Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/14 04:47:25
Subject: Drop pod scatters off the table partially, but still connects with a tank parked on the edge.
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
AndrewC wrote:Of course this could simply be a holdover from a previous edition when the edge of the board was considered impassible terrain, and GW couldn't be bothered to proof read their rules......
Or it could be that the rule under discussion is printed in a 6th edition codex and is a marked difference to 5th edition codexes.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/14 05:05:10
Subject: Drop pod scatters off the table partially, but still connects with a tank parked on the edge.
|
 |
Courageous Silver Helm
Rochester, NY
|
Yeah I can see now, both do happen but igs doesn't help it at all. So really all in the end it's just a mis hap.
|
Yeah...it's kinda like that. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/14 10:05:15
Subject: Drop pod scatters off the table partially, but still connects with a tank parked on the edge.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
AndrewC wrote:Of course this could simply be a holdover from a previous edition when the edge of the board was considered impassible terrain, and GW couldn't be bothered to proof read their rules......
Cheers
Andrew
The edge of the board has not, as far as I know from at least 4th onwards, ever been impassable terrain. You just do not have permission to move OFF the edge of the board.
If it were impassable terrain in 5th (or 4th, etc) how did you move reserves on? Magic?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/14 11:11:53
Subject: Drop pod scatters off the table partially, but still connects with a tank parked on the edge.
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
nosferatu1001 wrote: AndrewC wrote:Of course this could simply be a holdover from a previous edition when the edge of the board was considered impassible terrain, and GW couldn't be bothered to proof read their rules......
Cheers
Andrew
The edge of the board has not, as far as I know from at least 4th onwards, ever been impassable terrain. You just do not have permission to move OFF the edge of the board.
If it were impassable terrain in 5th (or 4th, etc) how did you move reserves on? Magic?
It is only impassible from on the board moving off, not from off of it moving onto the board. Like a one way mirror that...
Lol ok seriously I have no idea where they got that from. Maybe from the previous FaQ that talked about the edge of the board being the end of the world?
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/14 14:36:55
Subject: Drop pod scatters off the table partially, but still connects with a tank parked on the edge.
|
 |
Tough Tyrant Guard
|
Why is this 5 pages. IGS reducing the scatter distance can only be used for;
1. If you have Scattered onto another model
2. If you have Scattered onto impassable terrain.
If you scatter off the board, you are neither on another model or impassable terrain and unable to use IGS rules to reduce scatter, you are off the board, you mishap.
It shouldn't need to state in its rules that you mishap when you scatter off, you have a permission. Scattering off the table isn't within that.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/11/14 14:39:04
It's my codex and I'll cry If I want to.
Tactical objectives are fantastic |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/14 14:39:30
Subject: Drop pod scatters off the table partially, but still connects with a tank parked on the edge.
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
The confusion is if you're off the board AND over another model/impassable terrain. Does reducing scatter mean you don't mishap?
The answer is no, but it's a fine question.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/14 14:43:00
Subject: Drop pod scatters off the table partially, but still connects with a tank parked on the edge.
|
 |
Tough Tyrant Guard
|
rigeld2 wrote:The confusion is if you're off the board AND over another model/impassable terrain. Does reducing scatter mean you don't mishap?
The answer is no, but it's a fine question.
Ya, scatter placement then work back taking each obstacle as it comes.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/11/14 14:44:47
It's my codex and I'll cry If I want to.
Tactical objectives are fantastic |
|
 |
 |
|