Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/31 21:40:46
Subject: Can you charge a walker you can't hurt?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
greatergoodjones wrote: loreweaver wrote:Abandon, you are wrong. Walkers get locked in combat. You can't assault a walker you can't hurt. The rules as written are clear, your grasp of language isn't. As I said in your other ridiculous thread, no TO would agree with your interpretation. If someone tried this against me in a friendly game, I'd pickup my models and walk. The bigger question, I guess is, do you actually play or enjoy 40k? I don't think you do. So, if in a friendly game, someone suggested that they think they can assault your walker for the reason given above, rather then disagreeing and resolving the issue with a die roll, or asking the store manager for how they want it to be played in that game store, you would pick up your models and walk away.
The reason given above breaks the rule about not being able to charge a vehicle you can not hurt. Therefore can not be the correct interpretation. I would not walk, but I would explain to my opponent why his action was not legal. I would not settle it with a die roll as the rules are clear.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2013/03/31 21:42:20
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/31 22:38:28
Subject: Re:Can you charge a walker you can't hurt?
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
I'd be happy to go along with the idea my Hormagaunts can't charge your walker in an actual game and whatever the house rules are as well(assuming nothing unfair). As I said, it is a valid way to read to rule, it's just not the only way it can be taken. I would then explain that walkers 'can be locked in combat' but 'enemy units in base contact a vehicles are not' and show you why.
|
-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/31 22:44:54
Subject: Can you charge a walker you can't hurt?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
and then we default to the rules on Page 23 that state "Units that have one or more models in base contact with enemies are locked in combat." Your unit is definitely locked in combat. The Vehicle rules are what prevents vehicles from being locked in combat. Which is in turn over-ridden by the walker rules that state they can be locked. Abandon wrote:I'd be happy to go along with the idea my Hormagaunts can't charge your walker in an actual game and whatever the house rules are as well(assuming nothing unfair).
This implies that gaunts not being able to charge a walker is a house rule, it is not a house rule it is RAW. Playing by the actual rules are not house rules, no matter how many times you try to assert otherwise Abandon.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/03/31 22:49:34
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/31 23:13:16
Subject: Can you charge a walker you can't hurt?
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
DeathReaper wrote:and then we default to the rules on Page 23 that state "Units that have one or more models in base contact with enemies are locked in combat."
Your unit is definitely locked in combat.
The Vehicle rules are what prevents vehicles from being locked in combat. Which is in turn over-ridden by the walker rules that state they can be locked.
Abandon wrote:I'd be happy to go along with the idea my Hormagaunts can't charge your walker in an actual game and whatever the house rules are as well(assuming nothing unfair).
This implies that gaunts not being able to charge a walker is a house rule, it is not a house rule it is RAW.
Playing by the actual rules are not house rules, no matter how many times you try to assert otherwise Abandon.
That rule is overridden by the more specific vehicle rule "Enemy models that are in base contact with a vehicle are not locked in combat" on page 76, Successive Turns.
I was just clarifying that I'm actually fairly flexible when it comes to playing. That's why I used to words ' and whatever house rules' meaning, 'in addition to'.
|
-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/31 23:22:45
Subject: Can you charge a walker you can't hurt?
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
DeathReaper wrote:greatergoodjones wrote: loreweaver wrote:Abandon, you are wrong.
Walkers get locked in combat. You can't assault a walker you can't hurt. The rules as written are clear, your grasp of language isn't.
As I said in your other ridiculous thread, no TO would agree with your interpretation. If someone tried this against me in a friendly game, I'd pickup my models and walk.
The bigger question, I guess is, do you actually play or enjoy 40k? I don't think you do.
So, if in a friendly game, someone suggested that they think they can assault your walker for the reason given above, rather then disagreeing and resolving the issue with a die roll, or asking the store manager for how they want it to be played in that game store, you would pick up your models and walk away.
The reason given above breaks the rule about not being able to charge a vehicle you can not hurt. Therefore can not be the correct interpretation.
I would not walk, but I would explain to my opponent why his action was not legal.
I would not settle it with a die roll as the rules are clear.
And if counter with why he believed it was, and you both rejected each others arguments, how would you move forward?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/03/31 23:24:56
Subject: Can you charge a walker you can't hurt?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
I think we've gone around in circles here for long enough. Moving on.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|