Switch Theme:

Khorny Iron Warriors?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






In the back of the Chaos Space Marines Codex it talks about how units with Marks of Chaos, if different than the mark on the HQ, will count as elites etc.  It also states that a vehicle dedicated to a chaos god is different than a mark of chaos, and from this I am assuming it will not count as an elite if the HQ does not bear an akin mark; this assumption I hope is correct, if not, I'll have some different questions...

So, can an Iron Warriors army choosing to drop two Fast Attack slots for an additional Heavy Support slot run four Chaos Dreadnoughts with two close combat weapons, each dedicated to Khorne with the Destroyer ability?

I'm pretty sure this isn't the case, but if one of those dreadnoughts moves, will it only be able to rapid-fire its two (remember the extra close combat arm comes with another) combi-bolters and not get the full 24 inches?

If the dreadnought goes into Blood Frenzy, will its +1 attack from having two close combat weapons be counted before or after it doubles its "base attacks"?

Blood Frenzy states the dreadnought "must move 6 +D6 inches towards..."- how will this work if the dreadnought is moving through difficult terrain?

If one of my dreadnoughts suffers from Fire Frenzy and the only thing it can see is another one of my dreadnoughts, is it required to fire its two combi-bolters (which would do nothing) or will the Fire Frenzy be counted as Blood Frenzy instead?

Finally, the codex says a dreadnought may upgrade a single combi-bolter to a heavy flamer for +10 points.  If you take an extra close combat arm, can you upgrade its corresponding combi-bolter into another heavy flamer?

Thanks in advance for any replies!



And God said unto Abraham, "Take this mighty bolter, my son, and smite thy enemies from afar. Fear not, Emperor protects..er, I mean, well, youknowwhatImean." 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




1. Yes, it seems your initial assumption is correct.  Although Iron Warriors are not premitted specific chaos marks, there doesn't seem to be anything disallowing dedicated vehicles.  Probably not intended that way, but legal nonetheless.

2. I may be missing something, but I can't find anything that specifically addresses rapid fire weapons and vehicles/walkers.  One would assume walkers have the option of moving and firing RF weapons once up to their full range (providing that the target is not within RF range), but this doesn't seem supported by a rule, similar to the idea that chaos terminators can move and fire RF weapons at their full range but don't have rules allowing them to assault afterwards like bikes do.

3. The CSM FAQ specifies that you always double before adding.

4. Common sense might say that the 6" is affected by difficult terrain, but the D6 is not, in order to keep it consistant with other units that get a D6 move that replaces shooting in some respect.  However, the rule does not specify this, so there is no clear answer.

5. If the second dreadnought is in range, then yes, the first dread would fire its combi-bolters, which would do nothing.  The rule doesn't state anything about the ability to do damage being a requirement for Fire Frenzy to occur.

6. Well.. as you pointed out, it does say "may upgrade a single combi-bolter," so it looks like no.


"I didn't say I was ATTACKING the Umber Hulk. I said I was THINKING about it." -- Jimbo Jones as one of "The 12 Types of Fantasy Gamers" in "Comic Book Guy's Book of Pop Culture" 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut



Mi.

Lets make this real easy for ya. You cannot take anything but undivided in the nightlords army and the Iron warriors army. I dont have my codex next to me but ill be home later and more than happy to give you the specifics.

The only easy day was yesterday.  
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Lets make this real easy for ya. You cannot take anything but undivided in the nightlords army and the Iron warriors army.

You can't take a Mark other than the Mark of Chaos Undivided in a Iron Warriors army. Vehicle dedications are not Marks. And while the Night Lords do have a restriction against vehicle dedications, the Iron Warriors do not.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut



Mi.

Sure they do but as i said im in no position to argue the page. They are only allowed the mark of undivided in there army. And it will say vehicles can either be unmarked or undivided nothing else.  


The only easy day was yesterday.  
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Posted By 5thelement on 03/11/2007 2:05 PM
Sure they do but as i said im in no position to argue the page.

...making the whole argument rather pointless, really. It helps to check the book if you're going to insist that you're right...



Posted By 5thelement on 03/11/2007 2:05 PM
And it will say vehicles can either be unmarked or undivided nothing else.  
It doesn't. For one, because vehicles aren't marked, they're dedicated. And for two, because there is no 'Undivided' vehicle dedication. The vehicle is either dedicated to one of the 4 powers, or not dedicated to one of the 4 powers.


The only one of the Undivided lists that mentions vehicle dedication is Night Lords. The others can dedicate their vehicles however they like.

 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Pinon Hills, CA

So what's the story with rapid-fire weapons and walkers or other vehicles? I haven't had access to my codices or rulebook (they're at the FLGS with my armies) all week.

"Plant more 'shrooms ladz, wez runn'n outta boyz" - RussWakelin, Grand Inquisitor 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




I'd say its legal. Kind of a large mistake if IW were intended to only get unmarked vehicles. I guess we'll find out wht the intention was when we get a new dex. I love that dread pattern though and its the only pattern of chaos dread I use. It is pretty fluffy for IWs if anyone has read Dead Sky, Black Sun. It would be neat to make a list with those 4 dreads lead by a maxed prince modeled as the Warmith dread Berossus in Dead Sky.
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






In the back of the Chaos Space Marines Codex it talks about how units with Marks of Chaos, if different than the mark on the HQ, will count as elites etc. It also states that a vehicle dedicated to a chaos god is different than a mark of chaos, and from this I am assuming it will not count as an elite if the HQ does not bear an akin mark; this assumption I hope is correct, if not, I'll have some different questions...

Correct.

So, can an Iron Warriors army choosing to drop two Fast Attack slots for an additional Heavy Support slot run four Chaos Dreadnoughts with two close combat weapons, each dedicated to Khorne with the Destroyer ability?

Looks like it.

I'm pretty sure this isn't the case, but if one of those dreadnoughts moves, will it only be able to rapid-fire its two (remember the extra close combat arm comes with another) combi-bolters and not get the full 24 inches?

BGB p63, last paragraph under "Vehicle Weaponry":
"This means that vehicle-mounted rapid fire and heavy weapons always count as stationary..."

If the dreadnought goes into Blood Frenzy, will its +1 attack from having two close combat weapons be counted before or after it doubles its "base attacks"?

You always double before adding. Even if it's not mentioned in the rules (which I'm sure it is; see Chaos FAQ and EoT Codex), it still makes mathematical sense.

Blood Frenzy states the dreadnought "must move 6 +D6 inches towards..."- how will this work if the dreadnought is moving through difficult terrain?

You halve the D6" movement, as per the BGB p16 under "Random & Compulsory Movement."

If one of my dreadnoughts suffers from Fire Frenzy and the only thing it can see is another one of my dreadnoughts, is it required to fire its two combi-bolters (which would do nothing) or will the Fire Frenzy be counted as Blood Frenzy instead?

You still have to fire, even if you can't hurt it.

Finally, the codex says a dreadnought may upgrade a single combi-bolter to a heavy flamer for +10 points. If you take an extra close combat arm, can you upgrade its corresponding combi-bolter into another heavy flamer?

No. Only a single twin-linked bolter may be upgraded.
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Cheexsta is correct on all counts, and rocks my socks for completeness and accuracy. Swize also gets credit for speed.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Master Sergeant





Posted By WarsmithDave on 03/12/2007 1:51 AM
I'd say its legal.
Personally, I'd check the legality of my own list before commenting on the legality of someone else's. But maybe that's just me.

Green Blow Fly wrote:Arseholes need to be kept in check. They do exist and play 40k.

Ironically, they do. So do cheats. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: