| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/10/30 15:02:34
Subject: Bloodthirsters, just how thirsty are they?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
A Bloodthirster has the special rule: "Khornate Frenzy: A Bloodthirster must always assault and perform a sweeping advance whenever possible." How strictly interpreted is the "whenever possible" part? If (at the beginning of that Chaos player's movement phase) a Bloodthirster is 12 inches from an enemy unit while 24 inches from any other enemy model, does the Bloodthirster HAVE to move towards that closer unit and assault, or can it choose the wiser option and jump into some cover, which would put it out of assault range of any of his enemy's units?
|
There you go using your ?common sense? again. -Mannahnin |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/10/30 15:20:58
Subject: RE: Bloodthirsters, just how thirsty are they?
|
 |
Plastictrees
|
You can move wherever you want in the movement phase.
Assaults happen during the assault phase. If you're in a spot where you can't assault in the assault phase (for whatever reason), then it is not possible for you to assault.
|
"The complete or partial destruction of the enemy must be regarded as the sole object of all engagements.... Direct annihilation of the enemy's forces must always be the dominant consideration." Karl von Clausewitz |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/10/31 04:38:37
Subject: RE: Bloodthirsters, just how thirsty are they?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
However, GW has in the past made it illegal for units that must always charge from performing an action that would normally prevent a charge.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/10/31 04:41:46
Subject: RE: Bloodthirsters, just how thirsty are they?
|
 |
Plastictrees
|
Ghaz, you mean like shooting rapid-fire weapons during the shooting phase?
I can see the analogy, but I think I'd want a specific exception to override the RAW here.
|
"The complete or partial destruction of the enemy must be regarded as the sole object of all engagements.... Direct annihilation of the enemy's forces must always be the dominant consideration." Karl von Clausewitz |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/10/31 05:26:04
Subject: RE: Bloodthirsters, just how thirsty are they?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
The Blood Claws Head-Strong rule will not allow them to fire twice with their pistols if they are in charge range as per the Space Wolves FAQ. A similar case could be interpretted here.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/10/31 07:28:14
Subject: RE: Bloodthirsters, just how thirsty are they?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Not really Ghaz. That is directly related to assaulting i.e. you cannot assault if you fire rapid fire or twice with pistols. Movement, unless otherwise stipulated would be different because no matter how you move you will never "prevent" by rule the model being able to assault. The thrister would be able to assault, as long as something is within range as no rule is preventing the assault (i.e. Pistol or Rapid Fire). The movement of the Thirster does NOT prevent it from assaulting. Therefore this would have no relation to the 'Headstrong' ruling in the SW Faq. Edit: Spelling.
|
Can you D.I.G. it? |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/10/31 16:41:33
Subject: RE: Bloodthirsters, just how thirsty are they?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Moving out of range during the Movement phase does prevent you from assaulting though. Movement, just like firing twice is a voluntary action that may prevent you from otherwise assaulting.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/10/31 19:40:59
Subject: RE: Bloodthirsters, just how thirsty are they?
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
True, but I believe what IronGob is trying to say is that firing twice with a pistol prevents you from assaulting at all, while movement still allows an assault. So technically you aren't preventing yourself from assaulting, you're just moving to a position where it wouldn't be possible. Another interesting question: could you fire at an enemy unit in assault range with an assault weapon (or once with a pistol), if doing so ran the risk of killing every model in assault range? I think you could, but what do you guys think?
|
Green iz best |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/10/31 23:27:46
Subject: RE: Bloodthirsters, just how thirsty are they?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
i like the headstrong interpretation for berzerkers. give a berzerker squad one bolter. go to fire it and get a an assualt precheck. you then know if you are going to make it into assault before shooting phase is over. I belive in the phases are not connected. if you can't assault because of range or shooting conditions then you can't assault. but if in range and can assault you must assault
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/11/01 00:46:05
Subject: RE: Bloodthirsters, just how thirsty are they?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
That's the thing, you can't technically tell if you are in assault range or not until the assault phase when you declare the assault and then measure.
Movement in the movement phase would not affect the "must assault within range" rule as you would have no idea if you were in assault range or not prior to the assault phase.
Therefore you would have no problem moving to where you 'think' you are outside of assault range as this is not preventing the assault from happening.
|
Can you D.I.G. it? |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|