Switch Theme:

YMTC - Skimmers attacked during movement  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Poll
READ BELOW FOR THE QUESTION
OPTION A (read below for details).
OPTION B (read below for details).
OPTION C (read below for details).
OPTION D (read below for details).

View results
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
[ADMIN]
President of the Mat Ward Fan Club






Los Angeles, CA



FOR THIS POLL, PLEASE ANSWER HOW YOU CHOOSE TO PLAY THE GAME, NOT NECESSARILY WHAT THE RULES AS WRITTEN (RAW) SAY.

 


The Skimmers Moving Fast rule on page 69 of the rulebook says: "Any hits that beat the Armor Value of a mobile Skimmer moving more than 6 [inches] in its last movement phase count as glancing hits instead of penetrating hits. In order to qualify as moving more than 6 [inches], the skimmer must end its move more than 6 [inches] from where it started the turn."




QUESTION: If a skimmer is attacked during its own movement phase (for example from a "Death or Glory!" attack or when moving over a minefield), how do you play the "Skimmers Moving Fast" rule in this case?



OPTION A. The RAW: whether or not the skimmer benefits from SMF is completely dependent upon how far it moved in its PREVIOUS movement phase. How far it has moved (or is going to move) THIS movement phase is irrelevant.



OPTION B. When a skimmer gets attacked in its own movement phase, the player has to declare if the vehicle is going to end its move more than 6 inches from where it started or not. If he declares it is, then the skimmer benefits from SMF against the attack but, if the vehicle is still mobile after the attack, it is obligated to finish its move more than 6" from where it started. If he declared otherwise, the skimmer doesn't benefit from SMF against the attack and, if the vehicle is still mobile after the attack, it is obligated to finish its move within 6" of where it started.



OPTION C. When a skimmer gets attacked in its own movement phase, at the point of the attack if the skimmer is more than 6 inches from where it started moving then it benefits from SMF against the attack. If it is 6 inches or less from where it started when it is attacked then it does not benefit from SMF against the attack.




OPTION D. Something else entirely: reply exactly what it is below.


 



I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver





Option B: As 40K has no rules for a vehicle gaining speed and then decelerating (which doesn't happen anyway with a skimmer unless you land it) I would hypothesis that if it intends to move more then 6" it will be going at a fast speed the entire movement.  Therefore it would always get the benefit of moving fast.

   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

B. This is in line with how I play ground vehicles going through Difficult terrain- you might enter terrain 2" into your move, while intending to move 12" total. You have to declare the intended distance, otherwise you don't know when to roll the second die.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Posted By Mannahnin on 12/07/2006 10:00 AM
B. This is in line with how I play ground vehicles going through Difficult terrain- you might enter terrain 2" into your move, while intending to move 12" total. You have to declare the intended distance, otherwise you don't know when to roll the second die.

No you don't, the rule says,  "If the vehical has moved up to 6" the test is taken on a single D6, otherwise its taken on two D6 (rule book 61)." Has moved, not will move. how far it moves interly is irrelavent, only how much it has moved when you take the test.

I would play A, B is over complicating a simple situation.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Dives with Horses

I went with A mostly because it is RAW and you are able to back it up, I don't really see much reason for going any other way.

Drano doesn't exactly scream "toy" to me.

engine

 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
President of the Mat Ward Fan Club






Los Angeles, CA

Posted By happypants on 12/07/2006 11:14 AM
I went with A mostly because it is RAW and you are able to back it up, I don't really see much reason for going any other way.

Just a counter-point to help people understand other viewpoints:

Most people that dismiss this issue tend to think of it from the perspective of the skimmer having moved last turn and now moving this turn again. But take this example:


The Skimmer doesn't move one turn (or moves 6" or under). Now, the next turn the skimmer jets out 24", and on inch #23 it passes into a Castellan minefield and suffers a penetrating hit.

By the RAW, the skimmer would not count as moving fast vs. this hit despite the fact that the vehicle has already moved 22 [inches] this turn.

The rules are clear, but the result is a bit absurd.

So that's why I think many people knowingly (or unknowingly) break the rules in this situation.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Btw, Castellan mines are AP - so can't Pen.
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
President of the Mat Ward Fan Club






Los Angeles, CA

Posted By skyth on 12/07/2006 2:58 PM
Btw, Castellan mines are AP - so can't Pen.



Whoops. I knew that, really. Okay, just change my example to a regular minefield used in some of the specialty missions.

 

 


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in ee
Regular Dakkanaut




Z├╝rich

I'd be for C as it makes the most sense in reality. However RAW wise I'm not sure...

-"Subtle is subjective, of course; in a finesseless game like 40K, anything that isn't a brick to the head is downright sneaky..." ->lord_sutekh 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
President of the Mat Ward Fan Club






Los Angeles, CA



Okay, who chose 'D' and didn't post how they play. . .



I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: