|
First time venturing onto this board, so I think I'll use the suggested format. I had a look around and couldn't find this question having been brought up before. I'm sorry if it has. Question: Can you fire at a Greater Daemon in close combat? Premise 1: Grey Tome, p44 "...commanders may wish their warriors to fire indiscriminately into the middle of close combats in the hopes of hitting the enemy, this is not permitted." Premise 2: Chaos Codex, p23 "...it is always possible to fire at a Greater Daemon even if it has joined a unit or is within 6" of another viable target" Premise 3: Grey Tome, p20 "Models engaged or locked in close combat block line of sight through them up to the height of the participating models ... If the model doing the spotting, or the model being spotted, is taller than the tallest model in the close combat the line of sight is not blocked." Conclusion: It seems to me, that the Greater Daemon's rule in Premise 2 is more specific than the rule in Premise 1, over ruling it and allowing the Greater Daemon to be shot. However, Premise 3 then prevents you from shooting the Greater Daemon unless you are taller than the tallest model in the close combat. This could be up to debate, as the Greater Daemon's rule could again be said to be more specific in its use of always. In fact, Premise 2 could be said to be more specific than a lot of rules. You can't usually shoot at a model outside of Line of Sight, but you can always shoot at a Greater Daemon. You can't usually shoot at a model out of range, but you can always shoot at a Greater Daemon.
|