Switch Theme:

Tyranid Warriors and their spinefists  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




I'm confused on the spinefist entry of the tyranid warrior.  It says "Spinefist (pair)" under the weapon symbiotes.  Since a spinefist already counts as twin-linked, it obviously doesn't mean that.  It might mean that he has two spinefists that he can fire, but the Warrior entry says "Warriors with two rantted weapon-symbiotes may only fire one per turn", which seems to nix that.

Can anyone clear this up for me?

   
Made in us
Master of the Hunt





Angmar

Simple. Unlike the heavier weapon symbiotes, spinefists are modeled as single handed weapons. However, whenever you give them to a warrior, they take up 2 arm sockets, one right and one left. Hence the pair.

There are no additional rules, the pair is simply one set of twin-linked spinefists.

"It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion.
It is by the seed of Arabica that thoughts acquire speed, the teeth acquire stains, the stains become a warning.
It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion."
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




In Mnemoch's defense, the codex is wildly inconsistent.  The armoury defines a spinefist (no plural) as coming in pairs, and being twin-linked.  One of the Gaunts' options is "Spinefist" (no plural).  Hive Tyrants can take "Spinefists" (plural).  Warriors can take "Spinefists (pair)."  And Carnifexes can take the Spine Banks which count as "a spinefist" (singular again), and clearly does not come in anything resembling a pair.

And yet, they/it work/s exactly the same on each unit.

 


"I didn't say I was ATTACKING the Umber Hulk. I said I was THINKING about it." -- Jimbo Jones as one of "The 12 Types of Fantasy Gamers" in "Comic Book Guy's Book of Pop Culture" 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Pinon Hills, CA

And I thought the Chaos Codex was bad...

"Plant more 'shrooms ladz, wez runn'n outta boyz" - RussWakelin, Grand Inquisitor 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut



Mi.

Gaunts cant mix weapons so its only ever going to be a pair for them.

As Blue Loki said one in one hand one in the other whats hard about that?

The only easy day was yesterday.  
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Posted By 5thelement on 03/14/2007 12:58 PM
Gaunts cant mix weapons so its only ever going to be a pair for them.

As Blue Loki said one in one hand one in the other whats hard about that?

I didn't say it was hard.  I was simply stating that the original poster's confusion was not unjustified. 

Sure, it's one in one hand and one in the other.  It's the same for Tyrants as it is for Warriors.  And both have two weapons spots to be filled.  But the Warriors' entry specifies in the options that you get a pair, while the Tyrant's entry does not.

It was a valid question to ask if this meant any difference in game terms. 


"I didn't say I was ATTACKING the Umber Hulk. I said I was THINKING about it." -- Jimbo Jones as one of "The 12 Types of Fantasy Gamers" in "Comic Book Guy's Book of Pop Culture" 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: