Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/12 10:26:40
Subject: Re:Some help if you will. Regarding flamers.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Jihallah,
It doesn't matter whether or not the flamer can actually do anything to the target, it still gets fired and you still put the template down. Just remember that you have to cover as much of the vehicle as possible when firing the template weapon at the vehicle, and that requirement is likely to limit how many of the models behind the vehicle get can be hit. From your diagram, I'd say that the flamer would probably have to be placed angled across the vehicle towards the far corner instead of being placed straight in the direction of the nearest 'B'.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/12 11:33:12
Subject: Re:Some help if you will. Regarding flamers.
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Jihallah wrote:Now, my question is, if i shoot the truck with my Melta and flamer, can the flamer hit the boyz on the otherside of the trukk?
Yes, so long as you cover as much of the Trukk with the Template as Possible.
Now, to make it tricky: what if the trukk is a rhino? My flamer cannot actually hurt the rhino's side armour (can from behind though  ), but since i'm firing from the same squad a melta gun which has a (rather good  ) chance of popping it... can i flame at the same time to hit the boyz (marines  ) behind the rhino?
Yes, you can.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/12 13:40:39
Subject: Re:Some help if you will. Regarding flamers.
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
In your squads, doing the chainsword tango
|
 cheers for the clarification. Lookin' forward to some flame shenanigans on monday
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/11/12 19:23:39
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/12 16:34:35
Subject: Some help if you will. Regarding flamers.
|
 |
Gimlet-Eyed Inquisitorial Acolyte
Around Montreal
|
Fast!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/11/12 16:34:57
Kill the Heretic! Burn the Witch! Purge the Unclean! Exterminate the Mutant! Eviscerate the Traitor! Pwn the Noobs! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/14 13:36:37
Subject: Re:Some help if you will. Regarding flamers.
|
 |
Bounding Assault Marine
|
Here's another question.
What about Immolator Tank?
If you place the template at the end of its turrets nozzles, it will touch the tank itself too (judging by the pic on GWs website). Therefore it cannot fire at all?
Or does it have any rules to cover the situation? Far as i know it uses standard flamer rules but i don't have the witch hunters codex either.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/11/14 13:37:52
Space Marines 6700pts Tyranids 5000pts Tau 2350pts Blood Angels 2850pts Orcs & Goblins 1350pts
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/14 19:33:43
Subject: Some help if you will. Regarding flamers.
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
You can fire flamers from a tank even if they touch the hull, as the rules for firing flamers specifically say that the template has to touch the firer.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/14 20:35:41
Subject: Some help if you will. Regarding flamers.
|
 |
Junior Officer with Laspistol
|
thebetter1 wrote:You can fire flamers from a tank even if they touch the hull, as the rules for firing flamers specifically say that the template has to touch the firer.
But the rules also specifically say that you can't touch friendly models.
So, a tank with a template weapon built-in may fire the template weapon (banewolves, immolators, chimeras, etc) even if it touches the tank. However, passengers can't fire template weapons out of fire points, nor may they fire template weapons out of an open-topped vehicle, as then the template would have to touch a friendly model that is not the firer (so the "drive by burnas" tactic that many ork players espouse is actually invalid).
However, 99% of players don't play this way, it's also what the rules support.
|
Why did the berzerker cross the road?
Gwar! wrote:Willydstyle has it correct
Gwar! wrote:Yup you're absolutely right
New to the game and can't win? Read this.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/14 20:47:47
Subject: Some help if you will. Regarding flamers.
|
 |
Deadshot Weapon Moderati
|
Klueless wrote:Hey everyone.
Some issues came up recently during games & I would just like to see what the general consensus is on the rules for these problems.
Firstly.
Senario 1.
I have free flamers on my Chimera.
The Chimera shoots a Multilaser at a unit say 20" away.
In front of the chimera is a unit of Orks. I know that the flamer template cannot hit the unit 20" away, but I still fire it at it anyway. During this process the Orks in front of the Chimera are hit by the flamer.
Now the problem is, can I actually do that? Although I know that the unit was out of reach, there is nothing that says I can't fire the flamer aimed at the targeted unit, but hit another unit by chance/mistake etc, etc.
What do ya'll think?
(I did not claim the extra hits in the interest of fair play).
This cannot be done as the flamer need to be hitting at least one member of the squad the vehicle fired at with the rest of its weapons
Klueless wrote:
Senario 2.
I have a group of Vets with Flamers in a Chimera.
I want to shoot out of the top of the Chimera but strictly speaking I can't because I have to shoot out of the hatch & the Template will touch the Tank.... Thoughts?
(my opponent let me do this in the interest of fair play)
Does this matter? can the flamer actually hurt the tank?
Klueless wrote:
Senario 3.
My opponent keeps bitching at me using my Hellhound & angling the flamer template to score maximum hits. All it says in the codex is the small end has to be closer than the large one. My opponent thinks I have to shoot it in a straight line..... Thoughts?
(I told him to go fish!)
It doesnt have to be a straight line. The hellhound could be strafing the unit with its flamer. Fluff wise the hellhound wouldnt move then stop then shoot. I would move and shoot at the same time. The rules take this into account, its only because of the turn system it seems a bit abstract.
Hope this helps
|
"Innocence Proves Nothing... Except That You've Done Nothing Wrong"
Welcome to the Daemonhunters, the ranks of the exalted Ordo Malleus and their cannon fod....er, I mean, loyal allies. Remember...the only ones who need fear the righteous might of the Ordo Malleus are the Daemonic.
quote: Dashofpepper: ...sad rivulet of demon prince tears. He ponders for a moment, then lashes the demon hunters into him. He assaults them, kills a terminator or two....and then demon hunters being demon hunters....they proceed to wtfpwn him. Second player leaves the table... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/15 02:07:22
Subject: Some help if you will. Regarding flamers.
|
 |
Gimlet-Eyed Inquisitorial Acolyte
Around Montreal
|
Oh oh! I know!
The Immolator's rules say it can move 12 inches and fire it's twin-linked heavy flamer... therefore, it CAN fire it's twin-linked heavy flamer even if the template touches it!
I'm a genius!
>.>
<.<
*Coughs* No seriously, the rules are just flawed on that one.
|
Kill the Heretic! Burn the Witch! Purge the Unclean! Exterminate the Mutant! Eviscerate the Traitor! Pwn the Noobs! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/15 03:54:33
Subject: Some help if you will. Regarding flamers.
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
willydstyle wrote:thebetter1 wrote:You can fire flamers from a tank even if they touch the hull, as the rules for firing flamers specifically say that the template has to touch the firer.
But the rules also specifically say that you can't touch friendly models.
So, a tank with a template weapon built-in may fire the template weapon (banewolves, immolators, chimeras, etc) even if it touches the tank. However, passengers can't fire template weapons out of fire points, nor may they fire template weapons out of an open-topped vehicle, as then the template would have to touch a friendly model that is not the firer (so the "drive by burnas" tactic that many ork players espouse is actually invalid).
However, 99% of players don't play this way, it's also what the rules support.
That is correct. A vehicle's template weapon can fire even if it must touch the vehicle, but a passenger cannot do this because the vehicle is a different model than the firer.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/15 04:46:55
Subject: Some help if you will. Regarding flamers.
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
In your squads, doing the chainsword tango
|
willydstyle wrote: However, passengers can't fire template weapons out of fire points, nor may they fire template weapons out of an open-topped vehicle, as then the template would have to touch a friendly model that is not the firer (so the "drive by burnas" tactic that many ork players espouse is actually invalid).
However, 99% of players don't play this way, it's also what the rules support.
iirc with open topped vehicles you measure distance from the hull, so wouldn't you place the flame template so the small tip is touching the edge of the hull?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/15 06:49:29
Subject: Some help if you will. Regarding flamers.
|
 |
Junior Officer with Laspistol
|
Jihallah wrote:willydstyle wrote: However, passengers can't fire template weapons out of fire points, nor may they fire template weapons out of an open-topped vehicle, as then the template would have to touch a friendly model that is not the firer (so the "drive by burnas" tactic that many ork players espouse is actually invalid).
However, 99% of players don't play this way, it's also what the rules support.
iirc with open topped vehicles you measure distance from the hull, so wouldn't you place the flame template so the small tip is touching the edge of the hull?
But the rules for template weapons say that the narrow end of the template must touch the base of the firing model. In this case the base of the firing model is not available to be used in the proper fashion. You do measure range from the hull for firing weapons, but placing a template is not measuring range.
|
Why did the berzerker cross the road?
Gwar! wrote:Willydstyle has it correct
Gwar! wrote:Yup you're absolutely right
New to the game and can't win? Read this.
|
|
 |
 |
|