Switch Theme:

Pile In: A combined view  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Hi,

I have been reading the poles and discovering that various ways people read and interpret the rules.

The two regarding the Pile In rules got me thinking. They seem to contradict, but what if we assume they don't contradict, then it almost makes sense. (caveat, not near my book, so can't check how this impacts other rules.)

Threads here:
http://dakkadakka.com/Forums/tabid/56/forumid/15/postid/104876/view/topic/Default.aspx http://dakkadakka.com/Forums/tabid/56/forumid/15/view/topic/postid/104888/Default.aspx

What if you followed both rules.

Unit A B and C are all in cc. Unit A goes through the assault steps, and at step 6 all of those not in *Base contact* pile in up to 6". In the vast majority of cases, those that do move, will either end up in base contact, or at least engaged. Unit B and Unit C do the same.

Now it is the end of the assault phase. The rules now state that you look at all of these models again, are any of them not *engaged*? If they are not engaged, then they move up to 6" to be in Base contact, or at least engaged.

Technically, this could allow for a 12" pile in move, but realistically, that would almost never happen. Most that would move at the end of the assault phase, would have not moved during step 6, or moved only a few inches. The chances of being locked in  CC, then moving 6", and still being on the fringe enough for deaths to leave you not even engaged....

And this way we can follow all of the rules.

   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Wow, so no disagreement on this?
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Doesn't work for me. You Pile In once at the end of close combat. Not twice. Nothing in the rules suggests that the models can move twice.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


I agree with Mannahnin.

The two rules in dispute are the actual rules for piling-in and the summary for the same thing.

Regardless of which way you play it there is absolutely no evidence that piling in can be performed by a unit more than once per Assault phase.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





According to the FAQ, there is a dispute dealing with *when* the Pile-in occurs. The rules state it happens at the end of each individual combat, *and* the rules state that it happens at the end of the entire assault phase.

Not only do the rules give two different times when it happens, but the rules treat each one differently. One time dealing with BtB, one time dealing with Engaged.

The first rule of Rules Debate here is "Break no Rule". Luckily, these two rules are not in conflict.

The rules say do it after each combat for those not BtB.
The rules say do it after the assault phase for those not engaged.

No where, that I have found, do the rules state it only happens once; as I have shown, it is the opposite.

Plus, as a practical matter, once you have piled-in during the unit combat, it is unlikely you will not be at least engaged at the end of the phase. And it is *very* unlikely you will move greater than a total of 6" even if you do move twice. (though not impossible.)

Let me turn it around. The rules give two times (with two different criteria) to perform Pile-in. Where does it provide evidence that it should be done only once?
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Posted By coredump on 03/26/2007 5:52 AM

According to the FAQ, there is a dispute dealing with *when* the Pile-in occurs. The rules state it happens at the end of each individual combat, *and* the rules state that it happens at the end of the entire assault phase.

Not only do the rules give two different times when it happens, but the rules treat each one differently. One time dealing with BtB, one time dealing with Engaged.



But one set of "rules" here is a summary of the same rule. A summary is a summarization of something else and by definition cannot be a seperate rule.

The fact that the summary for piling-in and the actual rules for piling in contradict mean that one of them has to be in error.

The blurb about piling in on the summary page is not a stand-alone rule (it doesn't contain any actual rules telling you how to make the pile-in move), it only references the pile-in rule presented on another page.

 

 


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: