| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/11/21 01:34:50
Subject: Deepstrike-Skyleap same turn?
|
 |
Plastictrees
|
From the rules as written it looks like a swooping hawk unit can deepstrike at the beginning of the Eldar turn, then skyleap out at the end of the same Eldar turn, thus depriving the enemy of the right to shoot, assault or otherwise affect it. Then they can presumably deepstrike in again next turn, and so on. And I guess they get a grenade pack every time they enter. Can anybody find a rules issue that prevents this?
|
"The complete or partial destruction of the enemy must be regarded as the sole object of all engagements.... Direct annihilation of the enemy's forces must always be the dominant consideration." Karl von Clausewitz |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/11/21 01:40:16
Subject: RE: Deepstrike-Skyleap same turn?
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Skyleap is done in the movement phase, so they can't do it at the end of the turn, at least.
But you're right it appears as if they can keep bombing units with their grenade pack every turn by the RAW.
Unless you can make an argument that removing them from the table is "moving" them, and then it would be breaking the Deep Strike rule that says that they may not move on the turn they arrive.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/11/21 12:54:25
Subject: RE: Deepstrike-Skyleap same turn?
|
 |
Foul Dwimmerlaik
|
Nope, cant find a rule to prevent this. After reading the skyleap entry awhle back, I am convinced that you can deepstrike, grenade pack, then skyleap away. All without your opponent having anything to say about whats happening.
Its a bit risky and expensive to use haws this way, but it fits their flavor. Too bad they couldnt do this at the end of the turn after shooting, then they might make their points back.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/11/21 13:16:09
Subject: RE: Deepstrike-Skyleap same turn?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Bear in mind that they count as regular Reserves once you take them off the table, so bringing them back on each turn requires a successful Reserves roll each time.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/11/21 13:36:26
Subject: RE: Deepstrike-Skyleap same turn?
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Posted By Hellfury on 11/21/2006 5:54 PM Its a bit risky and expensive to use haws this way, but it fits their flavor. Too bad they couldnt do this at the end of the turn after shooting, then they might make their points back. Its risky and not really worth it against MEQs, but against say, a Guard army, a few units of Hawks doing this would be devestating, and completely untargetable. This definitely goes on the list of FAQ questions, in the "intent" category.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/11/21 13:49:10
Subject: RE: Deepstrike-Skyleap same turn?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
Still trying to operate tape cassettes
|
Just to carry on Hellfury's point, I presume the catch is the toss-off between keeping them on to shoot at an enemy, or to remove them and just use the grenades, though? Also, can they now be used as a slightly unreliable table-quarter claiming unit; ie, try and drop them in on turn five (or six) hide them and hope they don't get shot up to much to use as a unit for claiming?
|
I Ate Your Bees |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/11/21 14:46:00
Subject: RE: Deepstrike-Skyleap same turn?
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
|
An Autarch would be a mandatory choice when using hawks for vp denial or objective grabbing since he adds a +1 to the reserve roll. Not quite as risky that way (atleast from failing reserve rolls).
|
snoogums: "Just because something is not relavant doesn't mean it goes away completely."
Iorek: "Snoogums, you're right. Your arguments are irrelevant, and they sure as heck aren't going away." |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|