Switch Theme:

Skimmers hovering above Size X  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in de
Spawn of Chaos




Germany

*grrrrrrrrrrrrr*

that damn backward-key on my mouse killed most of my precious post, so I'll have it again but in short this time:

Falcon hovering above a wood.

Falcon = Size 3

Wood = size 3

target behind the wood = leman russ = size 3

 

if both were behind the wood, on opposing sides, the falcon couldn't spot the russ, since it is not classed higher than 3 (page 21 BGB).

Q1: Now it is "above" the wood, can it see anything?? (Not "in" area terrain, so no 6-inch-spotting, still not classed higher than 3), maybe with LOS?

Q2: Change Wood with Graveyard. Our particular Graveyard had a high Wall around it, so we made it Size 3. At one side the wall is broken, to give it this "ruin-style" look. Falcon hovers above the Graveyard and the LOS from a weapons mount goes straight through the hole in the Wall to spot the russ. Is this eligible / is size 3 terrain declared as Sort of a "ShoeBox" and you can't draw a LOS "through" the air (hole in the wall) that belongs to the shoebox, or is it WYSIWYG just because a falcon hovers above it, while in all other cases no one could draw LOS through the wall, since it is Area terrain (shoebox)?

Q3: Can the falcon draw LOS over other woods while hovering above one? Doesn't seem so (page 21, BGB, "count the heigth of the terrain piece" as opposed to "can add the heigth of the terrain piece to its own" , since he is still size 3, but makes no sense when answering Q1 with any sort of  "yes". A falcon that could see over the terrain it is on but not over another piece of terrain that's of exactly the same type, heigth etc., because it's somewhere else on the table and not "connected", "grown together" to / with the first one or the like...

I am totally confused, thanks in advance for any help!


'War is a problem, not the solution' - Unknown Source
I play: , , , , (+ legions w/o smiley), (traitors) and (their rules, 'cause 4th C:CSM sucks) 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Posted By Khorneflakes on 11/29/2006 3:19 AM

Q1: Now it is "above" the wood, can it see anything?? (Not "in" area terrain, so no 6-inch-spotting, still not classed higher than 3), maybe with LOS?


This situation is a little counter-intuitive in areas, but overall it's not too confusing.

Q1 - As you noted, on page 61 it states that skimmers end their move "over" terrain not in it. So the skimmer would not be considered "in" that piece of area terrain and the line of sight to and from the skimmer would not be affected by that particular piece of terrain (unless the skimmer was attempting to shoot an enemy unit inside that particular piece of terrain).

So yes, a skimmer over size 3 area terrain could see a Leman Russ (or any other model) provided there wasn't another piece of obsructing terrain in the way.

 

Q2: Change Wood with Graveyard. Our particular Graveyard had a high Wall around it, so we made it Size 3. At one side the wall is broken, to give it this "ruin-style" look. Falcon hovers above the Graveyard and the LOS from a weapons mount goes straight through the hole in the Wall to spot the russ. Is this eligible / is size 3 terrain declared as Sort of a "ShoeBox" and you can't draw a LOS "through" the air (hole in the wall) that belongs to the shoebox, or is it WYSIWYG just because a falcon hovers above it, while in all other cases no one could draw LOS through the wall, since it is Area terrain (shoebox)?

The physical status of a piece of area terrain is largely irrelevant. Only the size classification and the definition of the outer edge of it matter in the game.

Q2 - So again, if the Falcon is above the graveyard, it would be able to see and be seen as it is not "in" the terrain.

 

Q3: Can the falcon draw LOS over other woods while hovering above one? Doesn't seem so ( page 21, BGB, "count the heigth of the terrain piece" as opposed to "can add the heigth of the terrain piece to its own" ), since he is still size 3, but makes no sense when answering Q1 with any sort of  "yes". A falcon that could see over the terrain it is on but not over another piece of terrain that's of exactly the same type, heigth etc., because it's somewhere else on the table and not "connected", "grown together" to / with the first one or the like...

Q3 - Nope, as you pointed out the skimmer is still only size 3, so it cannot see over any other size 3 pieces of area terrain.



I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




I agree with Yakface and where I play if the said vehicle is hovering over terrain, barring area terrain for LOS its usually WYSIWYG. The questions you asked happened to us while we did a CoD campaign at our gaming store.
   
Made in de
Spawn of Chaos




Germany

Aye, thanks for the answer. So just to get this straight, if I understood your intention right and thus gave you the following sideview of a large wood ( sorry, I'm not much of a good drawer)...

[Falcon]                                              [Smoke from the exhaust pipe :-)]
                                                                 OO           
   __O--                                                         O
>GGGCCccc>                                                     0
 /\      /\        /\       /\       /\      /\       /\      /\      o
/|\     /|\       /|\      /|\      /|\    /|\     /|\     /|\      ii_cx>==
 |       |          |        |        |       |        |        |      /H___\
 |       |          |        |        |       |        |        |     |ooooo/          [Russ]

..., it would be ok for the falcon to shoot the Leman Russ although there is no physical LOS through the trees, but the piece of terrain is entirely ignored for the purpose of drawing a LOS (e.g. the falcon hovers at "infinite" heigth above the terrain, so there had to be a LOS if one could hold the model right up there...)??

If so, which Armor value will be used, how to measure the appropriate distance between the two (for weapon range), and is the russ "hull down" for less than 50% (0% to be frank) of the side in question can be actually seen from the falcon's (model) weapon mount?

'War is a problem, not the solution' - Unknown Source
I play: , , , , (+ legions w/o smiley), (traitors) and (their rules, 'cause 4th C:CSM sucks) 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: