played it as this anyway & never had a problem before. The guy I play against a lot now is new in my circle of friends.
Thanks for clearing that up dude.

"If it Bleeds, we can kill it!"

 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






Klueless wrote:Hey everyone.
Some issues came up recently during games & I would just like to see what the general consensus is on the rules for these problems.
Firstly.
Senario 1.
I have free flamers on my Chimera.
The Chimera shoots a Multilaser at a unit say 20" away.
In front of the chimera is a unit of Orks. I know that the flamer template cannot hit the unit 20" away, but I still fire it at it anyway. During this process the Orks in front of the Chimera are hit by the flamer.
Now the problem is, can I actually do that? Although I know that the unit was out of reach, there is nothing that says I can't fire the flamer aimed at the targeted unit, but hit another unit by chance/mistake etc, etc.
What do ya'll think?
(I did not claim the extra hits in the interest of fair play).
Senario 2.
I have a group of Vets with Flamers in a Chimera.
I want to shoot out of the top of the Chimera but strictly speaking I can't because I have to shoot out of the hatch & the Template will touch the Tank.... Thoughts?
(my opponent let me do this in the interest of fair play)
Senario 3.
My opponent keeps bitching at me using my Hellhound & angling the flamer template to score maximum hits. All it says in the codex is the small end has to be closer than the large one. My opponent thinks I have to shoot it in a straight line..... Thoughts?
(I told him to go fish!)

Any thoughts would be great!


Scenario 1

Pretty sure the flamer can't fire at all based on the standard shooting rule which says "Any model that is found to be out of range of all of the models he can see in the target unit misses automatically" and each weapon in a vehicle is pretty much an individual model firing.

It's certainly a bit dubious though.

Scenario 2

It's pretty hotly debated, strictly by RAW, no you can't fire from the hatch because the template would touch the transport, although I doubt many opponents would enforce this, most people I know play the way you did.

Scenario 3

You are right here, whatever angle you want is fine in this situation, it's a unique feature of the hellhound, just as long as the small end is closer to the tank than large end you are all good.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in gb
Elite Tyranid Warrior






Birmingham UK

Cheers matey! I appreciate you helping me mop this mess up!

"If it Bleeds, we can kill it!"

 
   
Made in se
Brainy Zoanthrope




Sweden

Scenario 1:
As have been mentioned the flamer automatically misses if you cannot reach any models in the target unit. If you can however, all models under the template are hit.

Scenario 2:
I think most people play it the way you do. It would seem to be the best solution to me.

Scenario 3:
Yeah, you should tell him to go fish! As long as the narrow end is closer to the turret than the large end you are following the rules perfectly.

 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Klueless wrote:Senario 1.
I have free flamers on my Chimera.
The Chimera shoots a Multilaser at a unit say 20" away.
In front of the chimera is a unit of Orks. I know that the flamer template cannot hit the unit 20" away, but I still fire it at it anyway. During this process the Orks in front of the Chimera are hit by the flamer.
Now the problem is, can I actually do that? Although I know that the unit was out of reach, there is nothing that says I can't fire the flamer aimed at the targeted unit, but hit another unit by chance/mistake etc, etc.
What do ya'll think?
(I did not claim the extra hits in the interest of fair play).
No, the flamer is out of range, so it automatically misses.
Senario 2.
I have a group of Vets with Flamers in a Chimera.
I want to shoot out of the top of the Chimera but strictly speaking I can't because I have to shoot out of the hatch & the Template will touch the Tank.... Thoughts?
(my opponent let me do this in the interest of fair play)
RaW, you cannot fire the vets flamers.
Senario 3.
My opponent keeps bitching at me using my Hellhound & angling the flamer template to score maximum hits. All it says in the codex is the small end has to be closer than the large one. My opponent thinks I have to shoot it in a straight line..... Thoughts?
(I told him to go fish!)
Your opponent is incorrect.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/11/10 13:44:06


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

1. As above, it automatically misses if the target unit is out of range. But if the target unit is within range, you get to hit every model covered, including models in other units.

2. Thanks to the GW editors not thinking it through, technically this makes it impossible for a flamer to fire from a top hatch. But I’ve never met anyone who plays it that way. We just ignore the tank being under the template.

3. The hellhound has its own unique rules for the placement of its template. Follow the ones in its own entry.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in ca
Avatar of the Bloody-Handed God





Inactive


I have a question !

Say i have 2 heavy flamer on my chimera and veterans with flamers sitting in it.

Am i allowed to place ALL the templates comming out from the turret nozzle?

Paused
◙▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
           ◂◂  ►  ▐ ▌  ◼  ▸▸
          ʳʷ   ᵖˡᵃʸ  ᵖᵃᵘˢᵉ  ˢᵗᵒᵖ   ᶠᶠ 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

LunaHound wrote:
I have a question !

Say i have 2 heavy flamer on my chimera and veterans with flamers sitting in it.

Am i allowed to place ALL the templates comming out from the turret nozzle?


No because the transport and the models it carries are 2 separate units. You measure the vehicle's firing from the weapons and the transported unit's firing from the fire points.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in se
Brainy Zoanthrope




Sweden

time wizard wrote:
LunaHound wrote:
I have a question !

Say i have 2 heavy flamer on my chimera and veterans with flamers sitting in it.

Am i allowed to place ALL the templates comming out from the turret nozzle?


No because the transport and the models it carries are 2 separate units. You measure the vehicle's firing from the weapons and the transported unit's firing from the fire points.


AND, because they are two different units, you have to resolve the damage from one of the units before firing the next, so the damage done by the second unit to fire would probably be much less.

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







Scenario #2 is another variant of the "Can you fire a template weapon from the top hatch of a rhino?" Given the number of marine variant players who would like to be able to do drive by flaming, you can pretty much expect to get a GaP allowance to do it, even though RaW you're not supposed to do it.
   
Made in au
Monstrously Massive Big Mutant





An unknown location in the Warp

LunaHound wrote:
Klueless wrote:Well that's my point. I was aiming at the same target, although it was too far away to hit. The guys in front of the Tank were just in the way!


Then you cant hit with the flamers as they are too far away.


WHAT?But they still hit the orks man!!!!They're template check the rules, the orks are gone and the target at 20" isn't simple.as.that.



 
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






Klueless wrote:Hey everyone.
Some issues came up recently during games & I would just like to see what the general consensus is on the rules for these problems.
Firstly.
Senario 1.
I have free flamers on my Chimera.
The Chimera shoots a Multilaser at a unit say 20" away.
In front of the chimera is a unit of Orks. I know that the flamer template cannot hit the unit 20" away, but I still fire it at it anyway. During this process the Orks in front of the Chimera are hit by the flamer.
Now the problem is, can I actually do that? Although I know that the unit was out of reach, there is nothing that says I can't fire the flamer aimed at the targeted unit, but hit another unit by chance/mistake etc, etc.
What do ya'll think?
(I did not claim the extra hits in the interest of fair play).

No you cannot. If you're found to be out of range with a weapon, it automatically misses. You can place the template all you like, just the guys underneath are auto-missed

Senario 2.
I have a group of Vets with Flamers in a Chimera.
I want to shoot out of the top of the Chimera but strictly speaking I can't because I have to shoot out of the hatch & the Template will touch the Tank.... Thoughts?
(my opponent let me do this in the interest of fair play)

By RAW, no you cannot. Indeed, you wouldn't even be able to fire a template weapon from a Chimera's turret (or a Banewolf, for that matter), by RAW. Most people will let it go, though.

Senario 3.
My opponent keeps bitching at me using my Hellhound & angling the flamer template to score maximum hits. All it says in the codex is the small end has to be closer than the large one. My opponent thinks I have to shoot it in a straight line..... Thoughts?
(I told him to go fish!)

You are right, your opponent should go fish. Get him to read the description for the Inferno Cannon himself; it's very clear that it can be placed on any angle as long as the narrow end is closer than the fat end. I explain this to my opponents as being like the gunner is dousing an area which is represented by the template, starting at one end and then turning the turret slowly towards the other end. It's not like a normal flamer that just shoots flames that fan outwards as they project.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




r3n3g8b0y wrote:WHAT?But they still hit the orks man!!!!They're template check the rules, the orks are gone and the target at 20" isn't simple.as.that.


What part of any shooting that is found to not be in range auto misses are you struggling to cope with?

As soon as you find the template is out of range of the *target* then it automatically misses. If it automatically misses *nothing* can be hurt. Nothing.
   
Made in gb
Elite Tyranid Warrior






Birmingham UK

Thanks to everyone above for taking the time to comment. This will make some good reading to my opponent. We usually do come to a balanced decision when we can't figure out certain aspects of the rules IE- He did let me shoot my flamer vets & I didn't claim the extra hits on the Ork's. It's all in the spirit of fair play. The only real problem he had was with the Hellhound & I did try my best to explain it as clear as possible. Then I just decided to burn him of the table for arguing with me...!
Thanks again guys. It's always good to get a varied range of answers.
Klueless.

"If it Bleeds, we can kill it!"

 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Klueless wrote:Thanks again guys. It's always good to get a varied range of answers.
Not really.

It's good to get the same answer from different people, but it is not good to have people posting incorrect information.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/11/11 13:12:14


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
[DCM]
Et In Arcadia Ego





Canterbury

r3n3g8b0y wrote:
LunaHound wrote:
Klueless wrote:Well that's my point. I was aiming at the same target, although it was too far away to hit. The guys in front of the Tank were just in the way!


Then you cant hit with the flamers as they are too far away.


WHAT?But they still hit the orks man!!!!They're template check the rules, the orks are gone and the target at 20" isn't simple.as.that.


Posts like this are of no real help in a debate about rules, if you cannot contribute in a meaningful manner then don't.

Thank you.

The poor man really has a stake in the country. The rich man hasn't; he can go away to New Guinea in a yacht. The poor have sometimes objected to being governed badly; the rich have always objected to being governed at all
We love our superheroes because they refuse to give up on us. We can analyze them out of existence, kill them, ban them, mock them, and still they return, patiently reminding us of who we are and what we wish we could be.
"the play's the thing wherein I'll catch the conscience of the king,
 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





Gwar! wrote:
Klueless wrote:Thanks again guys. It's always good to get a varied range of answers.
Not really.

It's good to get the same answer from different people, but it is not good to have people posting incorrect information.


Unless you get the same wrong answer from different people

-Yad
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Yad wrote:
Gwar! wrote:
Klueless wrote:Thanks again guys. It's always good to get a varied range of answers.
Not really.

It's good to get the same answer from different people, but it is not good to have people posting incorrect information.


Unless you get the same wrong answer from different people

-Yad

I actually do find that somewhat helpful as well. At least then you can learn that it is a commonly misplayed/confused/house ruled part of the game that needs discussion.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/11/11 15:24:48


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in ca
Gimlet-Eyed Inquisitorial Acolyte



Around Montreal

Not only was your opponent incorrect but the template rules specifically say you have to place the template in order to score maximum hits anyway, if I'm not mistaken.
The rest is just a matter of the vehicle's specifics. Is it hull-mounted? Turret? Sponson? etc. Even if a weapon -looks- like it just goes straight from the hull, there's always an angle in which they can fire. This goes for chimera flamers, too. Of course if the Hellhounds has specific rules about that, apply those.

Kill the Heretic! Burn the Witch! Purge the Unclean! Exterminate the Mutant! Eviscerate the Traitor! Pwn the Noobs! 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Just for clarity, a turret mounted flame weapon can fire, as the rules for firing template weapons specifically say that the template must touch the firer. It's a different issue with occupants, as they are not the same model as the vehicle.
   
Made in ca
Gimlet-Eyed Inquisitorial Acolyte



Around Montreal

The occupant are not on the table however, so the template must touch -something- which would be the vehicle's fire point, which is part of the vehicle. No?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/11/12 04:12:26


Kill the Heretic! Burn the Witch! Purge the Unclean! Exterminate the Mutant! Eviscerate the Traitor! Pwn the Noobs! 
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator




In your squads, doing the chainsword tango

oh! oh! i got a question!

If i have a flamer, right, and i have a melta gun in the same squad. Theres a trukk in front of my, full o' boyz, and a bunch of boyz next to the trukk, opposite of me. Here is a crude diagram:



B: Boyz!
T: Trukk!
M: Me!
F: Flamer!







BBBBBBBBBBBBB
BBBBBBBBBBB
TTTTTTTTTT
TTTTTTTTTT
TTTTTTTTTT

M F M M M
M M M M M M


Now, my question is, if i shoot the truck with my Melta and flamer, can the flamer hit the boyz on the otherside of the trukk?

Now, to make it tricky: what if the trukk is a rhino? My flamer cannot actually hurt the rhino's side armour (can from behind though ), but since i'm firing from the same squad a melta gun which has a (rather good ) chance of popping it... can i flame at the same time to hit the boyz (marines ) behind the rhino?


cheers

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: