Switch Theme:

Monolith, Deep Strike, and Warriors in reserve  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Banelord Titan Princeps of Khorne






Can a necron unit held in reserve enter play through the monolith's portal on the same turn it deepstrikes?

Veriamp wrote:I have emerged from my lurking to say one thing. When Mat taught the Necrons to feel, he taught me to love.

Whitedragon Paints! http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/613745.page 
   
Made in us
Foul Dwimmerlaik






Minneapolis, MN

Though I cannot definitively say for sure, judging by what I am reading in the codex, they seem to be able to disembark (nay, must disembark) from the monolith on the turn it deepstrikes if the warriors are eligble to enter play.

Here is what it says in the monolith heading of the Necron Codex:



Here is what I beleive to be pertinent in the 4.0 Necron FAQ:



The most notable and pertinent part of the monolith heading from the codex is "...emerging from the monolith portal as if they were disembarking from an access point on a  stationary vehicle (even if the monolith moved)"  as well as "if a unit of necron warriors is eligible to enter play from reserves...then they must emerge from the portal..."

By this, the warriors should be able to emerge fom the portal the turn the monolith deepstrikes and act normally on the turn the disembark from the portal, as the warriors havent technically moved, just the monolith (and the monolith counts as stationary) so they should be able to move, shoot or assault the turn they enter play. If I am reading the rules correctly.

   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





The Warriors would still need to make their Reserve roll.  They don't automaticly enter the game once the Monolith appears.

If you game in North Alabama check us out!

Rocket City Gamers 
   
Made in us
Foul Dwimmerlaik






Minneapolis, MN

Thats why I said...
Posted By Hellfury on 03/24/2007 5:27 PM
...they seem to be able to disembark (nay, must disembark) from the monolith on the turn it deepstrikes if the warriors are eligble to enter play.

   
Made in us
[DCM]
Sentient OverBear






Clearwater, FL

But the warriors still need to make their reserve roll!

Mmmm, the Warriors.

Think I'm gonna rent that today.

DQ:70S++G+++M+B++I+Pw40k94+ID+++A++/sWD178R+++T(I)DM+++

Trust me, no matter what damage they have the potential to do, single-shot weapons always flatter to deceive in 40k.                                                                                                       Rule #1
- BBAP

 
   
Made in us
Banelord Titan Princeps of Khorne






Hey Hellfury, I'm pretty sure the warriors need to make their reserve roll to be eligible to enter play. They don't enter automatically.

Actually, after re-reading it myself, I think you were dead on Hellfury. Damn, its like a damn necron drop pod!

And Lorek, the Warriors is a pretty spiffy PS2 game too!

Veriamp wrote:I have emerged from my lurking to say one thing. When Mat taught the Necrons to feel, he taught me to love.

Whitedragon Paints! http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/613745.page 
   
Made in us
Foul Dwimmerlaik






Minneapolis, MN

Is there a *fudge*ing echo in here? You are all *fudge*ing with me, right?
Posted By Iorek on 03/25/2007 8:47 AM
But the warriors still need to make their reserve roll!


And again, thats what makes them eligible to enter play, is it not?
They are not eligible to enter play if they dont make (and pass) a reserves roll, correct?
If you make a reserves roll (and do not pass) would that make them non eligible to enter play?

Posted By whitedragon on 03/25/2007 9:04 AM
Hey Hellfury, I'm pretty sure the warriors need to make their reserve roll to be eligible to enter play. They don't enter automatically.
*sigh* no gak sherlock.

Again, thats why I said...

Posted By Hellfury on 03/24/2007 5:27 PM
...they seem to be able to disembark (nay, must disembark) from the monolith on the turn it deepstrikes if the warriors are eligble to enter play.

Sheesh, sorry for not spelling it out. ...   Next time I wont give people the benefit of the doubt regarding reading comprehension.

But for those of you who are still in kindergarten but are trying to participate in these forums,
let me speak S L O W L Y for you.

You can put your shiny necron dollies on the table within 2" of the swirly green glowy door-thing on the big Jackie Onassis Handbag of Green Glowy Doom* if you roll a dice and daddy says its okay.

* Jackie Onassis Handbag of Green Glowy Doom is also
recommended by your doctor to cure the vapors.

   
Made in us
Plastictrees



Amongst the Stars, In the Night

Just remember, the warriors need to make their reserve rolls to be eligible to enter play, m'kay?

OT Zone: A More Wretched Hive of Scum and Villany
The Loyal Slave learns to Love the Lash! 
   
Made in us
Banelord Titan Princeps of Khorne






I find it helpful to place the squad on the edge of the table, or near my rulebooks, to remind me to make their reserve roll, as Nyarly is right, they need to make a reserve roll to be eligible to enter play.

Veriamp wrote:I have emerged from my lurking to say one thing. When Mat taught the Necrons to feel, he taught me to love.

Whitedragon Paints! http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/613745.page 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




NJ

I wish you Rulez Lawyers would actually take a second to read the fricking RULES. Why is it so hard for Hellfury to understand they don't automatically enter play! They must make their reserve roll first!
   
Made in us
Foul Dwimmerlaik






Minneapolis, MN

*pulls hair out of head*

No they dont!

The magical rectal spoon fairies allow this. ITS IN THE RULEBOOK! Its on page *cough cough* of the rulebook and page *fart* of the necron codex....read it for yourself.

sheesh....

   
Made in us
Using Inks and Washes






Posted By Hellfury on 03/25/2007 4:10 PM
*pulls hair out of head*

No they dont!

The magical rectal spoon fairies allow this. ITS IN THE RULEBOOK! Its on page *cough cough* of the rulebook and page *fart* of the necron codex....read it for yourself.

sheesh....



Ok I am confused ......

Rules say eligble to enter play. How are warriors who haven't made a reserves roll eligble to enter play.

Am I just missing a whole part of the argument somewhere alone the lines or dare I say it (I dare I dare) maybe I am not as bright as I think I am? Infact, I would even go as far to say, who is arguing what in this discussion - they can, they cannot but they have to or must depending on someones sphincter.

I will now retire to my room and talk to my models, they understand me and I them - it is a thing of beauty. Hush my pretties, I will turn the light on soon ......


2014 will be the year of zero GW purchases. Kneadite instead of GS, no paints or models. 2014 will be the year I finally make the move to military models and away from miniature games. 
   
Made in us
Sslimey Sslyth




Ok, lemme post this before Hellfury bursts a blood vessel in his brain.

In his original post, Hellfury implied the need to make a successful reserves roll in the line "if the warriors are eligible to enter play."

Successive readers of his original post have missed that part and thought that HF said they didn't need to roll. Since then, HF has gotten a little frustrated (and very humorous) in his responses.

It's ok HF....some of us did well in the ITBS Reading Comprehension section

Sal.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




While the first couple of posters missed Hellfury's intent, I am pretty sure the rest are just messing with him. And I even suspect HF has caught on to this and is just playing along.

   
Made in us
Sslimey Sslyth




Boy I sure hope so. I couldn't figure out how I was going to clean his brains off the inside of my monitor when his head exploded in frustration

Sal.
   
Made in us
Foul Dwimmerlaik






Minneapolis, MN

Posted By Saldiven on 03/26/2007 6:52 AM

Successive readers of his original post have missed that part and thought that HF said they didn't need to roll. Since then, HF has gotten a little frustrated (and very humorous) in his responses.

It's ok HF....some of us did well in the ITBS Reading Comprehension section

Sal.

Heh. Coredump sums it up.

Are you sure youre reading comprehension is ok, Saldiven?

Just kidding. Internet sarcasm meters sometimes miss the slightest minutae.
I know I am one of the people who doesnt even seem to own one

Just remeber you cant have reading comprehension without first making a reserves roll..

   
Made in us
Clousseau





Wilmington DE



War-i-ors! Don't forget to roll RESERVES!

EDIT: I'm SOOO doing a small army of Orks for COD as baseball Furies.

Guinness: for those who are men of the cloth and football fans, but not necessarily in that order.

I think the lesson here is the best way to enjoy GW's games is to not use any of their rules.--Crimson Devil 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




NJ

It's ok HF....some of us did well in the ITBS Reading Comprehension section


Reading comp FTL
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Posted By syr8766 on 03/26/2007 7:15 PM


War-i-ors! Don't forget to roll RESERVES!

EDIT: I'm SOOO doing a small army of Orks for COD as baseball Furies.
Hmmm... I don't know. Orks might be better as really ugly Tin Lizzies.

   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Minnesota

Posted By Iorek on 03/25/2007 8:47 AM
Mmmm, the Warriors.

Think I'm gonna rent that today.



Warrriooorrrs come out and Pllaaayyyyy!!

Damn you all for getting that stuck back in my head. 


I'll take a Whisky, some more Whisky and a Chaser of Whisky and a diet Coke.  
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





So I heard there's some kind of loophole in the rules where Warriors don't have to roll for reserves if they come out of a deep striking Monolith.

Is there any truth to this?
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Posted By Deus Ex Machina on 03/26/2007 11:51 PM
So I heard there's some kind of loophole in the rules where Warriors don't have to roll for reserves if they come out of a deep striking Monolith.

Is there any truth to this?

Yes, but only if they are modeled as baseball players.
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Posted By syr8766 on 03/26/2007 7:15 PM


War-i-ors! Don't forget to roll RESERVES!

EDIT: I'm SOOO doing a small army of Orks for COD as baseball Furies.


You make that army and I'll fly out to play a game against you.

 



I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Banelord Titan Princeps of Khorne






Damn I wish I woulda thought of that!

Veriamp wrote:I have emerged from my lurking to say one thing. When Mat taught the Necrons to feel, he taught me to love.

Whitedragon Paints! http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/613745.page 
   
Made in us
Foul Dwimmerlaik






Minneapolis, MN

Having seen some of Yair's better paint jobs, I am willing to bet he can make the idea come to life quite well, for great justice.

   
Made in us
[DCM]
Sentient OverBear






Clearwater, FL

Are you sure about that, Yak?  You know that baseball Furies ALWAYS make their reserve rolls...

DQ:70S++G+++M+B++I+Pw40k94+ID+++A++/sWD178R+++T(I)DM+++

Trust me, no matter what damage they have the potential to do, single-shot weapons always flatter to deceive in 40k.                                                                                                       Rule #1
- BBAP

 
   
Made in ca
Dakka Veteran




Pirate Ship Revenge

Well then there's no problem.
Play Ball!

I have nothing useful to add.
http://otzone.proboards34.com/index.cgi>the OT
Welp, that link ain't no good nomore. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: