| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/10/17 01:32:35
Subject: Power of the machine Spirit
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Can a space marine vindicator move 6 inches, use its smoke launchers, then fire its cannon using Power of the Machine spirit? Someone tried it on me the other day, and we ended up d6ing it up. Thanks in advance
|
There you go using your ?common sense? again. -Mannahnin |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/10/17 08:13:39
Subject: RE: Power of the machine Spirit
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
the spire of angels
|
no it cannot. look in the codex: space marine vehicle upgrades section. it pointedly tells you the vehicle, not the crew, not the machine spirit but the vehicle model itself cannot fire any weapons when it fires it's smoke launchers.
|
"victory needs no explanation, defeat allows none" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/10/17 09:06:26
Subject: RE: Power of the machine Spirit
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
Utah (Oh god)
|
No, unless you are playing the ork rules which allow for you to throw out the first 50 pages of the BGB. The vehicle is NOT allowed to fire anything, it doesn't really matter if its crew, MS, or some other divine force, quite simply it is impossible to fire a weapon after firing smoke. (As smoke can only been fired when NOT firing a weapon)
If your opponent wanted to do this I would tell your opponent that he then has not used his smoke launchers, then allow the attack to go through, then resolve hits as if they were normal and not as glancing which smoke would demand.
|
Lasguns the new Assault Cannon. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/10/17 16:21:50
Subject: RE: Power of the machine Spirit
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
You must always strive to break no rules whenever possible. The smoke launcher rule specifically states that the vehicle may not fire that turn.
Although the PotMS rules would seem to indicate that it may always be used to make the vehicle fire, if you were do so you'd be breaking the Smoke Launcher rule without clear permission to do so.
So I agree, a vehicle that uses smoke launchers cannot use PotMS to fire a weapon.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/10/20 02:21:34
Subject: RE: Power of the machine Spirit
|
 |
Rampaging Chaos Russ Driver
|
Logan, didnt you beat that guy anyway  .
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/10/20 02:46:16
Subject: RE: Power of the machine Spirit
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Posted By the_trooper on 10/20/2006 7:21 AM Logan, didnt you beat that guy anyway  . Yeah, but that tactic struck me as so sneaky, I want to see if it's legal so I can do it too
|
There you go using your ?common sense? again. -Mannahnin |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|