Switch Theme:

Is this a legal Demonic Talons combo?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Giving a character with the mark of Khorne, Demonic talons AND an axe of Khorne?

the explanation being that the axe is a "gift of Khorne" in the armory, not under the weapons heading, and the demonic talons entry states that "it may use no other WEAPONS, but will always count as having an additional close combat weapon"

Umm, is that legal?  seems RAW, but I'm no metaphysical RAW savant like some of you.

The clever combatant imposes his will on the enemy, but does not allow the enemy's will to be imposed on him. 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

The rules for Talons don't reference the armoury, so the armoury cassification of Weapons is meaningless.

There is no actual general rules definition of what is a weapon or not, so we're left with the regular meaning of the word. Under which, the Axe of Khorne is most definitely a weapon.

 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


Regardless of whether they both can be given to a model you still couldn't combine their effects.

Both are clearly special close combat attacks and you would therefore have to pick one or the other to use.


Also, I'm going to assume that you would want to consider the Axe of Khorne a weapon, since otherwise there is no justification for allowing it to be used in close combat anyway (the rules for the AoK doesn't even say it is used in close combat).


So in short, I belive this is a completely moot point.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: