Switch Theme:

IC's that don't manage to get very far...  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight






Tokyo, Japan

So the situation was:

a SM capt was in with a tac squad and at the beginning of the movement phase, the owning player declares that he is seperating the captain from the squad. They are in terrain so naturally roll for it.

The capt gets a double 1 so don't move very far at all.

The squad moves some 4' but the last member is still 1' from the captain.

Are the squad and captain seperate now or are they stuck together since you couldn't move them more than 1' apart?
(i.e. if I rapid fire with the squad, can I still charge with the captain?)


As an aside, what if I had the captain one inch from any squad but did not want to join them yet could not move anywhere else due to terrain features? Do I just not get to move him?

+ Thought of the day + Not even in death does duty end.


 
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






It doesn't matter what you declare, an IC has not left the unit until he moves it of coherency with it. If his movement isn't enough to get out of coherency, then he stays with the unit. If he moves out of coherency and the unit then forms up around him, then they are separate units and he doesn't join then (as you only measure to see if an IC has joined a unit at the end of hs own movement, not that of the unit).
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




sudojoe wrote:
The capt gets a double 1 so don't move very far at all.

The squad moves some 4' but the last member is still 1' from the captain.


At the start of the movement phase they were one unit. All models in the unit will have the same maximum movement. So you would make one roll for terrain to see how far the unit+captain may move. The captain may then move off on his own using that distance, and the remaining unit may then move in another direction using that same distance.
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Cheexsta wrote:It doesn't matter what you declare, an IC has not left the unit until he moves it of coherency with it. If his movement isn't enough to get out of coherency, then he stays with the unit. If he moves out of coherency and the unit then forms up around him, then they are separate units and he doesn't join then (as you only measure to see if an IC has joined a unit at the end of hs own movement, not that of the unit).


That's mostly right, but there is also a check at the end of the movement phase (not just his), so if a character does not intend (or cannot) join a unit he MUST be 2" away. Moving the squad too close would be breaking this rule, so they must keep their distance.

Edit: in the event of a character leaving succesfully, his old squad can't then group up around him.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/08 12:36:37


 
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






grendel083 wrote:
Cheexsta wrote:It doesn't matter what you declare, an IC has not left the unit until he moves it of coherency with it. If his movement isn't enough to get out of coherency, then he stays with the unit. If he moves out of coherency and the unit then forms up around him, then they are separate units and he doesn't join then (as you only measure to see if an IC has joined a unit at the end of hs own movement, not that of the unit).


That's mostly right, but there is also a check at the end of the movement phase (not just his), so if a character does not intend (or cannot) join a unit he MUST be 2" away. Moving the squad too close would be breaking this rule, so they must keep their distance.

Edit: in the event of a character leaving succesfully, his old squad can't then group up around him.

Right, I had forgotten that he and his former unit still move at the same time, so they'd have to end >2" from each other to be considered separate.

But you could move another unit around the IC if you want, but they wouldn't be joined.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Cheexsta wrote:But you could move another unit around the IC if you want, but they wouldn't be joined.

If there are two units within 2" at the end of the movement phase, you have to declare which unit the IC is joining.

It doesn't matter who moved first. You don't count the IC as joined the moment he stops moving. He joins a unit he is within 2" of at the end of the phase.

 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

If I'm reading it right, the character MUST join a unit if within 2"?
The only way to not join is to stay more than 2" away?
   
Made in us
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight






Tokyo, Japan

Guess that would be a yes? kind of silly that you can't stand within 2' of the guy. What? He got smelly socks or something?

+ Thought of the day + Not even in death does duty end.


 
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






insaniak wrote:
Cheexsta wrote:But you could move another unit around the IC if you want, but they wouldn't be joined.

If there are two units within 2" at the end of the movement phase, you have to declare which unit the IC is joining.

It doesn't matter who moved first. You don't count the IC as joined the moment he stops moving. He joins a unit he is within 2" of at the end of the phase.

Right, misread that again. I'm on a roll today...
   
Made in gb
Frightening Flamer of Tzeentch







Also the Captain would roll 3d6 as he is an independent character, just putting that out there.

Tournament record: (W/D/L)
Space wolves : 1/1/1
Dark Eldar : 6/0/1 (1 overall win)
Daemons :8/0/2 (1 overall win)
Normal games starting 5/11/12:
Dark Eldar 13/0/1
Daemons 32/1/1
Friends armies 1/0/0 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Grimnarsmate wrote:Also the Captain would roll 3d6 as he is an independent character, just putting that out there.

Not on the turn he tries to leave the unit. While he is with the unit, he loses MtC unless the unit also has it.. He only regains it after he has left the unit... which doesn't happen until after his movement.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/09 12:18:38


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




WHile that is correct RAW, it is quite common to play that the IC regains those rules as he moves away, and can also use items such as jump packs, bikes etc.
   
Made in us
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight






Tokyo, Japan

nosferatu1001 wrote:WHile that is correct RAW, it is quite common to play that the IC regains those rules as he moves away, and can also use items such as jump packs, bikes etc.


wait, I'm confused, so I thought that the IC won't get back his abilities as an IC till he successfully detatches from the squad. So he can still use his ability to move further i.e. as Jumptroop if he had it to leave but won't get to roll for difficult the same way?

I'm getting kind of lost now.

+ Thought of the day + Not even in death does duty end.


 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

sudojoe wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:WHile that is correct RAW, it is quite common to play that the IC regains those rules as he moves away, and can also use items such as jump packs, bikes etc.


wait, I'm confused, so I thought that the IC won't get back his abilities as an IC till he successfully detatches from the squad. So he can still use his ability to move further i.e. as Jumptroop if he had it to leave but won't get to roll for difficult the same way?

I'm getting kind of lost now.


The IC doesn't until he leaves the units. By RAW if an IC has a jump pack (but the squad doesn't) he's still restricted to the squads speed until he leaves it. Not everyone plays it that way though...
   
Made in us
Raging-on-the-Inside Blood Angel Sergeant



Alexandria, VA

grendel083 wrote:
sudojoe wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:WHile that is correct RAW, it is quite common to play that the IC regains those rules as he moves away, and can also use items such as jump packs, bikes etc.


wait, I'm confused, so I thought that the IC won't get back his abilities as an IC till he successfully detatches from the squad. So he can still use his ability to move further i.e. as Jumptroop if he had it to leave but won't get to roll for difficult the same way?

I'm getting kind of lost now.


The IC doesn't until he leaves the units. By RAW if an IC has a jump pack (but the squad doesn't) he's still restricted to the squads speed until he leaves it. Not everyone plays it that way though...


How is this played in major tournaments? Or does it even vary there depending on the TO?
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

I've never seen it played that the leaving IC is restricted by the unit type of his former unit. The RAW is typically thrown out in favor of the more intuitive alternative.
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

It does make sense that an IC with a jumppack would simply jump away to leave a squad, and many people play it that way. But technically he's still part of the unit until he leaves the unit.

Personaly I'm not opposed if an opponent wants to do it that way, as long as it's not abused. I have seen an IC jump to the front of a large unit with the 'intention' of leaving (followed by "Oh no, he's still within 2" and part of the unit, whoops") just in time for an assault. He was promptly told to put the character back...
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




nosferatu1001 wrote:WHile that is correct RAW, it is quite common to play that the IC regains those rules as he moves away, and can also use items such as jump packs, bikes etc.


The side effect of not playing the RAW on this is that if you have an IC with jump pack or bike, you can extend the charge threat of a foot unit by a couple inches. Unless you house rule the house rule.
   
Made in au
Member of the Malleus




Not every shadow, but any shadow

kmdl1066 wrote:The side effect of not playing the RAW on this is that if you have an IC with jump pack or bike, you can extend the charge threat of a foot unit by a couple inches. Unless you house rule the house rule.


How does that work?

 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Jump pack IC with unit of foot. IC declares he is leaving the unit and moves 8" forward. So far so good. They''re clearly two units being moved interdependently. Later in the movement phase the foot unit moves forward 6". End of the movement phase the IC is within 2" of a unit (the foot unit) and so must join the unit. IC declares a charge against an enemy that is within charge range of the IC but out of charge range of the foot. Lucky thing they're one unit now, right?

So you have to house rule the house rule to say that if the IC does move off from the unit using the jump pack, the unit cannot then trundle up to within 2" of the IC.
   
Made in us
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight






Tokyo, Japan

I think when we start to house rule the house rule something catastrophic happens and the world divides by zero resulting in subatomic compaction of the space time continuium...

+ Thought of the day + Not even in death does duty end.


 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

kmdl1066 wrote:Jump pack IC with unit of foot. IC declares he is leaving the unit and moves 8" forward. So far so good. They''re clearly two units being moved interdependently. Later in the movement phase the foot unit moves forward 6". End of the movement phase the IC is within 2" of a unit (the foot unit) and so must join the unit. IC declares a charge against an enemy that is within charge range of the IC but out of charge range of the foot. Lucky thing they're one unit now, right?

So you have to house rule the house rule to say that if the IC does move off from the unit using the jump pack, the unit cannot then trundle up to within 2" of the IC.


Of course, we could always get back into the debate on whether or not the unit can leave/join the IC (barring transports oc). Which means, if the IC is the one that has to do the leaving/joining, then it would technically be impossible, for an IC to leave and re-join the same unit in this manner. As it is, I would really prefer not to open up that can of raveners again.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Raging-on-the-Inside Blood Angel Sergeant



Alexandria, VA

grendel083 wrote:It does make sense that an IC with a jumppack would simply jump away to leave a squad, and many people play it that way. But technically he's still part of the unit until he leaves the unit.

Personaly I'm not opposed if an opponent wants to do it that way, as long as it's not abused. I have seen an IC jump to the front of a large unit with the 'intention' of leaving (followed by "Oh no, he's still within 2" and part of the unit, whoops") just in time for an assault. He was promptly told to put the character back...


Interesting, you mention this. I think I just watched a video on this (maybe Beasts of War?) that showed you how to use an IC's MtC to boost a unit through difficult terrain.
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

reps0l wrote:
grendel083 wrote:It does make sense that an IC with a jumppack would simply jump away to leave a squad, and many people play it that way. But technically he's still part of the unit until he leaves the unit.

Personaly I'm not opposed if an opponent wants to do it that way, as long as it's not abused. I have seen an IC jump to the front of a large unit with the 'intention' of leaving (followed by "Oh no, he's still within 2" and part of the unit, whoops") just in time for an assault. He was promptly told to put the character back...


Interesting, you mention this. I think I just watched a video on this (maybe Beasts of War?) that showed you how to use an IC's MtC to boost a unit through difficult terrain.


Be interesting to watch if you can find the link.
   
Made in us
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran





Houston, TX

Unless the IC is touching base with one of the models of the squad, when you roll double 1s, that is enough to have the IC separated.

It is, thus, the player's fault to not be able to do so.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

reps0l wrote:Interesting, you mention this. I think I just watched a video on this (maybe Beasts of War?) that showed you how to use an IC's MtC to boost a unit through difficult terrain.

Beasts of War has a long history of getting the rules wrong.

leohart wrote:Unless the IC is touching base with one of the models of the squad, when you roll double 1s, that is enough to have the IC separated.

It is, thus, the player's fault to not be able to do so.

Unless the IC is in the middle of a squad and not on the edge. Then, you'll need more than a 1" move to separate them.

6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




kmdl1066 wrote:Jump pack IC with unit of foot. IC declares he is leaving the unit and moves 8" forward. So far so good. They''re clearly two units being moved interdependently. Later in the movement phase the foot unit moves forward 6". End of the movement phase the IC is within 2" of a unit (the foot unit) and so must join the unit. IC declares a charge against an enemy that is within charge range of the IC but out of charge range of the foot. Lucky thing they're one unit now, right?

So you have to house rule the house rule to say that if the IC does move off from the unit using the jump pack, the unit cannot then trundle up to within 2" of the IC.


Which never works, ever.

You have not left the unit until the end of the movement phase, as that is when you cehck coherency. So you are constrained by moving 6" a turn
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





His point was if you allow the extra movement from being a different unit type, such a situation is possible. One reason why it's a bad idea to allow it.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Raging-on-the-Inside Blood Angel Sergeant



Alexandria, VA

grendel083 wrote:
reps0l wrote:
grendel083 wrote:It does make sense that an IC with a jumppack would simply jump away to leave a squad, and many people play it that way. But technically he's still part of the unit until he leaves the unit.

Personaly I'm not opposed if an opponent wants to do it that way, as long as it's not abused. I have seen an IC jump to the front of a large unit with the 'intention' of leaving (followed by "Oh no, he's still within 2" and part of the unit, whoops") just in time for an assault. He was promptly told to put the character back...


Interesting, you mention this. I think I just watched a video on this (maybe Beasts of War?) that showed you how to use an IC's MtC to boost a unit through difficult terrain.


Be interesting to watch if you can find the link.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pKrBKPuYbng

I was incorrect...they don't show an IC jumping ahead to bring the unit into assault, just the IC leaving and using its MtC in the same movement phase. Sorry.

Grakmar wrote:
reps0l wrote:Interesting, you mention this. I think I just watched a video on this (maybe Beasts of War?) that showed you how to use an IC's MtC to boost a unit through difficult terrain.

Beasts of War has a long history of getting the rules wrong.

Bummer, their vids have nice quality.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

kmdl1066 wrote:Jump pack IC with unit of foot. IC declares he is leaving the unit and moves 8" forward. So far so good. They''re clearly two units being moved interdependently. Later in the movement phase the foot unit moves forward 6".

Whether or not you allow the IC to move with his own rules, that doesn't work. The IC leaves the unit as the unit moves. You can't move the IC, go do other movement, and then come back to the unit the IC was with.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: