Switch Theme:

Librarian Familiars  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in jp
Fate-Controlling Farseer





Fort Campbell

Simple question.  Does the familiar have a base of it's own, or are we assuming he's hanging onto his master?

Full Frontal Nerdity 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


Clarified in the most recent FAQ (although it wasn't really necessary):

Creatures with a statline are models with their own base. This naturally applies to Familiars as well.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in jp
Fate-Controlling Farseer





Fort Campbell

Thanks.

Full Frontal Nerdity 
   
Made in jp
Fate-Controlling Farseer





Fort Campbell

Expansion on the question. If the Librarian has a jump pack, do they get to travel along as well? Something tells me no, but I cannot find any guidance on it.

Full Frontal Nerdity 
   
Made in us
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine





WA, USA

Yes they do, I believe the FAQ states it. They travel the speed of the owner.


 
   
Made in jp
Fate-Controlling Farseer





Fort Campbell

Both answers where in the same FAQ... guess I should have looked their first. Thanks guys.

Full Frontal Nerdity 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


Unfortunatley some of the larger issues remain unanswered by GW regarding wargear models, and the Familiar rules in particular are the most sparse of any wargear model rules in any codex (which is pretty sad considering this is supposed to be a clear 4th edition codex).

Does the familiar form a unit with the character?
Is this unit targetable under the normal targeting rules, or does it still follow the IC targeting rules?
If the Familiar is killed does the "unit" (character & Familiar) have to take a morale check?
Can the IC still join other units?
If so, does the familiar join that unit as well?


There are more questions that apply to wargear models that can be taken in multiple (like drones, Chaos followers, Grots/squigs, etc) that GW has never answered either but I won't print them here.

I suggest you check out my Dakka FAQ sticky in this forum.

It can give you a pretty good idea of the areas GW has failed to cover regarding wargear models.





I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Troll country

http://warp-space.net/Evil_Bootae.jpg

That is my familiar on a base.

- I am the troll... feed me!

- 5th place w. 13th Company at Adepticon 2007 Championship Tourney

- I love Angela Imrie!!!

http://40kwreckingcrew.com/phpBB2/index.php

97% 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




"""Does the familiar form a unit with the character?"""

in the absence of a statement in print saying they do you cannot assume they do. Unlike commander shadowsun
who is listed now as a unit and in the new faq states they are counted as a unit and she may not join another unit unitl the drones are dead

i couldnt agree more there are a lot of loopholes that should be addressed, but i draw the line on people appllying other armies rules to space marines and vice versa

""""If the Familiar is killed does the "unit" (character & Familiar) have to take a morale check?""""

I believe this was answered in some official publication i cannot remember where so please bear with me on that
the answer was no...they are still wargear even tho they are war gear with a statline.. and even as such i go back to my previous statement.. they are not a unit thus they dont have to take a leadership check if the familiar is killed

We have better prices and better service
check us out
www.dropzoneonline.ecrater.com 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




From what I remember on the 40k forums YES the familiar does form a unit, meaning that the Librarian loses IC status. No the familiar doesn't take up space in a transport, Yes it can move at the speed of the librarian, yes it can be assaulted, and yes if it dies you take a moral check.

Makes familiars worthless
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




what page number does that rule appear on ?

i am not familiar..(no pun intended) witht hat being posted in any offical documentation

please dont say the pete haines stickies as 1 they have been removed and 2 they were never official

it has never been established in any documentation that a lib and his fam form a unit

other ics have such desgnations no librarian has ever been declared as such.


We have better prices and better service
check us out
www.dropzoneonline.ecrater.com 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Utah (Oh god)

I think it is in the updated FAQ. You're right the Pete Haines articles aren't actually canon for the rules.

Lasguns the new Assault Cannon. 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




i checked the updated faq's there is nothing mentioning they become a seperate unit unto themselves it simply says that the fam has its own base.

and the default posistion should be unless it states that it does you cannot or shouldnt assume they do

We have better prices and better service
check us out
www.dropzoneonline.ecrater.com 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Utah (Oh god)

I tried that, and thats how I wanted it to be, but my homies in my shop both argued that no, the familiar makes me lose my IC status because the familiar has a full stat line. I acquiesed. But you are right technically it just says it has to have a base.

Lasguns the new Assault Cannon. 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




you can ask them to provide you with direct written proof he loses his ic status when they cannot show you in writing in official documentation you tell them to go pound sand

 

if they dont like it then tell them to go read the rule book and go play elsewhere

i have no problem with people having discussions based on a difference of opion.. when they cannot provide proof then it is their opinion and we all now what opinions are like


We have better prices and better service
check us out
www.dropzoneonline.ecrater.com 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: