| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/22 00:38:14
Subject: can an immobalised dread be picked up by a stormraven?
|
 |
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot
|
Well you generally say to the hull, which wouldn't include all the spiky bits etc...
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/22 01:10:24
Subject: can an immobalised dread be picked up by a stormraven?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Okay, so the open topped vehicle part says "any point" but then we look at pg 3 on measuring distances which tells us to measure from the hull. Put the two together to get effectively any point within 2" of the hull.
Makes sense to me.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/22 01:11:24
Subject: can an immobalised dread be picked up by a stormraven?
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Bingo.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/22 01:28:31
Subject: can an immobalised dread be picked up by a stormraven?
|
 |
Elite Tyranid Warrior
|
Kyvik wrote:Can a pinned unit embark into a transport that moves within 2 inches of the unit? Therein lies your answer.
Pinning/Going to ground prevents any voluntary action, so they couldn't embark.
puma713 wrote:Why is a raven like a writing desk?
You need to update your riddle now that it's the twenty-first century.
Why is a raven like a write-protect?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/22 01:29:33
Subject: can an immobalised dread be picked up by a stormraven?
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
A pinned unit cannot embark onto a vehicle, since they can't make any movement.
I believe that in order to embark the unit must move to within 2", not the vehicle moving to within 2" of the unit.
In the case of a multi-unit squad I believe it even says the entire unit.
I would laugh cheerfully at this attempt then say no, sorry 'boutcherluck. This is obviously an attempt at a work around and not within the written rules or spirit of the game.
Not to mention that it would be stuck inside the Stormraven b/c it has to move to disembark.
apparently I have no idea how to use code to italicize things or bold
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/02/22 01:31:02
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/22 01:37:18
Subject: can an immobalised dread be picked up by a stormraven?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
forkbanger wrote:
puma713 wrote:Why is a raven like a writing desk?
You need to update your riddle now that it's the twenty-first century.
I thought that Carroll intended it as a nonsensical riddle that didn't have an answer. Making it even more appropriate now that it's the 21st century.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/22 01:39:12
Subject: can an immobalised dread be picked up by a stormraven?
|
 |
Malicious Mandrake
|
Mannahnin wrote:They are morons. It's worked the exact same way since 1998, and in every edition of the rules GW makes it MORE and MORE clear. I don't think it can possibly get clearer than the diagrams and definitions on pages 3 and 67.
One verbal illustration I used to use with people back in the 3rd ed days was to tell them it's "within" as in "within arm's reach", not "within my belly". If I'm within arm's reach I am close enough to touch, not at hugging distance.
You could also go to the extent of trying a physical demonstration of why their interpretation cannot be correct. Taking a unit of 12 Eldar models and a Wave Serpent, or a unit of 12 IG models and a Chimera, and ask them to try to physically fit all 12 models fully within 2" of the single hatch on either of those vehicles.
TY, Mannahnin, didn't think I was so stupid I couldn't tell what a picture was showing me!!!  (although they tried to make me feel that way!)
kmdl1066 wrote:And it even says "any point" not hull for open topped vehicles. So I guess orc vehicles with all kinds of awesome sticky-out-bits have quite an embark/disembark area?
Just remember, if you count the spiky bits for disembarking/embarking, your opponent gets to count them for shooting/assaulting!!! It's a double edged sword there!!
|
Kabal of Isha's Fall 12000PTs
Best DE advice ever!!!
Dashofpepper wrote:Asking how to make a game out of a match against Dark Eldar is like being in a prison cell surrounded by 10 big horny guys who each outweigh you by 100 pounds and asking "What can I do to make this a good fight?" You're going to get violated, and your best bet is to go willingly to get it over with faster.
And on a totally different topic:
Dashofpepper wrote:Greetings Mephiston! My name is Ghazghkull Thraka, and today you will be made my bitch. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/22 09:19:04
Subject: can an immobalised dread be picked up by a stormraven?
|
 |
Elite Tyranid Warrior
|
kmdl1066 wrote:I thought that Carroll intended it as a nonsensical riddle that didn't have an answer. Making it even more appropriate now that it's the 21st century. 
He did, but enough people pestered him that he started coming up with answers.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/22 17:35:40
Subject: can an immobalised dread be picked up by a stormraven?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Mannahnin wrote:Fluff wise it would make sense, but as everyone else said, within the rules of 40k the embarking unit has to move to get into the transport. And an immobilized dread can't move, so it can't embark.
And even if it could, it couldn't disembark.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/22 18:25:21
Subject: Re:can an immobalised dread be picked up by a stormraven?
|
 |
Storm Trooper with Maglight
Milwaukee, WI
|
puma713 wrote:Why is a raven like a writing desk?
Well, a Stormraven is like a Writing Desk in that they're both utterly un-aerodynamic without magical intervention...
|
18th Gamtilla Secundus Dragoon Guards Regiment: “The Lord Governor’s Own” |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|