Switch Theme:

Libarian Cmd Squad question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Resentful Grot With a Plan




Silver Spring, MD

I played a guy recently who had four librarians in power armor in drop pods. Is this legal? He had an Epistolary each and then a Codicier each. He cited a rule in the SM Codex stating that you may attach characters to form a unit in a retinue as long as they are different types. He said that the rule was satisfied because the Codicier and Epistolary, both libarians, are of different types. Was I screwed with this? Or is this legit? Didn't seem right but I have to ask. Thanks.

Club me. Ain't I cute?


 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Rocking the Suburbs, MA

edit:  I read it wrong, yes he can have both

   
Made in us
Fate-Controlling Farseer





Fort Campbell

You can have two command squads with a Librarian leading, and a Librarian attached. The key though is that he must have a command squad. It is quite possible to have 4 Librarians in one list, as long as he's willing to dish the points out for it.

Full Frontal Nerdity 
   
Made in us
Master of the Hunt





Angmar

Right-e-o,

Your opponent was correct, but not for the reason that he gave.

Any SM command squad may have an additional ATTACHED Chaplain and/or Librarian, but only one of each type of ATTACHED character.
"Attached" being the key word here as the Character that the squad is chosen for is not chosen under the "attached" rule.

He could have taken 4 Epistolaries had he wanted to.

(Epistolary + Librarian command squad + Attached Epistolary) * 2 = completely legal

"It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion.
It is by the seed of Arabica that thoughts acquire speed, the teeth acquire stains, the stains become a warning.
It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion."
 
   
Made in us
Resentful Grot With a Plan




Silver Spring, MD

Posted By blue loki on 12/13/2006 10:53 AM
Right-e-o,

Your opponent was correct, but not for the reason that he gave.

Any SM command squad may have an additional ATTACHED Chaplain and/or Librarian, but only one of each type of ATTACHED character.
"Attached" being the key word here as the Character that the squad is chosen for is not chosen under the "attached" rule.

He could have taken 4 Epistolaries had he wanted to.

(Epistolary + Librarian command squad + Attached Epistolary) * 2 = completely legal

Ok that makes sense to me. That is the RAW right?

Club me. Ain't I cute?


 
   
Made in us
Master of the Hunt





Angmar

Yes, that is the RAW.


Some might argue that they only intended that one total of each character type be allowed in the squad, but that's not what the rule actually says.

Solution? Make it a priority to figure out a way to kill that squad and make him eat the points he dumped into it.

"It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion.
It is by the seed of Arabica that thoughts acquire speed, the teeth acquire stains, the stains become a warning.
It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion."
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





With that many fury of the ancients, who needs heavy bolters?

There you go using your ?common sense? again.
-Mannahnin 
   
Made in us
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine




Murfreesboro, TN

People who want to ignore 4+ or worse saves, that's who...

As a rule of thumb, the designers do not hide "easter eggs" in the rules. If clever reading is required to unlock some sort of hidden option, then it is most likely the result of wishful thinking.

But there's no sense crying over every mistake;
You just keep on trying till you run out of cake.

Member of the "No Retreat for Calgar" Club 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: