| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/05/14 08:00:01
Subject: DA teleport homers
|
 |
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets
Right behind you...
|
The rules in the BGB for Deep Strike and Reserves don't say when (in the Movement Phase) the unit arrives. If you are bringing in Deathwing Termies with the teleport homers on the Ravenwing bikes, must you bring them in before the bikes move or may you use their post-move position for the Terminators to home in on? I've never used homers so I am a bit in the dark about how they work. Thanks.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/05/14 08:43:51
Subject: RE: DA teleport homers
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
the spire of angels
|
there is a little sub paragraph below the entry that specifies they must be brought in as soon as they are available- i.e. the scout move happenes before the game starts, but once the game starts you must deepstrike/roll for deepstrike and place BEFORE anything else moves.
|
"victory needs no explanation, defeat allows none" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/05/14 09:08:13
Subject: RE: DA teleport homers
|
 |
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets
Right behind you...
|
Yeah, I saw the part about bringing them in as soon as they are available, but I think that refers to holding units in reserve even after you successfully roll to bring them in. I am not asking about that, rather I want to know what part of the Movement Phase they come in on when they become available(and I'm not talking about the pre-game scout move either- just reserve units on/after turn 2). Do they have to be the first unit that I "move" or can I move the bikes first then bring in my teleporting Termies? Hope that clarifies my question a bit. Mughi- do you have a page number for the reference about deep strikers have to be brought in before other units are moved?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/05/14 09:09:11
Subject: RE: DA teleport homers
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Hmmm.... I don't read it that way. That paragraph goes on to say you can't wait until later turns. I that that paragraph is saying you have to roll for them each turn that you can, and if you succeed, you can't have them wait until later turns.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/05/14 11:10:29
Subject: RE: DA teleport homers
|
 |
[ARTICLE MOD]
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
You're wrong, coredump.
It says to roll at the beginning of the turn, and then says that when a unit arrives, it must move onto the table. the rules specifically say you can't wait to make roles for any reason. Whether its later in the same turn, or in subsequent turns, it reads the same.
Break no rule.
|
"I was not making fun of you personally - I was heaping scorn on an inexcusably silly idea - a practice I shall always follow." - Lt. Colonel Dubois, Starship Troopers
Don't settle for the pewter horde! Visit http://www.bkarmypainting.com and find out how you can have a well-painted army quickly at a reasonable price. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/05/14 15:18:14
Subject: RE: DA teleport homers
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
More importantly the teleport homer rules specifically state that the homer must be on the board at the start of the turn to be used. Any homers moving onto the table from resereves would not be eligible to be used that turn.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/05/14 16:46:26
Subject: RE: DA teleport homers
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Cent, I am glad you are so confident of your opinion.
Reading a rule too literally, or while taking it out of context, can break the rules also.
It says 'without delay', (It does not mention 'for any reason') it then goes on to talk about keeping them in reserve until later turns. The question is if the latter is clarifying, or just one possible example. Based on the rule, and the 'example', it is reasonable to assert that a 'delay' would be to wait until later turns. Similarly, to bring them on 'when available'... they are available on the turn you roll high enough. To assert that that means it must be *immediately* is reading more into the rule than exists on its own.
If one insists on reading it as literally as possible, more troubles emerge. (granted, I am trying to make a point here) You roll for one unit, you make it. But now the rules say you must bring it on *and* the rules say you can't delay rolling. The only way to 'literally' follow the rules would be to roll all the dice at once, and bring all the models on at once. Of course, that is ridiculous.
Similarly, what about the lictor rerolls. It is common to use them to take a 'successful' reserve roll and roll again to try and get an unsuccessful one. That would be using the Lictors ability to 'delay' bringing the reserve unit on. So is that to be considered illegal also?
I believe there is merit in the assertion that reserves must be rolled before anything else, and must be deployed before anything else happens. But I don't think it can be totally justified by the rules; and there is room within the written rules to assert differently.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/05/14 17:23:57
Subject: RE: DA teleport homers
|
 |
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets
Right behind you...
|
Posted By yakface on 05/14/2007 8:18 PM More importantly the teleport homer rules specifically state that the homer must be on the board at the start of the turn to be used. Any homers moving onto the table from resereves would not be eligible to be used that turn.
Yak, you have completely missed the point of my question. Perhaps I have not made it clear... The situation is: I have units of Ravenwing bikes running around the board (on or after turn 2) and have rolled successfully to bring Deathwing Termies on from reserve via deep strike. My quesiton is: Do I have to bring the Termies on before the bikes move in this turn or can they teleoprt in after the bikes move. I can't find anything preventing the bikes moving first and then have the Termies teleport within 6" of the bikes new position. Thanks
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/05/14 18:03:43
Subject: RE: DA teleport homers
|
 |
[ARTICLE MOD]
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Similarly, what about the lictor rerolls. It is common to use them to take a 'successful' reserve roll and roll again to try and get an unsuccessful one. That would be using the Lictors ability to 'delay' bringing the reserve unit on. So is that to be considered illegal also? Bad example. But nice try. A-2. Forgetting That the Specific Overrules the General The rules are written so that a more specific rule supercedes a general rule. If your argument fails to take more specific rules into account, then your argument is flawed. i.e. the general rule states that units cannot regroup if below 50%. But space marines follow And They Shall Know No Fear, which allows them to regroup even when below 50%. That rule is more specific because it applies to a smaller group or more specific situation. A-3. Drifting Off the Topic at Hand It’s important to stay on topic, because while similar situations are interesting and sometimes worthy of note, they have no inherent ability to support or refute this type of argument. If you do reference a related, but different, situation, be sure to note that they are merely conversation. i.e. Farseers from Codex: Eldar are independent characters that fight in assault separately from their retinue or any squad they have joined. It does no good to point out that Farseers in an Ulthwe Seer Council do not fight separately, because Ulthwe Farseers are not Independent Characters, and thus not germane to the topic of Independent Characters fighting in assault.
|
"I was not making fun of you personally - I was heaping scorn on an inexcusably silly idea - a practice I shall always follow." - Lt. Colonel Dubois, Starship Troopers
Don't settle for the pewter horde! Visit http://www.bkarmypainting.com and find out how you can have a well-painted army quickly at a reasonable price. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/05/15 09:59:05
Subject: RE: DA teleport homers
|
 |
Phanobi
|
There was a YMTC that addressed this, see the sticky above. I personally play that you can't move the bikes first, though I will readily admit that the rules are not specific on this.
Ozymandias, King of Kings
|
My name is Ozymandias, King of Kings. Look on My works, Ye Mighty, and despair.
Chris Gohlinghorst wrote:Holy Space Marine on a Stick.
This conversation has even begun to boggle my internet-hardened mind.
A More Wretched Hive of Scum and Villainy |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/05/15 10:29:22
Subject: RE: DA teleport homers
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
It would seem that the rules say that you have to put the models on the table as soon as they become availible. That would be before the start of your turn when the reserve rolls are made, not later in the movement phase.
|
**** Phoenix ****
Threads should be like skirts: long enough to cover what's important but short enough to keep it interesting. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/05/15 13:01:40
Subject: RE: DA teleport homers
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Posted By Beast on 05/14/2007 10:23 PM Yak, you have completely missed the point of my question. Perhaps I have not made it clear... The situation is: I have units of Ravenwing bikes running around the board (on or after turn 2) and have rolled successfully to bring Deathwing Termies on from reserve via deep strike. My quesiton is: Do I have to bring the Termies on before the bikes move in this turn or can they teleoprt in after the bikes move. I can't find anything preventing the bikes moving first and then have the Termies teleport within 6" of the bikes new position. Thanks Ah yes, sorry. Well as has already been said in this thread, Reserve rolls are done at the beginning of the turn. Once you make that reserve roll by the RAW the Deep Striking rules must then be completed. So no, you could not move models on the board before Deep Stirking models onto the table that turn.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/05/15 16:13:19
Subject: RE: DA teleport homers
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Cent, I understand the specific/general relationship.
But the Lictor rule does not deal with breaking that rule, it just allows you to reroll. You must still follow all other rules where possible. The Lictor rule does not specifically allow breaking the 'no delay' rule. As an illustration: Normally you have to roll 2 dice for moving through difficult terrain. Fleet specifically lets you break that rule. But that does not mean you can ignore the impassable terrain rule. Normally you can only roll once. The Lictor rule specifically allows you to break that rule. But that does not mean you can ignore the 'no delay' rule.
Beast, you answer depends on how you read that paragraph. If 'as soon as available' means you can't do *anything* else, or if it just means you can't hold on to them past that turn. Yak and Cent are pretty convinced it is the former; not everyone is as convinced.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/05/16 06:23:08
Subject: RE: DA teleport homers
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
The Lictor rule is sufficiently explicit if it says that you may re-roll any Reserve roll. There are several re-roll rules in the game which specify that only a failed roll can be re-rolled, so if the Lictor rule does not limit the re-roll to failures, it is clearly permitted to re-roll a successful roll. The Lictor's special rules pertain only to games involving that particular unit, and thus inherently are more specific than (and trump) the general reserve rules about not delaying.
"No delay" seems pretty clear to me.
But if you're not convinced, you can (and generally should) then fall back to the "least powerful interpretation" default. If a rule is ambiguous, it is generally better for the acting player to err on the side of the less powerful interpretation, so as to avoid the possibility of cheating the opponent. This ensures both that you act within the boundaries of the rules and that you don't annoy your opponents.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/05/16 07:04:40
Subject: RE: DA teleport homers
|
 |
Phanobi
|
Posted By Mannahnin on 05/16/2007 11:23 AM "No delay" seems pretty clear to me. But if you're not convinced, you can (and generally should) then fall back to the "least powerful interpretation" default. If a rule is ambiguous, it is generally better for the acting player to err on the side of the less powerful interpretation, so as to avoid the possibility of cheating the opponent. This ensures both that you act within the boundaries of the rules and that you don't annoy your opponents. Quoted for truth. I am not convinced that its pretty clear, but I realize that my opponents usually are and its generally everyone plays that you have to bring on DS before you move everyone else. However, I would like it to be more explicitly stated in a FAQ or future editions. Ozymandias, King of Kings
|
My name is Ozymandias, King of Kings. Look on My works, Ye Mighty, and despair.
Chris Gohlinghorst wrote:Holy Space Marine on a Stick.
This conversation has even begun to boggle my internet-hardened mind.
A More Wretched Hive of Scum and Villainy |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/05/16 07:43:13
Subject: RE: DA teleport homers
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
Troll country
|
Actually it is very clear that deep strike occurs immediately at the beginning of the turn, before any other movement happens. It is so clear that there is no need to explain why. Why make something so simple complicated?  - Greenie
|
- I am the troll... feed me!
- 5th place w. 13th Company at Adepticon 2007 Championship Tourney
- I love Angela Imrie!!!
http://40kwreckingcrew.com/phpBB2/index.php
97% |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/05/16 11:11:32
Subject: RE: DA teleport homers
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
But if you're not convinced, you can (and generally should) then fall back to the "least powerful interpretation" default. Eh, usually I fall back to the "How do you want to play it?" method. Most people will see certain rules differently, but will at least try and be fair about it. So I usually default to letting my opponent decide.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/05/17 05:21:39
Subject: RE: DA teleport homers
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
Mi.
|
Its not how you want to play it. You have to put them on the board with no delays. You cannot just pick when you want to start rolling for them. And you have to roll from the second turn on. Except with Da they may roll on the first turn. This was beat to a dead horse with Demons some time ago.
|
The only easy day was yesterday. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/05/17 06:13:00
Subject: RE: DA teleport homers
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
the rule says : "You must roll for reserves as soon as possible and must bring them onto the table as soon as they are available. You may not delay making the dice rolls or keep the reserves hanging around off-table untill you decide you need them (85)!"
it says nothing about a turn in any way, if you do anything between the roll and placement then you have held them off talbe till you decid they are needed.
And there are a number of places in the rule where acts that are meant to be similtainious are allowed to be done in succesion because you can't actually do them at the same time, such as rolling to hit rolls for different weapons in the same squad, so the statement that you can roll for them all and place them all at the same time is invalid.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/05/17 07:16:11
Subject: RE: DA teleport homers
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Hmmm...I am becoming convinced you guys are right. I am not totally there.... but I can see what you are saying.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/05/17 08:05:44
Subject: RE: DA teleport homers
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
Troll country
|
Well mebbe there is some hope for you, but I am not holding my breath anytime soon to be honest.
- Greenie
|
- I am the troll... feed me!
- 5th place w. 13th Company at Adepticon 2007 Championship Tourney
- I love Angela Imrie!!!
http://40kwreckingcrew.com/phpBB2/index.php
97% |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/05/17 08:43:07
Subject: RE: DA teleport homers
|
 |
Phanobi
|
C'mon Coredump, don't give in! There's gotta be a loop-hole there somewhere!! Nah, I play it the way everyone else here seems to, just wish it was a bit clearer. Ozymandias, King of Kings
|
My name is Ozymandias, King of Kings. Look on My works, Ye Mighty, and despair.
Chris Gohlinghorst wrote:Holy Space Marine on a Stick.
This conversation has even begun to boggle my internet-hardened mind.
A More Wretched Hive of Scum and Villainy |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/05/17 08:54:26
Subject: RE: DA teleport homers
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
Troll country
|
Sure... sure you do.
- Greenie
|
- I am the troll... feed me!
- 5th place w. 13th Company at Adepticon 2007 Championship Tourney
- I love Angela Imrie!!!
http://40kwreckingcrew.com/phpBB2/index.php
97% |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2007/05/18 09:40:24
Subject: RE: DA teleport homers
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
Mi.
|
I think Imriel has pretty much CLOSED this discussion. I missed comeing here to let some aggresion from daily life out. And now you must all pay even when im wrong...lol
|
The only easy day was yesterday. |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|