Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/03/08 05:35:34
Subject: Quick Question about Chaos summoning
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
If you dedicate a unit to a choas undivided icon does that unit die with the model dedicated to it if it is not summoned before the model dies?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/03/08 05:54:05
Subject: RE: Quick Question about Chaos summoning
|
 |
[DCM]
Sentient OverBear
|
We need more antecedents.
|
DQ:70S++G+++M+B++I+Pw40k94+ID+++A++/sWD178R+++T(I)DM+++
Trust me, no matter what damage they have the potential to do, single-shot weapons always flatter to deceive in 40k. Rule #1 - BBAP
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/03/08 06:15:16
Subject: RE: Quick Question about Chaos summoning
|
 |
Ancient Chaos Terminator
South Pasadena
|
That is a very interesting question Kayge.
The wording (C:CSM pg18) seems to imply that the demon unit can only be summoned from the Demon icon (you did mean the Demon icon and not the Undivided icon, right?). If that is correct then the loss of the icon before summoning would mean the unit has no other way of entering play.
Darrian
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/03/08 08:34:52
Subject: RE: Quick Question about Chaos summoning
|
 |
Omnipotent Lord of Change
|
Agree, if you lose the ikon you lose the demons bound within it. Admitedly, I'd think this would be hard to have happen, unless you were using a small chosen squad and were waiting on plopping the demons down in just the right spot ...
- Boss Salvage
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/03/08 09:33:10
Subject: RE: Quick Question about Chaos summoning
|
 |
Plastictrees
|
By RAW, there's no support for the argument that they'd be destroyed.
The chaos codex has rules that describe how deamons are summoned normally.
Then, in addition to that, it has this special case of the daemon icon that says you "can" summon the bound daemon unit without making the reserve or scatter rolls. But nothing in the daemon icon rules say that it overrides or negates the normal summoning rules.
I think people are keying off the word "bound" to an assumption that the bound daemons can *only* be summoned with the daemon icon. But the word "only" does not appear anywhere in the daemon icon rules. The word "bound" as defined in these rules only means that they can be summoned using the special icon method, but does not preclude them from being summoned the normal way.
Therefore, the rules say that you can summon them either using the daemon icon (no reserve or scatter) or the normal way through another icon.
|
"The complete or partial destruction of the enemy must be regarded as the sole object of all engagements.... Direct annihilation of the enemy's forces must always be the dominant consideration." Karl von Clausewitz |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/03/09 08:05:32
Subject: RE: Quick Question about Chaos summoning
|
 |
Omnipotent Lord of Change
|
Oh. Yeah I can see that. So would you decide before rolling for demonic reserves (turn 2 on) whether you wanted them to 'bound' there way in automatically, but then roll to see if they showed up anyway and then have to deploy them (off any icon now) anyway? I suppose that's the risk of paying mad points for possibly useful chaos abilities.
- Boss Salvage
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/03/09 18:39:41
Subject: RE: Quick Question about Chaos summoning
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
Lexington, KY
|
The rules never specify what "bound" means; like Flavius said, the most reasonable (at least, by RAW) way of interpreting it is as flavor text -- and use the actual mechanics (automatic summoning) listed in the icon. Any other workings of the icon is pure conjecture.
|
Stop trolling us so Lowinor and I can go back to beating each other's faces in. -pretre |
|
 |
 |
|