Switch Theme:

Inquisitorial Psykers vs Culexus Assassin  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in za
Mutilatin' Mad Dok





Greetings!

I'm asking this on behalf of a friend who plays Grey Knights - this stemming from a rule debate he had at a tournament this Saturday.

Quite simply:

In regards to the Culexus Assassin's Animus Speculum ability, how many psykers does a unit of Inquitorial Psykers count as?

(a) Each Psyker within the unit counts as an individual Spyker

(b) The entire unit counts a single Psyker

My friend argued for (a), his opponent argued for (b)

I personally agree with (a), due to my perception that the description of the entire unit counting as a single psyker is in reference to the Psychic Barrage ability, and not a rule for the unit as a whole.

The opponent additionally pointed towards the grey knight Brotherhood of Psykers special ruling, though it seems quite clear to me at least that this only affects actual Grey Knight units, and not every unit in the codex.

Thoughts?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/03/07 08:32:56


 
   
Made in us
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight






Tokyo, Japan

the whole squad counts as one psyker. The description for them has that nasty "etc." in there so they behave like brotherhood of psykers and thus one unit will count as one.

+ Thought of the day + Not even in death does duty end.


 
   
Made in au
Member of the Malleus




Not every shadow, but any shadow

At the risk of further acrimony I agree with you mate.

There is a pretty good reasoning for each Psyker counting individually, I like you read it as they count as a group for the offensive actions but for other things they are individuals, like getting shot by a Condemner Boltgun for example.

There is an equal amount the other way as well.

In short it isn't entirely clear.

It could make for a nasty bunker. You could put the Assassin at the heart and surrounded by pskyers in cover but honestly that probably wouldn't be as effective as it might seem at first thought. It is a very big and weakly armoured target.

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No, in "short" it is 100% clear

The unit entry does not contain the "PSYKER" special rule, so they are not, individually, psykers.

Only if you ignore this simple fact can you come to any other conclusion. The ONLY thing that lets them use any psychic power at all is ALSO the rule that says they are only one psyker

You can also claim that because they are "Psykers" in name that they are therefore "psykers" in rules, however in that case Heavy flamers are now Heavy, Fire dragons are dragons that are permanently alight, and ASsault cannons can be moved and fired by anyone as they are now assault weapons.
   
Made in au
Member of the Malleus




Not every shadow, but any shadow

And there we have, as predicted, the other view point

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




...the one backed by rules, the way the entire game is set up, you mean?

Your opinion has as much validity as claiming "the sky is green" is an alternative viewpoint.
   
Made in au
Member of the Malleus




Not every shadow, but any shadow

The sky can be green during a Thunder storm.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/03/07 13:08:55


 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Did you ever see a green sky?
Well, I seen a blue sky
And I seen a red sky
Yeah, I seen a yellow sky
Ha-ha-ha-ha

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in za
Mutilatin' Mad Dok





nosferatu1001 wrote:No, in "short" it is 100% clear

The unit entry does not contain the "PSYKER" special rule, so they are not, individually, psykers.

Only if you ignore this simple fact can you come to any other conclusion. The ONLY thing that lets them use any psychic power at all is ALSO the rule that says they are only one psyker

You can also claim that because they are "Psykers" in name that they are therefore "psykers" in rules, however in that case Heavy flamers are now Heavy, Fire dragons are dragons that are permanently alight, and ASsault cannons can be moved and fired by anyone as they are now assault weapons.

Ah, you've hit the nail on the head it seems, as usual - I appreciate it, thanks!

I'm completely guilty of assuming they were of the unit type "psyker" from looking at their name, rather than their actual unit type. Ironically, as far as I was told, this argument was never brought up in the debate I mentioned, so it seems several skimmed over it.

But, the lack of that term in the unit type seems to completely cement what you say - they are a group of normal infantry, but have an ability that they can use as if they were a single psyker.

Magpie wrote:It could make for a nasty bunker. You could put the Assassin at the heart and surrounded by pskyers in cover but honestly that probably wouldn't be as effective as it might seem at first thought. It is a very big and weakly armoured target.

Hah, this is the exact reason my friend fielded it, thinking he could do that.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Magpie wrote:The sky can be green during a Thunder storm.


Which si not the same statement as "the sky IS green"

It doesnt alter that your view poiint has zero rules validity. None, nada, zip, zilch. Only by ignoring the actual unit special rules, the rulebook rules and assuming that name of unit == special rules of unit which leads to the aforementioned scaled blazing Eldar can you declare there to be "another viewpoint", and if you are ignoring rules to do so, from a rules perspective it is entirely invalid.
   
Made in us
Death-Dealing Devastator





South South South Texas

Also, for similar reasons GK tanks don't add one because they aren't psykers either.

"Give us prey, and we shall hunt" -Battle cry of the Purgation Hounds. 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Well, they are psykers, but only for 2 specific reasons - taking psychic tests and for psychic hoods.
   
Made in us
Ship's Officer






Just to play devil's advocate, the Culexus' Animus Speculum rules do not actually specify that "Psyker" refers to models with the Psyker special rule.

It can really be read both ways, as either: "models with the Psyker rule" (which would make GK units a single psyker, "warband" Psykers would be none, etc), or "Psyker" models, aka the Psykers you can purchase in a warband.

It's very similar to the old problem (now FAQ'd) of Fabius Bile's upgrades to "Chaos Space Marine squads" referring to either "squads in the CSM codex" or "the unit specifically called Chaos Space Marines."

As long as both players can agree on the interpretation, then RAW is very clear, but I just wanted to point out that there isn't anything in the Animus Speculum rules that specifies to what "Psyker" refers. Leave it to GW to make a model with the same name as the colloquial name of a model with a certain special rule, then NOT give that special rule to the model of the same name, and then have a piece of wargear that supposedly interacts with one of the two of them in the same codex.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2012/03/07 16:32:03


Ask Not, Fear Not - (Gallery), ,

 H.B.M.C. wrote:

Yeah! Who needs balanced rules when everyone can take giant stompy robots! Balanced rules are just for TFG WAAC players, and everyone hates them.

- This message brought to you by the Dakka Casual Gaming Mafia: 'Cause winning is for losers!
 
   
Made in za
Mutilatin' Mad Dok





Actually, hold on, does this interpretation mean that the Psyker unit can never affect a Culexus assassin's Animus Speculum ability, as they are not actual "psykers" at the point in which the Culexus uses his wargear?

I guess it would. Huh.
   
Made in us
Ship's Officer






Kharrak wrote:Actually, hold on, does this interpretation mean that the Psyker unit can never affect a Culexus assassin's Animus Speculum ability, as they are not actual "psykers" at the point in which the Culexus uses his wargear?

I guess it would. Huh.


If you assume the Animus Speculum means "models with the Psyker rule" when it says "Psykers," then yeah, that's the way it works by RAW.

Ask Not, Fear Not - (Gallery), ,

 H.B.M.C. wrote:

Yeah! Who needs balanced rules when everyone can take giant stompy robots! Balanced rules are just for TFG WAAC players, and everyone hates them.

- This message brought to you by the Dakka Casual Gaming Mafia: 'Cause winning is for losers!
 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Kansas

thecapn226 wrote:Also, for similar reasons GK tanks don't add one because they aren't psykers either.


Actually they do. They have Psychic Pilot which is I quote:

A vehicle with this speical rule is treated as being a psyker (Mastery level 1) .....
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Morpheus wrote:
thecapn226 wrote:Also, for similar reasons GK tanks don't add one because they aren't psykers either.


Actually they do. They have Psychic Pilot which is I quote:

A vehicle with this speical rule is treated as being a psyker (Mastery level 1) .....

You left off the important part of that quote.
... for the purposes of Psychic tests and psychic hoods.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Kansas

I am going to go with the Battle squad give a +1 for each model that is not the overseer in the squad. The reason is everyone except the Overseer has the "Psyker" special rule. The Psychic Choir tells that the squad is treated as a single psyker for the purposes of using their power. That is the only reason it is counted as 1 psyker.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
rigeld2 wrote:
Morpheus wrote:
thecapn226 wrote:Also, for similar reasons GK tanks don't add one because they aren't psykers either.


Actually they do. They have Psychic Pilot which is I quote:

A vehicle with this speical rule is treated as being a psyker (Mastery level 1) .....

You left off the important part of that quote.
... for the purposes of Psychic tests and psychic hoods.


Actually you missed the other part that is important.

... and Leadership 10 for the purposes of Psychic tests and psychic hoods


They are a psyker level1 , and for the the purposes of tests and hoods they have a Ld of 10. Not that they are only a Psyker for the purpose of hoods and tests.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/03/07 19:19:55


 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Morpheus wrote:Actually you missed the other part that is important.

... and Leadership 10 for the purposes of Psychic tests and psychic hoods


They are a psyker level1 , and for the the purposes of tests and hoods they have a Ld of 10. Not that they are only a Psyker for the purpose of hoods and tests.


Is the Animus Speculum a Psychic Test or a Psychic Hood?

Also, could you point out where in the Inquisitorial Psykers entry that they have the "Psyker" special rule?

The main problem with the Animus Speculum is that it refers to Psykers. By and large, pretty much everywhere in the rules, any reference to being a Psyker means that you have the "Psyker" special rule. Treating the Animus Speculum differently because you want more shots from it isn't exactly the most honest interpretation.

A clarification that it only refers to models with the "Psyker" special rule (like pretty much all other Psyker specific rules) would be nice, but probably unnecessary.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/03/07 19:38:06


 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Kansas

IcyCool wrote:
Is the Animus Speculum a Psychic Test or a Psychic Hood?

Also, could you point out where in the Inquisitorial Psykers entry that they have the "Psyker" special rule?


The AS is neither,

IG page 47, Special Rules: Psyker (Sanctioned Psykers only)
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Morpheus wrote:The AS is neither,

IG page 47, Special Rules: Psyker (Sanctioned Psykers only)


Ah, you appear to have missed the mention of the Grey Knights codex in the OP (the psykers in that are different to the IG PBS, the Grey Knight henchmen psykers don't have the "Psyker" special rule. Instead, they function together as a single psyker).

So if you agree that the AS is neither a Psychic Test nor a Psychic Hood, how can you claim that a Grey Knight vehicle with the Psychic Pilot rule counts for the AS?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/03/07 19:40:45


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Morpheus - you saee in your rewriting you have added in a comma that doesnt exist? That ENTIRELY changes the meaning of the sentence

If that comma were there, then indeed they would be psykers. Sadly however that comma ISNT there, and therefore the WHOLE sentence is covered in the "for the purposes of..." clause.

So no, they are not psykers when the AS is used.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Kansas

IcyCool wrote:
Ah, you appear to have missed the mention of the Grey Knights codex in the OP (the psykers in that are different to the IG PBS, the Grey Knight henchmen psykers don't have the "Psyker" special rule. Instead, they function together as a single psyker).

So if you agree that the AS is neither a Psychic Test nor a Psychic Hood, how can you claim that a Grey Knight vehicle with the Psychic Pilot rule counts for the AS?


Your right! I was mixing codex . Thanks!

Reading the AS rules it says "For every Psyker within 12", it does not specify if the psyker is a special rule or a unit name, Because they are using a Psychic power I would argue they are each a +1 for the AS, If you argue they are not a psyker, I would simply ask how can a unit that can use a Psychic ability not be a Psyker?

The vehicle is easy. The entire rule is:
A vehicle with this special rule is treated as being a psyker (Mastery level 1) and Leadership 10 for purposes of Psychic Tests and Psychic hoods. If the vehicle suffers a Perils of the Warp, treat as a glancing hit.


They are a Psyker. For purposes of Psi tests and hoods they have a Ld10. The "and Ld 10" is what the Psi tests and hoods is parsed with, not with the Psyker.

A good way to think of it, "I am a College Graduate and have 18 years experience with my company for purposes of determining if I can vest in my pension."

I am a graduate, but that has no bearing on my vesting in my pension. The 18 years with my company is for pension purposes, the pension does not care If I graduated college or can take the college away.



Automatically Appended Next Post:
nosferatu1001 wrote:Morpheus - you saee in your rewriting you have added in a comma that doesnt exist? That ENTIRELY changes the meaning of the sentence

If that comma were there, then indeed they would be psykers. Sadly however that comma ISNT there, and therefore the WHOLE sentence is covered in the "for the purposes of..." clause.

So no, they are not psykers when the AS is used.


If this was true, I could also then argue that the vehicle cannot use Fortitude because it is not a psyker and does not have a Ld value to try and use the power.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/03/07 20:09:11


 
   
Made in es
Sneaky Striking Scorpion




Madrid


Automatically Appended Next Post:
nosferatu1001 wrote:Morpheus - you saee in your rewriting you have added in a comma that doesnt exist? That ENTIRELY changes the meaning of the sentence

If that comma were there, then indeed they would be psykers. Sadly however that comma ISNT there, and therefore the WHOLE sentence is covered in the "for the purposes of..." clause.

So no, they are not psykers when the AS is used.


If this was true, I could also then argue that the vehicle cannot use Fortitude because it is not a psyker and does not have a Ld value to try and use the power.



But that would be wrong because it tells us to treat it as one

5.000 2.000

"The stars themselves once lived and died at our command, yet you still dare to oppose our will."

Never Forgive, Never Forget
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

jgehunter wrote:
Morpheus wrote:

nosferatu1001 wrote:Morpheus - you saee in your rewriting you have added in a comma that doesnt exist? That ENTIRELY changes the meaning of the sentence

If that comma were there, then indeed they would be psykers. Sadly however that comma ISNT there, and therefore the WHOLE sentence is covered in the "for the purposes of..." clause.

So no, they are not psykers when the AS is used.


If this was true, I could also then argue that the vehicle cannot use Fortitude because it is not a psyker and does not have a Ld value to try and use the power.



But that would be wrong because it tells us to treat it as one


Right, however, we only treat it as a Psyker (with a Ld of 10) for the purpose of psychic tests and psychic hoods.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/03/07 20:35:21


Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Kansas

We can agree to disagree on this one, The last thought I would leave you with is where is the rules for performing all this? Under the Chapter heading "Psykers" What does the AS do? Adds +1 for every Psyker within 12". I can very easily argue if you are using the Psykers rules you you are satisfying the condition for a +1 for the AS.
   
Made in es
Sneaky Striking Scorpion




Madrid

Morpheus wrote:We can agree to disagree on this one, The last thought I would leave you with is where is the rules for performing all this? Under the Chapter heading "Psykers" What does the AS do? Adds +1 for every Psyker within 12". I can very easily argue if you are using the Psykers rules you you are satisfying the condition for a +1 for the AS.


So apples are oranges right? A cat has claws that doesn't mean that something that has claws is a cat

5.000 2.000

"The stars themselves once lived and died at our command, yet you still dare to oppose our will."

Never Forgive, Never Forget
 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Kansas

Nope I am just arguing that anyone using the Psyker rules is a Psyker.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Of course it is also possible (I don't think it likely) that the 'Psyker" that AS refers to is the model named "Psyker" (aka Inquisitorial Psyker)

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Morpheus wrote:Nope I am just arguing that anyone using the Psyker rules is a Psyker.


Which is different than arguing that anyone who uses something resembling the Psyker rules intrinsically has the "Psyker" special rule, correct? I just want to be clear on your stance.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: