| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/01/11 02:40:30
Subject: pulling casualties from mass combat
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
Los Angeles, CA
|
This has come up a couple of times in the past for me. From where are you allowed to pull casulaties. C x x x x x C lets say you have one of your squad(the X's) in combat with two enemy chars (the C's). Char one swings, Can i take casulaties from either end or only on the end where that guy swong. What I am trying to get at is, do individual squads have individual kill zones. In the old rules they did but the line that said so was removed in 4th edition. This would imply that rule is gone and you can take casualties from anyone involved in combat. However, the example given clearly shows individual kill zones. Am I missing a rule somewhere? Do the examples conflict with the rules? Sorry, I have no page numbers to give, no book handy.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/01/11 02:46:51
Subject: RE: pulling casualties from mass combat
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Individual kill zones. Casualties can be pulled from the models in base contact with the enemy unit which inflicted the casualties, or the models within 2" of those models.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/01/11 05:34:47
Subject: RE: pulling casualties from mass combat
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
California ( again)
|
its a two inch kill zone so
CxxxxxC so the first C would kill
C xxxC then the other C would kill off
C x C Leaving you with no attacks back
that how it would end
|
The Red shirts are dying !!!!! It's Nuthing but a Death shroud!!!(Warp11) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/01/11 14:42:45
Subject: RE: pulling casualties from mass combat
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
This question is answered pretty clearly on the bottom of pages 41 and 51. Any models that are engaged with independent characters (ie are within 2" of a friendly model in base-to-base contact that is from the same unit) may be removed as casualties. Yes, this means that if one of the characters strikes at a higher initiative than the other you can remove casualties in such a way as to prevent the other character from attacking at all, assuming all other requirements for casualty removal are met.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/01/12 04:51:55
Subject: RE: pulling casualties from mass combat
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
Los Angeles, CA
|
So what if they arent characters, what if they are parts of other units?
Assume that space in the middle is more than 2 in. E = enemy X = your troups
E E EXXXXXXXXXE E
Can the squad of 3 kill the guy on the far right side of your unit?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/01/12 07:02:38
Subject: RE: pulling casualties from mass combat
|
 |
Master of the Hunt
|
No, they can only kill the engaged models, meaning the ones in base contact and the ones within 2" of those. The "X" on the far right cannot hit the unit of 3, and the unit of 3 cannot hit him because, while they are all locked, those specific models are not engaged with each other.
|
"It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion. It is by the seed of Arabica that thoughts acquire speed, the teeth acquire stains, the stains become a warning. It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion." |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/01/12 09:26:37
Subject: RE: pulling casualties from mass combat
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
Cypher: units or independent characters, it makes absolutely no difference. If the models are engaged with the unit that is attacking, they can be removed as casualties. In your specific situation, of course they can't be removed as casualties because they are not engaged - again, this is clearly stated on page 41.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|