Hello dakkadakka, it has been a while.
At my local GW we have only a few players that use assassins from the Officio thing (i.e. Callidus, Culexus, Eversor, Vindicare), and resultingly we have some questions that we can't find good answers to.
#1: An assassin's base attacks are 3. Under the four assassins' respective wargear listings, some of them are listed as having close combat weapons (Eversor), some are listed as having special weapons (callidus's neural shredder); the question is, which assassins count as having two close combat weapons and thus receiving an extra attack? Namely the Callidus, which is equiped with the phase sword, the neural shredder (which can be argued to look like a pistol...) and poison blades.
#2: The Callidus's "Word in your ear" ability- when do you use this? Before or after the roll to see who goes first? Before or after Scouts make their scout move?
#3: The Culexus's "soulless" ability makes everyone within 12 inches (I think) leadership 7. This scenario came up: The assassin is in combat with the enemy space marine HQ with that ability that lets his army use his leadership value. Meanwhile, within 6 inches, there is another combat between a tactical squad and a sisters of battle squad (the assassin is with the sisters army). Back to the assassin's combat: The assassin causes one wound and the space marine HQ causes zero. He loses combat and runs at leadership 7, He runs 12 inches, getting him out of range of the assassin, which is consolidating the other direction towards the other combat. Meanwhile, the sisters of battle cause 2 wounds and the marines cause one. They lose combat. Now the question is, can they use their HQ's leadership of 10 now that he is out of range of the assassin's souless ability (even though they are still in range of it)? Do you not make the "run" move with the HQ until after the other combat has resolved as well? Is the outcome different if you decide to do the marines vs. sisters combat first?
Thanks in advance, and sorry making you read a lot :-p
*edit* #4: Can you use Inducted Guard's Chimera's Improved Comms upgrade to reroll the reserves roll for the Callidus Assassin? Some at my GW have argued that she uses her own special rules for reserves (along with how she comes into play from reserves) and therefore cannot take advantage of this upgrade.