Switch Theme:

Do Shockprows count as part of the hull?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu





Incinerating your hopes

Now, I've never used shockprows before and I was considering them because I grow tired of random Haemonculi trinkets that don't do anything (stupid Casket of Fail) Anyhow, the shockprow is almost a full inch longer than the normal piece on a raider, this can be most beneficial in game, as every inch can make a difference in getting that crucial charge or even helping to multicharge more than one target with your wyches. So, before I put this on the table and start acting a fool I would like to clarify any stupidity I may stumble into. What do you think? Is the Shock Prow a usable piece of the hull? Or, and upgrade like a dozer blade that no longer counts as part of the hull?

W/L/D
2/0/0
W/L/D
2/0/0 
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon





North Jersey

It should fall into that category of 'not hull' along side things like guns/flags/dozerblades/decorative items/etc.

-cgmckenzie


1500 pts
3000 pts
4-5k+pts
======Begin Dakka Geek Code======
DS:80-S+G++M+++B+IPw40k10#++D++A+++/hWD387R+++T(D)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code====== 
   
Made in gb
Angry Chaos Agitator






really? i thought the plow and dozerblades would of been counted o.O because like, ramming? you need to be an inch inside of someone... hehe xD... before doing damage? o.o i would of thought that the'd be part of the hull o.O thats how ive always played it

Remember when it comes to 40k Fluff
[Sing]

If you are wondering how he eats and breaths
And other science facts....

Just repeat to yourself; "It's just a show".
"I should really just relax".

[/Sing]

 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

In my games we count it as part of the hull because it can be used to ram vehicles.
As such, ranges can be measured to it, it can be used to establish LOS, etc.
YMMV however and it's best to go over this with your opponent before beginning the game.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon





North Jersey

No, dozerblades are specifically not part of the hull of a vehicle, a la measuring distances to vehicles in the BGB.

-cgmckenzie


1500 pts
3000 pts
4-5k+pts
======Begin Dakka Geek Code======
DS:80-S+G++M+++B+IPw40k10#++D++A+++/hWD387R+++T(D)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code====== 
   
Made in us
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord





Oregon, USA

It gets a bit sticky with Deffrollas, Dozer blades and Rams.

Measuring distances is to the hull, but i'd say that for ramming purposes any part of the vehicle that makes contact counts, as a 'how would you play it'.

I don't have a bucket of RAW to back this, but it seems to be a reasonable way to play it to avoid longwinded and vicious mudslingin.. i mean debates.

Strict RAW-wise i think it would have to be the hull making contact, which can be a bit hard to figure with some vehicles.

The Viletide: Daemons of Nurgle/Deathguard: 7400 pts
Disclples of the Dragon - Ad Mech - about 2000 pts
GSC - about 2000 Pts
Rhulic Mercs - um...many...
Circle Oroboros - 300 Pts or so
Menoth - 300+ pts
 
   
Made in us
Sybarite Swinging an Agonizer






Just more grey area in the rules. Nothing new here. Make up a rule for it and discuss it with your opponent. *shrug* All you can do.


Playing chess doesn't require skill, it just requires you to be good at chess...

...that would be a skill 
   
Made in us
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu





Incinerating your hopes

Hmmm. . .this doesn't answer my question at all I can already see having debates about this with other players. The normal, non-ram prow, is part of the hull. People use it all the time to draw LoS too and to get ranges. I imagine people will be using the shock prow for the same purposes. In that case, I don't have any qualms about using it to get an extra almost-inch. It's clearly not decorative as well, it just swaps the normal prow out unlike dozer blades which are just a silly add on. I must ponder.

W/L/D
2/0/0
W/L/D
2/0/0 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




It depends on if you measure distance from it. For my Deffrollas and on the rare occasion I put Dozer Blades on a Sisters Rhino I just tell my opponent at the start of the game that I count them as part of the hull for measurement, movement and disembarking purposes. It gets rid of the stupid "you can't get off there since no 2 models can occupy the same space" argument. On the downside, though it isn't an issue with a Raider since they have the same AV it does give your opponent more room to get a side shot on the lower AV.
   
Made in us
Ship's Officer






Technically, ramming only matters when the vehicles make contact, so a Shock Prow would give you that extra inch. However, many people have a problem with playing this way since Deff-Rollas (even the standard, non-custom ones) are huge and give a massive distance advantage, for example allowing you to ram a vehicle and stay out of assault range of a unit that can only reach the "rolla" part (because assaults require you to reach the hull, which the deff-rolla is technically not).

Typically, I've seen people simply include "ramming appendages" like Deff-Rollas and Dozers/Siege shields as part of the hull, so Shock Prows would fall into that category.

Ask Not, Fear Not - (Gallery), ,

 H.B.M.C. wrote:

Yeah! Who needs balanced rules when everyone can take giant stompy robots! Balanced rules are just for TFG WAAC players, and everyone hates them.

- This message brought to you by the Dakka Casual Gaming Mafia: 'Cause winning is for losers!
 
   
Made in gb
Junior Officer with Laspistol





Desperado Corp.

Raiders come on a hover base. I always use that for measuring distances to and from a vehicle, as the BRB states you should, IIRC. You only measure to the hull for vehicles without a base, such as the Chaos Defiler and Leman Russ Battle Tank.

Pretre: OOOOHHHHH snap. That's like driving away from hitting a pedestrian.
Pacific:First person to Photoshop a GW store into the streets of Kabul wins the thread.
Selym: "Be true to thyself, play Chaos" - Jesus, Daemon Prince of Cegorach.
H.B.M.C: You can't lobotomise someone twice. 
   
Made in gb
Fully-charged Electropriest





That's completely wrong. The rulebook allows you to measure to the base of a skimmer for the purpose of assaulting (and even then you can make contact with either base or hull).



“Do not ask me to approach the battle meekly, to creep through the shadows, or to quietly slip on my foes in the dark. I am Rogal Dorn, Imperial Fist, Space Marine, Emperor’s Champion. Let my enemies cower at my advance and tremble at the sight of me.”
-Rogal Dorn
 
   
Made in gb
Junior Officer with Laspistol





Desperado Corp.

Corrode wrote:That's completely wrong. The rulebook allows you to measure to the base of a skimmer for the purpose of assaulting (and even then you can make contact with either base or hull).


Really? Quote please, I won't argue if you can prove it.

Pretre: OOOOHHHHH snap. That's like driving away from hitting a pedestrian.
Pacific:First person to Photoshop a GW store into the streets of Kabul wins the thread.
Selym: "Be true to thyself, play Chaos" - Jesus, Daemon Prince of Cegorach.
H.B.M.C: You can't lobotomise someone twice. 
   
Made in gb
Fully-charged Electropriest





Read 'Measuring Distances' in the skimmer section.



“Do not ask me to approach the battle meekly, to creep through the shadows, or to quietly slip on my foes in the dark. I am Rogal Dorn, Imperial Fist, Space Marine, Emperor’s Champion. Let my enemies cower at my advance and tremble at the sight of me.”
-Rogal Dorn
 
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






Actually, there even is a picture in the section with the measuring rules including a trukk, where its reinforced ram is explicitly ignored. Should be the same for shock prows then.

7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in gb
Junior Officer with Laspistol





Desperado Corp.

Meh, I'll take your word for it, don't have my BRB to hand.

Pretre: OOOOHHHHH snap. That's like driving away from hitting a pedestrian.
Pacific:First person to Photoshop a GW store into the streets of Kabul wins the thread.
Selym: "Be true to thyself, play Chaos" - Jesus, Daemon Prince of Cegorach.
H.B.M.C: You can't lobotomise someone twice. 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




It even tells you in the skimmer rules to ignore the base. So thats wrong on two accounts...
   
Made in us
Incorporating Wet-Blending





Houston, TX

I would agree that the shockprow is an upgrade like a dozer blade and so not part of the hull.

-James
 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

jmurph wrote:I would agree that the shockprow is an upgrade like a dozer blade and so not part of the hull.


The rule on page 56 says to "...(ignore gun barrels, dozer blades, antennas, banners and other decorative elements)"

I would not consider a shock prow or a ram to be a decorative element.

Particularly since to make a ramming attack, the ramming tanks moves until it comes in contact with the enemy vehicle.

The shock prow is part of the vehicle and when it contacts an enemy vehicle, the collision occurs.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






The picture on page 3 explicitly ignores the reinforced ram as hull on the trukk. Also almost exactly the same as a dozerblade, which isn't decorative either.

By the way, I even play my deff rollas as dozer blades unless the opponent wants to play it otherwise(I don't care either way), and this interpretation causes way less unintuitive situations than playing it as hull.

7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in us
Noise Marine Terminator with Sonic Blaster





Moon Township, PA

Right or wrong, I have always played rollas and blades are part of the hull. It just makes gameplay easier.

And, if someone were to get bent out of shape about it, then I just try to clarify it up front.

But, let me ask this question then to all the people that say it does not count: On a pitched battle deployment zone, would you allow the shockprow (rolla, whatever) to be an inch over the deployment line? After all, it doesn't count.

So, when you really boil it down, it does not really matter that much which way you count it as long as you are consistent the whole game.

 
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






Awesome! I answered to your post before you posted it

7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in us
Kabalite Conscript




Boston, MA

Most DE player's don't use shock prows but we still put them on our vehicles for aesthetic purposes so in that sense they are decorative.

I usually ask my opponent before hand and we usually agree to use the hull of the vehicles for measuring LOS and disembarking. Just be consistent.

If my opponent wants to shoot at the prow then I will let him, but that means I get to measure from it for my wyches to disembark.
   
Made in us
Sslimey Sslyth






Busy somewhere, airin' out the skin jobs.

It's not at all like a dozerblade or reinforced ram from a modelling perspective.

You dont have to put a blade on a rhino....it looks normal.

If you do not put a shock prow (or the other nosecone) on the raider model, the model is simply incomplete. The shock prow is a small bit longer than the normal nosecone but it is still part of the vehicle...not totally optional.

I've always played it as part of the hull since the new model came out...and never had a problem with it. Yes my wyches will jump 2" off the tip as well....after pivoting on the 12" line first. Hull or no...it's legal "Models can embark or disembark within 2" OF ANY POINT OF THE VEHICLE."

When I ram is my shock prow touching your model? Hull or no I've satisfied the rulebook requirement for a ram. "If the ramming tank COMES INTO CONTACT WITH AN ENEMY VEHICLE, the collision is resolved as follows."

If the shock prow of my raider is in contact with your tank, how is my vehicle not "in contact"? Hull or no, who cares? The vehicle is "in contact", ram is resolved.

Whether or not something is Hull only really matters during the shooting phase otherwise it's generally "in contact wit the vehicle." I generally consider the prow to be hull for shooting purposes, but that's just me.

I have never failed to seize on 4+ in my life!

The best 40k page in the Universe
COMMORRAGH 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You misquoted. Its within 2" of the HULL.
   
Made in us
Sslimey Sslyth






Busy somewhere, airin' out the skin jobs.

actually, I was typing straight out of the rulebook...go read it.

Open topped vehicles do not deploy troops from the hull...they deploy from any point of the vehicle. Raiders are open topped...hence...

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/06/30 14:04:31


I have never failed to seize on 4+ in my life!

The best 40k page in the Universe
COMMORRAGH 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yet you are still told to ignore "decorative" elements - you cannot measure to them, therefore you cannot disembark 2" from them. meaning you end up back to disembarking 2" from the hull
   
Made in us
Sslimey Sslyth






Busy somewhere, airin' out the skin jobs.

nosferatu1001 wrote:Yet you are still told to ignore "decorative" elements - you cannot measure to them, therefore you cannot disembark 2" from them. meaning you end up back to disembarking 2" from the hull


1. A shock prow is no more a decorative element than the normal prow...which is not decorative, its part of the vehicle.

2. Nowhere do you see the term "decorative element" or anything of the sort in the rules for Open Topped Transport Vehicles on page 70. However it does specifically say ANY point of the vehicle.

Sorry nos, you're wrong.

(not every army plays like Spaize MareenzHURRRR!)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/30 14:13:04


I have never failed to seize on 4+ in my life!

The best 40k page in the Universe
COMMORRAGH 
   
Made in gb
Gnawing Giant Rat




I'd imagine that most people wouldn't really care as long as you're consistent (i.e. if you can ram me with that bit of the vehicle, I can shoot it when it's sticking out the side of a building). To be honest, most non-DE players probably don't even know the difference.

Skaven: 1000pts 
   
Made in us
Kabalite Conscript




Boston, MA

Deadshane1 wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:Yet you are still told to ignore "decorative" elements - you cannot measure to them, therefore you cannot disembark 2" from them. meaning you end up back to disembarking 2" from the hull


1. A shock prow is no more a decorative element than the normal prow...which is not decorative, its part of the vehicle.

2. Nowhere do you see the term "decorative element" or anything of the sort in the rules for Open Topped Transport Vehicles on page 70. However it does specifically say ANY point of the vehicle.

Sorry nos, you're wrong.

(not every army plays like Spaize MareenzHURRRR!)


So I can disembark my troops from the top of the giant sail on my raider? For example onto a roof.

If you only have LOS to the top of of the sail can you shoot at the raider?
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: