Switch Theme:

can an immobalised dread be picked up by a stormraven?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker





essex, england

can an immobalised dread be picked up by a stormraven?
this came up in a game last night. the storm raven was within 2 inches of the dread. i imagined the mana grapple coming downn and picking the dread up.
   
Made in de
Regular Dakkanaut




I don't think so... afaik, a transported unit has to move into the transporting vehicle.
However I consider your thesis to be RaI.
   
Made in jp
[MOD]
Anti-piracy Officer






Somewhere in south-central England.

motorhead1945 wrote:I don't think so... afaik, a transported unit has to move into the transporting vehicle.
However I consider your thesis to be RaI.


The main rulebook only covers infantry units embarking/disemarking, which can't be immobilised.

It depends on the special rules for the Stormraven.

I'm writing a load of fiction. My latest story starts here... This is the index of all the stories...

We're not very big on official rules. Rules lead to people looking for loopholes. What's here is about it. 
   
Made in gb
Death-Dealing Dark Angels Devastator




Liverpool

I would have thought the answer would be no, based on the fact the a Dreadnought moves the same way as infantry. To embark on a vehicle it has to move to within 2" of the vehicle. It cannot do this due to being immobilised.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




but what if you move the storm raven to be within the 2 inches required to embark...then how would that factor into the question

however i do feel that it not be possible to have the dread embark on a storm raven when immobilized

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/02/20 09:54:48


 
   
Made in us
The Hammer of Witches





A new day, a new time zone.

The transport moving within 2" of the model is not the same thing as the model moving within 2" of the transport.

"-Nonsense, the Inquisitor and his retinue are our hounoured guests, of course we should invite them to celebrate Four-armed Emperor-day with us..."
Thought for the Day - Never use the powerfist hand to wipe. 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




lliadon wrote:but what if you move the storm raven to be within the 2 inches required to embark...then how would that factor into the question

however i do feel that it not be possible to have the dread embark on a storm raven when immobilized


It makes absolutely NO difference whatsoever.

A unit has to move within 2", which it cannot do.
   
Made in gb
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker





essex, england

if a unit has to move within 2 " then how is it you can move a say a rhino within 2" and the squad can get in? the squad didnt move.
The dread is a different case in reality cos it is picked up, it doesnt get in.

I personally believe the real life answer would be yes it can be picked up or grappled by the raven but i also believe within the spirit of 40k its a no.
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






If the squad had already moved could you move the rhino within 2" and have them embark?

No, because they have to move to embark.
   
Made in us
Malicious Mandrake





Isn't embarkation movement itself??? So if its immobilised, it can't move, hence it can't embark. just my 2 cents.

Kabal of Isha's Fall 12000PTs

Best DE advice ever!!!
Dashofpepper wrote:Asking how to make a game out of a match against Dark Eldar is like being in a prison cell surrounded by 10 big horny guys who each outweigh you by 100 pounds and asking "What can I do to make this a good fight?" You're going to get violated, and your best bet is to go willingly to get it over with faster.


And on a totally different topic:
Dashofpepper wrote:Greetings Mephiston! My name is Ghazghkull Thraka, and today you will be made my bitch.
 
   
Made in fr
Wicked Warp Spider




A cave, deep in the Misty Mountains

Rule wise: no
Fluff wise: yes

Craftworld Eleuven 4500

LoneLictor on thread about an ork choking the Emperor:
 LoneLictor wrote:
I like to imagine the Emperor kills so many Orks that he ends up half buried beneath a pile of corpses, with only his head sticking out. A lone grot stumbles across him, and starts choking him.

Then Horus comes across the lone grot, somehow managing to kill the Emperor, and punts it into space.
 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Fluff wise it would make sense, but as everyone else said, within the rules of 40k the embarking unit has to move to get into the transport. And an immobilized dread can't move, so it can't embark.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in gb
Swift Swooping Hawk






A wierder one is what if the dread in question is a psyker, and immobises itself while embarked. And then the stormraven gets destroyed.

As for the OP, see everyone else above. But if my opponent wanted to embark with his immobile dread due to fluff reasons, and it was a casual game, i wouldn't really mind, depending on if his dread disembarked at the front, or the back, of the stormraven when he initially disembarked.

WLD: 221 / 6 / 5

5 Dragons 2011: 2nd Overall

DT:80+S++G++M+B+I+Pw40k96++D++A++/mR+++T(T)DM+
 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced Inquisitorial Acolyte





San Francisco

I could see it going both ways. Really, we will just have to wait for GW to make the call.

Spitty Dakka Klan 2000
30k Alpha Legion
Imperial Guard 2500
Ostland of the Empire 2500


 
   
Made in gb
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker





essex, england

thanks for all the answers.
additional question: can an immobalised librarian dread use wings of sanguinious to move?
   
Made in us
Alluring Mounted Daemonette






No, because Wings of Sanguis just increases its range, and gives it flight...even with those two improvements it's still immoblized and cant move.


The Daemonic Alliance Infinite Points
Nightbringer's Darkness 3000 Points
Titan's Knights of the Round: 4000 points

"Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought." JFK 
   
Made in gb
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine






If the squad had already moved could you move the rhino within 2" and have them embark?

No, because they have to move to embark.


Yes because it's still the movement phase. You could move the tank first then move the squad 6" to within 2" and get in.
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Phototoxin, the scenario you just quoted specifies that the squad already moved before the transport did.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Malicious Mandrake





Mannahnin wrote:Phototoxin, the scenario you just quoted specifies that the squad already moved before the transport did.


well, if the squad had already moved and the rhino moves up, wouldn't that be counted as having moved within 2" seeing as they both moved???

Kabal of Isha's Fall 12000PTs

Best DE advice ever!!!
Dashofpepper wrote:Asking how to make a game out of a match against Dark Eldar is like being in a prison cell surrounded by 10 big horny guys who each outweigh you by 100 pounds and asking "What can I do to make this a good fight?" You're going to get violated, and your best bet is to go willingly to get it over with faster.


And on a totally different topic:
Dashofpepper wrote:Greetings Mephiston! My name is Ghazghkull Thraka, and today you will be made my bitch.
 
   
Made in gb
Elite Tyranid Warrior





Galador wrote:well, if the squad had already moved and the rhino moves up, wouldn't that be counted as having moved within 2" seeing as they both moved???


The squad must embark during their movement.
Moving the squad, then moving the Rhino, then moving the squad again to embark isn't allowed.
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

forkbanger wrote:
Galador wrote:well, if the squad had already moved and the rhino moves up, wouldn't that be counted as having moved within 2" seeing as they both moved???


The squad must embark during their movement.
Moving the squad, then moving the Rhino, then moving the squad again to embark isn't allowed.


Exactly. Embarking is part of that unit's movement. The rules forbid moving one unit, moving another unit, then going back and moving the first unit again.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Malicious Mandrake





So, basically, bottom line is to make sure that you move the Rhino first lol!

@forkbanger
I wasn't suggesting to move the squad again, I meant that if once the squad had moved, and then the rhino had moved, that if they were all within 2" of the access points they could embark. Sorry if that was unclear.

@forkbanger again
Think I misunderstood you on what you were saying, but left up my original part just in case I didn't, but I just thought of that maybe you were meaning because embarking was the second move??

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/02/21 23:32:38


Kabal of Isha's Fall 12000PTs

Best DE advice ever!!!
Dashofpepper wrote:Asking how to make a game out of a match against Dark Eldar is like being in a prison cell surrounded by 10 big horny guys who each outweigh you by 100 pounds and asking "What can I do to make this a good fight?" You're going to get violated, and your best bet is to go willingly to get it over with faster.


And on a totally different topic:
Dashofpepper wrote:Greetings Mephiston! My name is Ghazghkull Thraka, and today you will be made my bitch.
 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Yes, move the Rhino first; unless you're sure that the unit can all reach the hatches with a 6" move +2" distance.

Embarking is considered to be part of a unit's movement, so you would be splitting their movement if you did the 6" move, moved another unit, then tried to do the embarkation.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Can a pinned unit embark into a transport that moves within 2 inches of the unit? Therein lies your answer.

(no rule book handy, or I would answer my own question)
   
Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

Why is a raven like a writing desk?

WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in us
Malicious Mandrake





This brings up another question, which I'm sure I'm right on, but will pose it seeing as its relevant here and people at my FLGS want to disagree with me.....

I play that if the edge of your base closest to the vehicle is WITHIN 2" (using the definition on pg 3) then you can embark. I also use the same rules when disembarking, hence both myself and my opponent effectively get a 3" deployment as you must disembark WITHIN 2" of the hull of the vehicle. However, I have had many people try and argue that the whole base must be within 2", even after being show the illustrations on embarking and disembarking, and the definition on pg 3.

I really think they are wrong and I am correct, but if I'm missing something, someone please let me know!!

Kabal of Isha's Fall 12000PTs

Best DE advice ever!!!
Dashofpepper wrote:Asking how to make a game out of a match against Dark Eldar is like being in a prison cell surrounded by 10 big horny guys who each outweigh you by 100 pounds and asking "What can I do to make this a good fight?" You're going to get violated, and your best bet is to go willingly to get it over with faster.


And on a totally different topic:
Dashofpepper wrote:Greetings Mephiston! My name is Ghazghkull Thraka, and today you will be made my bitch.
 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

They are morons. It's worked the exact same way since 1998, and in every edition of the rules GW makes it MORE and MORE clear. I don't think it can possibly get clearer than the diagrams and definitions on pages 3 and 67.

One verbal illustration I used to use with people back in the 3rd ed days was to tell them it's "within" as in "within arm's reach", not "within my belly". If I'm within arm's reach I am close enough to touch, not at hugging distance.

You could also go to the extent of trying a physical demonstration of why their interpretation cannot be correct. Taking a unit of 12 Eldar models and a Wave Serpent, or a unit of 12 IG models and a Chimera, and ask them to try to physically fit all 12 models fully within 2" of the single hatch on either of those vehicles.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




With one caveat (sp?):

You have to move within 2" of the access points to embark and disembark within 2" of one of the access points. Not hull.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/02/22 00:17:51


 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Unless it's open-topped.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




And it even says "any point" not hull for open topped vehicles. So I guess orc vehicles with all kinds of awesome sticky-out-bits have quite an embark/disembark area?
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: