Switch Theme:

IC & Transport Question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Sslimey Sslyth




I saw something in a game this weekend that I think wasn't quite correct, but I didn't wanna correct them during a game.

One player had an IC joined to a squad in one transport.  He wanted to disembark the IC from that transport, move it over to another transport, and then enter that second transport.  There was room for the IC in the second transport.

I am thinking that he couldn't do that because the IC never satisfied the conditions to join the unit in the second transport, so he couldn't enter their transport.

Correct?

Sal.

   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Silverdale, WA

Unfortunately, I can't find anything on page 62 about IC's embarking and joining a previosly embarked unit. They cover leaving and disembarking but not the other way around. The one thing they do stress though is that infantry can never disembark and embark on the same turn though. So at least the player would have to wait a turn to do it. Sounds like time to make a house rule for it, but since it explains that IC's can disembark leaving a previously attached unit behind it doesn't seem to far fetched to think they can join an embarked unit too (just not during the same turn).

It's entirely possible that I missed something too. It's probably best to consult the rulebook.

 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Dark Angels Scout with Shotgun





As long as there is room in the vehicle for them I dont see any reason why they couldn't. That being said, I cant see any tactical reason why you would get out of one vehicle and get into another, but hey, people do strange things.
   
Made in us
Sslimey Sslyth




Yeah, tactically, it was kind of silly. The player had the IC with Unit A. He decided he wanted Unit A to do something where he didn't want his IC. He moved up Unit B's transport, wanted to switch the IC over to Unit B, and send Unit A off on a suicide mission of some sort or another.

The reason I'm not sure it is legal is the specific criteria for joining a unit. (I am paraphrasing, BGB is at home). The BGB states that to join a unit, the IC must be moved into coherency with the unit and then be declared to be joining the unit. Unit B (from above) is in the transport, and many argue that since they are in the transport, they are not "on the board." If they are in the transport, how does the IC first move into coherency with the squad to declare that he is now part of the unit? Is merely moving within 2" of the transport sufficient?

We all know that the IC must be part of the unit in order to board the transport; he cannot board the transport first and then join the unit later as only a single unit may use a transport at a time, and only one specific unit may use a dedicated transport. It's just a question of whether or not an IC can join a unit (during the movement phase, not during set up) that is currently embarked in a transport.

Yup, weird question. I've been playing since 1988, and I think this is the first time I've ever even wondered this

Sal.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: