Switch Theme:

Some eldar rules questions  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Focused Fire Warrior





Hello everyone,
I was playing against my friend(and my bro) and we came up with these questions in the game

1.What is the leadership of the nob in a 30 man mob?I was trying to mind war him, but he said fearless units are leadership 10, anyone can give me a page number on the BRB about it?Or be nice enough to give me all the rules required

2.I tank shocked a mob of boyz, and they ran away, but I went too far and hit the table edge(about 2 cm out), does that mean I lose my wave serpent too?

Sorry if I was asking some simple questions that was said on the rulebook
Thanks for your time and replies!

1500pt O'Vesa Star W: 27 D: 2 L: 1
The challenge: in a 1500pt game I will play 900pt + D6x100 pts, if I roll a 6 I reroll and -100 to that second number (down to 1000pt minimum)
W:6 D:0 L:1 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Wings of Purity wrote:Hello everyone,
I was playing against my friend(and my bro) and we came up with these questions in the game

1.What is the leadership of the nob in a 30 man mob?I was trying to mind war him, but he said fearless units are leadership 10, anyone can give me a page number on the BRB about it?Or be nice enough to give me all the rules required

2.I tank shocked a mob of boyz, and they ran away, but I went too far and hit the table edge(about 2 cm out), does that mean I lose my wave serpent too?

Sorry if I was asking some simple questions that was said on the rulebook
Thanks for your time and replies!
1) It is 10. All non-Armour Value Characteristics are Capped at 10 and can NEVER EVER go above 10. The only exception is Bonus Attacks (but they don't alter the Characteristic anyway), so a unit of 30 Boys is Ld 10, as is a unit of 11, 24 or 9,823.

2) No. The Wave Serpent stops as soon as it touches the board edge, as models cannot move off the board. Only models that are falling back are removed when they hit the edge of the board.

3) Never be sorry for asking questions. It's how everyone learns (well, except I, the mighty Gwar! I just came into existence at the beginning of Time All Knowing, but I'm the exception rather than the rule. ).

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/05/27 00:29:28


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in au
Anti-Armour Swiss Guard






Newcastle, OZ

Not rulebook. Ork codex:
P31.
Mob rule. Not exactly word for.

"Ork mobs may always CHOOSE to substitute the number of orks in their mob for their normal leadership value. If it has 11 models or more, the unit gains fearless as well".

1. Ld of a mob of 30 is 10 (stats cap at 10) and Fearless.
You can have a ld of <10 and be fearless. Ld10 doesn't automatically grant fearless.

2. FALLING BACK units that hit the table edge are destroyed. Vehicles don't take morale checks and never fall back.
There are no rules covering voluntarily moving units off table - so the game breaks.

I'm OVER 50 (and so far over everyone's BS, too).
Old enough to know better, young enough to not give a ****.

That is not dead which can eternal lie ...

... and yet, with strange aeons, even death may die.
 
   
Made in gb
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot




Scotland

chromedog wrote:
There are no rules covering voluntarily moving units off table - so the game breaks.


Are you sure?
I thought I saw a rule in their saying that models cannot move off the board voluntarily. Could be wrong though dont have BRB with me.

~You can sleep when you're dead.~
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

It's not in the rulebook. It is in the FAQ, though.

 
   
Made in gb
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot




Scotland

Ah that will be where I saw it.

I have a horrible memory. (its so bad I have played matchs forgetting to fire whole units for the entire game)

~You can sleep when you're dead.~
 
   
Made in au
Sniping Gŭiláng






Whats to stop you from tank shocking 18" when you only have 9" of table left, cause the tank shock rules state you state the speed, move, if you kill the unit or it moves out of the way, continue moving till maximum distance and oops there is the edge of the world... sorry about that.

I think, and would play it, that once you have defined the direction and speed that the movement by the tank becomes involuntary and subject to the rules of tank shock, wherein it does not say 'if it reaches the board edge, stop' it also doesnt say that it stops if it reaches impassible or difficult terrain


 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

How is voluntarily declaring to move a distance involuntary?
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Seriphis wrote:Whats to stop you from tank shocking 18" when you only have 9" of table left,


What do you think you gain by doing so?

 
   
Made in gb
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot




Scotland

Seriphis wrote:Whats to stop you from tank shocking 18" when you only have 9" of table left, cause the tank shock rules state you state the speed, move, if you kill the unit or it moves out of the way, continue moving till maximum distance and oops there is the edge of the world... sorry about that.

I think, and would play it, that once you have defined the direction and speed that the movement by the tank becomes involuntary and subject to the rules of tank shock, wherein it does not say 'if it reaches the board edge, stop' it also doesnt say that it stops if it reaches impassible or difficult terrain


You assume the driver of the tank isnt a dick and hits the breaks before the edge of the world. Just like fleeing units move around impassable terrain.

And for the record it also doesnt say if the grass is green add +8" to movement.

~You can sleep when you're dead.~
 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Striking Scorpion



In my happy place, I'm in my happy place...

The only thing I could think of would be trying to add strength to ramming a vehicle or trying to move flat out.

Strength is calculated at the point of impact so it doesn't matter.

If you declare moving 18" but only move 9" you won't get the cover bonus for moving more than 12". So I see no point.
   
Made in au
Sniping Gŭiláng






It gains you a tank if you assume that the invisible 'the vehicle stops at the edge of the table' rule is there... if you dont assume it to be there then you have to be a little more careful in guessing the distance.

the 18" example is an extreme case...

You assume the driver of the tank isnt a dick and hits the breaks before the edge of the world

No i assume he's following orders exactly to the letter and would drive off the edge... your assuming something is written when its not, these models dont have minds of their own... the unit being able to make decisions on its own went out with fourth ed rules of target priority checks.

As for the sarcastic comment, i'm not saying add anything. If anything, the interpretation of 'it drives off the edge of the world' adds less to it than the 'the vehicle voluntarily stops if it reaches impassible terrain, or the edge of the table' interpretation that you all seem to have taken.

Lets put it this way, how far do you have to move the vehicle if you declare it to be tank shocking 9" assuming nothing in the way, being in the middle of the table?
the answer is obviously 9 inches.

now place it 5" away from the edge of the table and tank shock something on the edge, remembering the rules are written to NOT INCLUDE the phrase, the vehicle stops if it encounters impassible terrain or the table edge, how far do you have to move if you declare it to be moving 9"?
again, the answer will be 9 inches.

You dont have a choice, it is an involuntary distance you have to move made on a voluntary distance choice, that once made is locked in stone and can not be changed. The rule does not say "move up to 9"' it says, move 9" and if it happens to hit an enemy model it is shocked.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/27 04:49:32



 
   
Made in gb
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot




Scotland

No it is just like tank shocking and coming into contact with impassible terrain. It stops dead, or if it hits a enemy tank it counts as ramming and instead of hovering over it (if its a skimmer) hits it dead on. (it was ordered to move 9" but yet it disobeys orders any only moves to the tank in front of it)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/27 05:02:46


~You can sleep when you're dead.~
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Seriphis wrote:I...remembering the rules are written to NOT INCLUDE the phrase, the vehicle stops if it encounters impassible terrain or the table edge,...



The tank rules aren't written to include it specifically... but that doesn't mean that the existing rule that you can't voluntarily move off the table doesn't still apply. In fact, that rule has to still apply, since the Ramming rules don't tell us to ignore it.

 
   
Made in au
Sniping Gŭiláng






Syanticraven -> Tank shocking does not lead to a ram... different rules.
A ram can have a tank shock occur before the ram occurs, but a ram can not be a result of a declared tank shock.

Insaniak -> that's the only justification, and at the same time, the voluntarily move off the table only comes about from a FAQ as it doesn't specifically say it can, more specifically, it states that a unit can not move off the table unless it is otherwise expressly permitted, nothing about voluntarily or otherwise.

without the FAQ the following applies for stopping:
- Comes within 1" of an enemy vehicle
- Contacts a friendly model
- Stunned, destroyed or immobilised by Death or Glory
- Destination reached.


 
   
Made in us
Calm Celestian




Florida, USA

insaniak wrote:
Seriphis wrote:I...remembering the rules are written to NOT INCLUDE the phrase, the vehicle stops if it encounters impassible terrain or the table edge,...



The tank rules aren't written to include it specifically... but that doesn't mean that the existing rule that you can't voluntarily move off the table doesn't still apply. In fact, that rule has to still apply, since the Ramming rules don't tell us to ignore it.


^ this +1. If the tank shocking section had more specific rules for impassable terrain/board edge then we would know from that section what to do. It does not, so we have to fall back on the more general movement rules which tell us what to do in the case of table edge.

There is a fine line between genius and insanity and I colored it in with crayon. 
   
Made in au
Sniping Gŭiláng






^ this +1. If the tank shocking section had more specific rules for impassable terrain/board edge then we would know from that section what to do. It does not, so we have to fall back on the more general movement rules which tell us what to do in the case of table edge.


The FAQ not withstanding, where in the bgb does it state this? page number?


 
   
Made in us
Calm Celestian




Florida, USA

Seriphis wrote:
^ this +1. If the tank shocking section had more specific rules for impassable terrain/board edge then we would know from that section what to do. It does not, so we have to fall back on the more general movement rules which tell us what to do in the case of table edge.


The FAQ not withstanding, where in the bgb does it state this? page number?


I think we both know that it doesn't.

There is a fine line between genius and insanity and I colored it in with crayon. 
   
Made in au
Sniping Gŭiláng







I think we both know that it doesn't.


so what rule are you following?

I'll chalk this up for another RAW BS malarkey.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/27 05:26:21



 
   
Made in us
Calm Celestian




Florida, USA

Seriphis wrote:

I think we both know that it doesn't.


so what rule are you following?

I'll chalk this up for another RAW BS malarkey.


Exactly the reason it was answered in the FAQ:

Q. Can models move off the table?
A. Not unless a rule or the mission being played
clearly specify that they can. All good wargamers
know that the edge of the table is the end of the
world!

Edit:

Since the tank shock section doesn't specifically allow for models to move off the table they do not. Unless you can find it in the rulebook where it says they do.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/27 05:32:47


There is a fine line between genius and insanity and I colored it in with crayon. 
   
Made in au
Sniping Gŭiláng






Exactly the reason it was answered in the FAQ:


To which i referred.

Some people like to hold that the question part of the FAQ does not constitute as a rule and that infact it should be a part of the Errata to be considered a rule, personally i accept it, but outside of the FAQ, do you have any evidence to support your stance?


 
   
Made in us
Calm Celestian




Florida, USA

Seriphis wrote:
Exactly the reason it was answered in the FAQ:


To which i referred.

Some people like to hold that the question part of the FAQ does not constitute as a rule and that infact it should be a part of the Errata to be considered a rule, personally i accept it, but outside of the FAQ, do you have any evidence to support your stance?


No I do not. Outside of the units falling back section, do you have any further evidence as to what happens to units that aren't falling back that encounter a table edge?

Edit:

Grammar.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/27 05:41:12


There is a fine line between genius and insanity and I colored it in with crayon. 
   
Made in au
Sniping Gŭiláng






Its actually funny, because one would think destroy it, or similar, but according to BGB however it doesnt need to be on the table in order to be considered in play... to move or to shoot.

Just move it 3 inches outside of the table and continue your turn.

The only time it talks about units on the table is in the deployment types and reserves, outside of that, there is nothing to stop you from saying something is off the table and permitted to play.

The FAQ is the only point it makes that statement, and while on the face of it, it looks to be a stupid question it really isnt.

Re-read movement, doesnt say for each unit on the table, similarly for shooting or for assault. You'll find why it was asked, an oversight on gw's behalf.


 
   
Made in ca
Focused Fire Warrior





Tank shock can become a ram if you accidentally run into a tank,even if its your own tank!

1500pt O'Vesa Star W: 27 D: 2 L: 1
The challenge: in a 1500pt game I will play 900pt + D6x100 pts, if I roll a 6 I reroll and -100 to that second number (down to 1000pt minimum)
W:6 D:0 L:1 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Wings of Purity wrote:Tank shock can become a ram if you accidentally run into a tank,even if its your own tank!
Wrong.

A Tank Shock can NEVER be a Ram. In order to ram, you must declare you are moving at max speed. If you do not, then you stop 1" from any enemy vehicles.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in ca
Focused Fire Warrior





Oh really?Thanks man

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/28 23:39:14


1500pt O'Vesa Star W: 27 D: 2 L: 1
The challenge: in a 1500pt game I will play 900pt + D6x100 pts, if I roll a 6 I reroll and -100 to that second number (down to 1000pt minimum)
W:6 D:0 L:1 
   
Made in gb
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot






Inside that little light in your refridgerator

If you declare a ram on say, a rhino; and to ram said rhino, you must pass through some tac marines, do you get the ram and the tank shock?

Or not at all

S_P

Fafnir wrote:What part of "giant armoured ork suppository" do you not understand?

Balance wrote:Nothing wrong with feathers. Now, the whole chicken, that's kinky.
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Space_Potato wrote:If you declare a ram on say, a rhino; and to ram said rhino, you must pass through some tac marines, do you get the ram and the tank shock?

Or not at all

S_P
Yes, you get both.

A Ram can Tank shock models along the way, but a Tank Shock can NEVER become a Ram.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot






Inside that little light in your refridgerator

Gwar! wrote:
Space_Potato wrote:If you declare a ram on say, a rhino; and to ram said rhino, you must pass through some tac marines, do you get the ram and the tank shock?

Or not at all

S_P
Yes, you get both.

A Ram can Tank shock models along the way, but a Tank Shock can NEVER become a Ram.


Sweet, thanks Gwar!, now I have another set of tactics for my Eldar.

S_P

Fafnir wrote:What part of "giant armoured ork suppository" do you not understand?

Balance wrote:Nothing wrong with feathers. Now, the whole chicken, that's kinky.
 
   
Made in us
Swift Swooping Hawk




Just be aware that tank shock and ramming are done just a tiny bit differently.

With tank shock you do pick a distance to move. With ram its full speed ahead, no slowing down. This can mean having to plow into nasty bits of terrain if you do manage to destroy your target. With tank shock you can more or less pick your end point, with ram it may be a bit farther than you really want to go. (perhaps ending a foot away from that objective you want to contest....)


Sliggoth

Why does my eldar army run three fire prisms? Because the rules wont let me use four in (regular 40k). 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: