| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/12/09 14:57:43
Subject: Tau commander and his drones
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
Australia
|
BGB Page 51: "Characters are treated as a separate unit when resolving close combats, following the normal rulers for multiple combats. This means the they must be in base to base contact with an enemy model in order to fight, and may not make attacks for being with 2" of another friendly model." TAU FAQ: "The character (and his drones) are members of the unit in all respects, except close combat, when he (and his drones) count as a separate unit." If a Tau commander is within 2" of a drone of his that is in base contact in combat, but he isn't in base contact, does he get to attack? Relevant FAQ: http://us.games-workshop.com/errata/assets/TauEmpireFAQ.pdf
|
109/20/22 w/d/l
Tournament: 25/5/5 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/12/10 07:18:32
Subject: RE: Tau commander and his drones
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
You answered this yourself: BGB Page 51: "Characters are treated as a separate unit when resolving close combats, following the normal rulers for multiple combats. This means the they must be in base to base contact with an enemy model in order to fight, and may not make attacks for being with 2" of another friendly model." So the Commander must be in base to base.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/12/10 10:59:32
Subject: RE: Tau commander and his drones
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
Australia
|
So the FAQ isn't overwriting that?
|
109/20/22 w/d/l
Tournament: 25/5/5 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/12/10 11:30:12
Subject: RE: Tau commander and his drones
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Not that I can see. The FAQ merely points out that, for close combat purposes, the IC and his drones are a seperate unit from the bodyguard. Without any more specific rules saying otherwise, the IC is still stuck with fighting seperately from any unit he is assigned... and the Drone rules say only that the character and the drones form a unit. So for close combat, a bodyguard counts as a seperate unit from the IC and his drones, and the IC and his drones also count as two seperate units.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/12/10 18:03:37
Subject: RE: Tau commander and his drones
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
Australia
|
Well ok I agree with your reading of the rules, however I have to say it makes no sense. Don't you think they meant to say the IC and drones form their own unit in combat? Why would the IC's drones form a seperate unit to the IC and his bodyguard? Aren't they there to protect him? Yes.
|
109/20/22 w/d/l
Tournament: 25/5/5 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/12/10 18:30:07
Subject: RE: Tau commander and his drones
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Why would the IC's drones form a seperate unit to the IC and his bodyguard? Because them's the rules. Yes, it's silly. But the rules state merely that the character and drones form a unit, and that IC's always fight as a seperate unit to any unit they are accompanying.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/12/11 00:31:45
Subject: RE: Tau commander and his drones
|
 |
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver
|
Follow up question for you: Can the IC use a shield drone then to take a hit (or make an inv save) even if the drone isn't in btb with the enemy who caused the hit? Since the hits are allocated to the IC, does the special rules on the drone make it useable or not?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/12/11 07:05:01
Subject: RE: Tau commander and his drones
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Not in close combat, no. The Drone has no special rule that allows it to take wounds that are allocated to a different model.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|