Switch Theme:

DepStriking/Drop Podding etc...when in the round?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Boom! Leman Russ Commander






 

Does it say anywhere in the rules that when you Drop Pod, Deep Strike or Summon Demons that it occurs at the start of the round?

I played against a guy who made his reserves rolls, moved units around and then drop podded in. It didn't matter to me because he was making mistakes about where he was deploying ( dropping stuff in front of tactical squads...), and you never interupt your opponent when he makes a mistake.

But this got me thinking, and I've never seen a rule that says when you bring the units on.


.Only a fool believes there is such a thing as price gouging. Things have value determined by the creator or merchant. If you don't agree with that value, you are free not to purchase. 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Yup.

Reserves specifies that you make the rolls at the start of the turn, and deploy each unit as soon as it becomes available.

Summoning specifies that it happens at the start of the turn.

 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Summoning is very clear that it happens at the beginning of the turn. No moving your icons forward first!

Podding and Deep Striking are less clear.

Most people seem to agree that the passage in the rulebook which says units have to come on as soon as they are available means they move on before units already on the table move, but that’s not a universal interpretation.

As the topic linked below shows, some people read even more into that line, seeing the intent of “as soon as they become available” to mean that you roll for each unit and immediately place it, even before rolling for the next unit. That interpretation has now been debunked by the FAQ ruling about combining units which come in on the same turn, but whether “as soon as they become available” means you’re supposed to put those units down immediately after making reserve rolls, before moving on to regular unit movement, is not really specified.

Some people just read it as meaning that you’re not allowed to wait until the next turn, but that reserve units still move onto the table in the movement phase like normal units, and you can intermix the order however you like.

http://www.dakkadakka.com/Forums/tabid/56/forumid/15/postid/106352/view/topic/Default.aspx


Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: