Switch Theme:

IC on bike  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut



Westchester, NY

Can an Independent character on a SM bike buy a 2 ccws and get +1A in HtH.

 

RB


Grey Knights--7000 W14 L13 D1
Beasts of Chaos--4000
"We own the Night" 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut





Yes. There is no rule that says they don't, and it's in the FAQs that they get +1 A too.
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




SuperJohn, it was my understanding that they could not.  I checked the FAQ's on GW's site, and could not find anything about this.  Could you please tell me what FAQ you are refering to?  or better yet, give me a link to it?

Thank you

   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

It was a sticky on GW's forums. It basically boils down to is that there is no rules saying that a Space Marine on a bike can not use two weapons and get the +1 Attack in close combat, so why wouldn't he? 3rd edition FAQs do not apply to 4th edition.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Maddening Mutant Boss of Chaos





Colorado

A character on a bike can purchase 2 hand weapons unless the codex states otherwise. Example the Dark Eldar codex.

NoTurtlesAllowed.blogspot.com 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut





OK, so wrong FAQ but still yes. Guess those SMs have clever self driving bikes!
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Troll country

The 3rd edition FAQ stated that Space Marine bikes have an auto pilot system ala Judge Dredd.

- I am the troll... feed me!

- 5th place w. 13th Company at Adepticon 2007 Championship Tourney

- I love Angela Imrie!!!

http://40kwreckingcrew.com/phpBB2/index.php

97% 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Posted By Green Bloater on 09/26/2006 8:08 AM
The 3rd edition FAQ stated that Space Marine bikes have an auto pilot system ala Judge Dredd.

Actually the 3rd edition FAQ required them to keep a hand on the bike.  It's only in 4th edition that Space Marine bikes have received the auto pilot system.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Troll country

I have a copy of the FAQ I referenced. Later it was changed. If you want a copy that mentions an auto-pilot system send me a PM.

- I am the troll... feed me!

- 5th place w. 13th Company at Adepticon 2007 Championship Tourney

- I love Angela Imrie!!!

http://40kwreckingcrew.com/phpBB2/index.php

97% 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Posted by Green Bloater on 09/26/2006 5:55 PM
I have a copy of the FAQ I referenced. Later it was changed.

If it was changed that means your first FAQ is null and void and is no longer relevant. My statement stands.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut





Good for you Ghaz. The question though was is +1 A valid, and it's a ues. Let's quit all the FAQing about and needless *female dog*ing about editions. :-D
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut





...or even 'yes' not 'ues' - the editor won't work dagnammit.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Troll country

My intent was to illustrate that there is documentation that stated Space Marine bikes have an auto-pilot system in place. It could be a machine spirit or some deamonic entity in the case of Chaos. I was not trying to argue. Seeing that Space Marine ICs can again take two single-handed weapons again for +1A I figure it could be explained as an auto-pilot system again or maybe they are just really great skilled riders and can steer with their armored kneepads. Certainly a White Scar veteran or even a Ravenwing biker could probably pull it off. Hee!

- I am the troll... feed me!

- 5th place w. 13th Company at Adepticon 2007 Championship Tourney

- I love Angela Imrie!!!

http://40kwreckingcrew.com/phpBB2/index.php

97% 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Utah (Oh god)

Wow, I know I wouldn't try and autopilot a bike past 2 REAL inches, model wise, well, I guess my SM's are more brave than I.

What FAQ has the autodrive systems? I think I actually might go back to bikes if I knew that they could get more attacks.

Lasguns the new Assault Cannon. 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Troll country

"I guess my SM's are more brave than I."

It's not real... it's just a game.

- I am the troll... feed me!

- 5th place w. 13th Company at Adepticon 2007 Championship Tourney

- I love Angela Imrie!!!

http://40kwreckingcrew.com/phpBB2/index.php

97% 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Colorado Springs, CO

Hmm. I think the Chaos dex it mentions the "one hand to steer" thing, but not in the Loyalist dex... take that Chaos: millenia of warfare my shoe!

Art for the Art God, minis for his throne! 
   
Made in es
Stalwart Ultramarine Tactical Marine




Madrid, Spain

Posted By ATI on 09/26/2006 6:15 PM
Wow, I know I wouldn't try and autopilot a bike past 2 REAL inches, model wise, well, I guess my SM's are more brave than I.


you know what the say...."and they shall know no fear"   ....not ever to a bike crash....

Into the fire of battle we go... 
   
Made in us
Awesome Autarch






Las Vegas, NV

this is actually something that i would like to know as well, so if you buy a SM character or vet sarge, two one handed weapons, then they DO get the bonus attack? Becuase it does not say they do not in the codex nor in the special rules for bikes in the BGB.

   
Made in us
Master of the Hunt





Angmar

If you buy a SM character on foot two one handed weapons, he gets an extra attack - basic rule of the game.

If you also buy that character a bike, no rules have been added to prevent him from gaining that one extra attack, hence the basic rule still applies.


Its simple: giving a character a bike does not change his model type etc..., nor does the bike itself have a rule denying the ability to gain an extra attack. The character could gain the extra attack before purchasing the bike, and the act of purchasing the bike does not include a rule preventing the extra attack.

1*extra-attack + 0*no-extra-attack = 1*extra-attack

"It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion.
It is by the seed of Arabica that thoughts acquire speed, the teeth acquire stains, the stains become a warning.
It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion."
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: