Switch Theme:

Stunned walkers in assault  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Mounted Kroot Tracker







Minor confusion resulting from stunning a walker in assault:

An initiative 5 model successfully scored a stunned result on a marine dreadnought.  At the initiative 4 step, when the dread strikes, we played that it was stunned and lost an attack because of it.  The dreadnought ended up winning combat and its enemies fell back.  The rules for stunned say "may not move or shoot next turn", so we felt obligated to let the dreadnought make its D6" massacre consolidation, even though it was stunned at the time.  Was that correct?  When a vehicle is stunned, is it immediately considered stunned but can still move and shoot as normal for the remainder of that turn?

- Oaka


   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut



Alpharetta, GA

In the most common chain of events, a vehicle takes it turn (moving and firing) and then the opponent goes. If the vehicle is stunned, it makes sense that the result say "may not move or shoot next turn". Since the vehicle has already had it's turn, there needs to be a 'when' for the effect on the vehicle. The idea is that the stunned result is applied the next time the vehicle has a chance to move.

So...

P.72 of the rulebook says "...immobilised, shaken and stunned walkers fight in close combat with one less attack...". This is only referring to how the vehicle fights because of the damage. It does not say that this is the only effect on the vehicle. I would say that if the vehicle is stunned then it does not get it's d6 consolidate and cannot move/shoot on it's next turn.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Silverdale, WA

I think by RAW you played it 100% correctly.

1. The walker is stunned
2. During its initiative step it fights with one less attack, and during it's next turn it cannot move or fire
3. Having not entered the next turn yet it makes its D6" consolidation move
4. Next turn starts and walker is unable to move or fire

We can come up with a whole list of fluff to explain how this could or couldn't happen, but it apears that this is the way the rules want us to play.

 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




the spire of angels

hey they make this little thing called extra armour-you still move as normal with a marine vehcile even if it is stunned.

"victory needs no explanation, defeat allows none" 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: